Switch Theme:

How many assassins are you allowed per army?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Beaverton OR


Greetings folks,

Simple question this time: in a normal army (either 1k or 2k points,) how many Imperial Officio Assassinorum agents can you actually include in an imperial army while still retaining your battleforged benefits and not spending any extra command points? (In my case the army is either space-marines or AM.)

I believe that you could potentially include 5, with one as the "no force organization" slot on your main detachment, and 4 on the special "vanguard" detachment. It seems that if you have multiple detachments this would go up by one with each detachment, but so long as the rest of your force is just one detachment then 5 is the maximum number.

Am I right?

Thanks in advance!
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins




Tacoma, WA, USA

Yes, with two notes:
  • You may include only 1 using the Agent of the Imperium rule in each Patrol, Battalion, or Brigade detachment
  • Including the Execution Force detachment will lose you any faction purity bonuses, like Combat Doctrines
  •    
    Made in de
    Prescient Cryptek of Eternity






    Germany

    You can have one assassin for each Patrol, Battalion and Brigade Detachment.

    AGENT OF THE IMPERIUM
    If your army is Battle-forged, you can include 1 AGENT OF THE IMPERIUM unit in each IMPERIUM (excluding FALLEN) Patrol, Battalion and Brigade Detachment in your army without those units taking up slots in those Detachments. The inclusion of an AGENT OF THE IMPERIUM unit does not prevent other units from their Detachment from benefiting from Detachment abilities (e.g. Chapter Tactics, Defenders of Humanity etc.), and it does not prevent other units from your army benefiting from abilities that require every model in your army to have that ability (e.g. Combat Doctrines). An AGENT OF THE IMPERIUM unit included in a Patrol, Battalion or Brigade Detachment in this manner is ignored for any rules that state all units from that Detachment must have at least one Faction keyword in common (e.g. in a matched play game) and when determining your Army Faction.


    You can have all four assassins (each one must be different) in a special vanguard detachment without HQ, and you can have multiple of those vanguard detachments, meaning there is no limit how many assassins you can have (up to the points limit of course). All you need is a warlord with the IMPERIUM keyword.

    EXECUTION FORCE
    If your Warlord has the IMPERIUM keyword (excluding FALLEN), you can include this unit in your army as part of a Vanguard Detachment even if that Detachment contains no HQ units. If you do so, that Detachment’s Command Benefits are changed to ‘None’ and its Restrictions are changed to ‘This Detachment cannot include the same datasheet more than once.’


    Battleforged means that all units in your army are organised in detachments. What you mean with battleforged benefits is special rules like combat doctrines, i guess ? If so, you can have as many assassins as you wish in your SM army without losing access to combat doctrines, because AGENT OF THE IMPERIUM is excluded.

    COMBAT DOCTRINES
    If every unit from your army has the ADEPTUS ASTARTES keyword (excluding AGENT OF THE IMPERIUM and UNALIGNED units), this unit gains a bonus (see below) depending on which combat doctrine is active for your army, as follows.....
       
    Made in us
    Regular Dakkanaut





    Beaverton OR


    Thanks folks!

    So, does that mean that Astra Militarium DOES lose whatever regimental bonuses it may have, but Adeptus Astartes do not?
       
    Made in gb
    Dakka Veteran





    Astra Militarum currently uses the old codex, which does not have any benefit for the entire army belonging to the same regiment, meaning there is nothing to lose.

    7215 points 80 points 140 points
    1377 points 75 points 197 points
    1835 points 485 points 415 points
    2560 points 615 points 2145 points
    1785 points 815 points 2904 points
    3116 points
     
       
    Made in us
    Confessor Of Sins




    Tacoma, WA, USA

    You are still eligible for Detachment bonuses, but army-wide bonuses if you include an Execution Force detachment.
       
    Made in gb
    Enginseer with a Wrench




    Bath

    leerm02 wrote:

    Thanks folks!

    So, does that mean that Astra Militarium DOES lose whatever regimental bonuses it may have, but Adeptus Astartes do not?


    as others have said, no, the guard do not have a army level "purity bonus", just a detachment level one (the regimental doctrines ability). you could include assassins with them without loosing thier detachment purity bonus, so long as they were included using either the agent of the imperium or the execution force rules.

    this may change when the 9th edition codex for them is released, which MIGHT be around Christmas, as they have teased an imperium codex at that time, it might not, and even then, a faction purity bonus might have the same exclusions for agents of the imperium as the space marine one does.

    This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/09/13 18:55:17


    Then it's Tommy this, an' Tommy that, an` Tommy, 'ow's yer soul? "
    But it's " Thin red line of 'eroes " when the drums begin to roll
    The drums begin to roll, my boys, the drums begin to roll,
    O it's " Thin red line of 'eroes, " when the drums begin to roll.
    "Tommy", Rudyard Kipling
    Exporitor force kappa-Tercia 500pts Coven of XVth 1000pts
    Western Host 1000 pts
     
       
    Made in au
    Dakka Veteran




    You can have all four assassins (each one must be different) in a special vanguard detachment without HQ, and you can have multiple of those vanguard detachments, meaning there is no limit how many assassins you can have (up to the points limit of course). All you need is a warlord with the IMPERIUM keyword.

    EXECUTION FORCE
    If your Warlord has the IMPERIUM keyword (excluding FALLEN), you can include this unit in your army as part of a Vanguard Detachment even if that Detachment contains no HQ units. If you do so, that Detachment’s Command Benefits are changed to ‘None’ and its Restrictions are changed to ‘This Detachment cannot include the same datasheet more than once.’


    I remember some mad-lad took an entire army of assassins to a tournament. They came last.
       
     
    Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
    Go to: