Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/01/01 19:29:44
Subject: Wound roll value of automatic wounds?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
If an attack does an automatic wound on an attack roll (like the 6+ lasgun rule), what is the effective wound roll for that wound? I am curious because there are rules that get triggered when a wound roll is of a certain value (like a 6), and I would like to know if the automatic wounds trigger these rules or not.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/01/01 19:35:46
Subject: Wound roll value of automatic wounds?
|
 |
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle
|
HF_Scorpion wrote:If an attack does an automatic wound on an attack roll (like the 6+ lasgun rule), what is the effective wound roll for that wound? I am curious because there are rules that get triggered when a wound roll is of a certain value (like a 6), and I would like to know if the automatic wounds trigger these rules or not.
By default, there's no value associated with it.
However, Votann used to have their Judgement Tokens auto-wounds count as 6s. No more.
IG's Born Soldiers still has a rule that makes their auto-wounds count as being on 6s.
|
Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/01/01 20:04:15
Subject: Wound roll value of automatic wounds?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
JNAProductions wrote:HF_Scorpion wrote:If an attack does an automatic wound on an attack roll (like the 6+ lasgun rule), what is the effective wound roll for that wound? I am curious because there are rules that get triggered when a wound roll is of a certain value (like a 6), and I would like to know if the automatic wounds trigger these rules or not.
By default, there's no value associated with it.
However, Votann used to have their Judgement Tokens auto-wounds count as 6s. No more.
IG's Born Soldiers still has a rule that makes their auto-wounds count as being on 6s.
I guess I'll send in a question for an erratta, then. Thank you for the quick reply!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/01/01 20:51:33
Subject: Wound roll value of automatic wounds?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
No need for an errata. It has no value, unless you're told otherwise.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/01/01 21:04:49
Subject: Wound roll value of automatic wounds?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
The newest codex addresses this issue exactly with the born soldiers regimental rule, as mentioned. A question to see if it applies to similar interactions from other codexes seems prudent.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/01/01 21:32:07
Subject: Re:Wound roll value of automatic wounds?
|
 |
Crazed Spirit of the Defiler
|
What master plan has been foiled?
Pulled this from waha but I assume it corresponds to a section of the rulebook (maybe rules terms glossary?)
Automatically wound: If an attack automatically wounds, the wound roll is automatically successful.
Automatically successful: If a roll is automatically successful, do not roll any dice. If a hit roll is automatically successful, move straight to the wound roll. If a wound roll is automatically successful, move straight to the allocation of that attack. If a Morale test for a unit is automatically successful, no models flee and Combat Attrition tests are not taken for that unit. If the Combat Attrition tests taken for a unit are automatically successful, no models flee that unit as a result of those tests.Any rules that take effect on a particular dice result or roll result do not take effect if the roll they refer to is automatically successful.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/01/01 21:45:54
Subject: Re:Wound roll value of automatic wounds?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Wouldn't call it a master plan, but more of thinking how to use a Tyranid hive fleet that isn't Leviathan.
Gorgon psychic power (poisonous influence)+hormogaunts with toxin sacs+hyper toxicity strategem.
I was curious if the 5's and 6's to hit that make an automatic wound would also count as 6's for the psychic power generating mortal wounds.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2023/01/01 21:46:33
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/01/01 22:46:26
Subject: Wound roll value of automatic wounds?
|
 |
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle
|
It would not.
|
Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! |
|
 |
 |
|