Switch Theme:

Fast Shot - Emplaced Weapons  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Pestilent Plague Marine with Blight Grenade





So, this argument came up today:

Eldar Dark Reaper exarch power "Fast Shot"
He may add +1 to the number of shots fired by his weapon (so, for example, Heavy 2 becomes Heavy 3).


Question is, can the Dark Reaper exarch use this power when firing the Krakstorm Missiles on the Fortress of Redemption?

Also, wanted to add this in as I was looking into it further -
Pg 96 of the BRB -
If a building is occupied, a model within can choose to fire one of the emplaced weapons instead of his own. Use the firing model's ballistic skill and the line of sight of the weapon. All relevant special rules of the firing model and the weapon are used.
emphasis mine.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/25 03:17:17


 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

 Amanax wrote:
So, this argument came up today:

Eldar Dark Reaper exarch power "Fast Shot"
He may add +1 to the number of shots fired by his weapon (so, for example, Heavy 2 becomes Heavy 3).


Question is, can the Dark Reaper exarch use this power when firing the Krakstorm Missiles on the Fortress of Redemption?


I'd gladly say no, as the emplaced gun is not "his" weapon

   
Made in us
Pestilent Plague Marine with Blight Grenade





jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:
 Amanax wrote:
So, this argument came up today:

Eldar Dark Reaper exarch power "Fast Shot"
He may add +1 to the number of shots fired by his weapon (so, for example, Heavy 2 becomes Heavy 3).


Question is, can the Dark Reaper exarch use this power when firing the Krakstorm Missiles on the Fortress of Redemption?


I'd gladly say no, as the emplaced gun is not "his" weapon


Figured that would come up. Been trying to find anywhere in the book that states what defines a weapon as "his" weapon. Is it one he came with? Is it one he is firing? So far, no luck.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




I would say he can, since the rule allows him to use all his special rules.
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

I'd gladly say no, as the emplaced gun is not "his" weapon

Hardly conclusive, since at the time of its writing the only weapons he could possibly fire were his own weapons.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

 Ghaz wrote:
I'd gladly say no, as the emplaced gun is not "his" weapon

Hardly conclusive, since at the time of its writing the only weapons he could possibly fire were his own weapons.


For emplaced weapons are they not given the option to fire it instead of one of their own?

BRB is in my friends car atm >.< sad sad day.

   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




The OP has the rule in his post.
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

Fragile wrote:
The OP has the rule in his post.


Well that changes things alot, it wasn't initially there when I read/posted. I'd like to change sides of the fence based on the new information ^^

   
Made in us
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker





LaPorte, IN

I don't play DE but if the rule gives an example in the rule itself, it pretty much opens the door to the possibility that the character would be using weapons other than those available to him at the time it was written. Otherwise they could have just straight up said weapon option A = +1 and Weapon option B =+1. Instead they gave an example and an emplaced gun for all intents and purposes appears to work as equipment of the model, not a separate unit as some perceive it to be. You measure LOS and use abilities based on the model firing it, not the LOS of the emplaced gun.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




"instead of his own"

THe emplaced weapons are not, therefore, "his own" weapons
   
Made in au
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon




Armageddon, Pry System, Armageddon Sector, Armageddon Sub-sector, Segmentum Solar.

nosferatu1001 wrote:
"instead of his own"

THe emplaced weapons are not, therefore, "his own" weapons


That interpretation of RAW aside, not taking away from the fact that you seem to have nailed it as the RAW, one could also argue that female models must not be able to fire them manually as they are not a he and cannot fire it instead of her own. Then you also have to feel for the poor androgynous necrons...

I'd still play it as yes he can given it states explicitly that they are allowed to use any special rules while firing them, it just makes sense given I can't think of any other rule that affects a model while firing that wouldn't be used while firing an emplaced weapon. Can you?
   
Made in nl
Confessor Of Sins






The Exarch fires, since the gun emplacement/emplaced gun isn't firing itself.

He uses it as his weapon to shoot.

You want to argue whether 'his weapon' meant 'his original (set of) weapon(s)' or 'anything which he may shoot with'?

Cratfworld Alaitoc (Gallery)
Order of the Red Mantle (Gallery)
Grand (little) Army of Chaos, now painting! (Blog
   
Made in us
Guarding Guardian



Colorado Springs

I would say yes - the Fast Shot rule is clearly on the model, and not on, say, the Exarch's Reaper, and the emplaced weapons rule says "All relevent special rules from the gun and the model."

Dude Council
1 Farseer w/ Doom, Fortune and Guide on Bike
6 Warlocks w/ Destructor on Bikes
2 Warlocks w/ Embolden on Bikes w/ Singing Spears
2 Warlocks w/ Enhance on Bikes w/ Singing Spears

Yes, this causes much hatred.  
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 Bausk wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
"instead of his own"

THe emplaced weapons are not, therefore, "his own" weapons


That interpretation of RAW aside, not taking away from the fact that you seem to have nailed it as the RAW, one could also argue that female models must not be able to fire them manually as they are not a he and cannot fire it instead of her own. Then you also have to feel for the poor androgynous necrons...

I'd still play it as yes he can given it states explicitly that they are allowed to use any special rules while firing them, it just makes sense given I can't think of any other rule that affects a model while firing that wouldn't be used while firing an emplaced weapon. Can you?


He and His are also non gender specific pronouns, as well as gender specific ones. No issue there.

Shandara - no, the argument is that the gun emplacement rules state you are not firing your own weapons in order to fire the gun emplacement. You have to argue against the very specific wording that the gun emplacement is NOT "his' weapon, and RAW you are unable to do so.
   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon





Pooler, GA

 Bausk wrote:
female models must not be able to fire them manually as they are not a he
Since the original language used to form the rule is English, the default neutral pronoun has always been the masculine thanks to the Romans. In fact, other less diluted Latin based languages still refer to a group of mixed genders with the masculine form, even if there is but a single male.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/25 12:20:51


I don't write the rules. My ego just lives and dies by them one model at a time. 
   
Made in au
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon




Armageddon, Pry System, Armageddon Sector, Armageddon Sub-sector, Segmentum Solar.

Sweet, so glad you decided to focus on the joke rather than the answer and following question. Ace.
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






St. Jebus wrote:
I would say yes - the Fast Shot rule is clearly on the model, and not on, say, the Exarch's Reaper, and the emplaced weapons rule says "All relevent special rules from the gun and the model."


It's not a special rule though, it's a power.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





US

Dang it, my Exarch actually was converted to hold the weapon of another model... so now I can't use fast shot because it's not "his weapon"...

Seriously though, your digging a lil too deep into RAWville here. If he is using an emplaced weapon it's his weapon to fire.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/25 19:30:32


Craftworld Uaire-Nem pics "Like shimmering daggers of light our fury shall rain down and cleanse this battlefield." Autarch of Uaire-Nem
BlueDagger's Nomad pics - "Morality, my friend, is merely a price tag." - BlueDagger, Contraband Dealer. Holo-recording played during the murder trial of an undercover PanOceania officer. Court Record 9002xaB, . Infinity Nomads - Come see what it's all about!
|Looking for War-gaming matches in the Colorado area? Colorado Infinity
 
   
Made in se
Ferocious Black Templar Castellan






Sweden

 Kevin949 wrote:
St. Jebus wrote:
I would say yes - the Fast Shot rule is clearly on the model, and not on, say, the Exarch's Reaper, and the emplaced weapons rule says "All relevent special rules from the gun and the model."


It's not a special rule though, it's a power.


Yeah no. Exarch powers are special rules. Destructor is a (psychic) power.

For thirteen years I had a dog with fur the darkest black. For thirteen years he was my friend, oh how I want him back. 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





US

 AlmightyWalrus wrote:
 Kevin949 wrote:
St. Jebus wrote:
I would say yes - the Fast Shot rule is clearly on the model, and not on, say, the Exarch's Reaper, and the emplaced weapons rule says "All relevent special rules from the gun and the model."


It's not a special rule though, it's a power.


Yeah no. Exarch powers are special rules. Destructor is a (psychic) power.


Actually no, Exarch powers are optional powers that exarchs can upgrade to have. Not all powers are psychic powers

Craftworld Uaire-Nem pics "Like shimmering daggers of light our fury shall rain down and cleanse this battlefield." Autarch of Uaire-Nem
BlueDagger's Nomad pics - "Morality, my friend, is merely a price tag." - BlueDagger, Contraband Dealer. Holo-recording played during the murder trial of an undercover PanOceania officer. Court Record 9002xaB, . Infinity Nomads - Come see what it's all about!
|Looking for War-gaming matches in the Colorado area? Colorado Infinity
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Actually re-reading the rules for Gun Emplacements, it says nothing about using any special rules the model has, only that it follows the normal rules for Shooting. The whole special rule thing only happens when manually firing emplaced weapons.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Happyjew wrote:
Actually re-reading the rules for Gun Emplacements, it says nothing about using any special rules the model has, only that it follows the normal rules for Shooting. The whole special rule thing only happens when manually firing emplaced weapons.


Which is actually what he was talking about [Emplaced Weapons].


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 AlmightyWalrus wrote:
 Kevin949 wrote:
St. Jebus wrote:
I would say yes - the Fast Shot rule is clearly on the model, and not on, say, the Exarch's Reaper, and the emplaced weapons rule says "All relevent special rules from the gun and the model."


It's not a special rule though, it's a power.


Yeah no. Exarch powers are special rules. Destructor is a (psychic) power.


Ok, does he have to make a roll or anything for this "special rule power" to be effective?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/09/25 19:41:30


 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Yeah my bad. I just noticed the thread was emplaced weapons and not my weapon emplacements. My one buddy is not going to be happy that his quad-gun will no longer ignore cover.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 Kevin949 wrote:
 AlmightyWalrus wrote:
 Kevin949 wrote:
St. Jebus wrote:
I would say yes - the Fast Shot rule is clearly on the model, and not on, say, the Exarch's Reaper, and the emplaced weapons rule says "All relevent special rules from the gun and the model."


It's not a special rule though, it's a power.


Yeah no. Exarch powers are special rules. Destructor is a (psychic) power.


Ok, does he have to make a roll or anything for this "special rule power" to be effective?


No but neither does a Warlock with Embolden/Enhance/Conceal or a Shadowseer.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/09/25 19:43:03


Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Badass "Sister Sin"






Camas, WA

Happyjew wrote:
Actually re-reading the rules for Gun Emplacements, it says nothing about using any special rules the model has, only that it follows the normal rules for Shooting. The whole special rule thing only happens when manually firing emplaced weapons.


One model in base contact with the gun emplacement can
fire it instead of his own weapon, following the normal rules
for shooting.

No reason a model with special rules can't use them with Gun Emplacements. He is still firing the weapon.

Looking for great deals on miniatures or have a large pile you are looking to sell off? Checkout Mindtaker Miniatures.
Live in the Pacific NW? Check out http://ordofanaticus.com
 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Happyjew wrote:
Yeah my bad. I just noticed the thread was emplaced weapons and not my weapon emplacements. My one buddy is not going to be happy that his quad-gun will no longer ignore cover.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 Kevin949 wrote:
 AlmightyWalrus wrote:
 Kevin949 wrote:
St. Jebus wrote:
I would say yes - the Fast Shot rule is clearly on the model, and not on, say, the Exarch's Reaper, and the emplaced weapons rule says "All relevent special rules from the gun and the model."


It's not a special rule though, it's a power.


Yeah no. Exarch powers are special rules. Destructor is a (psychic) power.


Ok, does he have to make a roll or anything for this "special rule power" to be effective?


No but neither does a Warlock with Embolden/Enhance/Conceal or a Shadowseer.


Right-o. Just typically when someone says "can my model use X power for Y thing" it usually denotes some psychic power that requires a psychic test to use. Even still, I'm in the camp it wouldn't benefit the emplaced weapon or weapon emplacements. I know someone mentioned earlier about how when the rule was written he didn't have other weapons to fire that weren't his but by the same point they could have easily just said "Add +1 shots when an exarch shoots". So, just sayin is all.
   
Made in us
Secretive Dark Angels Veteran





Houston, TX

Wait, so you are saying that Telion firing a quadgun will not be able to pick out models although it is still twin-linked BS5?
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






leohart wrote:
Wait, so you are saying that Telion firing a quadgun will not be able to pick out models although it is still twin-linked BS5?



That's very different.

Pg. 63 - "If any of your character's shots roll 6 To Hit, these are Precision Shots."
   
Made in se
Ferocious Black Templar Castellan






Sweden

 BlueDagger wrote:
 AlmightyWalrus wrote:
 Kevin949 wrote:
St. Jebus wrote:
I would say yes - the Fast Shot rule is clearly on the model, and not on, say, the Exarch's Reaper, and the emplaced weapons rule says "All relevent special rules from the gun and the model."


It's not a special rule though, it's a power.


Yeah no. Exarch powers are special rules. Destructor is a (psychic) power.


Actually no, Exarch powers are optional powers that exarchs can upgrade to have. Not all powers are psychic powers


On a second read-through I can see where you're coming from. The problem, though, is that all the Exarch Powers are also special rules, as opposed to Special Rules (capitalized). I'd argue that (lowercase) special rules include stuff like Exarch Powers because it's referring to any rules other than the standard rules, which would include the Exarch Powers. Had it been (uppercase) Special Rules I'd agree with you, but as it is I'd interpret it as GW telling us that any rules that affect the firing of the weapon in question are used, which includes Exarch Powers.

For thirteen years I had a dog with fur the darkest black. For thirteen years he was my friend, oh how I want him back. 
   
Made in us
Secretive Dark Angels Veteran





Houston, TX

 Kevin949 wrote:
leohart wrote:
Wait, so you are saying that Telion firing a quadgun will not be able to pick out models although it is still twin-linked BS5?



That's very different.

Pg. 63 - "If any of your character's shots roll 6 To Hit, these are Precision Shots."


Well if he rolls a 6 he will get Precision Shots. Just that Telion has a special rule that makes all his shots Precision Shots. If he fires the Quad-gun, are all his shots Precision Shots?
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






leohart wrote:
 Kevin949 wrote:
leohart wrote:
Wait, so you are saying that Telion firing a quadgun will not be able to pick out models although it is still twin-linked BS5?



That's very different.

Pg. 63 - "If any of your character's shots roll 6 To Hit, these are Precision Shots."


Well if he rolls a 6 he will get Precision Shots. Just that Telion has a special rule that makes all his shots Precision Shots. If he fires the Quad-gun, are all his shots Precision Shots?


Depends on the wording of the special rule, if it says "his weapon" or something similar to that, then no it shouldn't work. If it just says something like "All shots count as precision shots" then sure.

The only actual point of contention with some rules and firing emplacements (either one) is when the rule in question references "his" or "their" in the possessive sense.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: