Switch Theme:

Kharn the Betrayer Ignoring ID from a Daemon Hammer  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps




Phoenix, AZ, USA

Kharn affectively has Eternal Warrior (Force Weapons), allowing him to ignore Instant Death from any weapon with the Force special rule. Not sure why that's so difficult for people to grasp.

SJ

“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
 
   
Made in us
Stone Bonkers Fabricator General





Beijing, China

 jeffersonian000 wrote:
Kharn affectively has Eternal Warrior (Force Weapons), allowing him to ignore Instant Death from any weapon with the Force special rule. Not sure why that's so difficult for people to grasp.

SJ


because they think that he has Eternal Warrior (Force Special Rule) even though his rules say Force Weapon.

Dark Mechanicus and Renegade Iron Hand Dakka Blog
My Dark Mechanicus P&M Blog. Mostly Modeling as I paint very slowly. Lots of kitbashed conversions of marines and a few guard to make up a renegade Iron Hand chapter and Dark Mechanicus Allies. Bionics++  
   
Made in gb
Whiteshield Conscript Trooper




Everyone is ignoring the fact that force weapons don't inflict instant death until after an unsaved wound has been inflited, this would happen at the same time kharns special rule kicks in, meaning that if the player who's turn it is decideds the order of the rules or if you randomise it, 50% of the time kharns special rule takes place before the force weapon activates, so for the rule to ignore the force special rule it'd have to ignore force weapon instant death before a force weapon was activated not after, thus placing the context at a stage of unactivated force weapons aswell as activated force weapons, from this we can discern the oringal context to mean, "if kharn sufferes an unsaved wound from a "force weapon"", not "if kharn sufferes an unsaved wound from an active "force weapon"". This means the force weapon, the weapon, not force weapon the rule. Meaning all instant death confered by a force weapon of any type. Considering a daemon hammer's special rule is to double the user's strength, which is confered by the daemon hammer, allowing the user to instand death an oponent, due to the daemon hammers altered attacks. The force weapon makes stikes at strength 8 which is ignored by kharn's rule.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





alex567 wrote:
Everyone is ignoring the fact that force weapons don't inflict instant death until after an unsaved wound has been inflited,

You mean like literally ever Instant Death rule?

this would happen at the same time kharns special rule kicks in, meaning that if the player who's turn it is decideds the order of the rules or if you randomise it, 50% of the time kharns special rule takes place before the force weapon activates, so for the rule to ignore the force special rule it'd have to ignore force weapon instant death before a force weapon was activated not after, thus placing the context at a stage of unactivated force weapons aswell as activated force weapons, from this we can discern the oringal context to mean, "if kharn sufferes an unsaved wound from a "force weapon"", not "if kharn sufferes an unsaved wound from an active "force weapon"". This means the force weapon, the weapon, not force weapon the rule. Meaning all instant death confered by a force weapon of any type. Considering a daemon hammer's special rule is to double the user's strength, which is confered by the daemon hammer, allowing the user to instand death an oponent, due to the daemon hammers altered attacks. The force weapon makes stikes at strength 8 which is ignored by kharn's rule.

Not a single part of that is actual rules. Perhaps you should refer to them.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Proud Phantom Titan







alex567 wrote:
Everyone is ignoring the fact that force weapons don't inflict instant death until after an unsaved wound has been inflited
... no.

Normally force weapons would requires a force test to inflict ID. However it is quite possible for a force weapon to strike at double a targets toughness.

In this case the daemon hammer strikes at str 8 so can cause ID without using the force rule. It is however a force weapon and force weapons cannot inflict ID on Kharn, so it still doesn't inflict ID.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/07 22:40:00


 
   
Made in gb
Whiteshield Conscript Trooper




pg. 37 main rulebook, force special rule, the test is not taken until after the unsave wound is inflicted. thus meaning that it is actualy possible for the force weapon to inflict instant death, before the weapon inflicts the unsaved wound, i.e. in the case of daemon hammers doubling the strength, I was refering to the context in which kharn ignores instant death, and it is not in the context of an activated force weapon, as previously discussed, but in the case of any force weapon, that is what I was trying to get across.

This statement means that people are perfectly justified to ignore double strength daemon hammers when taking wounds on kharn. I was just adding supporting evidence to keeping kharn alive.

If two rules happen at the same time, that oppose, then IIRC then the person who's turn it is gets to pick the order, or you randomise it? Don't quote me on that. That is what I meant by the 50% thing, but after re-reading it, an inflicted unsaved wound and an unsaved wound are to different things, i.e. kharns rule happens after the wound happens but before kharn takes it, also in the case of wound allocation where you take a save then allocate a wound.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/07 23:13:09


 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





alex567 wrote:
pg. 37 main rulebook, force special rule, the test is not taken until after the unsave wound is inflicted. thus meaning that it is actualy possible for the force weapon to inflict instant death, before the weapon inflicts the unsaved wound, i.e. in the case of daemon hammers doubling the strength, I was refering to the context in which kharn ignores instant death, and it is not in the context of an activated force weapon, as previously discussed, but in the case of any force weapon, that is what I was trying to get across.

You're wrong.
For any Instant Death wound you must cause an unsaved wound first. It's in the rules for Instant Death.

If two rules happen at the same time, that oppose, then IIRC then the person who's turn it is gets to pick the order, or you randomise it? Don't quote me on that. That is what I meant by the 50% thing, but after re-reading it, an inflicted unsaved wound and an unsaved wound are to different things, i.e. kharns rule happens after the wound happens but before kharn takes it, also in the case of wound allocation where you take a save then allocate a wound.

No, it's not if rules conflict - it's if two actions must happen at the same time. There's no conflict of actions here.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Whiteshield Conscript Trooper




rigeld2 wrote:
alex567 wrote:
pg. 37 main rulebook, force special rule, the test is not taken until after the unsave wound is inflicted. thus meaning that it is actualy possible for the force weapon to inflict instant death, before the weapon inflicts the unsaved wound, i.e. in the case of daemon hammers doubling the strength, I was refering to the context in which kharn ignores instant death, and it is not in the context of an activated force weapon, as previously discussed, but in the case of any force weapon, that is what I was trying to get across.

You're wrong.
For any Instant Death wound you must cause an unsaved wound first. It's in the rules for Instant Death.


I was more refering to a force weapon able to inflict instant deat before rolling to be a force weapon, not at what time you actually kill the model, a daemon hammer inflicts instant death whether or not you use the force weapon rules, against targets half its strength value.

rigeld2 wrote:
alex567 wrote:
If two rules happen at the same time, that oppose, then IIRC then the person who's turn it is gets to pick the order, or you randomise it? Don't quote me on that. That is what I meant by the 50% thing, but after re-reading it, an inflicted unsaved wound and an unsaved wound are to different things, i.e. kharns rule happens after the wound happens but before kharn takes it, also in the case of wound allocation where you take a save then allocate a wound..

No, it's not if rules conflict - it's if two actions must happen at the same time. There's no conflict of actions here.


Kinda what I was trying to refere to, had conflict in my head, but meant something, else. I was thinking of some I1 versus I10 thread I encountered a while ago, and had conflict at the forefront of my mind.
   
Made in gb
Proud Phantom Titan







alex567 wrote:

I was more refering to a force weapon able to inflict instant deat before rolling to be a force weapon,
heres your problem ... its always a force weapon. Force weapons give you access to the Force rule, which you may activate.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/07 23:43:26


 
   
Made in us
Powerful Ushbati





Manhatten, KS

The blood god would be pleased with this 11 page debate over one of his favored sons. Wow! I would just let kharn not be instant gibbed... He has a special rule against anything force. Not your average rule everyone gets.

TK - 2012 40K GT Record 18-5
4th in 2nd bracket Feast of Blades 2012 (IG/SoB); 4th Overall Midwest Massacre (IG/SW); 5th Overall Indy Open (IG); Final 16 Adepticon Open (IG)

TK - 2013 40K GT Record 24-4
Best General Indy Open (Crons/CSM)
Top 5! Bugeater GT (TauDar)
Final 4 Nova Invitational (Eldau)
Best Overall Midwest Massacre (Crons/CSM)

TK- 2014 to Date: http://www.torrentoffire.com/rankings 
   
Made in gb
Whiteshield Conscript Trooper




 Tri wrote:
alex567 wrote:

I was more refering to a force weapon able to inflict instant deat before rolling to be a force weapon,
heres your problem ... its always a force weapon. Force weapons give you access to the Force rule, which you may activate.


Again basically what I meant.
   
Made in gb
Proud Phantom Titan







alex567 wrote:
 Tri wrote:
alex567 wrote:

I was more refering to a force weapon able to inflict instant deat before rolling to be a force weapon,
heres your problem ... its always a force weapon. Force weapons give you access to the Force rule, which you may activate.


Again basically what I meant.
Not really as kharn is not immune to instant death caused by the Force rule. He is immune to instant death from force weapons, doesn't matter how the force weapon tries to ID him, his rule lets him ignores it.
   
Made in gb
Stealthy Dark Angels Scout with Shotgun




This has been going in circles for 11 pages because some people can not seem to understand that the way Kharn's rule is written is that he is immune to instant death from force WEAPONS, not just the force special rule. RAW is CLEAR and no matter HOW the force weapon inflicts instant death Kharn is not affected by the instant death given from the force weapon.

I also think IMHO that in this case RAW does = RAI


4000 pts
Aye, I'm Scottish, and naw, I don't f***ing hunt haggis 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Eye of Terror

I leaning more in that direction now... RAW = RAI in this case.

My blog... http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com

Facebook...
https://m.facebook.com/Terminus6Est/

DT:60+S++++G++++M+++B+++I+++Pw40k89/d#++D+++A++++/eWD150R++++T(T)DM+++ 
   
Made in gb
Deranged Necron Destroyer






Mywik wrote:
The Force Weapon is not what inflicts the wound. The daemon hammer doubles the wielders strength and can be used to inflict force weapon wounds. The str8 wound is therefore no force weapon wound. Thats how we play it anyway.


Bulls eye that is the correct wording, all the rest is rules lawyering and trying to exploit wordings resulting in cheating.

You have ruled this galaxy for ten thousand years
Yet have little of account to show for your efforts
Order. Unity. Obedience.
We taught the galaxy these things

And we shall do so again.

4500 pts


 
   
Made in gb
Proud Phantom Titan







 Valek wrote:
Mywik wrote:
The Force Weapon is not what inflicts the wound. The daemon hammer doubles the wielders strength and can be used to inflict force weapon wounds. The str8 wound is therefore no force weapon wound. Thats how we play it anyway.


Bulls eye that is the correct wording, all the rest is rules lawyering and trying to exploit wordings resulting in cheating.
Sorry what?

Page 54 – Wargear, Nemesis Daemon Hammer.
Replace the first sentence of the second paragraph with the
following profile:
Range S AP Type
Daemon - x2 2 Melee, Concussive,
Hammer Daemonbane, Force,
Specialist Weapon,
Unwieldy.

If you are striking at strength 8 then you are using the above weapon. It is also a force weapon. Explain how a force weapon can cause instant death on kharn?
   
Made in au
Dangerous Outrider





alex567 wrote:
If two rules happen at the same time, that oppose, then IIRC then the person who's turn it is gets to pick the order
that's a rule in Warhammer Fantasy.
   
Made in us
Beautiful and Deadly Keeper of Secrets





 Valek wrote:
Mywik wrote:
The Force Weapon is not what inflicts the wound. The daemon hammer doubles the wielders strength and can be used to inflict force weapon wounds. The str8 wound is therefore no force weapon wound. Thats how we play it anyway.


Bulls eye that is the correct wording, all the rest is rules lawyering and trying to exploit wordings resulting in cheating.


So..A weapon doesn't cause wounds.

How do you get 2X the strength then? Do you just magically apply it out of thin air?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/08 11:55:03


 
   
Made in au
Dangerous Outrider





 ZebioLizard2 wrote:
 Valek wrote:
Mywik wrote:
The Force Weapon is not what inflicts the wound. The daemon hammer doubles the wielders strength and can be used to inflict force weapon wounds. The str8 wound is therefore no force weapon wound. Thats how we play it anyway.
Bulls eye that is the correct wording, all the rest is rules lawyering and trying to exploit wordings resulting in cheating.
So..A weapon doesn't cause wounds.

How do you get 2X the strength then? Do you just magically apply it out of thin air?
no, it seems they think a Waepon just applies a buff to the wielder, like all other equipment that isn't a weapon.
   
Made in us
Stone Bonkers Fabricator General





Beijing, China

alex567 wrote:
pg. 37 main rulebook, force special rule, the test is not taken until after the unsave wound is inflicted. thus meaning that it is actualy possible for the force weapon to inflict instant death, before the weapon inflicts the unsaved wound, i.e. in the case of daemon hammers doubling the strength, I was refering to the context in which kharn ignores instant death, and it is not in the context of an activated force weapon, as previously discussed, but in the case of any force weapon, that is what I was trying to get across.

This statement means that people are perfectly justified to ignore double strength daemon hammers when taking wounds on kharn. I was just adding supporting evidence to keeping kharn alive.

If two rules happen at the same time, that oppose, then IIRC then the person who's turn it is gets to pick the order, or you randomise it? Don't quote me on that. That is what I meant by the 50% thing, but after re-reading it, an inflicted unsaved wound and an unsaved wound are to different things, i.e. kharns rule happens after the wound happens but before kharn takes it, also in the case of wound allocation where you take a save then allocate a wound.


yes, the force special rule. Kharn doesnt ignore instant death from the force special rule, he ignores instant death from force WEAPONS. The context is he ignores ID from a certain type of weapon. A daemon hammer is one of those types of weapons and thus he ignores ID from it. Doesnt matter if it is force ID or double toughness ID.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 Valek wrote:
Mywik wrote:
The Force Weapon is not what inflicts the wound. The daemon hammer doubles the wielders strength and can be used to inflict force weapon wounds. The str8 wound is therefore no force weapon wound. Thats how we play it anyway.


Bulls eye that is the correct wording, all the rest is rules lawyering and trying to exploit wordings resulting in cheating.


false. The daemonhammer does not double the wielders strength. He is still strength 4 for strength tests like Necron Portal of Exile.
The daemon hammer is a weapon, that can be used in cc, rolling to wound at double the wielders strength. 6th edition changed, you need a weapon in CC and the weapon causes the wounds.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/08 12:40:26


Dark Mechanicus and Renegade Iron Hand Dakka Blog
My Dark Mechanicus P&M Blog. Mostly Modeling as I paint very slowly. Lots of kitbashed conversions of marines and a few guard to make up a renegade Iron Hand chapter and Dark Mechanicus Allies. Bionics++  
   
Made in us
Apprehensive Inquisitorial Apprentice




Columbia SC

1. Nemesis Force Weapons are considered force weapons with additional properties. Force Weapons are always force weapons even if the psychic abilities of said weapon are not activated.
2. Even if the strength of a force weapon wielder is double the wounded models toughness so that ID is caused, Kharn's rule prevents that from happening because the weapon used was a force weapon. If Kharn was hit by a Strength 8 salami stick instead and failed his save, he would be removed by ID.
3. Grey Knights typically do not have other combat weapon options available besides their NFWs, so they will always use said weapons in combat.

The moral of the story is that if you are a GK player then shoot the poo out of Kharn instead of relying on combat to kill him, or smack him 3 times with your NDH and not worry about ID. Kharn is absolutley intended to be able to withstand force weapons of all kinds, he is the solution to GKs for the Chaos SMs. Both RAW and RAI are satisfied.
   
Made in us
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre





Richmond, VA

Looks like no one answered my question as to how kharn made it through the halberds yet.

I believe we are clear on this, Kharn is fine vs any force weapon until it does 3 wounds total.

Regardless, this thread seems done. Vote for lock?

Desert Hunters of Vior'la The Purge Iron Hands Adepts of Pestilence Tallaran Desert Raiders Grey Knight Teleport Assault Force
Lt. Coldfire wrote:Seems to me that you should be refereeing and handing out red cards--like a boss.

 Peregrine wrote:
SCREEE I'M A SEAGULL SCREE SCREEEE!!!!!
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 Valek wrote:
Mywik wrote:
The Force Weapon is not what inflicts the wound. The daemon hammer doubles the wielders strength and can be used to inflict force weapon wounds. The str8 wound is therefore no force weapon wound. Thats how we play it anyway.


Bulls eye that is the correct wording, all the rest is rules lawyering and trying to exploit wordings resulting in cheating.


Except you would be the one cheating, as (If you had bothered to read the thread) you would have known that 6th edition is very, very clear that WEAPONS cause close combat wounds. Not the wielder. All damage is caused byt he weapon.

Perhaps you can prove or retract? Silence is concession
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Eye of Terror

I dont think it is okay to say cheating... there is clearly a difference of opinion which is okay.

My blog... http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com

Facebook...
https://m.facebook.com/Terminus6Est/

DT:60+S++++G++++M+++B+++I+++Pw40k89/d#++D+++A++++/eWD150R++++T(T)DM+++ 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




I was echoing the poster

The difference is one between an actual literal reading of the rule and one that relies on literally making up language that does not exist in the rules

It is a little like saying the sky is green when it is, factually, blue. Yes, the difference can be considered one of opinion, but it is actually someone is factually wrong.

Those saying he is not immune to ID from wounds caused by a FW are, factually, wrong. There is no debate on this.
   
Made in ca
Fresh-Faced New User




RAW it is clear, any force weapon cannot cause ID no matter the circumstances, but you can always settle it with a friendly roll-off if somebody disagrees. Keep your games civil.
   
Made in gb
Stealthy Dark Angels Scout with Shotgun




 juraigamer wrote:


I believe we are clear on this, Kharn is fine vs any force weapon until it does 3 wounds total.

Regardless, this thread seems done. Vote for lock?


Definite vote here, it is just going to keep going in circles

4000 pts
Aye, I'm Scottish, and naw, I don't f***ing hunt haggis 
   
Made in ca
Hurr! Ogryn Bone 'Ead!




Borden

I agree with the Chaos (shudder) kharn should be immune, but if that's the case just hit him harder with gun fire. problem solved. (this post seems like it will only go in circles so unless GW comes out with an FAQ it is impossible to get the real intended answer.) Maybe they really wanted to stick it to grey knight players? Who Knows.


:cadia: 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Why do people assume a codex written with full knowledge of the 6th edition rules, made AFTER S8+ FW were about, is not intended to do *exactly* what it says?

Currently RAW is totally unambiguous
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

nosferatu1001 wrote:
Currently RAW is totally unambiguous
That is true, but do not ignore the context of Kharns rule.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/08 21:37:07


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: