Poll |
 |
|
 |
Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/28 19:27:33
Subject: MSS and force weapons
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Lt.Soundwave wrote:Your premise is predicated on your interpretation of percieved benefit RAI as opposed to RAW.
It's not really. But you can keep thinking that.
Given that you cling to this one interpretation while claiming no others exist despite being shown examples?
You mean shown examples that aren't actually benefits?
If that isnt indicative of some kind of bias I would genuinely be surprised.
Then be surprised. Or don't. Either way.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/28 19:34:08
Subject: Re:MSS and force weapons
|
 |
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine
|
You mean shown examples that aren't actually benefits?
Your interpretation
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/28 19:57:55
Subject: MSS and force weapons
|
 |
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout
|
rigeld2 wrote:
Allow me to politely correct you - I have no bias either for or against.
I do my absolute best to remove myself from discussion I don't feel I can remain objective in.
It's easy to ignore someone else's view by assigning bias. I could accuse you of being biased as well. It'd be insulting and degrade your argument. Which is why I don't do it.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
Tyr Grimtooth wrote: Neorealist wrote:Not to sound like a broken record here: but i would really like someone from the 'anti- MSS' side to address how a model can be said to 'return to the owning players control' afterwards if it never left the owning players control to begin with for the purposes of activating the models' force weapon?
I am part of the no crowd and your point has no bearing on my point at all. MSS allows all abilities and benefits of the force weapon.
It actually has lots of bearing if you've been following the thread.
Taking a psychic test is not an ability of the force weapon.
Absolutely 100% correct. Good job with that one!
Force is an ability of the weapon. Even the most ardent no-supporters have agreed that MSS activates the Force SR, but cannot make the choice for the Psyker.
If the Psyker isn't under the owner's control, the decision isn't up to the psyker.
So control the player all you want and benefit from the weapons abilities, however taking a psychic test is still not an ability of the weapon.
And it never will be. Force, however, is.
I have been following the thread and your flawed point is noted.
The FW has the ability to cause ID predicated upon the psyker passing a psychic test. The rules for MSS do not extend to controlling the abilities of the psyker. By your standard is the psker was mastery level 2, you could cast Hammerhand and after wounding take the psychic test to activate the FW. While the fluff indicates that the enemy is mind controlled, the attacks only benefit from abilities and benefits of the weapon. In the case of ID it is as I have been saying this whole time,
MSS has the ability to ID with the FW (weapon abilities), but does not have the means (activation via psychic test).
Notice what I included in the parentheses as that is where you are mistaken in thinking that the FW has both the ability and the means to cause ID.
|
If you are jumping on the Dinobot meme bandwagon regarding the new Warhammer 40k Chaos models, grow the feth up! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/28 19:59:47
Subject: Re:MSS and force weapons
|
 |
Guard Heavy Weapon Crewman
|
Neorealist wrote:Not to sound like a broken record here: but i would really like someone from the 'anti- MSS' side to address how a model can be said to 'return to the owning players control' afterwards if it never left the owning players control to begin with?
This is a poor try tbh. I will counter-question you. Where does it in the MSS rules say that you get total control of the model?
It's not very strange that they phrase it like they do in the end because the necron player indeed gets to choose which weapon the affected model uses and therefore you could easily assume that the model in some small way is not e ntirely under it's owners control. That does however not mean that the model is under the control of the necron player.
|
Armies: |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/28 20:09:51
Subject: Re:MSS and force weapons
|
 |
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver
|
Stoff3 wrote:This is a poor try tbh. I will counter-question you. Where does it in the MSS rules say that you get total control of the model?
It's not very strange that they phrase it like they do in the end because the necron player indeed gets to choose which weapon the affected model uses and therefore you could easily assume that the model in some small way is not entirely under it's owners control. That does however not mean that the model is under the control of the necron player. I don't know about that, i figured it's in the rules-text of MSS so it's a fair question to ask.
To answer yours (even though you did not answer mine?)
MSS says so. And I quote: "Mindshackle Scarabs are one of the Necrons' chief methods of controlling alien races. At the bearer's command, tiny scarabs bury into the victims mind and bypass cerebral functions, turning the victim into little more than a puppet under control of the scarab's master..."
I don't know about you? But that seems to indicate the necron player is 'in control' of the model, which he subsequently loses once blows have been struck as per the rules-text i quoted earlier.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/28 20:13:46
Subject: MSS and force weapons
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Tyr Grimtooth wrote:The FW has the ability to cause ID predicated upon the psyker passing a psychic test. The rules for MSS do not extend to controlling the abilities of the psyker. By your standard is the psker was mastery level 2, you could cast Hammerhand and after wounding take the psychic test to activate the FW.
False, strawman. No one has asserted that and it's not even implied by these arguments.
MSS has the ability to ID with the FW (weapon abilities), but does not have the means (activation via psychic test).
Notice what I included in the parentheses as that is where you are mistaken in thinking that the FW has both the ability and the means to cause ID.
I don't think that. You obviously haven't read what I've said.
The Force ability (note - not Force Weapon as you're claiming I've said) causes ID on activation. There are requirements for the activation. One of those requirements is for the psyker to take a test.
MSS forces the activation and therefore test. Automatically Appended Next Post: Stoff3 wrote: Neorealist wrote:Not to sound like a broken record here: but i would really like someone from the 'anti- MSS' side to address how a model can be said to 'return to the owning players control' afterwards if it never left the owning players control to begin with?
This is a poor try tbh. I will counter-question you. Where does it in the MSS rules say that you get total control of the model?
It's not very strange that they phrase it like they do in the end because the necron player indeed gets to choose which weapon the affected model uses and therefore you could easily assume that the model in some small way is not entirely under it's owners control. That does however not mean that the model is under the control of the necron player.
Since it's in the rules that control is returned, then it's factual that control must have been relinquished at some point.
Similar to how in 5th one of the ways we knew an IC was a normal member of a squad was because "these characters are once again treated as normal members of the unit they have joined".
If they are once again normal members, that means that while they weren't for some period of time (during the assault phase) they must have been before that.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/28 20:17:04
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/28 20:19:44
Subject: Re:MSS and force weapons
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
Neorealist wrote:Stoff3 wrote:This is a poor try tbh. I will counter-question you. Where does it in the MSS rules say that you get total control of the model?
It's not very strange that they phrase it like they do in the end because the necron player indeed gets to choose which weapon the affected model uses and therefore you could easily assume that the model in some small way is not entirely under it's owners control. That does however not mean that the model is under the control of the necron player. I don't know about that, i figured it's in the rules-text of MSS so it's a fair question to ask.
To answer yours (even though you did not answer mine?)
MSS says so. And I quote: "Mindshackle Scarabs are one of the Necrons' chief methods of controlling alien races. At the bearer's command, tiny scarabs bury into the victims mind and bypass cerebral functions, turning the victim into little more than a puppet under control of the scarab's master..."
I don't know about you? But that seems to indicate the necron player is 'in control' of the model, which he subsequently loses once blows have been struck as per the rules-text i quoted earlier.
I'd not recommend using that part of the MSS rule as justification, it reads to much like fluff then an actual rule. However, the part that reads, "If he is still alive, the victim returns to the owning player's control once all blows in that round of combat has been struck.", most certainly reads like an actual rule. It references your opponent (owning player); control of the affected model (owning player's control); an action and when it takes place in the sub-phase of the Assault phase (paraphrase: return control once all attacks have been made). It even has a pre-condition for this action (the 'victim' must still be 'alive'.
I find it incredibly hard to believe that you can't read that statement and think that the MSS controller doesn't have full control over the affected model. Which includes, per the MSS rule full access to the abilities of the affected model's CC weapon(s).
-Yad
Edit: My impression is that you seem to think it needs to read 'full control', otherwise you're free to assign any level of control. I would suggest that control is full control unless otherwise specified. MSS works in a very narrow window of time in the Assault phase.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/28 20:26:46
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/28 20:32:53
Subject: Re:MSS and force weapons
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Neorealist wrote: To answer yours (even though you did not answer mine?) MSS says so. And I quote: "Mindshackle Scarabs are one of the Necrons' chief methods of controlling alien races. At the bearer's command, tiny scarabs bury into the victims mind and bypass cerebral functions, turning the victim into little more than a puppet under control of the scarab's master..." I don't know about you? But that seems to indicate the necron player is 'in control' of the model, which he subsequently loses once blows have been struck as per the rules-text i quoted earlier.
Interestingly enough there are no actual rules in that quote. Yad wrote:However, the part that reads, "If he is still alive, the victim returns to the owning player's control once all blows in that round of combat has been struck.", most certainly reads like an actual rule. It references your opponent (owning player); control of the affected model (owning player's control); an action and when it takes place in the sub-phase of the Assault phase (paraphrase: return control once all attacks have been made). It even has a pre-condition for this action (the 'victim' must still be 'alive'. I find it incredibly hard to believe that you can't read that statement and think that the MSS controller doesn't have full control over the affected model. Which includes, per the MSS rule full access to the abilities of the affected model's CC weapon(s). -Yad
Well that is because it does not say they have full control over the model. That is why they do not have full control over the model.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2012/08/28 20:35:06
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/28 20:35:26
Subject: MSS and force weapons
|
 |
Sneaky Striking Scorpion
|
The force rule has an on/off switch. If a psyker hits the switch the weapon drains them of a warp charge and forces a psychic test.
You flip the switch of a flashlight into the on position. The battery is drained of some if it's energy and the flashlight demon randomly decides, based on your awesomeness rating, whether or not the flashlight emits light and whether or not to smack you in the face. Oh and the battery is actually your soul and not located in the flashlight, but it works for some reason.
The argument here is whether or not MSS can force the psyker to hit the aforementioned switch. Any arguments about the psyker being the sole gatekeeper of warp charges and having to take psychic tests has no merit in the rules as they are written.
And while we're at it how about the 5-6 result of the Hallucination Telepathy power since it has different wording from MSS.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/28 20:39:56
Subject: Re:MSS and force weapons
|
 |
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver
|
Oh i agree, the part i quoted is likely flavour-text describing the wargear rather than rules-text describing how it works.
However i'd already quoted the latter note regarding how the model returns to control of the owning player afterward blows are struck, and didn't see that i should simply repeat it over and over again until the other poster acknowledged it as true. I like to keep things fresh if i can.
This may be a better one: (or at least, is from the FAQ as part of the rules-text section of the MSS writeup)
"At the start of the Fight sub-phase, randomly select an enemy model in base contact with the bearer of the mindshackle scarabs. That model must immediately take a leadership test on 3d6. If the test is passed, the mindshackle scarabs have no effect. If the test is failed, the victim strikes out at his allies. Instead of attacking normally, he inflicts D3 hits on his own unit (or himself, if on his own or in a challenge) when it is his turn to attack. These hits are resolved at the victim's strength and benefit from any abilities and penalties from his Melee weapons (the control of the mindshackle scarabs chooses which weapon he uses, if there is a choice). If he is still alive, the victim returns to the owning player's control once all blows in that round of combat have been struck"
1) The victim (psyker) strikes out at his allies.
2) The hits are resolved using any abilities from his melee weapons. (note, not just the passive ones)
3) The victim returns to the owning player's control once all blows have been struck.
So, does MSS grant control of the psyker? it seems that it does. Does control of the psyker allow one to make choices for that model? I'd say yes. Is there something unusual about the Force property that would prevent an MSS-controlled psyker from using it as it is listed in it's rules-text? I do not think so.
.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/08/28 20:47:07
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/28 20:45:23
Subject: Re:MSS and force weapons
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Neorealist wrote: 1) The victim strikes out at his allies. 2) The hits are resolved using any abilities from his melee weapons. 3) The victim returns to the owning player's control once all blows have been struck. .
1) Fluff 2) Actual Rules that tell you what the Fluff means. 3) Rules that tell you the victim is no longer shackled and can strike blows normally in the next combat.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/08/28 20:46:09
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/28 20:46:10
Subject: Re:MSS and force weapons
|
 |
Guard Heavy Weapon Crewman
|
Neorealist wrote:Stoff3 wrote:This is a poor try tbh. I will counter-question you. Where does it in the MSS rules say that you get total control of the model?
It's not very strange that they phrase it like they do in the end because the necron player indeed gets to choose which weapon the affected model uses and therefore you could easily assume that the model in some small way is not entirely under it's owners control. That does however not mean that the model is under the control of the necron player. I don't know about that, i figured it's in the rules-text of MSS so it's a fair question to ask.
To answer yours (even though you did not answer mine?)
MSS says so. And I quote: "Mindshackle Scarabs are one of the Necrons' chief methods of controlling alien races. At the bearer's command, tiny scarabs bury into the victims mind and bypass cerebral functions, turning the victim into little more than a puppet under control of the scarab's master..."
I don't know about you? But that seems to indicate the necron player is 'in control' of the model, which he subsequently loses once blows have been struck as per the rules-text i quoted earlier.
Ouch, your credibility in this discussion took a real hit there. Refering to fluff text when trying to argue about a rule?
Want me to refer to fluff text about Grey Knights and how one marine destroys 20 necron warriors in one blow? We'll just ignore the actual rules and say that one grey knight marine kills 20 necron warriors when they clash on the table ok? Automatically Appended Next Post: Yad wrote: Neorealist wrote:Stoff3 wrote:This is a poor try tbh. I will counter-question you. Where does it in the MSS rules say that you get total control of the model?
It's not very strange that they phrase it like they do in the end because the necron player indeed gets to choose which weapon the affected model uses and therefore you could easily assume that the model in some small way is not entirely under it's owners control. That does however not mean that the model is under the control of the necron player. I don't know about that, i figured it's in the rules-text of MSS so it's a fair question to ask.
To answer yours (even though you did not answer mine?)
MSS says so. And I quote: "Mindshackle Scarabs are one of the Necrons' chief methods of controlling alien races. At the bearer's command, tiny scarabs bury into the victims mind and bypass cerebral functions, turning the victim into little more than a puppet under control of the scarab's master..."
I don't know about you? But that seems to indicate the necron player is 'in control' of the model, which he subsequently loses once blows have been struck as per the rules-text i quoted earlier.
I'd not recommend using that part of the MSS rule as justification, it reads to much like fluff then an actual rule. However, the part that reads, "If he is still alive, the victim returns to the owning player's control once all blows in that round of combat has been struck.", most certainly reads like an actual rule. It references your opponent (owning player); control of the affected model (owning player's control); an action and when it takes place in the sub-phase of the Assault phase (paraphrase: return control once all attacks have been made). It even has a pre-condition for this action (the 'victim' must still be 'alive'.
I find it incredibly hard to believe that you can't read that statement and think that the MSS controller doesn't have full control over the affected model. Which includes, per the MSS rule full access to the abilities of the affected model's CC weapon(s).
-Yad
Edit: My impression is that you seem to think it needs to read 'full control', otherwise you're free to assign any level of control. I would suggest that control is full control unless otherwise specified. MSS works in a very narrow window of time in the Assault phase.
Good call about the fluff text nonsense there. We finally agree on something
As for the return of control part. You must surely be able to consider the option that if the model was under total control they would written that insted of carefully stating what the necron player may do? The fact that they write that the necron player is in control of the choice of weapon is something that tells us that the model isn't really entirely under the necron players control because otherwise it would be really unnecessary to state that detail.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/28 20:50:29
Armies: |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/28 20:50:29
Subject: MSS and force weapons
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
YAd - the context is plain as day - the control the MSS owner has is well defined, whereas your contention of "full" control is entirely denied by the MSS rules. The control MSS has is well defined and exclusivey written - you dont get to suddenly decide they have full control through ignoring the context a rule is written in.
Rigeld - again, you Benefit from the Force USR. You dont, however, have any ability to CHOOSE to activate the psychic power.
Again: benefit has a simple usage in uk-english that you are missing, and does not require an "active" effect to claim to have benefitted from something. Property agents speak for "property benefits from a light, airy dining room" gives just one example.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/28 20:55:05
Subject: Re:MSS and force weapons
|
 |
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver
|
Stoff3 wrote:Ouch, your credibility in this discussion took a real hit there. Refering to fluff text when trying to argue about a rule? Oh dear me, i am ever so worried about what you think about my credibility. I'd refer you to multiple prior posts containing various rules presented in this topic if you want something actually relevent to debate about, rather than wasting time with comments like the above.
In any case, the topic at hand.
Has anyone determined what specific level of control of the model has been granted by MSS?
|
This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2012/08/28 20:56:13
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/28 20:58:22
Subject: Re:MSS and force weapons
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Neorealist wrote:Has anyone determined what specific level of control of the model has been granted by MSS?
Yes, it allows what the actual MSS rules allow.
That being the choice of CCW's
that is what level of control it has.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/28 20:59:04
Subject: MSS and force weapons
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:YAd - the context is plain as day - the control the MSS owner has is well defined, whereas your contention of "full" control is entirely denied by the MSS rules. The control MSS has is well defined and exclusivey written - you dont get to suddenly decide they have full control through ignoring the context a rule is written in.
Rigeld - again, you Benefit from the Force USR. You dont, however, have any ability to CHOOSE to activate the psychic power.
Again: benefit has a simple usage in uk-english that you are missing, and does not require an "active" effect to claim to have benefitted from something. Property agents speak for "property benefits from a light, airy dining room" gives just one example.
I think you and DeathReaper may be ignoring the actual text of the MSS with regards to control, as well as how control is defined in the BRB. The only place I've found in the BRB where it specifically talks about 'control' is on pg.8, left column (Controlling Player vs Opposing Player).
To quote:
"Sometimes, a rule will ask the controlling player to make an action or decision of some kind. At others, it will place the same responsibility on the opposing player. The controlling player is always the player who 'owns' the model in question - the one who has included it in his army. The opposing player is always his opponent."
Now couple that with the Basic versus Advanced rule found on the preceding page ( pg.7). The MSS overrides the notion that the Controlling Player is the one who 'owns' the model when it is affected by MSS. Once a model is affected by MSS, control of the model and the ability to take actions and make decisions on behalf of that models transfers to the Necron player. The MSS rule then specifies exactly how long this transfer of control lasts....once all blows have been struck in the fight sub-phase.
-Yad
Edit: removed 'deliberately' as there is no way for me to know your actual motives
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/28 21:01:35
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/28 21:03:06
Subject: MSS and force weapons
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Yad wrote:The MSS overrides the notion that the Controlling Player is the one who 'owns' the model when it is affected by MSS. Once a model is affected by MSS, control of the model and the ability to take actions and make decisions on behalf of that models transfers to the Necron player. The MSS rule then specifies exactly how long this transfer of control lasts....once all blows have been struck in the fight sub-phase. -Yad
As for the underlined: Yes the MSS gives some control to the opponent, but that is only which CCW to use. This is covered in the MSS rules.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/08/28 21:03:20
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/28 21:03:20
Subject: Re:MSS and force weapons
|
 |
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver
|
DeathReaper wrote:Yes, it allows what the actual MSS rules allow.
That being the choice of CCW's
that is what level of control it has.
Not exactly. It also allows access to any abilities and penalties the chosen melee weapon has.
As such, how would the Necron player access the optional instant death property of a force weapon using your logic?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/28 21:03:39
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/28 21:04:18
Subject: MSS and force weapons
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
They don't access the optional instant death property of a force weapon as expending a Warp Charge point is not an abilities or penalties the chosen melee weapon has... The only level of control the MSS rule states is which weapon to choose if there is a choice. they benefit from the chosen weapons abilities or penalties, as normal.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/28 21:05:48
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/28 21:05:33
Subject: MSS and force weapons
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Rigeld - again, you Benefit from the Force USR. You dont, however, have any ability to CHOOSE to activate the psychic power.
Again: benefit has a simple usage in uk-english that you are missing, and does not require an "active" effect to claim to have benefitted from something. Property agents speak for "property benefits from a light, airy dining room" gives just one example.
Except that is a benefit. The light, airy dining room makes the house better. Your assumption wrt Force does nothing for the MSS user meaning it doesn't benefit them.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/28 21:05:42
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/28 21:06:58
Subject: MSS and force weapons
|
 |
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver
|
DeathReaper wrote:They don't access the optional instant death property of a force weapon as expending a Warp Charge point is not an abilities or penalties the chosen melee weapon has...
Who is talking about Warp Charges? I'm asking you how would the Necron player access the optional instant death property of a force weapon using your logic?
You seem to be saying that they can not access the optional instant death property of a force weapon, correct?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/28 21:07:10
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/28 21:07:39
Subject: MSS and force weapons
|
 |
Guard Heavy Weapon Crewman
|
Yad wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote:YAd - the context is plain as day - the control the MSS owner has is well defined, whereas your contention of "full" control is entirely denied by the MSS rules. The control MSS has is well defined and exclusivey written - you dont get to suddenly decide they have full control through ignoring the context a rule is written in.
Rigeld - again, you Benefit from the Force USR. You dont, however, have any ability to CHOOSE to activate the psychic power.
Again: benefit has a simple usage in uk-english that you are missing, and does not require an "active" effect to claim to have benefitted from something. Property agents speak for "property benefits from a light, airy dining room" gives just one example.
I think you and DeathReaper may be ignoring the actual text of the MSS with regards to control, as well as how control is defined in the BRB. The only place I've found in the BRB where it specifically talks about 'control' is on pg.8, left column (Controlling Player vs Opposing Player).
To quote:
"Sometimes, a rule will ask the controlling player to make an action or decision of some kind. At others, it will place the same responsibility on the opposing player. The controlling player is always the player who 'owns' the model in question - the one who has included it in his army. The opposing player is always his opponent."
Now couple that with the Basic versus Advanced rule found on the preceding page ( pg.7). The MSS overrides the notion that the Controlling Player is the one who 'owns' the model when it is affected by MSS. Once a model is affected by MSS, control of the model and the ability to take actions and make decisions on behalf of that models transfers to the Necron player. The MSS rule then specifies exactly how long this transfer of control lasts....once all blows have been struck in the fight sub-phase.
-Yad
Edit: removed 'deliberately' as there is no way for me to know your actual motives 
That is complete rubbish.
So according to your thoughts above, you could MSS a Lord of Change and make him cast Boon of Mutation on himself? The answer is no, because it is clearly stated that the only thing MSS gives you access to in terms of control is the choice of weapon. You can never ignore the fact that it is quite unatural to clearly state what the necron player can control and then just assume that everything is in the necron players control.
|
Armies: |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/28 21:09:04
Subject: MSS and force weapons
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Force does something.
It allows the user the ability to expend a Warp Charge point to invoke the ID rule with a successful psychic test.
But that is all it does is allow the psyker access to the psychic power.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/28 21:11:58
Subject: MSS and force weapons
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
DeathReaper wrote:Yad wrote:The MSS overrides the notion that the Controlling Player is the one who 'owns' the model when it is affected by MSS. Once a model is affected by MSS, control of the model and the ability to take actions and make decisions on behalf of that models transfers to the Necron player. The MSS rule then specifies exactly how long this transfer of control lasts....once all blows have been struck in the fight sub-phase.
-Yad
As for the underlined:
Yes the MSS gives some control to the opponent, but that is only which CCW to use.
This is covered in the MSS rules.
Not quite. There are two different levels of control at work here:
"At the start of the Fight sub-phase, randomly select an enemy model in base contact with the bearer of the mindshackle scarabs. That model must immediately take a leadership test on 3d6. If the test is passed, the mindshackle scarabs have no effect. If the test is failed, the victim strikes out at his allies. Instead of attacking normally, he inflicts D3 hits on his own unit (or himself, if on his own or in a challenge) when it is his turn to attack. These hits are resolved at the victim's strength and benefit from any abilities and penalties from his Melee weapons (the controller of the mindshackle scarabs chooses which weapon he uses, if there is a choice). If he is still alive, the victim returns to the owning player's control once all blows in that round of combat have been struck"
The first use of 'control' is in reference to the owner of the model with the Mindshackle Scarabs, the controller of the midshackle scarabs. I agree with you that this bit is about clarifying that it is the Necron player that decides which weapons will be used in the combat (benefiting from any and all abilities/penalties that weapon has). The second reference to 'control' is not about deciding which weapon to use, but rather who actually controls (per BRB pg.8) the model.
What this means is that for the duration of the fight sub-phase, a model affected by MSS is under control (per BRB pg.8) of the Necron player. That control does not return until after all blows are struck. During the fight sub-phase the Necron player gets to choose which weapons the affected model use. It may seem a bit redundant, but I don't see how you can equate the two uses of 'control'.
-Yad
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/28 21:16:44
Subject: MSS and force weapons
|
 |
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver
|
DeathReaper wrote:Force does something.
It allows the user the ability to expend a Warp Charge point to invoke the ID rule with a successful psychic test.
But that is all it does is allow the psyker access to the psychic power.
Indeed it does. With that in mind, can you indicate if a psyker who has not activated their weapon can be said to still be recieving 'all' of the benefits of his or her weapon? As after all you've already indicated that they would not benefit from the optional instant death property of it if it is not activated...
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/28 21:17:05
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/28 21:17:24
Subject: MSS and force weapons
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yad - it specifically tells you that when you fail you strike out at your allies. That instantly limits the control you have over the player
YOu are claiming you have "full" control over the player, when that is patently false.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/28 21:20:07
Subject: MSS and force weapons
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Yad - it specifically tells you that when you fail you strike out at your allies. That instantly limits the control you have over the player
Citing fluff?
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/28 21:23:39
Subject: MSS and force weapons
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
No, citing the context throughout the rule entire
Not once does it claim, prior to the out of context "return" section, that you have full control over the model. It explicitly states exactly what level of control you have over the model, that of making it hit the unit it is a member of, with you choosing which weapon to use if any
At no point does it state you control the model full stop. Not one single place does it do so, and claims otherwise are so obvfiously false I assume it is deliberate
Finally - nowhere are you given a choice to activate an ability. You are told you benfit from them - which you do. The presence of the "Force" rule is what you benefit from, you do NOT get to choose to activate something which is dictated as something the owning player decides upon, especially when it is a psychic power that you are told the owning player gets to choose to spend a warp charge on.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/28 21:28:09
Subject: MSS and force weapons
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Neorealist wrote: DeathReaper wrote:Force does something.
It allows the user the ability to expend a Warp Charge point to invoke the ID rule with a successful psychic test.
But that is all it does is allow the psyker access to the psychic power.
Indeed it does. With that in mind, can you indicate if a psyker who has not activated their weapon can be said to still be recieving 'all' of the benefits of his or her weapon? As after all you've already indicated that they would not benefit from the optional instant death property of it if it is not activated...
You are receiving the benefits of the Force USR. It still allows the psyker a choice of spending a force point to use the ID ability.
That is the benefit, as you would not be able to spend a force point to use the ID ability if the psyker were not attacking with a weapon with the Force USR..
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/28 21:28:25
Subject: MSS and force weapons
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Yad - it specifically tells you that when you fail you strike out at your allies. That instantly limits the control you have over the player
DeathReaper wrote: Citing fluff?
No, citing the context throughout the rule entire
Not once does it claim, prior to the out of context "return" section, that you have full control over the model. It explicitly states exactly what level of control you have over the model, that of making it hit the unit it is a member of, with you choosing which weapon to use if any
At no point does it state you control the model full stop. Not one single place does it do so, and claims otherwise are so obvfiously false I assume it is deliberate
Finally - nowhere are you given a choice to activate an ability. You are told you benfit from them - which you do. The presence of the "Force" rule is what you benefit from, you do NOT get to choose to activate something which is dictated as something the owning player decides upon, especially when it is a psychic power that you are told the owning player gets to choose to spend a warp charge on.
One person's fluff is another's 'context'. What you cherry-picked from the MSS rule is fluff. 'strikes out at his allies' really means this, "Instead of attacking normally, he inflicts D3 hits on his own unit (or himself, if on his own or in a challenge) when it is his turn to attack. These hits are resolved at the victim's strength and benefit from any abilities and penalties from his Melee weapons (the controller of the mindshackle scarabs chooses which weapon he uses, if there is a choice)" That is the actual rule. See the difference here between fluff and an actual rule?
You're also failing to reconcile how MSS returns control of the model back to the owning player with pg.8 of the BRB.
-Yad
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/28 21:31:30
|
|
 |
 |
|