Switch Theme:

Gate of Infinity question and CC.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Removing models from the table is NOT a move, so you can remove them from CC with GoI.

They are not locked in combat, so they can DS as normal.

Bottom line though the rules could be written better, so ask your TO, or discuss it with your group.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/12 05:41:00


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

 DeathReaper wrote:
Removing models from the table is NOT a move,
... But is moving the models.

 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 insaniak wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
Removing models from the table is NOT a move,
... But is moving the models.
No it is not, as it is not using any of the mechanics of a "Move" as laid out in the BRB.

Or it is, and it is required to do so once you cast the power.

Casting the power is allowed by the rules.

 insaniak wrote:
it can also be argued that a requirement to do something (remove the model as a casualty) over-rides the rule that prevents you from voluntarily doing something... because you're not choosing to do it, you're forced to.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Except you were not forced to cast Gate. You are performing a voluntary action that WILL result in breaking a rule, so you cannot perform that action.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

nosferatu1001 wrote:
Except you were not forced to cast Gate. You are performing a voluntary action that WILL result in breaking a rule, so you cannot perform that action.
You are allowed to cast gate, and then it forces you to remove the models from the table. No rules broken, as there is an allowance to cast gate on a unit in CC.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/12 08:41:39


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Suprised no one has mentioned the Ork psyhic power, that grants permission to leave CC and is teleporting using the deepstriking rules isnt it?

40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

MarkyMark wrote:
Suprised no one has mentioned the Ork psyhic power, that grants permission to leave CC and is teleporting using the deepstriking rules isnt it?

It is similar, but unlike Gate it's not voluntary.
An Ork Wierdboy MUST roll on the powers chart.
The power even handles how to use it when in close combat, where as Gate does not.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/12 12:12:54


 
   
Made in us
Brainy Zoanthrope





Northern Colorado

you can use gate of infinity in close combat. This is not a move. and you can use psychic powers in close combat.

   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

 TheContortionist wrote:
you can use gate of infinity in close combat. This is not a move. and you can use psychic powers in close combat.

You can use some psychic powers in close combat.
You can do whatever you want as long as it doesn't break any rules, the issue here is will using Gate break the "no moves" rule.
Can you explain why you think this is not a move?
Deep striking is most definitely a move.
It could be argued that removing from play is not a move.
Then there's the broad view, in that the unit is no longer where is was, so has in fact moved.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/12 16:17:41


 
   
Made in us
Killer Klaivex




Oceanside, CA

Does Gate say that you use gate instead of normal movement?
Wouldn't that mean, that since you don't have normal movement being locked in combat, that you can't choose to trade for something you don't have?

-Matt

 thedarkavenger wrote:

So. I got a game with this list in. First game in at least 3-4 months.
 
   
Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut




The deep strike rules say the model counts as having moved in the previous movement phase.

It didn't have permission to do this, so I'm not sure why it could, as there is no rule allowing it to, but there is one specifically saying it can't.

Most play it as they can do it, but I personally think that is wrong.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

MarkyMark, other than GoI, every ability that allows you to use it while locked in close combat ('Ere We Go, Skyleap, Hit & Run, think I'm missing one or two others) specifically allow it to be used in close combat and tells you what the enemy models do.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: