Switch Theme:

Fight again immediately after you get killed (and units that BRACKET!)  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in dk
Longtime Dakkanaut




Danmark

Abilities such as ORKS IS NEVER BEATEN, or the Grey Knights equivilent and what not, how does that work, for models that brackets?

Like Ghaz or those grey knight characters sitting in those robots?

Because it would be my assumption, that when you're paying CP to use, lets say, Orks is never beaten, to fight again with ghaz after he's been murdered, he would be fighting with his lowest bracket, of between 1-2 wounds granting him 7 attacks.

However i fought against a guy today that claimed that it doesnt state what bracket you have to use, and thus you can use the top bracket. In this case, if we use ghaz as an example, that would grant him 5 attacks.


Is this correct? Because that makes no sense to me at all. Why would you fight with the top bracket after you've died just because you are allowed to fight before removing the model? Is there an FAQ about this?

As i understand it, even if its not directly written, you fight with the worst bracket you have, because thats what you used before you were killed. You had gak stats at 1 wound, why would you automatically be fighting at full strength at 0 wounds after you've essentially died?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2021/05/16 17:28:17


Hope, is the first step on the road to disappointment.

- About Dawn of War 3 
   
Made in us
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord





In My Lab

RAW, I believe it's undefined. There might be an FAQ saying to use the lowest bracket, but even if there's not, that seems the most sensible solution.

Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! 
   
Made in dk
Longtime Dakkanaut




Danmark

 JNAProductions wrote:
RAW, I believe it's undefined. There might be an FAQ saying to use the lowest bracket, but even if there's not, that seems the most sensible solution.


true i believe it is undefined, but Rules as interpreted, why would one suddenly not use the lowest bracket? Nothing else makes sense.

I dont know if there is an FAQ about it though, so i was hoping someone smart knew about whether there was or werent to put me in my place or tell me what i say is correct. Most characters dont bracket, so this rule was probably not made for those characters in mind. Sure they're meant to be used on them, but again, its not a problem most of the time. But it becomes a problem on things like Ghaz.

The fact that people say: Well, it doesnt state it has to be the lowest bracket" is a weird excuse. Of course its meant to be the lowest bracket (Unless FAQ) because if we're meant to say you can do all the things it DOESNT state you cant do? Then there are a ton of effy stratagems that doesnt specifically exclude things in their wording.

Its the whole Burna bomma dropping 2 bombs in one turn all over. that ability also doesnt state you CANT drop two bombs, it just states you can drop one bomb. When people start looking at the things it doesnt exclude rather than what it just blatantly says, the game starts becoming the wild west. And i was wrong at that post about dropping two burna bombs and im completely fine with being wrong on that part.

A unit is at its lowest bracket, the most sensible thing would be to attack with the lowest bracket (again, unless theres an FAQ stating otherwise).

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2021/05/16 17:45:12


Hope, is the first step on the road to disappointment.

- About Dawn of War 3 
   
Made in us
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord





In My Lab

Look at tyranid FAQs-they have a Fight On Death strat, and they bracket.

Might be there.

Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! 
   
Made in dk
Longtime Dakkanaut




Danmark

 JNAProductions wrote:
Look at tyranid FAQs-they have a Fight On Death strat, and they bracket.

Might be there.


Ill be taking a look.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Tyranid FAQ says:
Q: If a Character with a damage table uses the Death Frenzy
Stratagem to make a final attack before it is removed from the
battlefield, which line on its damage table should you use for that
attack?
A: Treat the character as having 1 wound remaining when referring to
its damage table.

So id say ghaz and everyone else fighting before they die, gets treated as having 1 wound as well.

Thanks buddy. I would have not thought about looking at a Tyranid FAQ to find the answer.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2021/05/16 17:56:25


Hope, is the first step on the road to disappointment.

- About Dawn of War 3 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: