Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
Times and dates in your local timezone.
Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.
2021/04/26 11:29:46
Subject: Drukhari Bombers bomb can it hit itself with bomb? Also where do you count vehicle exploding?
So can the drukhari voidraven bomber hit itselt with its bomb if it stays in 6"? count from base and/or wings?
Also in general where do you count exploding flyers 6" from? the base or for example the wings (which makes the voidraven bomber explosion a big area if from the wings).
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/04/26 11:30:11
2021/04/26 13:22:29
Subject: Drukhari Bombers bomb can it hit itself with bomb? Also where do you count vehicle exploding?
For a model with a base, all distances are measured from that base.
Stormonu wrote: For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
2021/04/26 13:34:25
Subject: Drukhari Bombers bomb can it hit itself with bomb? Also where do you count vehicle exploding?
Look in Basic Rules under Measuring Distances. Page number varies based on your document source, but it is a the start of the rules section.
Note that some models have rules that tell you to measure from the model instead of the base. As I do not own Codex: Drukhari I cannot say of that is the case for the Voidraven Bomber.
2021/04/26 14:18:02
Subject: Re:Drukhari Bombers bomb can it hit itself with bomb? Also where do you count vehicle exploding?
alextroy wrote: Look in Basic Rules under Measuring Distances. Page number varies based on your document source, but it is a the start of the rules section.
Note that some models have rules that tell you to measure from the model instead of the base. As I do not own Codex: Drukhari I cannot say of that is the case for the Voidraven Bomber.
Just checked, there is no such rule for the Voidraven.
2021/04/26 15:01:42
Subject: Drukhari Bombers bomb can it hit itself with bomb? Also where do you count vehicle exploding?
There are lots of flyers that have bases far smaller than the actual model. The Custodes flyers, the Storm raven, the Corvus Black Star, all with bombing rules. As has been discussed in the past with this exact issue, You discuss it with your opponent before hand.
Many tournament players measure from the model itself, however the rules somewhat indicate it should be measured from the base. YMMV.
2021/04/26 16:15:31
Subject: Re:Drukhari Bombers bomb can it hit itself with bomb? Also where do you count vehicle exploding?
In terms of the bomb, you move to your final position and then you pick a point to drop the bomb. If you are foolish enough to pick a spot within 6" of yourself then, RAW, it will damage you too.
FezzikDaBullgryn wrote: There are lots of flyers that have bases far smaller than the actual model. The Custodes flyers, the Storm raven, the Corvus Black Star, all with bombing rules. As has been discussed in the past with this exact issue, You discuss it with your opponent before hand.
Many tournament players measure from the model itself, however the rules somewhat indicate it should be measured from the base. YMMV.
Just to be clear, you don't need to discuss it with your opponent. If your opponent insists on measuring to the model, and not the base, they're breaking the rules.
Triggerbaby wrote:In summary, here's your lunch and ask Miss Creaver if she has aloe lotion because I have taken you to school and you have been burned.
Abadabadoobaddon wrote:I too can prove pretty much any assertion I please if I don't count all the evidence that contradicts it.
2021/04/26 22:44:48
Subject: Drukhari Bombers bomb can it hit itself with bomb? Also where do you count vehicle exploding?
FezzikDaBullgryn wrote: There are lots of flyers that have bases far smaller than the actual model. The Custodes flyers, the Storm raven, the Corvus Black Star, all with bombing rules. As has been discussed in the past with this exact issue, You discuss it with your opponent before hand.
Many tournament players measure from the model itself, however the rules somewhat indicate it should be measured from the base. YMMV.
Just to be clear, you don't need to discuss it with your opponent. If your opponent insists on measuring to the model, and not the base, they're breaking the rules.
Just for my own learning, can you source me the rule that says Flyers with Bombing run have to measure from the base?
2021/04/26 22:52:56
Subject: Re:Drukhari Bombers bomb can it hit itself with bomb? Also where do you count vehicle exploding?
MEASURING DISTANCES
Distances are measured in inches (") between the closest points of the bases of the models you’re measuring to and from. If a model does not have a base, such as is the case with many vehicles, measure to the closest point of any part of that model; this is called measuring to the model’s hull. You can measure distances whenever you wish.
If a rule refers to the closest unit or model, and two or more are equidistant, then the player who is controlling the unit that is using the rule in question selects which unit is the closest for the purposes of resolving that rule.
Void mine
Once per battle, in your Movement phase, after the bearer makes a Normal Move or Advances, you can select one point on the battlefield the bearer moved across. Roll one D6 for each unit within 6" of that point, subtracting 1 if that unit has the CHARACTER keyword (excluding VEHICLE or MONSTER units): on a 4+ that unit suffers D6 mortal wounds.
2021/04/27 01:42:02
Subject: Re:Drukhari Bombers bomb can it hit itself with bomb? Also where do you count vehicle exploding?
MEASURING DISTANCES
Distances are measured in inches (") between the closest points of the bases of the models you’re measuring to and from. If a model does not have a base, such as is the case with many vehicles, measure to the closest point of any part of that model; this is called measuring to the model’s hull. You can measure distances whenever you wish.
If a rule refers to the closest unit or model, and two or more are equidistant, then the player who is controlling the unit that is using the rule in question selects which unit is the closest for the purposes of resolving that rule.
Void mine
Once per battle, in your Movement phase, after the bearer makes a Normal Move or Advances, you can select one point on the battlefield the bearer moved across. Roll one D6 for each unit within 6" of that point, subtracting 1 if that unit has the CHARACTER keyword (excluding VEHICLE or MONSTER units): on a 4+ that unit suffers D6 mortal wounds.
That does not answer the question he was asked.
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
2021/04/27 04:55:14
Subject: Re:Drukhari Bombers bomb can it hit itself with bomb? Also where do you count vehicle exploding?
Fezzik asked for the rule that says Flyers with Bombing run have to measure from the base.
Yes he did, and nowhere does it say that all Flyers with Bombing run have to measure from the base.
If a flyer does not have a base, you do not measure to it.
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
2021/04/27 07:48:49
Subject: Re:Drukhari Bombers bomb can it hit itself with bomb? Also where do you count vehicle exploding?
Fezzik asked for the rule that says Flyers with Bombing run have to measure from the base.
Yes he did, and nowhere does it say that all Flyers with Bombing run have to measure from the base.
If a flyer does not have a base, you do not measure to it.
There is no aircraft which has bombing run (or similar), and no base.
That is 100% false. My Burna-bommer does not have a base.
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
2021/04/27 08:14:21
Subject: Re:Drukhari Bombers bomb can it hit itself with bomb? Also where do you count vehicle exploding?
Fezzik asked for the rule that says Flyers with Bombing run have to measure from the base.
Yes he did, and nowhere does it say that all Flyers with Bombing run have to measure from the base.
If a flyer does not have a base, you do not measure to it.
There is no aircraft which has bombing run (or similar), and no base.
That is 100% false. My Burna-bommer does not have a base.
Then what keeps it in the air? Because I just double-checked GW's website and it certainly comes with a base.
Point is: If it HAS a base, you measure to the base. If it doesn't, you measure to the hull. The only exceptions are models with a rule saying so, such as the Repulsor or the Dark Eldar Raider.
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/04/27 08:14:54
She/Her
"There are no problems that cannot be solved with cannons." - Chief Engineer Boris Krauss of Nuln
Kid_Kyoto wrote:"Don't be a dick" and "This is a family wargame" are good rules of thumb.
Ok, I will admit I am wrong, and have been playing wrong. I watched a goonhammer batrep, Custodes vs Drukari I think, and he measured from the hull of the ares, so I played it wrong.
Thank you for correcting me.
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/04/27 11:42:14
2021/04/27 14:32:33
Subject: Drukhari Bombers bomb can it hit itself with bomb? Also where do you count vehicle exploding?
Fezzik asked for the rule that says Flyers with Bombing run have to measure from the base.
Yes he did, and nowhere does it say that all Flyers with Bombing run have to measure from the base.
If a flyer does not have a base, you do not measure to it.
There is no aircraft which has bombing run (or similar), and no base.
That is 100% false. My Burna-bommer does not have a base.
Sure, and I can build a space marine without a base and argue that he is therefore untargetable because he is a space marine and doesn't have a 'hull"
and then I am told by the TO that that model is not legal for the tournament.
"Got you, Yugi! Your Rubric Marines can't fall back because I have declared the tertiary kaptaris ka'tah stance two, after the secondary dacatarai ka'tah last turn!"
"So you think, Kaiba! I declared my Thousand Sons the cult of Duplicity, which means all my psykers have access to the Sorcerous Facade power! Furthermore I will spend 8 Cabal Points to invoke Cabbalistic Focus, causing the rubrics to appear behind your custodes! The Vengeance for the Wronged and Sorcerous Fullisade stratagems along with the Malefic Maelstrom infernal pact evoked earlier in the command phase allows me to double their firepower, letting me wound on 2s and 3s!"
"you think it is you who has gotten me, yugi, but it is I who have gotten you! I declare the ever-vigilant stratagem to attack your rubrics with my custodes' ranged weapons, which with the new codex are now DAMAGE 2!!"
"...which leads you straight into my trap, Kaiba, you see I now declare the stratagem Implacable Automata, reducing all damage from your attacks by 1 and triggering my All is Dust special rule!"
2021/04/27 15:26:19
Subject: Drukhari Bombers bomb can it hit itself with bomb? Also where do you count vehicle exploding?
nosferatu1001 wrote: You measure to a point the model moves across. That is not only where the base moved across
This. "Once per battle, in your Movement phase, after the bearer makes a Normal Move or Advances, you can select one point on the battlefield the bearer moved across." It makes no mention of measuring a distance, merely somewhere the model has crossed. This included the entire model, not just the base. You're not allowed to have a portion of the flyer that's not the base stick out over the edge of the board, because they tell you the model can't go over the edge (unless going into reserves), so likewise when you're told to pick a point the model crossed over you can choose a point any part of the model crossed over.
2021/04/27 15:42:40
Subject: Drukhari Bombers bomb can it hit itself with bomb? Also where do you count vehicle exploding?
Seems like we've gone off on a tangent. From the original post...
Ohris wrote: So can the drukhari voidraven bomber hit itselt with its bomb if it stays in 6"? count from base and/or wings?
So while the void mine can be dropped from any point that the model moved across, it measures back to the base of the Voidraven to see if it hits itself.
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
2021/04/27 15:54:29
Subject: Re:Drukhari Bombers bomb can it hit itself with bomb? Also where do you count vehicle exploding?
DeathReaper wrote: That is 100% false. My Burna-bommer does not have a base.
Then you dont play it by the rules, because 100% it has a base.
I am playing by the rules. Mine did not come with a base. It may come with a base when you get the model from a game store, but I bought mine off e-bay and it did not have a base.
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
2021/04/27 15:56:21
Subject: Re:Drukhari Bombers bomb can it hit itself with bomb? Also where do you count vehicle exploding?
DeathReaper wrote: That is 100% false. My Burna-bommer does not have a base.
Then you dont play it by the rules, because 100% it has a base.
I am playing by the rules. Mine did not come with a base. It may come with a base when you get the model from a game store, but I bought mine off e-bay and it did not have a base.
Oh man...
2021/04/27 16:21:48
Subject: Re:Drukhari Bombers bomb can it hit itself with bomb? Also where do you count vehicle exploding?
DeathReaper wrote: That is 100% false. My Burna-bommer does not have a base.
Then you dont play it by the rules, because 100% it has a base.
I am playing by the rules. Mine did not come with a base. It may come with a base when you get the model from a game store, but I bought mine off e-bay and it did not have a base.
Why should eBay dictate rules?
The official model has a base. Therefore, if playing with the official rules, measure to the base.
As a player, I don’t care if it has a base or not, but that doesn’t make it how it’s supposed to be played.
Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne!
2021/04/27 16:26:25
Subject: Drukhari Bombers bomb can it hit itself with bomb? Also where do you count vehicle exploding?
DeathReaper wrote: That is 100% false. My Burna-bommer does not have a base.
Then you dont play it by the rules, because 100% it has a base.
I am playing by the rules. Mine did not come with a base. It may come with a base when you get the model from a game store, but I bought mine off e-bay and it did not have a base.
Why should eBay dictate rules?
I don't think anyone said they did.
The official model has a base. Therefore, if playing with the official rules, measure to the base.
Citation needed. I cant find this is the rules (The part about the official model having a base).
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
2021/04/27 16:48:13
Subject: Re:Drukhari Bombers bomb can it hit itself with bomb? Also where do you count vehicle exploding?
DeathReaper wrote: That is 100% false. My Burna-bommer does not have a base.
Then you dont play it by the rules, because 100% it has a base.
I am playing by the rules. Mine did not come with a base. It may come with a base when you get the model from a game store, but I bought mine off e-bay and it did not have a base.
Why should eBay dictate rules?
I don't think anyone said they did.
The official model has a base. Therefore, if playing with the official rules, measure to the base.
Citation needed. I cant find this is the rules (The part about the official model having a base).
Unless you think GW put a conversion of the Burna-Bommer on their store, it's got a base. That's taken right from the store page.
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/04/27 16:48:24
Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne!