Switch Theme:

how does the goff kulture and DREADED DEATH MACHINE Stratagem interact with each other?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Yellin' Yoof




United Kingdom


"Use this Stratagem in the Fight phase, when a DEFF DREADS unit from your army is chosen to fight with. Until the end of the phase, each time an enemy model is destroyed as a result of an attack made by that unit, you can immediately make an additional attack against the same target using the same weapon. These additional attacks cannot themselves generate any further attacks."

"Each time you roll an unmodified hit roll of 6 for an attack with a melee weapon made by a model with this kultur, immediately make an additional hit roll against the same target using the same weapon. These additional hit rolls cannot themselves generate any further hit rolls."

both the stratagem and kulture have the wording, "These additional attacks cannot themselves generate any further attacks."

Does this mean that if for example i kill a character with a goffs extra attack the stratagem does not generate an extra attack?

Do i have to roll all attacks/wounds/damage 1 at a time to keep track of if these are goffs extras?

or is the wording of the stratagem referring to extra stratagem attacks not generating extra attacks based on the stratagem.
and the extra kulture attacks not generating extra attacks based on kulture but if they kill a unit they do generate extra attacks based on the stratagem.

Basically how does the goff kulture and DREADED DEATH MACHINE Stratagem interact with each other?




Automatically Appended Next Post:
 kingbbobb wrote:

"Use this Stratagem in the Fight phase, when a DEFF DREADS unit from your army is chosen to fight with. Until the end of the phase, each time an enemy model is destroyed as a result of an attack made by that unit, you can immediately make an additional attack against the same target using the same weapon. These additional attacks cannot themselves generate any further attacks."

"Each time you roll an unmodified hit roll of 6 for an attack with a melee weapon made by a model with this kultur, immediately make an additional hit roll against the same target using the same weapon. These additional hit rolls cannot themselves generate any further hit rolls."

both the stratagem and kulture have the wording, "These additional attacks cannot themselves generate any further attacks."

Does this mean that if for example i kill a character with a goffs extra attack the stratagem does not generate an extra attack?

Do i have to roll all attacks/wounds/damage 1 at a time to keep track of if these are goffs extras?

or is the wording of the stratagem referring to extra stratagem attacks not generating extra attacks based on the stratagem.
and the extra kulture attacks not generating extra attacks based on kulture but if they kill a unit they do generate extra attacks based on the stratagem.


Basically how does the goff kulture and DREADED DEATH MACHINE Stratagem interact with each other?



one of the reasons i ask is that i saw an article on https://www.warhammer-community.com/2020/05/01/onest-eds-kustom-jobs/ which had the wording below.

"When combined with the Goff Clan Kulture, a single Deff Dread can quite happily cut down a ten-man squad of Space Marines on his own in a single Fight phase."

This seems to suggest a single deff with dread can generate 10 attacks?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/05/26 20:10:57


SMASH  
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Slow rolling is the order of the day

Any single model unit will mean you cannot get additional attacks for the strat, as the only target is now dead.
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins




Tacoma, WA, USA

This is definitely a case of complex interactions requiring careful play.

Take a Deff Dread with 2 Dread Klaws and 2 Dread Saws looking to do some dread krumping. He has 6 attacks (2 Klaw, 2 Saw, 2 flexible). Each of those attacks can generate another attack on a 6. Each can also generate another attack on kill. So each of those 6 attacks as the potential to generate 2 more attacks. However, none of the attacks generated by either rule can generate additional attacks. So the ceiling is 18 attacks, requiring initial 6 Hit rolls of 6 that all kill an enemy model.
   
Made in gb
Yellin' Yoof




United Kingdom

 alextroy wrote:
This is definitely a case of complex interactions requiring careful play.

Take a Deff Dread with 2 Dread Klaws and 2 Dread Saws looking to do some dread krumping. He has 6 attacks (2 Klaw, 2 Saw, 2 flexible). Each of those attacks can generate another attack on a 6. Each can also generate another attack on kill. So each of those 6 attacks as the potential to generate 2 more attacks. However, none of the attacks generated by either rule can generate additional attacks. So the ceiling is 18 attacks, requiring initial 6 Hit rolls of 6 that all kill an enemy model.


Arrrhhhh I see. I guess the best thing to do is resolve the original 6 attacks first collect any extra be attacks generated put them to one side and resolve after to prevent accidental overlap

SMASH  
   
Made in us
Sure Space Wolves Land Raider Pilot





I dissent here, the goff kulture says,

"Each time you roll an unmodified hit roll of 6 for an attack with a melee weapon made by a model with this kultur, immediately make an additional hit roll against the same target using the same weapon. These additional hit rolls cannot themselves generate any further hit rolls.

The limiter is that the hit rolls can't generate additional attacks, in the case of dreaded death machine the hit rolls are not generating the additional attacks. The way I see it additional attacks from the goff culture which also kill a model will generate an additional attack from dreaded death machine however additional attacks from dreaded death machine that roll a 6 will not generate additional attacks from the Goff kulture.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2021/05/27 18:13:05


DT:80S++G++MB++I+Pw40k07+D++A++/areWD-R++T(T)DM+ 
   
Made in de
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk






 kingbbobb wrote:
 alextroy wrote:
This is definitely a case of complex interactions requiring careful play.

Take a Deff Dread with 2 Dread Klaws and 2 Dread Saws looking to do some dread krumping. He has 6 attacks (2 Klaw, 2 Saw, 2 flexible). Each of those attacks can generate another attack on a 6. Each can also generate another attack on kill. So each of those 6 attacks as the potential to generate 2 more attacks. However, none of the attacks generated by either rule can generate additional attacks. So the ceiling is 18 attacks, requiring initial 6 Hit rolls of 6 that all kill an enemy model.


Arrrhhhh I see. I guess the best thing to do is resolve the original 6 attacks first collect any extra be attacks generated put them to one side and resolve after to prevent accidental overlap


Yep, that's how I do it. Alternatively, you can just use a different color of dice for the extra attacks.

Earth is not flat
Vaccines work
We've been to the moon
Climate change is real
Chemtrails aren't a thing
Evolution is a fact
Orks are not a melee army
Stand up for science!
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: