Switch Theme:

Deathwing Assault  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Plummeting Black Templar Thunderhawk Pilot






Nice and simple:

Can I deploy my entire army via deathwing assault on turn 1 (if it's all deathwing), or am I restricted by the 50% on the table rule? I guess im asking if deathwing assault works in the same way as pods, in that as long as they arrive turn one, you can start in reserve.

Please check out my video battle report series! 50 games in 50 weeks!

Part 1: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLF20FCCD695F810C2&feature=edit_ok
Part 2: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL36388662C07B319B&feature=view_all
Part 3: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLrPdNlJMge2eUv55aJag2cMj4znP8YfOT&feature=view_all
Part 4: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JxrTKHXULnQ&list=PLrPdNlJMge2cN6_lo1RbXvbvFZbto5wXB

=====Begin Dakka Geek Code=====
DQ: 80+S+++G+++MB+I+Pw40k98#+D+++A++++/cWD-R+++T(G)DM+
======End Dakka Geek Code======
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





LOL you better enter some of your army in turn one or you loose.

Also your HQ's must also have the Deathwing Assault rule in order to Deathwing Assault.
   
Made in gb
Plummeting Black Templar Thunderhawk Pilot






HQs wearing terminator armour gain the deathwing assault special rule. Deathwing assault allows you to deploy by deep strike on turn 1 or 2 (you choose).

Please check out my video battle report series! 50 games in 50 weeks!

Part 1: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLF20FCCD695F810C2&feature=edit_ok
Part 2: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL36388662C07B319B&feature=view_all
Part 3: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLrPdNlJMge2eUv55aJag2cMj4znP8YfOT&feature=view_all
Part 4: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JxrTKHXULnQ&list=PLrPdNlJMge2cN6_lo1RbXvbvFZbto5wXB

=====Begin Dakka Geek Code=====
DQ: 80+S+++G+++MB+I+Pw40k98#+D+++A++++/cWD-R+++T(G)DM+
======End Dakka Geek Code======
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

I thought the wording changed on termie armour taking away the may always start in reserve clause. If so, only 50% would be able to start in reserve.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Plummeting Black Templar Thunderhawk Pilot






I don't have the codex to hand - the reason I ask is that it just says in Deathwing assault that "you can choose", so i'm not sure if this overrides the 50% restriction or not.

Please check out my video battle report series! 50 games in 50 weeks!

Part 1: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLF20FCCD695F810C2&feature=edit_ok
Part 2: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL36388662C07B319B&feature=view_all
Part 3: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLrPdNlJMge2eUv55aJag2cMj4znP8YfOT&feature=view_all
Part 4: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JxrTKHXULnQ&list=PLrPdNlJMge2cN6_lo1RbXvbvFZbto5wXB

=====Begin Dakka Geek Code=====
DQ: 80+S+++G+++MB+I+Pw40k98#+D+++A++++/cWD-R+++T(G)DM+
======End Dakka Geek Code======
 
   
Made in us
Twisting Tzeentch Horror





They have the option to start on the table, so you are still limited to the 50% rule. Having said that, I wouldn't want to play a list with no heavy support options in it.

Mess with the best, Die like the rest. 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





here are the two rules in question:

page 65 Terminator Armour
Termi Armour confers a 2+/5++.
Termies are Bulky, Relentless, can't Sweep Advance and have Deep Strike.

Characters in Termie Armour gain Deathwing Assault and Vengeful Strike rules.

Page 44 Deathwing Assault
Whole unit must this rule and Termie Armour and can choose to make DW Assault. Immediately after Warlord Traits, tell your opponent that you will be making a DW Assault, and make a secret note as to which turn (1 or 2) they will come in. All units making a DW Assault auto arrive via DS on the chosen turn, no need to roll for reserves.

So, yes you can have an all DW Army and make a DW Assault buuuuuut if you do that they will all have to enter via DS on turn 1 or you loose. Simple as that

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2013/01/15 18:23:57


 
   
Made in gb
Twisted Trueborn with Blaster






40k-noob wrote:
here are the two rules in question:

page 65 Terminator Armour
Termi Armour confers a 2+/5++.
Termies are Bulky, Relentless, can't Sweep Advance and have Deep Strike.

Characters in Termie Armour gain Deathwing Assault and Vengeful Strike rules.

Page 44 Deathwing Assault
Whole unit must this rule and Termie Armour and can choose to make DW Assault. Immediately after Warlord Traits, tell your opponent that you will be making a DW Assault, and make a secret note as to which turn (1 or 2) that unit will come in. All units making a DW Assault auto arrive via DS on the chosen turn, no need to roll for reserves.

So, yes you can have an all DW Army and make a DW Assault buuuuuut if you do that they will all have to enter via DS on turn 1 or you loose. Simple as that


that was my interpretation too.

I represent the Surrey Spartans gaming group. Check us out and feel free to come along for a game! https://www.facebook.com/groups/425689674233804/
Tzeentch Daemons 2000pts
Kabal of the Sundering Strike 2500pts
Eldar Corsairs 750pts
400pts Corregidor/Nomads
300pts Yu Jing
200pts+ each of Imperial and Rebel fleets for X-Wing
A Terran Alliance and Dindrenzi Fleet for Firestorm Armada
A Necromunda Goliath gang and Spyrer gang 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




40k -no, it does not mean your entire force could be in reserves, as it states half your FORCE may go into reserve. Unless you are claiming that their presence in reserves makes them not part of your force, you are still limited by the requirement to not reserve more than 50% of your force.

Also, 3 page thread about this, not too far down.
   
Made in us
Calm Celestian






Ireland

It also says things that start in transports that start off the table are not included in this percentage nor are the transports themselves.

So Technically running the right Necron or Guard list could legally start with everything off the table.

They just lose at the end of the first turn because they don't come in until turn 2.

However, with deathwing assault it says the unit MAY, not MUST, so by my reading of the rule 50% of your force has to start on the table.

Still, have them be bikes and you're all set!

"Suffering is Faith, Faith is Strength.

Generations have suffered with the same devotion that we can offer but once. Still, our Faith leads us through these dark times like a beacon. It will guide us to triumph over these abominations. Either by breaking them upon us like waves against a limitless, golden peak or by thrusting through them like the spear of the Immortal Emperor Himself." - Cannoness Aoife, Order of the desert rose #Yesallwomen

Just finished my second album: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ptvBO4vwb-A 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





nosferatu1001 wrote:
40k -no, it does not mean your entire force could be in reserves, as it states half your FORCE may go into reserve. Unless you are claiming that their presence in reserves makes them not part of your force, you are still limited by the requirement to not reserve more than 50% of your force.

Also, 3 page thread about this, not too far down.


No I am claiming that Codex trumps BRB in this case.

I am asserting that DW Assault rules is very specific and being a Codex rule trumps the 50% rule of the BRB.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/15 18:44:18


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Find the rule stating more than 50% of the army may start in reserve if they are using DWA

Page and paragraph, or you dont have an argument.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





nosferatu1001 wrote:
Find the rule stating more than 50% of the army may start in reserve if they are using DWA

Page and paragraph, or you dont have an argument.


The DW Assault rule pg 44 of the Codex, 1st para.
   
Made in us
Twisting Tzeentch Horror





Codex doesn't say they must start in reserves. BRB says that up to half of your force may start in reserve (not including models that MUST start in reserve and that models aboard a transport that must start in reserve to not count either.)

Lets forget about transports because they are not directly relevant to the DW.

I cannot find anywhere in the codex that states you must keep them in reserves, simply rules changing when you declare that it is in reserves the way DS (option not to scatter) and reserve availability (not needing to roll) works.

The only part of that, that is relevant is the reserves, there is no note about timing anywhere in BRB or DA dex that seems to indicate that it matter when you put something in reserves that would change the 50% limit.

Please quote what in the DA codex overrides the %50 rule or specifically excludes DWA from counting towards that 50%

Mess with the best, Die like the rest. 
   
Made in us
Sure Space Wolves Land Raider Pilot





In my area, we just decided that one should still have to field 50% on board. Not that that matters that much. just an excuse to field Land Raiders.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




40k-noob wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
Find the rule stating more than 50% of the army may start in reserve if they are using DWA

Page and paragraph, or you dont have an argument.


The DW Assault rule pg 44 of the Codex, 1st para.

So, the part which says nothing about the 50% rule apparently overrides the 50% rule, despite meeting none of the criteria for overriding the 50% rule

Interesting argument.
   
Made in us
Twisting Tzeentch Horror





I think this is a case where if it were meant to override that rule they would have put it in there, or at least put it in the IOS digital version.

RAW it's a no go sorry.
RAI... they want to sell bike models, (hence all of the teleport homers) so i doubt that they want it that way either

Mess with the best, Die like the rest. 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





There is no need to specify the "50%" rule in everything that involves reserves.

There is a conflict between the 50% rule and the DW Assault rule, IF, your whole army has DW Assault AND you wish to make use of it.

In that very unique situation, the codex trumps BRB and thus can start the game in Reserve and arrive via DS turn 1
   
Made in us
Deadly Dark Eldar Warrior



Colorado

No 40k.

If you MUST put a unit in reserve, there is no choice. DW Assault says you can choose.

If units MUST start in reserve, then they dont count toward the 50%.

If units can CHOOSE, they do count the 50%. DW Assault allows you to choose, thus counts towards the 50%.

7th Edition Tournament Record:

15-2

War in the Mountain GT: Best Overall, 6-0 Dark Eldar

Bugeater GT: 4th, Tournament Runner Up, 5-1 Dark Eldar

Wargamescon: 7th, Best Dark Eldar. 4-1

 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





SCP Yeeman wrote:
No 40k.

If you MUST put a unit in reserve, there is no choice. DW Assault says you can choose.

If units MUST start in reserve, then they dont count toward the 50%.

If units can CHOOSE, they do count the 50%. DW Assault allows you to choose, thus counts towards the 50%.


The 50% rule will break the DW Assault rule in the rare case that a player fileds an ALL DW Army and wants to use it.

Lets set an example to help illustrate.
DW ARMY

HQ (Belial) in TDA attached to a DW Command SQ
Troops - 2x DW Termies (10 each)
Elites - 2x DW Knights (10 each)
FA - 3x Neph Fighters

In this Army you have 5 units that count towards the 50% rule.

According to you, only 3 of them can DW assault the other 2 must start on the table turn 1 correct?

If you are right, then remaining 2 units can no longer "choose" to DW Assault. This goes against the DW Assault rule.

This what what is called a "conflict" and the BRB is clear that in these rare cases the Codex rule wins out.


This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/01/15 20:22:30


 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




SCP Yeeman wrote:
No 40k.

If you MUST put a unit in reserve, there is no choice. DW Assault says you can choose.

If units MUST start in reserve, then they dont count toward the 50%.

If units can CHOOSE, they do count the 50%. DW Assault allows you to choose, thus counts towards the 50%.


Seconded. There is nothing in the DWA rule that says you *must* put them in reserve, only that you *may*. Therefore, they count to the 50%, so you have to have another 50% on the table somewhere before the start of the first turn. THEN they can come in from reserves on turn 1.

Easy as pie...even to a 40k-noob.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
40k-noob wrote:
SCP Yeeman wrote:
No 40k.

If you MUST put a unit in reserve, there is no choice. DW Assault says you can choose.

If units MUST start in reserve, then they dont count toward the 50%.

If units can CHOOSE, they do count the 50%. DW Assault allows you to choose, thus counts towards the 50%.


The 50% rule will break the DW Assault rule in the rare case that a player fileds an ALL DW Army and wants to use it.

Lets set an example to help illustrate.
DW ARMY

HQ (Belial) in TDA attached to a DW Command SQ
Troops - 2x DW Termies (10 each)
Elites - 2x DW Knights (10 each)
FA - 3x Neph Fighters

In this Army you have 5 units that count towards the 50% rule.

According to you, only 3 of them can DW assault the other 2 must start on the table turn 1 correct?

If you are right, then remaining 2 units can no longer "choose" to DW Assault. This goes against the DW Assault rule.

This what what is called a "conflict" and the BRB is clear that in these rare cases the Codex rule wins out.




That looks right, and it doesn't violate anything having to do with the DWA rule. You put 2 on the table turn 1, and the other 3 in reserve. Just because they have the DWA rule doesn't mean they HAVE to use it, that's the point.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/15 20:36:28


 
   
Made in us
Twisting Tzeentch Horror





DWA is exactly the same as keeping any other unit in reserves, all units have the option of starting in reserves. You still can't put them all there you can choose. Therefore any of the units can still choose to start in reserves as long as you choose to leave at least 50^ rounded down starting on the board.

The conflict occurs when Daemons say they must all start in reserves and the BRB says that only have can. (notice the word MUST) here is an example where the codex overrules the BRB.

Mess with the best, Die like the rest. 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




 jegsar wrote:
DWA is exactly the same as keeping any other unit in reserves, all units have the option of starting in reserves. You still can't put them all there you can choose. Therefore any of the units can still choose to start in reserves as long as you choose to leave at least 50^ rounded down starting on the board.

The conflict occurs when Daemons say they must all start in reserves and the BRB says that only have can. (notice the word MUST) here is an example where the codex overrules the BRB.


Actually, I think even then they made a special note in the FAQ of how Daemon's are exempt from the 50% rule.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 jegsar wrote:
DWA is exactly the same as keeping any other unit in reserves, all units have the option of starting in reserves. You still can't put them all there you can choose. Therefore any of the units can still choose to start in reserves as long as you choose to leave at least 50^ rounded down starting on the board.

The conflict occurs when Daemons say they must all start in reserves and the BRB says that only have can. (notice the word MUST) here is an example where the codex overrules the BRB.


No, it is not. Reserves are a BRB rule that apply to all armies.

This a Codex Rule that is specific to DW, not even other units in the codex have this rule.

Regardless, I have made my case and I am not going to make this in to a XX page thread about it.

Folks can read my example and make up their own mind
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yes, and your case is flawed because you dont have a rule that overrides the reserves rule.

The argument against is clear and rules based, your argument is not one based on rules
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




BRB: Units that must start the game in reserve are ignored for the purposes of working out how many other units may do so.

If a Codex does not say a unit "must" start in Reserve (that's Reserve, not Deep Strike, not Outflank, not any other special rule) there is no correlation, and therefore no conflict.


I am Red/White
Take The Magic Dual Colour Test - Beta today!
<small>Created with Rum and Monkey's Personality Test Generator.</small>

I'm both chaotic and orderly. I value my own principles, and am willing to go to extreme lengths to enforce them, often trampling on the very same principles in the process. At best, I'm heroic and principled; at worst, I'm hypocritical and disorderly.
 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




Im asking this because I dont have the DA codex, but as a GK player I know in my TDA rules it states:

"May always deepstrike even in missions blah blah" Im assuming the DA dex does not have this wording which would be the 1st codex without it yes? If it states "Units in TDA may always arrive via DS then I would argue they all could start in reserve, as "always" implies well...always and trumps the 50% rule. Short of that I see no argument. DW armies can only reserve 50%

I am the Hammer. I am the point of His spear. I am the mail about His fist... 
   
Made in us
Archmagos Veneratus Extremis






Home Base: Prosper, TX (Dallas)

I still stand by the fact that you determine if a model may be put in reserve during deployment per the reserve rules. DWA happens before deployment of your army. Hence by the time you would make the decision to deploy or reserve the unit must start in reserve.

Don't care, not playing a full Deathwing army (or maybe even one with a single unit), but I'd allow it and I'm pretty sure that's the way it's going to get ruled.

Best Painted (2015 Adepticon 40k Champs)

They Shall Know Fear - Adepticon 40k TT Champion (2012 & 2013) & 40k TT Best Sport (2014), 40k TT Best Tactician (2015 & 2016) 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




That's just it. GK in TDA "may" always arrive in DS. Not "must". The 5th ed Codices in this manner were based on the old 5th ed missions where some missions did not allow Deep Strike to be used. In those missions, TDA could still Deep Strike if they were in Reserve.


I am Red/White
Take The Magic Dual Colour Test - Beta today!
<small>Created with Rum and Monkey's Personality Test Generator.</small>

I'm both chaotic and orderly. I value my own principles, and am willing to go to extreme lengths to enforce them, often trampling on the very same principles in the process. At best, I'm heroic and principled; at worst, I'm hypocritical and disorderly.
 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




You're emphasizing the wrong word. May is one thing but it's followed with "always." May always includes overwriting anything that would exclude its use such as reserve restrictions. "May" simply gives it the option to start on the field as well as reserve for DS.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/01/15 21:35:00


I am the Hammer. I am the point of His spear. I am the mail about His fist... 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: