Switch Theme:

Blood Lance and flyers  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Eye of Terror

Does BL auto hit flyers?
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

No, as you cannot snap shot anything that does not require a BS.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout





Happyjew wrote:
No, as you cannot snap shot anything that does not require a BS.


Just going to put this out there for debate,

With Blood Lance, you are never resolving a shot at a zooming Flyer per the rules for Hard to Hit so you are never in fact taking a Snap Shot.

If you are jumping on the Dinobot meme bandwagon regarding the new Warhammer 40k Chaos models, grow the feth up! 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

I'm fine with Blood Lance hitting flyers, as long as my vibro cannons can.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout





Happyjew wrote:
I'm fine with Blood Lance hitting flyers, as long as my vibro cannons can.


I have no problem with either as I don't play flyers in the first place....hahaha. However it has become a kneejerk reaction to bring up Snap Shot immediately without taking into consideration how certain shooting attacks work outside of the normal rules for shooting.

If you are jumping on the Dinobot meme bandwagon regarding the new Warhammer 40k Chaos models, grow the feth up! 
   
Made in us
Irked Necron Immortal







Should the 4D6 line cross under a flier, you would then check to see if your model has the Skyfire rule as your shot is going to be resolved as a snap shot against it. If you have the Skyfire rule, you would have had to declared it prior to shooting the power which means anything thats not a flyer, FMC, or skimmer under that beam isnt going to be hit and those models outlined just previously will be. If you dont have Skyfire your beam will pass harmlessly under the Flier and hit the units bellow it that are eligible to be hit by it.


Also, I just checked that power. Seems pretty crappy due in part to its wording against non-vehicles. :|

 
   
Made in us
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout





Xzerios wrote:
Should the 4D6 line cross under a flier, you would then check to see if your model has the Skyfire rule as your shot is going to be resolved as a snap shot against it. If you have the Skyfire rule, you would have had to declared it prior to shooting the power which means anything thats not a flyer, FMC, or skimmer under that beam isnt going to be hit and those models outlined just previously will be. If you dont have Skyfire your beam will pass harmlessly under the Flier and hit the units bellow it that are eligible to be hit by it.


Also, I just checked that power. Seems pretty crappy due in part to its wording against non-vehicles. :|


The problem with the above is that it in no way follows the rules for shooting as set in the rule book.

Shots resolved at a zooming Flyer follow a specific sequence as set in the BRB, not what you have outlined above.

You follow the shooting sequence as outlined on pg 13, iirc. When you declare the target, in this case a zooming Flyer, at that time the Hard to Hit rule comes into affect forcing you to Snap Shot because you are indeed firing at a zooming Flyer. Blood Lance never declares a target, the line is drawn and anything in the path suffers a str8 hit. You were never firing at the Flyer and thus were never resolving a shot at the Flyer.

If you are jumping on the Dinobot meme bandwagon regarding the new Warhammer 40k Chaos models, grow the feth up! 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Same with Death Ray, Vibro Cannons, and JotWW. You never declare a target, however, some of these do have a target.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Irked Necron Immortal







Your Psychic Shooting attack though doesnt have the Skyfire rule and is unable to hit the Flier at that point.

The same issue was brought up by the Necrons Doom Scythe and the Death ray. Difference here is that the Scythe has the option to turn on Skyfire where as your model does not. You must still follow the rules outlined by the Fliers entry in the book as in this situation, a Flier is present. Since the rules for fliers state that all shots fired against them count as Snap Shots unless the model firing has Skyfire, you must then proceed to the rules for Snap Shots.

 
   
Made in us
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout





Xzerios wrote:
Your Psychic Shooting attack though doesnt have the Skyfire rule and is unable to hit the Flier at that point.

The same issue was brought up by the Necrons Doom Scythe and the Death ray. Difference here is that the Scythe has the option to turn on Skyfire where as your model does not. You must still follow the rules outlined by the Fliers entry in the book as in this situation, a Flier is present. Since the rules for fliers state that all shots fired against them count as Snap Shots unless the model firing has Skyfire, you must then proceed to the rules for Snap Shots.


Ok, canned response noted.

Now, read the rule for Hard to Hit. It specifices when resolving a shot AT a zooming Flyer, you Snap Shot if you do not have Skyfire. The shooting sequence is clear as day in the BRB. At no time do you shoot Blood Lance at anything. If the rule stated when resolving hits AT a zooming Flyer, fine. However, with Blood Lance you at no time are shooting AT a zooming Flyer and never trigger the Snap Shot.

It is right there in the rules for Hard to Hit regarding resolving a shot, AT a zooming Flyer.

If you are jumping on the Dinobot meme bandwagon regarding the new Warhammer 40k Chaos models, grow the feth up! 
   
Made in gr
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin




You can point the blood lance on a flyer but in order to get a result you must resolve the attack against the flyer. And since you can't fire it as a snapshot, the attack against the flyer can't be resolved.

That's a good thing. Imagine how broken the Necron Doom Scythe would be otherwise. And this is coming from a Necron player.
   
Made in nl
Confessor Of Sins






copper.talos wrote:
You can point the blood lance on a flyer but in order to get a result you must resolve the attack against the flyer. And since you can't fire it as a snapshot, the attack against the flyer can't be resolved.

That's a good thing. Imagine how broken the Necron Doom Scythe would be otherwise. And this is coming from a Necron player.


The hard to hit rule only pertains to shots. It's not a blanket statement made about any attack versus the flyer having to be snap shots only. There are a few things that cause automatic hits in a way that's not a shot.


Cratfworld Alaitoc (Gallery)
Order of the Red Mantle (Gallery)
Grand (little) Army of Chaos, now painting! (Blog
   
Made in us
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout





 Shandara wrote:
copper.talos wrote:
You can point the blood lance on a flyer but in order to get a result you must resolve the attack against the flyer. And since you can't fire it as a snapshot, the attack against the flyer can't be resolved.

That's a good thing. Imagine how broken the Necron Doom Scythe would be otherwise. And this is coming from a Necron player.


The hard to hit rule only pertains to shots. It's not a blanket statement made about any attack versus the flyer having to be snap shots only. There are a few things that cause automatic hits in a way that's not a shot.



Which is EXACTLY my point.

If Hard to Hit was specific in saying, any hits resolved against a zooming Flyer, then there would be a valid argument for Blood Lance not working due to the rules for Snap Shots. Instead it uses the defined rules of shooting at a zooming Flyer, which Blood Lance never does as it will never be shooting AT a zooming Flyer. It may hit a zooming Flyer, but at no time was it ever shot AT a zooming Flyer.

If you are jumping on the Dinobot meme bandwagon regarding the new Warhammer 40k Chaos models, grow the feth up! 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Is the line drawn "on the battlefield"?
   
Made in us
Irked Necron Immortal







Does your shot pass over/under the flier? If it does, then youll be resolving your Psychic Shot at that flier, in addition to anything under that line in just a moment. Thats where Hard to Hit steps in and prevents you from doing so as your shot counts as an auto-hit against the flier. That shot will be resolved as a Snap Shot and auto-hits are not permitted as Snap Shots. In theory, I could then say that your unable to shoot your beam as it passed over/under my flier and save any other models that would have been hit by it on the account that your beam was one shot and had the Snap Shot rule applied to it; Denying you the effects of your power.

 
   
Made in us
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout





Xzerios wrote:
Does your shot pass over/under the flier? If it does, then youll be resolving your Psychic Shot at that flier, in addition to anything under that line in just a moment. Thats where Hard to Hit steps in and prevents you from doing so as your shot counts as an auto-hit against the flier. That shot will be resolved as a Snap Shot and auto-hits are not permitted as Snap Shots. In theory, I could then say that your unable to shoot your beam as it passed over/under my flier and save any other models that would have been hit by it on the account that your beam was one shot and had the Snap Shot rule applied to it; Denying you the effects of your power.


No, if the line passes over/under the zooming Flyer, you are not resolving a psychic shot AT the Flyer, you are resolving a hit OF the Flyer. Those are the rules for Blood Lance. You never shot AT the zooming Flyer, which is what triggers Hard to Hit.

You need to read the Shooting Sequence in the BRB and understand that is what the Hard to Hit rule refers to when it says shooting AT a zooming Flyer. As Blood Lance does not follow those rules, it never shot AT a zooming Flyer and thus never triggers Hard to Hit and the subsequent rules regarding Snap Shots.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/27 19:26:44


If you are jumping on the Dinobot meme bandwagon regarding the new Warhammer 40k Chaos models, grow the feth up! 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Tyr Grimtooth wrote:
Xzerios wrote:
Does your shot pass over/under the flier? If it does, then youll be resolving your Psychic Shot at that flier, in addition to anything under that line in just a moment. Thats where Hard to Hit steps in and prevents you from doing so as your shot counts as an auto-hit against the flier. That shot will be resolved as a Snap Shot and auto-hits are not permitted as Snap Shots. In theory, I could then say that your unable to shoot your beam as it passed over/under my flier and save any other models that would have been hit by it on the account that your beam was one shot and had the Snap Shot rule applied to it; Denying you the effects of your power.


No, if the line passes over/under the zooming Flyer, you are not resolving a psychic shot AT the Flyer, you are resolving a hit OF the Flyer. Those are the rules for Blood Lance. You never shot AT the zooming Flyer, which is what triggers Hard to Hit.

You need to read the Shooting Sequence in the BRB and understand that is what the Hard to Hit rule refers to when it says shooting AT a zooming Flyer. As Blood Lance does not follow those rules, it never shot AT a zooming Flyer and thus never triggers Hard to Hit and the subsequent rules regarding Snap Shots.


You seem to know the rule for Blood Lance, does it say to draw a line "on the battlefield"?
   
Made in nl
Confessor Of Sins






It only says 'extend a straight line, 4d6" long... in any direction'.

Cratfworld Alaitoc (Gallery)
Order of the Red Mantle (Gallery)
Grand (little) Army of Chaos, now painting! (Blog
   
Made in us
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout





 Shandara wrote:
It only says 'extend a straight line, 4d6" long... in any direction'.


And I am on the jobsite right now, but I recall it also jumping up and over certain units and terrain.

If you are jumping on the Dinobot meme bandwagon regarding the new Warhammer 40k Chaos models, grow the feth up! 
   
Made in us
Irked Necron Immortal







jumping over units locked in combat and up to units on ruins and the like.

Are you going to resolve that shot against the Flier or not? Mind you, a resolved shot is from the start of its To Hit to the Allocate Wounds and Remove Models; Substituting the Allocate Wounds and Remove Models with Shooting at Vehicles.


 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Well, I don't specifically have a dog in this debate but I view it no differently then the doom scythe weapon and I also am of the opinion that you can't shoot or hit fliers it unless you have skyfire. Mainly because you are forced to resolve as snap shots and snap shots say you can't fire a weapon that doesn't use a BS as a snap shot. While you may not be firing it as a snap shot, you certainly shouldn't be able to resolve it as one either.
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

 Kevin949 wrote:
Well, I don't specifically have a dog in this debate but I view it no differently then the doom scythe weapon and I also am of the opinion that you can't shoot or hit fliers it unless you have skyfire. Mainly because you are forced to resolve as snap shots and snap shots say you can't fire a weapon that doesn't use a BS as a snap shot. While you may not be firing it as a snap shot, you certainly shouldn't be able to resolve it as one either.

This is how I read it as well.

If it was not labeled as a PSA, I could see room for debate, as it is (one of) the only 'line attack' not required to be on the board.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Earth

So can the death ray shoot a flyer? as it can have skyfire as a flyer?
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

Death ray specifies that the line is on the battlefield.

That is what the second sentence I wrote was about.

editing to add:
Even so, it would not matter - for the same reason Kevin949 outlined.
Having skyfire is not the requirement, unless I misread, as there is no way to use it with a death ray.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/27 21:54:34


"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Earth

 kirsanth wrote:
Death ray specifies that the line is on the battlefield.

That is what the second sentence I wrote was about.

editing to add:
Even so, it would not matter - for the same reason Kevin949 outlined.
Having skyfire is not the requirement, unless I misread, as there is no way to use it with a death ray.


The sky is still on the battlefield, but jokes aside, is what you are saying a yes or a no?

   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Well now wait a sec, I'm not saying the death ray can't hit fliers. I'm saying it can't resolve as snap shots against them. If you declare skyfire with it you're avoiding the snap shot rule against flyers, but you will not hit ground targets at that point with it. I know it's easily up for debate (as there have been a few threads on it already) and could very much use an FAQ ruling, but going by the rules that *I* see, that's how *I* play it.

The point I'm making is that the psyker doesn't have skyfire (barring some other situation) and so doesn't have the option to bypass the "resolve as snap shots" restriction, regardless to the auto-hit of the power (which actually further enforces it wouldn't work). If he did have skyfire, he would be in the same boat as the scythe though, hit air but not ground or hit ground but not air.
   
Made in us
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout





Both of you are hung up on the automatic hits element of Blood Lance and are missing the main point that you never shoot AT a zooming Flyer with Blood Lance.

You never resolve a shot AT a zooming Flyer with Blood Lance because you never shoot AT anything with Blood Lance. A 4d6 line is drawn in any direction and anything under the line suffers as str8 8 lance type hit.

If you are jumping on the Dinobot meme bandwagon regarding the new Warhammer 40k Chaos models, grow the feth up! 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Tyr Grimtooth wrote:
Both of you are hung up on the automatic hits element of Blood Lance and are missing the main point that you never shoot AT a zooming Flyer with Blood Lance.

You never resolve a shot AT a zooming Flyer with Blood Lance because you never shoot AT anything with Blood Lance. A 4d6 line is drawn in any direction and anything under the line suffers as str8 8 lance type hit.


And nothing says you have to shoot AT anything to require hard to hit or snap shot to come into play.
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






 Kevin949 wrote:
And nothing says you have to shoot AT anything to require hard to hit or snap shot to come into play.


This, resolving a shot involves a series of stages, targetting, rolling to hit, rolling to penetrate, rolling on the damage table, etc.

All of these parts of resolving a shot can't be done at a zooming flyer if you aren't using Skyfire. (edit: without using the snap shot rules which forbid non-BS skills)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/28 01:39:47


Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout





 Kevin949 wrote:
Tyr Grimtooth wrote:
Both of you are hung up on the automatic hits element of Blood Lance and are missing the main point that you never shoot AT a zooming Flyer with Blood Lance.

You never resolve a shot AT a zooming Flyer with Blood Lance because you never shoot AT anything with Blood Lance. A 4d6 line is drawn in any direction and anything under the line suffers as str8 8 lance type hit.


And nothing says you have to shoot AT anything to require hard to hit or snap shot to come into play.


The rule for Hard to Hit does exactly that! It tells you when resolving a shot AT a zooming Flyer right in the rule. Resolvijng a shot AT something is a defined process which specifically includes choosing a target, which Blood Lance never does. How else would you determine that a zooming flyer is being shot AT if it isn't targetted?

Look at the rule itself; it specifically points out that Blast and Large Blast weapons cannot HIT zooming Flyers. Without that clause, those weapons could hit a zooming Flyerbecause it never shot AT the zooming Flyer but instead could have been shot AT a unit right next to the zooming Flyer and then scattered onto the zooming Flyer thus hitting it without shooting AT it.. Notice that there is no such clause for Blood Lance or anything like Blood Lance?

As it stands, PSA or shooting attacks that do not shoot AT a zooming Flyer but can still hit it by some mechanic of their rules, do not trigger Snap Shots and hit the zooming Flyer.

If you are jumping on the Dinobot meme bandwagon regarding the new Warhammer 40k Chaos models, grow the feth up! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: