Switch Theme:

Can A Single Model Have Both A Relic And Special Issue Wargear?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord





In My Lab

See title. I've heard people saying you can, but I thought Special Issue Wargear was considered the same category, and unable to be taken with it.

Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! 
   
Made in us
Deathwing Terminator with Assault Cannon





I can't remember off the top of my head, but I believe this is a case of "it doesn't tell me I can't."

The rules make mention of how special issue wargears are 'count-as' relic for custom chapters, and that no model can be given more than 1 relic, but does not clarify whether SIW's count as relics for the purpose of determining how many relics a model has.
   
Made in ca
Jinking Ravenwing Land Speeder Pilot



Canada

 JNAProductions wrote:
See title. I've heard people saying you can, but I thought Special Issue Wargear was considered the same category, and unable to be taken with it.


Dark Angels Codex doesn't allow it. "...give one of the following Special-Issue Wargear Relics...instead of giving them a Relic from Codex Space Marines..." Other supplements and books might have different wording though?

All you have to do is fire three rounds a minute, and stand 
   
Made in de
Prophetic Blood Angel Librarian






Germany

IH says this.

Relics of Medusa
If your army is led by an IRON HANDS Warlord, you can give one of the following Relics of Medusa to an IRON HANDS CHARACTER model from your army instead of giving them a Relic from Codex: Space Marines. These are considered to be Chapter Relics for all rules purposes. Named characters (such as Iron Father Feirros) and VEHICLE models cannot be given the following Relics.

Special-issue Wargear
If your army is led by an IRON HANDS Warlord or a Warlord drawn from an Iron Hands successor Chapter (pg 56), you can give one of the following Special-issue Wargear Relics to an IRON HANDS CHARACTER model from your army, or a CHARACTER model from your army that is drawn from an Iron Hands successor Chapter, instead of giving them a Relic from Codex: Space Marines. These are considered to be Chapter Relics for all rules purposes. Named characters and VEHICLE models cannot be given any of the following Relics.


However, relic of the chapter says you cant give a model two relics. Special issue wargear is also a relic.

RELIC OF THE CHAPTER
Use this Stratagem before the battle, when you are mustering your army, if your WARLORD has the ADEPTUS ASTARTES keyword. Select one ADEPTUS ASTARTES CHARACTER model from your army and give them one Chapter Relic (this must be a Relic they could have). Each Relic in your army must be unique, and you cannot use this Stratagem to give a model two Relics. You can only use this Stratagem once, unless you are playing a Strike Force battle (in which case, you can use this Stratagem twice) or an Onslaught battle (in which case, you can use this Stratagem three times).
   
Made in us
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord





In My Lab

So looks like no.
Okay, fair enough.

Thanks all!

Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! 
   
Made in ca
Enginseer with a Wrench






There is a way you can do so; A Blood Angels Warlord can have the Artisan of War warlord trait. It reads "This Warlord can be given one of the following Special-issue Wargear Relics (notice how it is called a relic, likely to prevent this otherwise): Adamantine Mantle; Artificer Armour; Master crafted Weapon; Digital Weapons. This is in addition to any other Relics they may have, and each Relic in your army must be unique."
   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran





This is obviously not intentional regardless of how you want to twist the actual wording. If someone tries it then you don't want to play with them.

7215 points 80 points 140 points
1377 points 75 points 197 points
1835 points 485 points 415 points
2560 points 615 points 2145 points
1785 points 815 points 2904 points
3116 points
 
   
Made in no
Huge Bone Giant





Bergen

SW has a stratagem that let's you stack two warlord traits. I thought BA had a stratagem that let you stack two relics. Besides that I do not think so.

I am a dyslectic, so bear with me.

Dyslectics in a text based environment? Dakka is aware of you and sympathises with any troubles you have: http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/505863.page

Kronos biovore box fresh sporemines. Denying psykick powers since 2017.

 
   
Made in ca
Jinking Ravenwing Land Speeder Pilot



Canada

 Bilge Rat wrote:
This is obviously not intentional regardless of how you want to twist the actual wording. If someone tries it then you don't want to play with them.


He has quoted the exact wording of the Warlord Trait, which specifically states "this is in addition to any other Relics they may have.." So its good to go for a Blood Angels Warlord with that Trait and even then its quite specific pieces of Special Issue Wargear Relics. But totally legal and clearly within intent for that Warlord to have a Relic and one of the listed Special Issue Wargear.

(I pulled out my son's Blood Angels Supplement to confirm - hadn't met that Trait since he plays Flesh Tearers.)

All you have to do is fire three rounds a minute, and stand 
   
Made in de
Prophetic Blood Angel Librarian






Germany

Agreed, its obviously intentional.
   
Made in us
Stoic Grail Knight




 Niiai wrote:
SW has a stratagem that let's you stack two warlord traits. I thought BA had a stratagem that let you stack two relics. Besides that I do not think so.


DW can 'steal' BA's warlord trait and do it too, but yeah, it's pretty limited.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Wishing I was back at the South Atlantic, closer to ice than the sun

Iirc Tau can do this via the prototypes in their PA supplement.

I don't care what the flag says, I'm SCOTTISH!!!

Best definition of the word Battleship?
Mr Nobody wrote:
Does a canoe with a machine gun count?
 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut



Glasgow

TangoTwoBravo wrote:
 Bilge Rat wrote:
This is obviously not intentional regardless of how you want to twist the actual wording. If someone tries it then you don't want to play with them.


He has quoted the exact wording of the Warlord Trait, which specifically states "this is in addition to any other Relics they may have.." So its good to go for a Blood Angels Warlord with that Trait and even then its quite specific pieces of Special Issue Wargear Relics. But totally legal and clearly within intent for that Warlord to have a Relic and one of the listed Special Issue Wargear.

(I pulled out my son's Blood Angels Supplement to confirm - hadn't met that Trait since he plays Flesh Tearers.)


It is obviously intentional and clearly RAW
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: