Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/18 17:12:07
Subject: Can a S3 unit with no grenades/options to hurt AV10 charge a vehicle?
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Luide wrote: Lobukia wrote:GW actually takes the time to seperate "answering questions" from "changes to rules"... and yet people ignore the distinction 
It's because GW change rules in the FAQ answers all the time and everyone who has actually read the FAQs should know this. This was true in 5e and it is true in 6e. And it is trivial to prove: 6e Necron FAQ V1.1, last question in FAQ portion. Note this is not Errata/Amendment. 6e Necron FAQ V1.1 wrote:Q: Is there any way to embark back onto a Night Scythe?
A: Yes – follow the rules for Embarking on page 78, treating the Night Scythe’s base as its Access Point. Note that this is possible despite the Night Scythe being a Zooming Flyer.
Underlined portion is explicitly changing rules. Do you still think that GW somehow separates "answering questions" from "changing Rules" in FAQs?
As for the original question, the FAQ about charging answer refers to general case. The specific case about not allowed to charge vehicles one cannot hurt still stands.
That's not a change to the rules, actually. Look at any other non-hover capable flyer...do they have access points?
My guess is no (admittedly I don't know every single flyer out there), but the night scythe does and has rules accompanying it allowing for embarkation and disembarkation. The general rule for zooming flyers is no one can embark, but this is a special acceptance for the night scythe due to it's existing rule. They actually did not change anything there, they did simply clarify that you can still embark on a night scythe despite zooming.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/18 17:14:06
Subject: Can a S3 unit with no grenades/options to hurt AV10 charge a vehicle?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Also, page 4 BRB FAQ, second question right column.
Q: Flyers are entitled to choose whether or not to use the Skyfire special rule at the start of each Shooting phase. Can Swooping Flying Monstrous Creatures also do this? (p49)
A: Yes.
That's a change in rules and not in the errata section.
To say its not, you'd have to show where FMCs could have used Skyfire before.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/18 17:52:10
Subject: Can a S3 unit with no grenades/options to hurt AV10 charge a vehicle?
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
rigeld2 wrote:Also, page 4 BRB FAQ, second question right column.
Q: Flyers are entitled to choose whether or not to use the Skyfire special rule at the start of each Shooting phase. Can Swooping Flying Monstrous Creatures also do this? (p49)
A: Yes.
That's a change in rules and not in the errata section.
To say its not, you'd have to show where FMCs could have used Skyfire before.
That one I'll give you, somewhat. I won't bother to explain why, though.
What's kinda funny is if you look at FMC's it also says they have "Relentless Smash" as a special rule...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/18 22:15:03
Subject: Can a S3 unit with no grenades/options to hurt AV10 charge a vehicle?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Obvious typo is obvious.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/18 23:17:56
Subject: Re:Can a S3 unit with no grenades/options to hurt AV10 charge a vehicle?
|
 |
Jovial Junkatrukk Driver
|
My guess would be no.
|
motyak wrote:[...] Yes, the mods are illuminati, and yakface, lego and dakka dakka itself are the 3 points of the triangle. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/19 03:26:11
Subject: Can a S3 unit with no grenades/options to hurt AV10 charge a vehicle?
|
 |
Sword-Bearing Inquisitorial Crusader
|
How is this even complicated? The rules say specific-general.
I have a general rule saying i can charge things i cannot hurt.
I have a specific rule saying i cannot charge a vehicle.
Therefore i cannot charge the vehicle. The fact that it is a unit doesnt matter. It is also a vehicle. I cant charge vehicles i cant hurt, which is a specific limitation on a general rule.
Also, scarabs could charge a landraider just fine. The rules do not ask how i am harming the vehicle only if it is possible for me to harm the vehicle. If they get enough entropic strikes to go off, then they can actually destroy it. And their ability goes off before armor.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/19 06:25:23
Subject: Can a S3 unit with no grenades/options to hurt AV10 charge a vehicle?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I think the clarifying key here is the FAQ mentions it is addressing page 20; which is where the general rules for charging are located. I believe if it were intended to include vehicles, it would be referencing p.72 (ish)
|
|
 |
 |
|