Switch Theme:

A couple of questions...  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Freaky Flayed One





Virginia Beach, VA

rigeld2 wrote:
 NakedSeamus wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
That's not what FNP says.


From the BRB pg 35:

"Feel No Pain
When a model with this special rule suffers an unsaved Wound, it can make a special Feel No Pain roll to avoid being wounded (this is not a saving throw). Roll a D6 each time an unsaved Wound is suffered, On a 4 or less, you must take the Wound as normal, On a 5+, the unsaved Wound is discounted - treat it as having been saved.

Note that Feel No Pain rolls cannot be made against Wounds that inflict Instant Death.

If a unit has the Feel No Pain special rule with a number in brackets afterwards - Feel No Pain (6+) for example - then the number in brackets is the D6 result needed to discount the Wound."

Its essentially an argument of what takes precedence. RAW the model must suffer an unsaved Wound to trigger either ability, therefore the armor save is gone. If you like at it from a common sense point of view, I just ate through your armor to wound you, however, you're so tough, zealous, furious, etc. to notice and you continue to soldier on, naked or not

If it weren't for the fact that the Entropic Strike Rules specifically state that the model "immediately" loses it's armor save for the remainder of the battle, I would say that people that oppose this would be in a better position to argue, but it couldn't hurt from an FAQ

The bold is what you missed. If you apply Entropic Strike, you're not treating the wound as having been saved.


Oh, it wasn't that it I missed it. It says now to treat as saved, however the model still has to suffer an unsaved Wound for the ability to trigger in the first place, which is all that has to happen for Entropic Strike as well. Later on the model can ignore the Wound, but it can't ignore the fact that it had suffered an unsaved Wound. Like I said, its a matter of what resolves first, if they're not resolved in parallel. It gets to ignore the wound (Stay Alive) but not ignore the affects of having taken the Wound in the first place.

   
Made in us
2nd Lieutenant




San Jose, California

rigeld2 wrote:
Yes, he can still score and no he cannot join another unit. He's still part of the warrior unit he joined.


And, if you have Ghost Ark(s) nearby, you can add warriors to the unit because it's still there.

Solve a man's problem with violence and help him for a day. Teach a man how to solve his problems with violence, help him for a lifetime - Belkar Bitterleaf 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

 NakedSeamus wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
 NakedSeamus wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
That's not what FNP says.


From the BRB pg 35:

"Feel No Pain
When a model with this special rule suffers an unsaved Wound, it can make a special Feel No Pain roll to avoid being wounded (this is not a saving throw). Roll a D6 each time an unsaved Wound is suffered, On a 4 or less, you must take the Wound as normal, On a 5+, the unsaved Wound is discounted - treat it as having been saved.

Note that Feel No Pain rolls cannot be made against Wounds that inflict Instant Death.

If a unit has the Feel No Pain special rule with a number in brackets afterwards - Feel No Pain (6+) for example - then the number in brackets is the D6 result needed to discount the Wound."

Its essentially an argument of what takes precedence. RAW the model must suffer an unsaved Wound to trigger either ability, therefore the armor save is gone. If you like at it from a common sense point of view, I just ate through your armor to wound you, however, you're so tough, zealous, furious, etc. to notice and you continue to soldier on, naked or not

If it weren't for the fact that the Entropic Strike Rules specifically state that the model "immediately" loses it's armor save for the remainder of the battle, I would say that people that oppose this would be in a better position to argue, but it couldn't hurt from an FAQ

The bold is what you missed. If you apply Entropic Strike, you're not treating the wound as having been saved.


Oh, it wasn't that it I missed it. It says now to treat as saved, however the model still has to suffer an unsaved Wound for the ability to trigger in the first place, which is all that has to happen for Entropic Strike as well. Later on the model can ignore the Wound, but it can't ignore the fact that it had suffered an unsaved Wound. Like I said, its a matter of what resolves first, if they're not resolved in parallel. It gets to ignore the wound (Stay Alive) but not ignore the affects of having taken the Wound in the first place.


Nope, if he suffered an unsaved wound. The model would have 1 less wound.

   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 NakedSeamus wrote:

Oh, it wasn't that it I missed it. It says now to treat as saved, however the model still has to suffer an unsaved Wound for the ability to trigger in the first place, which is all that has to happen for Entropic Strike as well. Later on the model can ignore the Wound, but it can't ignore the fact that it had suffered an unsaved Wound. Like I said, its a matter of what resolves first, if they're not resolved in parallel. It gets to ignore the wound (Stay Alive) but not ignore the affects of having taken the Wound in the first place.

So you're not treating the wound as being saved then? If you were, you wouldn't apply the Entropic Strike rule.
And FNP says you must treat the wound as being saved.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





This whole "what is FNP, baby don't hurt me" thing has come up in a million other threads, from entropic strikes to Dark Eldar 2++ item that fritzes out after a failed save. People are still arguing it rather passionately in each direction, so I doubt arguing it here will emerge with much better results.
   
Made in us
Freaky Flayed One





Virginia Beach, VA

rigeld2 wrote:
 NakedSeamus wrote:

Oh, it wasn't that it I missed it. It says now to treat as saved, however the model still has to suffer an unsaved Wound for the ability to trigger in the first place, which is all that has to happen for Entropic Strike as well. Later on the model can ignore the Wound, but it can't ignore the fact that it had suffered an unsaved Wound. Like I said, its a matter of what resolves first, if they're not resolved in parallel. It gets to ignore the wound (Stay Alive) but not ignore the affects of having taken the Wound in the first place.

So you're not treating the wound as being saved then? If you were, you wouldn't apply the Entropic Strike rule.
And FNP says you must treat the wound as being saved.


Well, I'm not quite sure what you're saying, because if I wasn't treating the Wound as saved (i.e. unsaved Wound) then you would apply the entropic strike rule, as it only applies to unsaved wounds. The Rule for FNP itself contradicts itself numerous times in the few sentences that are written. One second it says it must suffer an unsaved wound to even trigger the ability (which would also trigger my ES ability). The Wound is not saved, its just being treated as though it were. If the Wound was saved the rule would say that the Wound is saved, but instead it specifically states that FNP is NOT a saving throw. Obviously until there's an FAQ we would just roll off, however, the argument can be made either way.

   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Yes FNP creates a paradox.

but either way if you treat the wound as saved, you can not take away the armor save, because to apply ES is to not treat the wound as saved.


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 NakedSeamus wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
 NakedSeamus wrote:

Oh, it wasn't that it I missed it. It says now to treat as saved, however the model still has to suffer an unsaved Wound for the ability to trigger in the first place, which is all that has to happen for Entropic Strike as well. Later on the model can ignore the Wound, but it can't ignore the fact that it had suffered an unsaved Wound. Like I said, its a matter of what resolves first, if they're not resolved in parallel. It gets to ignore the wound (Stay Alive) but not ignore the affects of having taken the Wound in the first place.

So you're not treating the wound as being saved then? If you were, you wouldn't apply the Entropic Strike rule.
And FNP says you must treat the wound as being saved.


Well, I'm not quite sure what you're saying, because if I wasn't treating the Wound as saved (i.e. unsaved Wound) then you would apply the entropic strike rule, as it only applies to unsaved wounds. The Rule for FNP itself contradicts itself numerous times in the few sentences that are written. One second it says it must suffer an unsaved wound to even trigger the ability (which would also trigger my ES ability). The Wound is not saved, its just being treated as though it were. If the Wound was saved the rule would say that the Wound is saved, but instead it specifically states that FNP is NOT a saving throw. Obviously until there's an FAQ we would just roll off, however, the argument can be made either way.

Right - if you treat the wound as saved, you cannot apply Entropic Strike.
If you apply Entropic Strike you are not treating the wound as unsaved and have therefore broken the FNP rule.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Freaky Flayed One





Virginia Beach, VA

rigeld2 wrote:
 NakedSeamus wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
 NakedSeamus wrote:

Oh, it wasn't that it I missed it. It says now to treat as saved, however the model still has to suffer an unsaved Wound for the ability to trigger in the first place, which is all that has to happen for Entropic Strike as well. Later on the model can ignore the Wound, but it can't ignore the fact that it had suffered an unsaved Wound. Like I said, its a matter of what resolves first, if they're not resolved in parallel. It gets to ignore the wound (Stay Alive) but not ignore the affects of having taken the Wound in the first place.

So you're not treating the wound as being saved then? If you were, you wouldn't apply the Entropic Strike rule.
And FNP says you must treat the wound as being saved.


Well, I'm not quite sure what you're saying, because if I wasn't treating the Wound as saved (i.e. unsaved Wound) then you would apply the entropic strike rule, as it only applies to unsaved wounds. The Rule for FNP itself contradicts itself numerous times in the few sentences that are written. One second it says it must suffer an unsaved wound to even trigger the ability (which would also trigger my ES ability). The Wound is not saved, its just being treated as though it were. If the Wound was saved the rule would say that the Wound is saved, but instead it specifically states that FNP is NOT a saving throw. Obviously until there's an FAQ we would just roll off, however, the argument can be made either way.

Right - if you treat the wound as saved, you cannot apply Entropic Strike.
If you apply Entropic Strike you are not treating the wound as unsaved and have therefore broken the FNP rule.


Saying that I am not treating the wound as unsaved is the same as saying "I am treating the wound as saved." If the wound was saved, I would not be able to use Entropic strike, nor would I be able to roll for Feel No Pain. You're using double negatives and aren't making sense. Feel No Pain is not a save, it only allows you to treat unsaved wounds as saved wounds, which is not the same.

   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

As I have said: Yes FNP creates a paradox. If you make your FNP roll you treat the wound as saved, which disallows a FNP roll because there is no longer an Unsaved wound.

Good thing it does not matter as from this point on we treat the wound as having been saved and move on with the game.

It is not like the fabric of reality will rip just because the rules for FNP create a paradox.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Freaky Flayed One





Virginia Beach, VA

 DeathReaper wrote:
As I have said: Yes FNP creates a paradox. If you make your FNP roll you treat the wound as saved, which disallows a FNP roll because there is no longer an Unsaved wound.

Good thing it does not matter as from this point on we treat the wound as having been saved and move on with the game.

It is not like the fabric of reality will rip just because the rules for FNP create a paradox.


And my reasoning is that if you interpret the rule in the way where there is no paradox, i.e. the wound is still unsaved just ignored, then it makes more sense.

   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

 NakedSeamus wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
As I have said: Yes FNP creates a paradox. If you make your FNP roll you treat the wound as saved, which disallows a FNP roll because there is no longer an Unsaved wound.

Good thing it does not matter as from this point on we treat the wound as having been saved and move on with the game.

It is not like the fabric of reality will rip just because the rules for FNP create a paradox.


And my reasoning is that if you interpret the rule in the way where there is no paradox, i.e. the wound is still unsaved just ignored, then it makes more sense.


With your reasoning if it's a 1W model it's dead.
At least that's how I interpret it.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/13 18:36:32


   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 NakedSeamus wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
As I have said: Yes FNP creates a paradox. If you make your FNP roll you treat the wound as saved, which disallows a FNP roll because there is no longer an Unsaved wound.

Good thing it does not matter as from this point on we treat the wound as having been saved and move on with the game.

It is not like the fabric of reality will rip just because the rules for FNP create a paradox.


And my reasoning is that if you interpret the rule in the way where there is no paradox, i.e. the wound is still unsaved just ignored, then it makes more sense.
But that is not how the FNP rule is written.

It is written to turn unsaved wounds into saved wounds while not itself being a save. This is because you can only take one save if you have more than one save and they clearly wanted you to be able to take a save and roll for FNP.

Anything that triggers off of an unsaved wound will have no effect if the FNP roll is successful.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Freaky Flayed One





Virginia Beach, VA

 DeathReaper wrote:
 NakedSeamus wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
As I have said: Yes FNP creates a paradox. If you make your FNP roll you treat the wound as saved, which disallows a FNP roll because there is no longer an Unsaved wound.

Good thing it does not matter as from this point on we treat the wound as having been saved and move on with the game.

It is not like the fabric of reality will rip just because the rules for FNP create a paradox.


And my reasoning is that if you interpret the rule in the way where there is no paradox, i.e. the wound is still unsaved just ignored, then it makes more sense.
But that is not how the FNP rule is written.

It is written to turn unsaved wounds into saved wounds while not itself being a save. This is because you can only take one save if you have more than one save and they clearly wanted you to be able to take a save and roll for FNP.

As written it says treat the unsaved wound as saved, it does not say the unsaved wound becomes saved. Its semantics really that could be argued one way or the other. It does not become saved, its ignored.

Anything that triggers off of an unsaved wound will have no effect if the FNP roll is successful.

   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 NakedSeamus wrote:
As written it says treat the unsaved wound as saved, it does not say the unsaved wound becomes saved. Its semantics really that could be argued one way or the other. It does not become saved, its ignored.

"treat as" must mean the same thing as "becomes" or "is" or the rules break down in spectacular ways.
The easiest of which is to say that models without a CCW would have infinite CCWs.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Freaky Flayed One





Virginia Beach, VA

rigeld2 wrote:
 NakedSeamus wrote:
As written it says treat the unsaved wound as saved, it does not say the unsaved wound becomes saved. Its semantics really that could be argued one way or the other. It does not become saved, its ignored.

"treat as" must mean the same thing as "becomes" or "is" or the rules break down in spectacular ways.
The easiest of which is to say that models without a CCW would have infinite CCWs.


I think you're stretching the limits of reason here. Its not unreasonable to assume that just because someone is tough enough to shrug off a mortal wound, does not mean that i did not destroy his armor in the process of dealing him a wound. Afterall, its not as though the armor stopped the wound.

   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 NakedSeamus wrote:
I think you're stretching the limits of reason here. Its not unreasonable to assume that just because someone is tough enough to shrug off a mortal wound, does not mean that i did not destroy his armor in the process of dealing him a wound. Afterall, its not as though the armor stopped the wound.
But that is just fluff and not actual rules.

The RAW states you treat the wound as saved if the FNP roll is successful.

That means we have to pretend the wound was saved if the FNP roll is successful.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Deranged Necron Destroyer




rigeld2 wrote:
 NakedSeamus wrote:
As written it says treat the unsaved wound as saved, it does not say the unsaved wound becomes saved. Its semantics really that could be argued one way or the other. It does not become saved, its ignored.

"treat as" must mean the same thing as "becomes" or "is" or the rules break down in spectacular ways.
The easiest of which is to say that models without a CCW would have infinite CCWs.


Example? I can't think of a single place where this would actually happen.

As for FNP, we have 2 things that occur at the same time.

1) FNP roll
2) Entropic strike

Isn't it obvious? It's the same as MSS - the player who's turn it is chooses the order of operation. Feel no pain occurs when a wound is taken, so will act immediately, just as entropic strike does. This works as follows:

-The unit has a wound inflicted by scarabs/voidblade. They fail their save.
-The player picks whether FNP or ES goes first
-If they pick FNP first and it succeeds, the wound is treated as saved and ES does not take effect as there is no unsaved wound
-If they pick ES first, they lose their armour save, then make their FNP roll as there is still an unsaved wound

Neither of these create a paradox. One way there has been an unsaved wound, so you lose the save but still get FNP; the other way you roll FNP as there has been an unsaved wound, which then causes it to be treated as saved thus ES doesn't trigger.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/14 12:34:41


 
   
Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut




 NakedSeamus wrote:
jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:
 lucasbuffalo wrote:
To my knowledge, and I may be wrong, but stealth and shrouded, like all special rules, are redundant and not self-stacking. They stack with each other, but not with themselves.


That be correct.

You have stealth +1 cover, you have stealth, you still get +1 cover


So in other words no double dipping. I can get 3+ to my cover for having my own Stealth Rule plus the Shrouded due to night fighting, but I can't get 2+ to my save for already Having Stealth and then being given it again. Shucks, that stinks, but oh well.

Another Question (don't know why I have so many right now). How does Entropic Strike interact with Feel No Pain. They way I read it, as the model still suffers an "unsaved Wound" then it loses its Armor Save, whether or not it makes it's Feel No Pain roll. Reasoning:

BRB states that FNP "is not a saving throw."

Says the "unsaved wound is discounted."

So since the model has to "suffer an unsaved wound" for FNP to trigger in the first place, it still loses its armor save correct?


Shrouded and stealth stack so if you are in 5 plus cover and have stealth you are at 4 and if you then are 24" in more away and night firing is up then you have a 2+ save


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Eyjio wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
 NakedSeamus wrote:
As written it says treat the unsaved wound as saved, it does not say the unsaved wound becomes saved. Its semantics really that could be argued one way or the other. It does not become saved, its ignored.

"treat as" must mean the same thing as "becomes" or "is" or the rules break down in spectacular ways.
The easiest of which is to say that models without a CCW would have infinite CCWs.


Example? I can't think of a single place where this would actually happen.

As for FNP, we have 2 things that occur at the same time.

1) FNP roll
2) Entropic strike

Isn't it obvious? It's the same as MSS - the player who's turn it is chooses the order of operation. Feel no pain occurs when a wound is taken, so will act immediately, just as entropic strike does. This works as follows:

-The unit has a wound inflicted by scarabs/voidblade. They fail their save.
-The player picks whether FNP or ES goes first
-If they pick FNP first and it succeeds, the wound is treated as saved and ES does not take effect as there is no unsaved wound
-If they pick ES first, they lose their armour save, then make their FNP roll as there is still an unsaved wound

Neither of these create a paradox. One way there has been an unsaved wound, so you lose the save but still get FNP; the other way you roll FNP as there has been an unsaved wound, which then causes it to be treated as saved thus ES doesn't trigger.


Raw for entropic strike they lose their armor save after suffering an unsaved wound, fpn says treat it as being saved, fnp wins not saying that should be right but that's raw

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/14 15:01:22


 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Eyjio wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
 NakedSeamus wrote:
As written it says treat the unsaved wound as saved, it does not say the unsaved wound becomes saved. Its semantics really that could be argued one way or the other. It does not become saved, its ignored.

"treat as" must mean the same thing as "becomes" or "is" or the rules break down in spectacular ways.
The easiest of which is to say that models without a CCW would have infinite CCWs.


Example? I can't think of a single place where this would actually happen.

I mentioned an example, but I guess you need it spelled out.
Page 51 wrote:No Specified Melee Weapon
If a model is not specifically stated as having a weapon with the Melee type, it is treated as being armed with a single close combat weapon.

If "treated as" is not the same thing as "is" then models with no CCW have no CCW.
Page 60, Force Weapons wrote:If a Force weapon has its own unique close combat rules, treat it as an AP3 Melee weapon with the additional rules and characteristics presented in its entry.

Hmm... nope, it's not AP3 according to you. Must not have any AP at all then. Same wording for Unusual Power Weapons. Yay! My Carnifexes get armor saves against GK now!
Page 71 wrote:Vehicles are not slowed down by difficult terrain. However, they treat all difficult terrain as dangerous terrain instead.

Since it's not actually dangerous terrain, that means no test to immobilize. Yay!

Need more examples?

As for FNP, we have 2 things that occur at the same time.

1) FNP roll
2) Entropic strike

Isn't it obvious? It's the same as MSS - the player who's turn it is chooses the order of operation. Feel no pain occurs when a wound is taken, so will act immediately, just as entropic strike does. This works as follows:

-The unit has a wound inflicted by scarabs/voidblade. They fail their save.
-The player picks whether FNP or ES goes first
-If they pick FNP first and it succeeds, the wound is treated as saved and ES does not take effect as there is no unsaved wound
-If they pick ES first, they lose their armour save, then make their FNP roll as there is still an unsaved wound

Neither of these create a paradox. One way there has been an unsaved wound, so you lose the save but still get FNP; the other way you roll FNP as there has been an unsaved wound, which then causes it to be treated as saved thus ES doesn't trigger.


Even if you allow ES to trigger, if you make the FNP roll and still apply ES you are absolutely not treating the wound as saved - which is what FNP requires. So you're breaking a rule.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/14 15:06:41


My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Freaky Flayed One





Virginia Beach, VA

rigeld2 wrote:
Eyjio wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
 NakedSeamus wrote:
As written it says treat the unsaved wound as saved, it does not say the unsaved wound becomes saved. Its semantics really that could be argued one way or the other. It does not become saved, its ignored.

"treat as" must mean the same thing as "becomes" or "is" or the rules break down in spectacular ways.
The easiest of which is to say that models without a CCW would have infinite CCWs.


Example? I can't think of a single place where this would actually happen.

I mentioned an example, but I guess you need it spelled out.
Page 51 wrote:No Specified Melee Weapon
If a model is not specifically stated as having a weapon with the Melee type, it is treated as being armed with a single close combat weapon.

If "treated as" is not the same thing as "is" then models with no CCW have no CCW.
Page 60, Force Weapons wrote:If a Force weapon has its own unique close combat rules, treat it as an AP3 Melee weapon with the additional rules and characteristics presented in its entry.

Hmm... nope, it's not AP3 according to you. Must not have any AP at all then. Same wording for Unusual Power Weapons. Yay! My Carnifexes get armor saves against GK now!
Page 71 wrote:Vehicles are not slowed down by difficult terrain. However, they treat all difficult terrain as dangerous terrain instead.

Since it's not actually dangerous terrain, that means no test to immobilize. Yay!

Need more examples?

As for FNP, we have 2 things that occur at the same time.

1) FNP roll
2) Entropic strike

Isn't it obvious? It's the same as MSS - the player who's turn it is chooses the order of operation. Feel no pain occurs when a wound is taken, so will act immediately, just as entropic strike does. This works as follows:

-The unit has a wound inflicted by scarabs/voidblade. They fail their save.
-The player picks whether FNP or ES goes first
-If they pick FNP first and it succeeds, the wound is treated as saved and ES does not take effect as there is no unsaved wound
-If they pick ES first, they lose their armour save, then make their FNP roll as there is still an unsaved wound

Neither of these create a paradox. One way there has been an unsaved wound, so you lose the save but still get FNP; the other way you roll FNP as there has been an unsaved wound, which then causes it to be treated as saved thus ES doesn't trigger.


Even if you allow ES to trigger, if you make the FNP roll and still apply ES you are absolutely not treating the wound as saved - which is what FNP requires. So you're breaking a rule.


I think that if you're going to be rude, and imply that everyone who disagrees with you is stupid, that you shouldn't get involved in any debates. That being said I never implied that you do not still "treat" the wound as saved, all I said was that "treating something as" is not the same as "it is," "it has" or "becomes."

Its not as though because we treat a model with no modeled CCW that it magically becomes so. (I still fail to see how you can use this reason to make a model have infinite CCW btw.)

I tend to agree with Eyjio as far as using turn to determine the order of resolution, and I think that would be a good way of settling the arguement.

   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 NakedSeamus wrote:
I think that if you're going to be rude, and imply that everyone who disagrees with you is stupid, that you shouldn't get involved in any debates.

I apologize - I meant no offense.

That being said I never implied that you do not still "treat" the wound as saved, all I said was that "treating something as" is not the same as "it is," "it has" or "becomes."

It has to be - if it isn't, then all the examples I cited would be true; Unusual Power Weapons would not be AP3, they'd just be treated as AP3... but the rule for AP requires them to be AP3 to ignore a 3+ save.

Its not as though because we treat a model with no modeled CCW that it magically becomes so.

It has to be - or you'd continuously apply the rule over and over and over because it's never explicitly stated that it has a CCW.

(I still fail to see how you can use this reason to make a model have infinite CCW btw.)

That would be me misremembering the rule (I didn't remember the word "single" in the rule and without it a model would get a CCW over and over and over) - but it still has the consequence I spelled out.

I tend to agree with Eyjio as far as using turn to determine the order of resolution, and I think that would be a good way of settling the arguement.

And, as I explained, you're breaking the rule that FNP puts forth if you apply ES because you're not treating the wound as being saved if you apply ES.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/14 16:10:55


My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Deranged Necron Destroyer




I should have been clearer in fairness - I actually agree with the main argument, I just didn't see the infinite CCW.

As for not treating it as saved, you have. The model has kept its wound, so must be treating it as saved. No rule stops ES from occurring as the only condition on it is there must have been an unsaved wound - the identical trigger for FNP to happen as well. Now, it's not HIWPI, it seems intended that FNP is an additional saving throw. As it stands RAW though, the trigger is the same and the time step is the same, so we should resolve it in the player's choice.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/15 14:54:50


 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Eyjio wrote:
I should have been clearer in fairness - I actually agree with the main argument, I just didn't see the infinite CCW.

As for not treating it as saved, you have. The model has kept its wound, so must be treating it as saved. No rule stops ES from occurring as the only condition on it is there must have been an unsaved wound - the identical trigger for FNP to happen as well. Now, it's not HIWPI, it seems intended that FNP is an additional saving throw. As it stands RAW though, the trigger is the same and the time step is the same, so we should resolve it in the player's choice.

So if you apply ES are you treating the wound as unsaved or saved?
Can ES apply if a wound is saved?

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Deranged Necron Destroyer




You temporarily treat the wound as unsaved due to the use of the word immediately in ES. It's bizarre but nothing physically stops it - ES happens immediately after an unsaved wound occurs. Showing FNP is immediate is a little harder but I think we all can see that it is. ES doesn't ask for a lost wound, merely an unsaved one. Nothing equates the two. Hence, it works regardless of whether the wound was lost or saved by FNP.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





So you're applying ES to a saved wound?

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Deranged Necron Destroyer




Well, I'm wrong, sorry.

Yup, I've been reading it wrong this whole time. It must suffer the unsaved wound, then immediately loses its armour save. I thought it was WHEN a model suffers an unsaved wound it immediately loses its armour save. It actually says if the model has suffered an unsaved wound, it immediately loses its armour save. So, before the immediacy was important to me as that would trigger whenever it happened. However, the way it really works is to make all saves first, then immediately lose your save. My argument holds almost no weight now and I feel pretty silly. I mean, you can still interpret it the way I was before, but it becomes silly. It's far more logical to take anything that saves fist, then immediately lose the save. In fact, the immediately only seems to be so that if another unit under your control hits at a lower initiative, it doesn't need to worry about the armour save.

So yeah. At least I've been playing it right.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: