Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/17 22:22:07
Subject: Can a S3 unit with no grenades/options to hurt AV10 charge a vehicle?
|
 |
Helpful Sophotect
|
As the title says, the rulebook says "no" (p. 76), the Official Update v1.0a says "yes" (first page of FAQs).
Which is to be believed?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/17 22:26:24
Subject: Re:Can a S3 unit with no grenades/options to hurt AV10 charge a vehicle?
|
 |
Perfect Shot Black Templar Predator Pilot
|
I would say yes.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/17 22:31:37
Subject: Can a S3 unit with no grenades/options to hurt AV10 charge a vehicle?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
The Infinite wrote:As the title says, the rulebook says "no" (p. 76), the Official Update v1.0a says "yes" (first page of FAQs).
Which is to be believed?
I can not find that in the FAQ, can I get some more specific directions please.
40k FAQ found here
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/17 22:37:14
Subject: Can a S3 unit with no grenades/options to hurt AV10 charge a vehicle?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
I believe he refers to page3 second column.
Q: Can I charge an enemy unit that I can’t hurt? (p20)
A: Yes.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/17 22:41:43
Subject: Can a S3 unit with no grenades/options to hurt AV10 charge a vehicle?
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Unit, yes.
Vehicles, no. P.76
The rulebook never said you couldn't charge a unit you couldn't hurt, it only ever said you couldn't charge a vehicle you had no chance of hurting. This was to avoid letting people get a free potential 12" move against something that doesn't get overwatch.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/10/17 22:45:34
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/17 22:45:12
Subject: Re:Can a S3 unit with no grenades/options to hurt AV10 charge a vehicle?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
So in General you can assault a unit you can't hurt.
More Specifically you can't assault a vehicle you can't hurt.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/17 22:46:52
Subject: Can a S3 unit with no grenades/options to hurt AV10 charge a vehicle?
|
 |
Helpful Sophotect
|
Kevin949 wrote:Unit, yes. Vehicles, no. The rulebook never said you couldn't charge a unit you couldn't hurt, it only ever said you couldn't charge a vehicle you had no chance of hurting. This was to avoid letting people get a free potential 12" move against something that doesn't get overwatch. So, can Scarabs charge a Land Raider then? And if yes, what about another unit charging the Land Raider in the same phase, they'd be relying of the Scarabs' ES knocking the AV down?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/10/17 22:48:35
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/17 22:47:21
Subject: Can a S3 unit with no grenades/options to hurt AV10 charge a vehicle?
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
The Infinite wrote: Kevin949 wrote:Unit, yes.
Vehicles, no.
The rulebook never said you couldn't charge a unit you couldn't hurt, it only ever said you couldn't charge a vehicle you had no chance of hurting. This was to avoid letting people get a free potential 12" move against something that doesn't get overwatch.
So, can Scarabs charge a Land Raider then?
Yes, they have the ability to damage it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/17 22:58:50
Subject: Can a S3 unit with no grenades/options to hurt AV10 charge a vehicle?
|
 |
Morphing Obliterator
|
The Infinite wrote: Kevin949 wrote:Unit, yes.
Vehicles, no.
The rulebook never said you couldn't charge a unit you couldn't hurt, it only ever said you couldn't charge a vehicle you had no chance of hurting. This was to avoid letting people get a free potential 12" move against something that doesn't get overwatch.
So, can Scarabs charge a Land Raider then?
And if yes, what about another unit charging the Land Raider in the same phase, they'd be relying of the Scarabs' ES knocking the AV down?
I'd say they can't charge on the same time if they at the moment of the charge can't score a hit to the AV, need to wait for the scarabs to soften it up a turn.
|
CSM 10k points
IG 3k points
Orks 2k points
WoC 3.5k points
VC 2.5k points
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/17 23:05:53
Subject: Can a S3 unit with no grenades/options to hurt AV10 charge a vehicle?
|
 |
Helpful Sophotect
|
Next question then, is the rider of a chariot having a Warscythe enough justification to allow the chariot to charge a Land Raider (they are not the same unit after all)?
(can you see a theme developing for my upcoming battle?)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/17 23:25:25
Subject: Can a S3 unit with no grenades/options to hurt AV10 charge a vehicle?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
No, the unit charging, the Chariot, CANNOT hurt it. The embarked model is not the one charging it, which is why you get no assault bonus, no furious charge etc.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/17 23:33:05
Subject: Re:Can a S3 unit with no grenades/options to hurt AV10 charge a vehicle?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
grendel083 wrote:So in General you can assault a unit you can't hurt.
More Specifically you can't assault a vehicle you can't hurt.
There is no substantial difference here. Units can be made up of vehicles, therefore that FAQ overrides and allows you to charge vehicles you cannot hurt.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/17 23:36:27
Subject: Can a S3 unit with no grenades/options to hurt AV10 charge a vehicle?
|
 |
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets
|
"units" of vehicles are squadrons, not units. I can't remember having seen that they deviate from this distinction.
|
For The Emperor
~2000
Blood for blood's sake!
~2400 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/17 23:38:09
Subject: Can a S3 unit with no grenades/options to hurt AV10 charge a vehicle?
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:No, the unit charging, the Chariot, CANNOT hurt it. The embarked model is not the one charging it, which is why you get no assault bonus, no furious charge etc.
Probably why chariots get sweep attacks, eh?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/17 23:40:40
Subject: Can a S3 unit with no grenades/options to hurt AV10 charge a vehicle?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
SgtSixkilla wrote:"units" of vehicles are squadrons, not units. I can't remember having seen that they deviate from this distinction.
Pg 3. A unit usually consists of several models that have banded together, but a single, powerful model, such as a lone character, a tank, a war engine or a rampaging monster, is also considered to be a unit in its own right
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/18 00:07:38
Subject: Re:Can a S3 unit with no grenades/options to hurt AV10 charge a vehicle?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Fragile wrote: grendel083 wrote:So in General you can assault a unit you can't hurt.
More Specifically you can't assault a vehicle you can't hurt.
There is no substantial difference here. Units can be made up of vehicles, therefore that FAQ overrides and allows you to charge vehicles you cannot hurt.
There is a substantial difference.
Even a single vehicle is a unit.
You can assault a unit you cannot hurt. Unless that unit is a vehicle.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/18 00:09:57
Subject: Can a S3 unit with no grenades/options to hurt AV10 charge a vehicle?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
I'm with grendel. The FAQ on p20 is referring to general charge rules, while the p76 is specifically for vehicles, and overrides the general rule.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/18 00:16:32
Subject: Can a S3 unit with no grenades/options to hurt AV10 charge a vehicle?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Someone above said you don't get furious charge or bonus attacks on the charge when assaulting a vehicle is that true?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/18 00:24:05
Subject: Can a S3 unit with no grenades/options to hurt AV10 charge a vehicle?
|
 |
Lesser Daemon of Chaos
ATL, GA
|
Ub3rb3n wrote:Someone above said you don't get furious charge or bonus attacks on the charge when assaulting a vehicle is that true?
Someone is wrong.
|
"Better have one flexible neck to be making that shot," Bob said.
"You only assume the Balefire is coming out of his mouth, Bob. In my world, the Heldrake is pooping daemonic fire on your troops as it jets away from their mangled and now burning corpses." -John
-----
CSM: Black Legion
6th Edition Scores:
15 : 0 : 2 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/18 00:25:37
Subject: Can a S3 unit with no grenades/options to hurt AV10 charge a vehicle?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
I can't find any reference denying Furious Charge and +1A for charging a vehicle.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/18 00:42:22
Subject: Can a S3 unit with no grenades/options to hurt AV10 charge a vehicle?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Okay just making sure
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/18 00:46:02
Subject: Can a S3 unit with no grenades/options to hurt AV10 charge a vehicle?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
He was saying the *vehicle* (the chariot in this case) would not get the +1 atttack...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/18 02:38:37
Subject: Re:Can a S3 unit with no grenades/options to hurt AV10 charge a vehicle?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
grendel083 wrote:Fragile wrote: grendel083 wrote:So in General you can assault a unit you can't hurt.
More Specifically you can't assault a vehicle you can't hurt.
There is no substantial difference here. Units can be made up of vehicles, therefore that FAQ overrides and allows you to charge vehicles you cannot hurt.
There is a substantial difference.
Even a single vehicle is a unit.
You can assault a unit you cannot hurt. Unless that unit is a vehicle.
The FAQ makes no distinction. You can charge a unit. A vehicle is a unit.
I'm with grendel. The FAQ on p20 is referring to general charge rules, while the p76 is specifically for vehicles, and overrides the general rule.
Which would be fine, except the FAQ overrides that. That FAQ needs an exception for vehicles put in it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/18 02:48:15
Subject: Can a S3 unit with no grenades/options to hurt AV10 charge a vehicle?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Doesn't Basic vs Advanced on p7 address this? The FAQ specifically refers to the basic rules for assaults (references p20) , and the vehicle rules then go on to provide an exception.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/10/18 02:48:48
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/18 02:50:24
Subject: Re:Can a S3 unit with no grenades/options to hurt AV10 charge a vehicle?
|
 |
Rough Rider with Boomstick
|
Fragile wrote:The FAQ on p20 is referring to general charge rules, while the p76 is specifically for vehicles, and overrides the general rule.
Which would be fine, except the FAQ overrides that. That FAQ needs an exception for vehicles put in it.
The faq entry does not create a new super-rule that overrides all previous rules. It answers a question about a rule, in this case, the basic rules for charging.
I would follow the principle of specific > general.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/18 06:18:54
Subject: Re:Can a S3 unit with no grenades/options to hurt AV10 charge a vehicle?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Fragile wrote: grendel083 wrote:Fragile wrote: grendel083 wrote:So in General you can assault a unit you can't hurt.
More Specifically you can't assault a vehicle you can't hurt.
There is no substantial difference here. Units can be made up of vehicles, therefore that FAQ overrides and allows you to charge vehicles you cannot hurt.
There is a substantial difference.
Even a single vehicle is a unit.
You can assault a unit you cannot hurt. Unless that unit is a vehicle.
The FAQ makes no distinction. You can charge a unit. A vehicle is a unit.
I'm with grendel. The FAQ on p20 is referring to general charge rules, while the p76 is specifically for vehicles, and overrides the general rule.
Which would be fine, except the FAQ overrides that. That FAQ needs an exception for vehicles put in it.
Sorry gotta go specific> general hear bud. No Exception needed.
The Faq does not override as you say.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/18 08:01:33
Subject: Re:Can a S3 unit with no grenades/options to hurt AV10 charge a vehicle?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
foolishmortal wrote:Fragile wrote:The FAQ on p20 is referring to general charge rules, while the p76 is specifically for vehicles, and overrides the general rule.
Which would be fine, except the FAQ overrides that. That FAQ needs an exception for vehicles put in it.
The faq entry does not create a new super-rule that overrides all previous rules. It answers a question about a rule, in this case, the basic rules for charging.
I would follow the principle of specific > general.
As above. The advanced rule for chargin vehicles overrides the basic allowance to charge any unit
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/18 15:19:47
Subject: Can a S3 unit with no grenades/options to hurt AV10 charge a vehicle?
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Seeing as it's an FAQ and not an errata, nothing should operate differently than it did prior to the FAQ. It's pretty clear (to most people) that the FAQ was addressing a unit with a toughness value (made more clear by the pg20 reference in the FAQ).
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/18 16:44:23
Subject: Can a S3 unit with no grenades/options to hurt AV10 charge a vehicle?
|
 |
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard
|
Kevin949 wrote:Seeing as it's an FAQ and not an errata, nothing should operate differently than it did prior to the FAQ. It's pretty clear (to most people) that the FAQ was addressing a unit with a toughness value (made more clear by the pg20 reference in the FAQ).
Agreed
GW actually takes the time to seperate "answering questions" from "changes to rules"... and yet people ignore the distinction
|
DO:70S++G++M+B++I+Pw40k93/f#++D++++A++++/eWD-R++++T(D)DM+
Note: Records since 2010, lists kept current (W-D-L) Blue DP Crusade 126-11-6 Biel-Tan Aspect Waves 2-0-2 Looted Green Horde smash your face in 32-7-8 Broadside/Shield Drone/Kroot blitz goodness 23-3-4 Grey Hunters galore 17-5-5 Khan Bikes Win 63-1-1 Tanith with Pardus Armor 11-0-0 Crimson Tide 59-4-0 Green/Raven/Deathwing 18-0-0 Jumping GK force with Inq. 4-0-0 BTemplars w LRs 7-1-2 IH Legion with Automata 8-0-0 RG Legion w Adepticon medal 6-0-0 Primaris and Little Buddies 7-0-0
QM Templates here, HH army builder app for both v1 and v2
One Page 40k Ruleset for Game Beginners |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/18 16:55:38
Subject: Can a S3 unit with no grenades/options to hurt AV10 charge a vehicle?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Lobukia wrote:GW actually takes the time to seperate "answering questions" from "changes to rules"... and yet people ignore the distinction 
It's because GW change rules in the FAQ answers all the time and everyone who has actually read the FAQs should know this. This was true in 5e and it is true in 6e. And it is trivial to prove: 6e Necron FAQ V1.1, last question in FAQ portion. Note this is not Errata/Amendment. 6e Necron FAQ V1.1 wrote:Q: Is there any way to embark back onto a Night Scythe?
A: Yes – follow the rules for Embarking on page 78, treating the Night Scythe’s base as its Access Point. Note that this is possible despite the Night Scythe being a Zooming Flyer.
Underlined portion is explicitly changing rules. Do you still think that GW somehow separates "answering questions" from "changing Rules" in FAQs?
As for the original question, the FAQ about charging answer refers to general case. The specific case about not allowed to charge vehicles one cannot hurt still stands.
|
|
 |
 |
|