Switch Theme:

Reroll rerolls  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Dark Angels Neophyte Undergoing Surgeries





I know, I general, there is no reroll for rerolls and this is likely an easy question. But, I can't find a specific interpretation so, here goes.

If I have an aura, like veil of time say, that let's me reroll a charge, can I then do a cp reroll of it should the second roll fail? It seems too good to be true, so it likely isn't. Otherwise the benefit of these types of auras seems somewhat limited to merely saving you a cp.

Thanks all. Appreciate the help.

Dark Angel Neophyte 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

 Solid_jr wrote:
I know, I general, there is no reroll for rerolls and this is likely an easy question. But, I can't find a specific interpretation so, here goes.

If I have an aura, like veil of time say, that let's me reroll a charge, can I then do a cp reroll of it should the second roll fail? It seems too good to be true, so it likely isn't. Otherwise the benefit of these types of auras seems somewhat limited to merely saving you a cp.

Thanks all. Appreciate the help.

No. The source of the re-roll does not matter. A dice can only be re-rolled once (see 'Re-rolls' page 200 of the Core Rules, second paragraph).

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/05/07 16:40:17


'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran






Yeah, any roll can only be re-rolled once, so those auras do technically only save you the CP of those rolls. However, consider that a well placed 6" reroll 1s aura can allow you to re-roll upwards of 10 rolls a turn if you have abysmal luck. The few that allow re-rolls on all failed rolls of a type are even more likely to activate. The Core Stratagem aptly named COMMAND RE-ROLL allows you to re-roll any roll, costs 1cp, and only targets a single roll. So that aura not only saves a ton of potential CP per turn if positioned well, it is also always on and can affect more than 1 roll, with the trade-off being that it has specific limiters on which rolls it can apply to.
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

Worth noting that Command Reroll no longer allows you to reroll any die as it did in 8th. It has a limited number of permitted applications now,,outlined in the Stratagem text.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in ca
Dark Angels Neophyte Undergoing Surgeries





Thanks all. Another where I knew deep down. Still worth getting an opinion.


Dark Angel Neophyte 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: