Switch Theme:

Crusade Requisitions, getting a second warlord trait via Relic  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Foolproof Falcon Pilot




Ontario, Canada

In Crusade Mode you permanently apply warlord traits, relics, and upgrade stratagems to units via "requisition points" (page 316/317).

Normally you'd apply a Warlord Trait to a unit via the "Warlord Trait" requisition, but this requisition specifically states that no model can be given more than one Warlord Trait.

Another requisition "Specialist Reinforcements" allows you to apply a stratagem to a unit permanently, but it says this stratagem CANNOT be used to grant a model a warlord trait.

The "Relic" requisition has no language at all regarding Warlord trait restrictions, and Blood-Axe Orks have "Morgog's Finkin' Cap". A Relic which allows the model to generate an additional warlord trait.


Does the "Warlord Trait" requisition limitation of 1 trait per model also affect other requisitions?
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





As you’re not using the WL trait requisition to gain a second WL trait, I believe this is legal. Unless I’ve missed it there is no restriction on other sources giving you additional traits.

Blood Angels are in a similar situation with the Angel Exemplar stratagem which can be applied to a character in crusade by using the specialist reinforcement requisition. This allows a Blood Angels Warlord to take a second warlord trait. In my case I got with the crusade league organizer to get a final ruling, and he decided that so long as the character was my warlord, had already purchased the first WL trait, and was give the specialist reinforcement requisition at the time that they were added to my order of battle that I could take the second WL trait.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/05/25 10:02:30


 
   
Made in ca
Foolproof Falcon Pilot




Ontario, Canada

Nukz4you wrote:
As you’re not using the WL trait requisition to gain a second WL trait, I believe this is legal. Unless I’ve missed it there is no restriction on other sources giving you additional traits.

Blood Angels are in a similar situation with the Angel Exemplar stratagem which can be applied to a character in crusade by using the specialist reinforcement requisition. This allows a Blood Angels Warlord to take a second warlord trait. In my case I got with the crusade league organizer to get a final ruling, and he decided that so long as the character was my warlord, had already purchased the first WL trait, and was give the specialist reinforcement requisition at the time that they were added to my order of battle that I could take the second WL trait.


The Specialist Reinforcement requisition specifically states that it CANNOT be used on stratagems that grant a warlord trait though. The very last sentence reads "You cannot use this Requisition to give a Character a Relic or a Warlord Trait, and you cannot use Stratagems that upgrade the unit to be part of a Specialist Detachment"

This wording, however, is not present on the "Relic" Requisition.

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2021/05/25 20:38:19


 
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator





Edit: misread the question, ignore me.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
The RAW is murky: the rules for Warlord Traits (a page or two before Requisitions, from memory) say a model can only get a Relic or Warlord Trait when given "the appropriate Requisition". It was given the appropriate Requisition to gain a Relic, and as a result also gained a second Warlord Trait...

Finkin' about it, I'd totally allow it. It's a narrative game mode, you are paying for the ability via Requisition and Crusade Points, and it's also preventing the model from having another Relic. It makes sense narratively and isn't overpowered, IMHO.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2021/05/25 22:55:26


 
   
Made in ca
Longtime Dakkanaut





Bojazz wrote:
Nukz4you wrote:
As you’re not using the WL trait requisition to gain a second WL trait, I believe this is legal. Unless I’ve missed it there is no restriction on other sources giving you additional traits.

Blood Angels are in a similar situation with the Angel Exemplar stratagem which can be applied to a character in crusade by using the specialist reinforcement requisition. This allows a Blood Angels Warlord to take a second warlord trait. In my case I got with the crusade league organizer to get a final ruling, and he decided that so long as the character was my warlord, had already purchased the first WL trait, and was give the specialist reinforcement requisition at the time that they were added to my order of battle that I could take the second WL trait.


The Specialist Reinforcement requisition specifically states that it CANNOT be used on stratagems that grant a warlord trait though. The very last sentence reads "You cannot use this Requisition to give a Character a Relic or a Warlord Trait, and you cannot use Stratagems that upgrade the unit to be part of a Specialist Detachment"

This wording, however, is not present on the "Relic" Requisition.


The specialist reinforcement requisition doesn't grant a warlord trait; it confers the ability to have two warlord traits. What actually confers Both of those two Warlord Traits is using the Warlord Trait Requisition, which you have to do twice. So yes, you can get two warlord traits, it costs 3 RP to do it; the Specialist Reinforcement requisition doesn't give you any warlord traits at all; it just allows you to purchase up to two, eaach of which cost you an additional RP.
   
Made in ca
Foolproof Falcon Pilot




Ontario, Canada

PenitentJake wrote:
Bojazz wrote:
Nukz4you wrote:
As you’re not using the WL trait requisition to gain a second WL trait, I believe this is legal. Unless I’ve missed it there is no restriction on other sources giving you additional traits.

Blood Angels are in a similar situation with the Angel Exemplar stratagem which can be applied to a character in crusade by using the specialist reinforcement requisition. This allows a Blood Angels Warlord to take a second warlord trait. In my case I got with the crusade league organizer to get a final ruling, and he decided that so long as the character was my warlord, had already purchased the first WL trait, and was give the specialist reinforcement requisition at the time that they were added to my order of battle that I could take the second WL trait.


The Specialist Reinforcement requisition specifically states that it CANNOT be used on stratagems that grant a warlord trait though. The very last sentence reads "You cannot use this Requisition to give a Character a Relic or a Warlord Trait, and you cannot use Stratagems that upgrade the unit to be part of a Specialist Detachment"

This wording, however, is not present on the "Relic" Requisition.


The specialist reinforcement requisition doesn't grant a warlord trait; it confers the ability to have two warlord traits. What actually confers Both of those two Warlord Traits is using the Warlord Trait Requisition, which you have to do twice. So yes, you can get two warlord traits, it costs 3 RP to do it; the Specialist Reinforcement requisition doesn't give you any warlord traits at all; it just allows you to purchase up to two, eaach of which cost you an additional RP.


I'm confused... The warlord trait requisition is used to give a warlord trait, but it says that "no model can have more than one warlord trait". The Specialist Reinforcement is used to upgrade units via Stratagems, but it says it can't be used to grant a warlord trait or relic.
So how are you able to use a stratagem to grant a warlord trait, which is specifically denied, and then purchase a second warlord trait, which is specifically denied?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2021/06/01 05:25:48


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: