Switch Theme:

Can you shoot through your own units?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Krazed Killa Kan







After a long break from playing, I'm pretty new to 40k, so please go easy with me.

When playing a game at the weekend, we had the question of whether or not you can shoot through your own units. From the rules: "...and be visible to the shooting model. If unsure, get a look from behind the firing model to see if any part of the target is visible. For the purposes of determining visibility, a model can see through other models in its unit." Does this mean that a model in unit A can shoot through unit B to hit unit C if you can see C from A, even if you have to (for example) look through the legs of a dreadnought?

Hopefully that makes sense.

 
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut





If you can draw line of sight through your own units then it is fine. You can shoot an otherwise-eligible target through the legs of a dreadnaught as long as the firing unit's view is not completely blocked. However, if a larger model like a predator completely obscures your target then you have no line of sight and cannot fire.

The same rules hold true for shooting through enemy models, with occasional exceptions for specific abilities and stratagems.

7215 points 80 points 140 points
1377 points 75 points 197 points
1835 points 485 points 415 points
2560 points 615 points 2145 points
1785 points 815 points 2904 points
3116 points
 
   
Made in gb
Krazed Killa Kan







OK, that seems fair enough. Thank you. So A can see C, through B, if the physical models allow a line to be drawn through any gaps in B.

 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yep! Possible you're thinking back to 4th Ed, which had some wonky line of sight rules that most people got wrong....
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: