Switch Theme:

Ork Gear Questions  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Spawn of Chaos






Two quick questions about Ork gear, and sorry if they've been answered before.

Can Nobz still take two choppas? The way its written, it doesn't look like they can. I had 20 Nobz with Kustom Shootas that were no longer legal last edition, and I'd be dissapointed if I had 10 Nobz with dual choppas that became illegal this edition.

The way the book is written, Meganobz with dual Killsaws get an additional attack with each killsaw, so they'd get a total of two additional attacks for having two of them. Is that correct? I had an opponent tell me they only get one extra attack and I just want to be sure.

Thanks!
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Very first line under "Wargear options" details what Nobz can take.

It seems really clear that they can have 2 of the weapon called "Choppa".

For the Killsaw, those rules say "Each time the bearer fights, if it is equipped with 2 killsaws, it makes 1 additional attack with this weapon."

Meganobz can be equipped with two "Killsaw" Each time the bearer fights, it gets to use the rule that says "Each time the bearer fights, if it is equipped with 2 Killsaws, it makes 1 additional attack with this weapon."

Since they have two of these weapons, they have this ability twice, and as such get to invoke the ability of each Killsaw, because it has two Killsaw weapons it gets that ability twice.

RAI the Meganobz probably only gets 1 attack no matter how many "Killsaw" weapons the model is equipped with.

But RAW 100% the Meganobz gets to use the ability of all weapons it is equipped with.

This was debated recently about the Hellbrute and its fists, but the language of the rules is clear on the RAW. Here is that thread:

https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/799897.page
   
Made in au
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon





It's another case of wonky wording on GWs part. Previously it was cut and dry. Have 2, get 1 extra attack as per the below.

"When resolving an attack made with this weapon, subtract 1 from the hit roll. If the bearer is equipped with two of this weapon, then when the bearer fights, it makes 1 additional attack with this weapon profile."

GW could have worded it sooooo many different ways to make it clearer. But instead they made it open to interpretation. (Yes I know everyone who shares one point of view or another will say otherwise but that's the nature of interpretation.)

If you run through the sentence for each weapon, like you do for chainswords, dreadklaws and such then yes, the additional attack happens twice if you tick the box of being equipped with 2.

"Each time an attack is made with this weapon, subtract 1 from that attack’s hit roll. Each time the bearer fights, if it is equipped with 2 killsaws, it makes 1 additional attack with this weapon."

What is GWs intention? Who knows. They made the killsaw weaker than the regular klaw in a lot of situations though, so maybe it is meant to be the attack spamming option?
   
Made in us
Spawn of Chaos






Thanks for the info! As for the Nobz, I guess it makes sense, I just had it stuck in my mind that "take two of the following options" to mean two different options, because if I just took one option twice, then I wasn't fulfilling the criteria of taking two of the following options. That's good to hear though, I like my dual choppa Nobz!
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins




Tacoma, WA, USA

• Any number of models can each have their slugga and choppa replaced with two of the following: 1 big choppa; 1 choppa; 1 killsaw; 1 power klaw; 1 power stabba; 1 slugga.
I find it a dubious reading to say this means you may take the same option twice.
   
Made in au
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon





 alextroy wrote:
• Any number of models can each have their slugga and choppa replaced with two of the following: 1 big choppa; 1 choppa; 1 killsaw; 1 power klaw; 1 power stabba; 1 slugga.
I find it a dubious reading to say this means you may take the same option twice.


In what regards? You can replace your slugga with any of the options, a choppa is one of said options thus you end up with 2 choppas. Honestly the only dubious option is taking 2 big choppas, Klaws or Powerstabbas as it offers you pretty much nothing. 2 sluggas makes a shoota .... kinda, but you also have the rule of cool on your side.
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins




Tacoma, WA, USA

cody.d. wrote:
 alextroy wrote:
• Any number of models can each have their slugga and choppa replaced with two of the following: 1 big choppa; 1 choppa; 1 killsaw; 1 power klaw; 1 power stabba; 1 slugga.
I find it a dubious reading to say this means you may take the same option twice.


In what regards? You can replace your slugga with any of the options, a choppa is one of said options thus you end up with 2 choppas. Honestly the only dubious option is taking 2 big choppas, Klaws or Powerstabbas as it offers you pretty much nothing. 2 sluggas makes a shoota .... kinda, but you also have the rule of cool on your side.
But that is not what it says. It does not say, you may replace your Choppa with one of these selections and you may also replace you Slugga with one of these selections. It says you may have their slugga and choppa replaced with two of the following. It then list 6 options. If I put 6 things in front of you and say pick 2, can you pick one twice?
   
Made in au
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon





I mean, it all depends on how you view it. It also says you replace the C&S with TWO of the following, one could interpret that as each options coming in pairs only. Yay GW rules writing jank!
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 alextroy wrote:
cody.d. wrote:
 alextroy wrote:
• Any number of models can each have their slugga and choppa replaced with two of the following: 1 big choppa; 1 choppa; 1 killsaw; 1 power klaw; 1 power stabba; 1 slugga.
I find it a dubious reading to say this means you may take the same option twice.


In what regards? You can replace your slugga with any of the options, a choppa is one of said options thus you end up with 2 choppas. Honestly the only dubious option is taking 2 big choppas, Klaws or Powerstabbas as it offers you pretty much nothing. 2 sluggas makes a shoota .... kinda, but you also have the rule of cool on your side.
But that is not what it says. It does not say, you may replace your Choppa with one of these selections and you may also replace you Slugga with one of these selections. It says you may have their slugga and choppa replaced with two of the following. It then list 6 options. If I put 6 things in front of you and say pick 2, can you pick one twice?
1 choppa & 1 slugga = 2.
1 slugga & 1 slugga =2.
1 choppa & 1 choppa =2.

Basically 1+1 = 2...

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2021/09/20 19:14:21


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

 DeathReaper wrote:
Spoiler:
 alextroy wrote:
cody.d. wrote:
 alextroy wrote:
• Any number of models can each have their slugga and choppa replaced with two of the following: 1 big choppa; 1 choppa; 1 killsaw; 1 power klaw; 1 power stabba; 1 slugga.
I find it a dubious reading to say this means you may take the same option twice.


In what regards? You can replace your slugga with any of the options, a choppa is one of said options thus you end up with 2 choppas. Honestly the only dubious option is taking 2 big choppas, Klaws or Powerstabbas as it offers you pretty much nothing. 2 sluggas makes a shoota .... kinda, but you also have the rule of cool on your side.
But that is not what it says. It does not say, you may replace your Choppa with one of these selections and you may also replace you Slugga with one of these selections. It says you may have their slugga and choppa replaced with two of the following. It then list 6 options. If I put 6 things in front of you and say pick 2, can you pick one twice?
1 choppa & 1 slugga = 2.
1 slugga & 1 slugga =2.
1 choppa & 1 choppa =2.

Basically 1+1 = 2...


Unless they do something like they did in the 8th edition Rulebook FAQ:

Q: Can a model take the same wargear option more than once? For example, can a Space Marine Terminator replace his storm bolter with a cyclone missile launcher and another storm bolter, and then replace its ‘new’ storm bolter with a heavy flamer?

A: No. Each bullet-pointed wargear option on a unit’s datasheet can only be used once each time you include that unit in your army.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 Ghaz wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
[spoiler]1 choppa & 1 slugga = 2.
1 slugga & 1 slugga =2.
1 choppa & 1 choppa =2.

Basically 1+1 = 2...


Unless they do something like they did in the 8th edition Rulebook FAQ:

Q: Can a model take the same wargear option more than once? For example, can a Space Marine Terminator replace his storm bolter with a cyclone missile launcher and another storm bolter, and then replace its ‘new’ storm bolter with a heavy flamer?

A: No. Each bullet-pointed wargear option on a unit’s datasheet can only be used once each time you include that unit in your army.
As always the caveat is -Unless an FAQ changes things-

But that goes without saying.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: