Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/21 22:11:50
Subject: Deathwing Assault
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
40k-noob wrote:rigeld2 wrote:There is a "Deployment" section of the BRB and there is a "Deploy Forces" step for starting a 40k game, rules for which are found in the "Deployment" section of the BRB.
Right. And what else happens in the "Deployment" section?
Oh, Warlord traits.
What happens after Warlord traits? DWA declaration.
What section is that in? Deployment.
Welcome to what I said in my first post in the thread. Your harping on irrelevant language isn't helping your cause.
It is not irrelevant language. To assert that DWA declaration and determining Reserves both happen in the "Deployment" is both misleading and incorrect.
It gives the impression that they occur simultaneously.
It's absolutely not incorrect. DWA says you must choose immediately after Warlord traits. Correct?
What section is the Warlord traits resolved in?
First off, DWA Declaration is in the Codex and is a special rule and is no where to be found in the BRB at all so it is not in "Deployment" as that is a section of the BRB.
False. The rule includes timing, and that timing must fall during the Deployment section.
Second, the two happen at completely different and separate steps during game preparation. DWA declaration happens prior to "Deploy Forces" and binds those models to DS.
The 50% rule of determining reserves, is part of the "Deploy Forces" step and does not apply to them because they MUST be in reserve as per the DS rules.
So all Deep Strikers must be in Reserves?
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/21 22:44:29
Subject: Deathwing Assault
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
rigeld2 wrote:rigeld2 wrote:40k-noob wrote:rigeld2 wrote:There is a "Deployment" section of the BRB and there is a "Deploy Forces" step for starting a 40k game, rules for which are found in the "Deployment" section of the BRB.
Right. And what else happens in the "Deployment" section?
Oh, Warlord traits.
What happens after Warlord traits? DWA declaration.
What section is that in? Deployment.
Welcome to what I said in my first post in the thread. Your harping on irrelevant language isn't helping your cause.
It is not irrelevant language. To assert that DWA declaration and determining Reserves both happen in the "Deployment" is both misleading and incorrect.
It gives the impression that they occur simultaneously.
It's absolutely not incorrect. DWA says you must choose immediately after Warlord traits. Correct?
What section is the Warlord traits resolved in?
First off, DWA Declaration is in the Codex and is a special rule and is no where to be found in the BRB at all so it is not in "Deployment" as that is a section of the BRB.
False. The rule includes timing, and that timing must fall during the Deployment section.
I think we are arguing two different things here. I say it is not in the "Deployment" because the actual rules is in the Codex where as you say it is in Deployment because of the timing of DWA would place it as happening between two steps that ARE in Deployment.
I will acquiesce as the distinction of whether or not it is in "Deployment" isn't as important as the fact that DWA declaration takes place before "Deploy Forces"
rigeld2 wrote:Second, the two happen at completely different and separate steps during game preparation. DWA declaration happens prior to "Deploy Forces" and binds those models to DS.
The 50% rule of determining reserves, is part of the "Deploy Forces" step and does not apply to them because they MUST be in reserve as per the DS rules.
So all Deep Strikers must be in Reserves?
Yes, The rules for DS, 1st para, 1st sentence says so.
BRB Deep Strike Special Rule wrote:
In order for a unit to be able to Deep Strike, all models in the unit must have the Deep strike special rule and the unit must start the game in reserve.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/21 23:12:27
Subject: Deathwing Assault
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
I think what Rig mean was: So all units with DWA must Deep Strike?
Or can they be deployed on the table?
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/21 23:16:16
Subject: Deathwing Assault
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
So the deployment period-of-time is not Deployment?
Odd way to ignore rules, that.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/21 23:48:44
Subject: Deathwing Assault
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
DeathReaper wrote:I think what Rig mean was: So all units with DWA must Deep Strike?
Or can they be deployed on the table?
The context of this discussion was on the premise that a DA army composed entirely of DW Termies, can they all make use of the DW Assault rule and start the game in Reserves.
A basic example army would be Belial and two DW Termie squads as Troops.
If the DA player chooses to he can declare his entire Army as making a DW Assault and thus they must all DS.
Obviously, I am on the "yes, they can" side.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/22 00:07:01
Subject: Deathwing Assault
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
40k-noob wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:Second, the two happen at completely different and separate steps during game preparation. DWA declaration happens prior to "Deploy Forces" and binds those models to DS.
The 50% rule of determining reserves, is part of the "Deploy Forces" step and does not apply to them because they MUST be in reserve as per the DS rules.
So all Deep Strikers must be in Reserves?
Yes, The rules for DS, 1st para, 1st sentence says so.
BRB Deep Strike Special Rule wrote:
In order for a unit to be able to Deep Strike, all models in the unit must have the Deep strike special rule and the unit must start the game in reserve.
Man. Veil of Darkness, Gate of Infinity, how many others?
So no, your assertion is incorrect. A Deep Striking unit is not required to be in Reserves.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/22 00:22:41
Subject: Re:Deathwing Assault
|
 |
5th God of Chaos! (Ho-hum)
Curb stomping in the Eye of Terror!
|
I might've missed it somewhere... but is DWA truly placed in Reserve?
Or, is it because they're DS'ing that the only place the could be in is "Reserve"?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/22 00:22:56
Live Ork, Be Ork. or D'Ork!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/22 00:25:29
Subject: Deathwing Assault
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
40k-noob wrote: DeathReaper wrote:I think what Rig mean was: So all units with DWA must Deep Strike?
Or can they be deployed on the table?
The context of this discussion was on the premise that a DA army composed entirely of DW Termies, can they all make use of the DW Assault rule and start the game in Reserves.
A basic example army would be Belial and two DW Termie squads as Troops.
If the DA player chooses to he can declare his entire Army as making a DW Assault and thus they must all DS.
Obviously, I am on the "yes, they can" side.
So putting them in reserves for a DWA is a choice?
If so you can not do this as this is against the rules of only having 50% of your army in reserves.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/22 00:30:31
Subject: Re:Deathwing Assault
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
whembly wrote:I might've missed it somewhere... but is DWA truly placed in Reserve?
Or, is it because they're DS'ing that the only place the could be in is "Reserve"?
DWA doesn't create a new place for units to be and during the Deploy Forces stage there is only Deployed or Reserve as options.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/22 00:39:06
Subject: Re:Deathwing Assault
|
 |
5th God of Chaos! (Ho-hum)
Curb stomping in the Eye of Terror!
|
rigeld2 wrote: whembly wrote:I might've missed it somewhere... but is DWA truly placed in Reserve?
Or, is it because they're DS'ing that the only place the could be in is "Reserve"?
DWA doesn't create a new place for units to be and during the Deploy Forces stage there is only Deployed or Reserve as options.
Ah... okay.
Okay... as it's written now, I'd say that you can't have an all DW army going into reserves.
Bummer... seemed odd that GW would remove probably one of the more popular tactics for DA.
Oh well... maybe I'll start spamming some landspeeders instead.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/22 00:39:30
Live Ork, Be Ork. or D'Ork!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/22 03:31:19
Subject: Re:Deathwing Assault
|
 |
Human Auxiliary to the Empire
|
Thats not how it goes. You are able to deepstrike your whole army because...
1) You declare these units in Deathwing assault after warlord traits (before deployment)
This is Important here because doing this now binds them to deep striking. They now have no choice.
2) Deployment, reserves are declared here. Now comes the rule that any units that must deepstrike, ignore the 50% that can be in reserve.
Therefore because your terminators are now binded to deep striking, they ignore the 50%
I would like to see someone find fault in this without saying that you still chose for them to be in DWA, because that doesn't matter. You chose, before deployment, that they MUST deepstrike. They now must deepstrike and therefore ignore the 50%
|
There is nothing like the smell of railguns in the morning.
tau 2250 pts
dark angels 3500 pts
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/22 03:32:54
Subject: Deathwing Assault
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
So you choose for them to deep strike?
And that's not a choice for them to deep strike because...
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/22 04:10:50
Subject: Re:Deathwing Assault
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
krashton1 wrote:1) You declare these units in Deathwing assault after warlord traits (before deployment)
This is Important here because doing this now binds them to deep striking. They now have no choice.
I would like to see someone find fault in this without saying that you still chose for them to be in DWA, because that doesn't matter. You chose, before deployment, that they MUST deepstrike. They now must deepstrike and therefore ignore the 50%
Actually it does matter.
They only must DS because you chose for them to DS...
Just like a normal unit, if you choose for a normal unit to DS, it can not enter any other way except to DS.
You are still choosing to DS and the DWA rule does not over-ride the only 50% of units in reserves rule.
Plus warlord traits are in what section in the rules again? (P. 121)
Even Warlord Traits can effect how you deploy "Warlord Traits could grant special deployment rules to part of a player's force that may affect a player's subsequent deployment of their forces." P. 121
Anything that comes after Warlord traits can affect deployment as warlord traits are determined in the Deployment section of the BRB.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/22 05:37:01
Subject: Deathwing Assault
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Guys, why is there arguing over the term deployment? Is it not the case that the reserve restriction is " when deploying your army?" If dwa is done under the deployment heading, that means nothing, because the reserve restriction is " when deploying your army." You are not deploying your army when rolling for warlord trait after all, nor are you deploying your army when using dwa.
I am in the camp that people trying to take away a deathwing units ability to dwa before the deploy forces step, because of a different reserve rule that applies several steps later, are comparing apples to oranges. I have a rule, in addition to deep strike reserve, and my rule does not follow the rules for deploying into reserves in the deploy forces step. I thought that would be obvious.
Conversely, the counter argument seems to solely resolve around dwa being the exact same thing as a regular deep strike reserve that would be done in the deploy forces section. We're this the case, I would agree that dwa has the reserve limit applied to it--after all if when deploying your army of all deathwing, you choose to reserve all of it to deep strike you would be disallowed, because there is that restriction about reserves in place when deploying your army.
Fortunately, I am not reserving my deathwing when deploying my army, I am using dwa after rolling warlord traits but before deploying my army. At that step there is no restriction in place.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/22 08:19:37
Subject: Deathwing Assault
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
I think deviant has given a pretty good defence. Ive been following this the whole time. My gaming group allows dwa anyway but I always like to know what the public thinks. Especially since im going to use a pure deathwing army in the broadside bash in san diego.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 4646/01/22 09:53:20
Subject: Re:Deathwing Assault
|
 |
Elite Tyranid Warrior
|
It disheartens me to see so many of my fellow Dark Angels players argue so vehemently in an attempt to circumvent the basic game rules in order to gain an unfair advantage over an opponent.
All DWA does is allow you to choose which round your boys arrive from Reserve via Deep Strike. They are still bound by the basic Deep Strike (and therefore Reserve) rules. Choosing which turn your units in Reserve arrive is already a HUGE advantage, without people thinking they can put an entire army in Reserve, something the rulebook is clear can't happen and something DWA doesn't explicitly say you can do.
If your friendly gaming circle allows it then feel free to make use of it, but you will never be allowed to place an entire army in Reserve in a competitive game (or gainst anyone who interprets the rules in a fair and logical manner) so as far as i'm concerned it's a non issue. The sooner they FAQ it to stop people trying to break the rules, the better. You're only going to give the army a bad name.
There's no sense of sportsmanship in this game any more, it would seem...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/22 11:11:12
Subject: Re:Deathwing Assault
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
Drop Pods, Spore Pods, Demons!
All Reserve armies that 'Never' start on the table.
So yeah, Dark Angels are a 4th army that gets added to this list. The nice thing is that if you DON'T want to use the DWA rules to the fullest, you're not forced to. Let those who know the rule play it right. I got my books back, and read the rule. I still don't understand how anyone that has actually read both rules can think that an all DWA army isn't possible. An All DW reserve army isn't allowed however, whether this is by choice design or just a random thing is irrelevant. Facts are what they are. I felt the same way about my fellow 'DA' players stating that the LS in the old RW squads was scoring, and that DA players after several FAQ's finally had to see the specific rule on pg whatever it was to be finally changed to admit it. Turns out I didn't care as long as I knew BEFORE the game that was his intent (since there are so many pure RW players...) On a funny note, it's kinda like the DA themselves. One group is loyal, the other is 'Fallen' and they both think each other are the heretics. Im virtually always in support of allowing rules that are ambiguous if it means players will play that army.
All DW units have the choice to DWA. Nothing in the entire DWA rule restricts this. Look at it as a timing thing where you choose DWA before Reserves, they can do it. Look at it as simply as the RAW of it is, Does a player have a DW unit? Is the player going to use DWA? It's as simple as that. If you think this is broken in anyway, then you aren't forced to. If you think that it somehow is restricted by the 50% rule, then you are changing the rule as printed in the DA codex. Nothing in the DWA rule restricts it's use. Before you say 'well it doesn't say I can't XXX', in this case it doesn't matter. The rule IS granting permission as it's currently stated. It doesn't have the word 'may always' like players in Group A would like, it doesn't have the words 'During Deployment' which Group B players are saying would need to be in there to prevent it's use. Either argument requires a change to the rule.
As for the reference that 'they don't roll for reserve', guess what, it's just that! Remove that line, and this thread would also have the argument of 'Well do they roll or just come in?'. This is not the only exemption to the reserve rule. The other exemption would be that they have the option to arrive via Deep Strike. Not arguing that they are placed in Reserve, but the method they get there isn't during deployment. There is simply no evidence to support that. On that note, the 50% reserve rule is not a blanket rule. It definitely has a 'timing' to it. 'When deploying reserves, players may opt to keep up to 1/2 their units in reserve...'. DWA does state that they need to be decided before you get to this step, but it doesn't restrict any units from using the DWA rule once the 50% limit has been reached.
Now I have NO problem with the DW units being in Reserve, and counting toward the limit ONCE you get to the deployment step and check to see if you have room for the 50% thing to apply. Don't sit there and tell me that because I think this is the case, that I somehow have to apply the 50% rule to DW. Im not advocating that again, the DWA rule states no such thing. It's permissive to allow it simply as written. The reason I AM mentioning it, is that DW Terminators still have the option to be kept as Reserves, like normal Terminators, but unlike normal Terminators, they don't have the option to always be placed in Reserve and by the DA Codex definition on Terminator Armor, they can't always deploy via Reserve using the normal reserve rules WHEN they get to that point. They WANT you to use the DWA rule if you're going to run Terminator Heavy, that's the whole point.
If you're going to be the guy who walks off because you don't like the RAW, then the 'sportsmanship' is on your head. Until it gets FAQ'd, they are perfectly allowed to do it. This just means that anyone who wants to play an all DWA army in reserve had better take the care to ask any TO's how it's going to be played before arriving, just like any other 'sketchy' armies where the rules are unclear. If you're going to be the guy who thinks that the Reserves is a blanket rule that affects everything then you would never be able to even take an all Drop Pod army, Demons would never be able to be played. I AM aware that these army books have rules that address their function in regards to the reserves rule or that the reserves rule itself addresses them, but the point stands, why do you allow the 'basic' rule to alter something so very basically written, when by the same argument you're choosing to not use it to modify others?
As been pointed out, if you have the Reserves/Deep Strike rule as a blanket rule, you could NEVER use the GK Summoning power unless the unit being targeted started the game in Reserve. Same would apply to Infinity gate, you would have check that the unit did indeed start the game in Deep Strike Reserve to be able to Deep Strike since these abilities do not list that this is an exemption. Necrons would never be able to use Veil of Darkness unless they were in Deep Strike Reserve. You're only making it more complicated here because where would you put the troops in the flyers that choose to Deep Strike? What if there was an ability to re-deploy enemy units (it's on my mind that there is or was at one time a unit that could do this), and it said they could put units in reserve? Would your opponent be subject to the 50% rule if you already had the max? (If there is no such rule, then ignore this part)
That's all there is to it folks. Can all DW units use DWA? It's a resounding 'Yes'
Edit(s): Stupid Comp keeps randomly hitting 'submit'
|
This message was edited 8 times. Last update was at 2013/01/22 11:56:38
Current Armies
40k: 15k of Unplayable Necrons
(I miss 7th!)
30k: Imperial Fists
(project for 2025)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/22 12:02:36
Subject: Re:Deathwing Assault
|
 |
Elite Tyranid Warrior
|
I look forward to the next FAQ proving your argument null and void :-)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/22 12:27:22
Subject: Deathwing Assault
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
If the faq makes it null and void then oh well. Its nothing for people to get there panties in a bunch over.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/22 12:52:41
Subject: Deathwing Assault
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
The rest lacks any rules citations or offers anything new to the debate; it is just a series of statements and assertions with no rules backing
You are prohibited from putting into Reserve more than 50% of your forces, apart from certain exceptions. DWA does not fall under those exceptions, so it does not
Oh, and the LS WAS scoring, as it had a specific codex rule stating it was scoring. Find the SPECIFIC codex rule stating they may ALWAYS use DWA to start in reserve, over and above the 50% limit
If it helps to give you an idea of intent, no 6th edition book has the line that used to appear allowing Terminators the ability to ALWAYS be placed in reserve. That rule has been entirely removed.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/22 12:53:04
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/22 13:36:29
Subject: Deathwing Assault
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Nos, when are you prohibited from putting into reserve more than half your army?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/22 13:52:36
Subject: Deathwing Assault
|
 |
Swift Swooping Hawk
|
DevianID wrote:Nos, when are you prohibited from putting into reserve more than half your army?
In the BRB, criterias are given and DW do not match the criterias. That's the first reason.
It is a permissive ruleset. Where does it say you can? Nowhere. That's the second reason.
Nowhere does it say: "Ignore all other rules to this effect"., "Ignore all other deployment rules", "Ignore all other reserve rules", "ignore the 50% limitation on reserves", " DWA bypasses the 50% restriction for deployment and reserves".
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/22 14:05:46
Subject: Deathwing Assault
|
 |
Plummeting Black Templar Thunderhawk Pilot
|
Ha!
Having digested this thread and looked at several of the rules discussed, I have to say i'm inclined to agree with the camp of 50% must start on the table. As much as I would like to go smashy smashy on turn 1 with 40 terminators, I'm not sure that was the spirit in which the rule was intended. FAQ may prove us all wrong otherwise, but until it does I think i'll just play it safe and keep 50% on the table.
Can I throw another quick Q in while i'm here?
If you have characters with the inner circle rule in a unit of deathwing knights, will they also benefit from the fortress of shields rule if they have 2 knights in B2B?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/22 14:06:36
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/22 14:41:41
Subject: Deathwing Assault
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
nosferatu1001 wrote: You are prohibited from putting into Reserve more than 50% of your forces, apart from certain exceptions. DWA does not fall under those exceptions, so it does not
The 50% rule only applies when a player deploys his army.
nosferatu1001 wrote: Find the SPECIFIC codex rule stating they may ALWAYS use DWA to start in reserve, over and above the 50% limit
'Units composed entirely of models with this special rule and Terminator Armor can choose to make a Deathwing Assault.' (p44 DA Dex) Pretty specific.
Basic Vs. Advanced (pg. 7 BRB)
Basic rules apply to all models in the game, unless specifically stated otherwise. ... found between pages 10 and 31.
...Where advanced rules apply to a specific model, they always override any contradicting basic rules...
Reserves are found on pg. 124 under Mission Special Rules. It is not a Basic(Core) rule that applies to everything since it lies outside the range listed as to what a basic rule that applies to all models. Some Eternal War missions use unique special rules. These confer extra abilities, restrictions, or effects onto your games. We'll explain the most common ones here...
This qualifies Reserves as an advanced rule, along with Night Fighting and Mysterious Objectives. So these rules apply to all models in the mission. By following the guideline on pg 7, we only check to see if the reserves rule applies when it specifically says to apply them, which is when a player deploys his army. We also check to see if there are any conflicts, which the reserves rule allows a player to keep a unit that should be on the board, off the board to arrive later. I'd like to point out that Deep Strike is not listed as a Mission Special rule.
Basic vs. Advanced (pg. 7 BRB)
...conflict will arise between a rule in this rulebook, and one printed in a codex... the codex takes precedence.
So NOW we come to a conflict of special (advanced) rules. Does DWA allow units to go above and beyond the 50% allowance? It's listed in the codex as a Special Rule, so it MUST override one printed 'in this rulebook'. Which includes Mission Special Rules which covers Reserves.
So what rule is left?
Deep Strike (36 BRB)
In order for a unit to be able to Deep Strike, all models in the unit must have the Deep Strike Special rule.
Models in Terminator armor have the Bulky, Deep Strike, and Relentless rules... (DA Dex p65)
Do DW Terminators meet this criteria? Yes they do, since it applies to them and there isn't a conflict that hasn't been addressed created with either book.
Deep Strike (36 BRB cont'd)
When placing a unit in reserve, you must tell your opponent that it will be arriving by Deep Strike...
The Deep Strike rule says when placing them in reserve, the DWA rule says that a DA player declares which units are making the DWA, secretly writes down which turn all units using that rule will arrive. They arrive via Deep Strike on that turn, with no roll.
Conflicts:
Deep Strike Rule overrides Reserves because the Reserves rule says units may only be kept off the table (to arrive from a table edge.) Both rules clarify the conflict by allowing units with Deep Strike to use that method at the point they are placed in reserve, when deploying the army.
DA Dex overrides Deep Strike because it conflicts with the Deep Strike rule 'when placing' a unit in reserve as it occurs without any mention of applying the Reserves rule.
DA Dex overrides the Reserves rule because there is a conflict between when DWA is declared. Is it at the start of, or before when a player deploys his army? As written, no mention is made of it. So the conflict stands, and the DA codex overrides. What is mentioned is that after Warlord Traits are rolled, a player has to decide at this point which units are going to make use of the DWA rule. To me, this means before he gets the chance to declare he is keeping any units in Reserve. This prevents DA players from putting any of his other units in Reserve first. The reason for this is unknown.
Deep Strike is still in effect for placing the units making a DWA in Reserve, since there is no conflict between either rule there. Deep Strike units must start the game in Reserve.
The 50% Reserve rule NOW becomes a conflict when placing reserves because we have units in reserve. The DA Dex has already overridden this rule up to this point. Now any units that a player wishes to keep in reserve, which would include Terminators NOT making a DWA. The 50% rule cannot remove any units already placed in reserve, it only has conditions to put them there, so there is no conflict. Now whether those units already in reserve count toward/as the 50% does create a conflict about whether other units can be placed in reserve. My suspicion is that this is the reason that DWA are declared first. This could actually prevent an all Terminator DW player from 1/2 his army using DWA, then putting the rest in reserve, since as Nosferatu1001 said, there is no 'may always' in 6th ed. codex. (This is a topic for another thread however.)
To be fair, there is one remaining Conflict between the DWA and Reserves rule, and that is whether or not a mission uses the Reserves rule or not. Only units that must arrive by Deep Strike continue to do so even if the Reserves special rule is not being used. I would be in the camp that they would still be able to choose to DWA only as that is where the conflict is, but wouldn't care if they couldn't. This is another discussion for a separate thread and not super important since all the Eternal War missions and all the Tourney scenarios I've seen have the Reserves rule so there isn't a conflict. My guess is that Special Missions that don't have it will address it at that point.
*****
I think that covers the expanse of the and the misinterpretation that the Reserves rule is a Basic (Core) rule vs. being an Advanced(Special) rule. Im NOT opposed to them being restricted to 50%, just that they need to FAQ it to state that they are affected, which would be an errata. To restate, they are allowed to put everything in DWA, not because the rule specifically states that they get around the 50%, but because there is a conflict of rules and the priority is Codex>Advanced>Basic.
*****
liam0404 wrote:
If you have characters with the inner circle rule in a unit of deathwing knights, will they also benefit from the fortress of shields rule if they have 2 knights in B2B?
Per the rule in the codex, they will benefit from the +1 T, so long as 2 models with the FoS rule are in base with him. He just won't count as having the rule to confer it to a Deathwing Knight who is only in base with the IC and 1 other Knight. So keep the IC in the middle if you DS, or you might end up with 2 Knights at normal T.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2013/01/22 14:52:50
Current Armies
40k: 15k of Unplayable Necrons
(I miss 7th!)
30k: Imperial Fists
(project for 2025)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/22 15:04:05
Subject: Deathwing Assault
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Again - where, in DWA, does it *specifically* state it overrides the 50% rule?
The 50% RULE has to be overridden. Same as being in an Assault vehicle does not let you assault on the turn you come in from reserves, DWA has no SPECIFIC allowance to *always* place the models in reserve.
This is where your conflict falls over - you have decided that DWA is specific, when it is pretty damn general - iit only mentions Reserves, and not the specific rule within Reserves which prohibits you from placing mroe than 50% o the army into reserve
Find a specific allowance to place more than 50% of DWA models into reserves, and you are golden,
Devian - During "DEPLOYMENT", as the section title tells you. IF you have something new to add, stop trying to be cute and add it. I understand your attempt at a timing argument, but it has been discussed and refuted, and you remain ignorant of this refutation.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/22 16:03:39
Subject: Deathwing Assault
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Akar wrote:So NOW we come to a conflict of special (advanced) rules. Does DWA allow units to go above and beyond the 50% allowance? It's listed in the codex as a Special Rule, so it MUST override one printed 'in this rulebook'. Which includes Mission Special Rules which covers Reserves.
What portion of the DWA overrides the 50% requirement?
There's no conflict (ie - DWA is silent on the matter) therefore there's no overriding.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/22 16:19:26
Subject: Deathwing Assault
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Again - where, in DWA, does it *specifically* state it overrides the 50% rule?
The 50% RULE has to be overridden. Same as being in an Assault vehicle does not let you assault on the turn you come in from reserves, DWA has no SPECIFIC allowance to *always* place the models in reserve.
This is where your conflict falls over - you have decided that DWA is specific, when it is pretty damn general - iit only mentions Reserves, and not the specific rule within Reserves which prohibits you from placing mroe than 50% o the army into reserve
Find a specific allowance to place more than 50% of DWA models into reserves, and you are golden,
Devian - During "DEPLOYMENT", as the section title tells you. IF you have something new to add, stop trying to be cute and add it. I understand your attempt at a timing argument, but it has been discussed and refuted, and you remain ignorant of this refutation.
This is funny.
You first.
Where in the Drop Pod Assault rule does it *specifically* override the 50% rule?
Where in the Daemonic Assault rule does it *specifically* override the 50% rule?
If you can find me those "specific" words or combination of words that say something to effect - "this rule overrides the 50% reserve rule set forth in the BRB" then i will show you where in the DWA rule it *specifically* overrides the 50% rule.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/22 16:20:17
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/22 16:27:32
Subject: Deathwing Assault
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
40k-noob wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote:Again - where, in DWA, does it *specifically* state it overrides the 50% rule?
The 50% RULE has to be overridden. Same as being in an Assault vehicle does not let you assault on the turn you come in from reserves, DWA has no SPECIFIC allowance to *always* place the models in reserve.
This is where your conflict falls over - you have decided that DWA is specific, when it is pretty damn general - iit only mentions Reserves, and not the specific rule within Reserves which prohibits you from placing mroe than 50% o the army into reserve
Find a specific allowance to place more than 50% of DWA models into reserves, and you are golden,
Devian - During "DEPLOYMENT", as the section title tells you. IF you have something new to add, stop trying to be cute and add it. I understand your attempt at a timing argument, but it has been discussed and refuted, and you remain ignorant of this refutation.
This is funny.
You first.
Where in the Drop Pod Assault rule does it *specifically* override the 50% rule?
Where in the Daemonic Assault rule does it *specifically* override the 50% rule?
If you can find me those "specific" words or combination of words that say something to effect - "this rule overrides the 50% reserve rule set forth in the BRB" then i will show you where in the DWA rule it *specifically* overrides the 50% rule.
Both written before 6th edition, therefore had to be FAQed to clarify how they work due to a new rules set.
vs.
A book for 6th edition written with all the current rules for 6th edition in place.
But, to play along, on the demons side, they specifically say that you MUST keep the entire army out and use their demon delivery system.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/22 16:30:10
Subject: Deathwing Assault
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
rigeld2 wrote: Akar wrote:So NOW we come to a conflict of special (advanced) rules. Does DWA allow units to go above and beyond the 50% allowance? It's listed in the codex as a Special Rule, so it MUST override one printed 'in this rulebook'. Which includes Mission Special Rules which covers Reserves.
What portion of the DWA overrides the 50% requirement?
There's no conflict (ie - DWA is silent on the matter) therefore there's no overriding.
It doesn't "override" the rule, perhaps that is the wrong term to use.
The Reserves rule itself exempts DS's because they MUST start in Reserve per the DS rules in the BRB.
"Units that must start the game in reserve are ignored for the purposes of working out how many other units may do so"
DWA binds those units that are making a DWA to DS'ing prior to "Deploying your army" and thus are "exempted" from being considered.
If you take a unit that has chosen to DWA and then place it on the table you ARE breaking the rules of the game because that unit "automatically DS" onto the table as per the DWA rule.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/22 16:35:05
Subject: Deathwing Assault
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
40k-noob wrote:rigeld2 wrote: Akar wrote:So NOW we come to a conflict of special (advanced) rules. Does DWA allow units to go above and beyond the 50% allowance? It's listed in the codex as a Special Rule, so it MUST override one printed 'in this rulebook'. Which includes Mission Special Rules which covers Reserves.
What portion of the DWA overrides the 50% requirement?
There's no conflict (ie - DWA is silent on the matter) therefore there's no overriding.
It doesn't "override" the rule, perhaps that is the wrong term to use.
The Reserves rule itself exempts DS's because they MUST start in Reserve per the DS rules in the BRB.
"Units that must start the game in reserve are ignored for the purposes of working out how many other units may do so"
DWA binds those units that are making a DWA to DS'ing prior to "Deploying your army" and thus are "exempted" from being considered.
If you take a unit that has chosen to DWA and then place it on the table you ARE breaking the rules of the game because that unit "automatically DS" onto the table as per the DWA rule.
What you don't have though is permission to use this rule and break the 50% rule as the DWA rule is a choice, not a must. It would take an FAQ to allow you to do so.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/22 16:35:22
|
|
 |
 |
|