Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/22 16:38:20
Subject: Deathwing Assault
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
lucasbuffalo wrote:40k-noob wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote:Again - where, in DWA, does it *specifically* state it overrides the 50% rule?
The 50% RULE has to be overridden. Same as being in an Assault vehicle does not let you assault on the turn you come in from reserves, DWA has no SPECIFIC allowance to *always* place the models in reserve.
This is where your conflict falls over - you have decided that DWA is specific, when it is pretty damn general - iit only mentions Reserves, and not the specific rule within Reserves which prohibits you from placing mroe than 50% o the army into reserve
Find a specific allowance to place more than 50% of DWA models into reserves, and you are golden,
Devian - During "DEPLOYMENT", as the section title tells you. IF you have something new to add, stop trying to be cute and add it. I understand your attempt at a timing argument, but it has been discussed and refuted, and you remain ignorant of this refutation.
This is funny.
You first.
Where in the Drop Pod Assault rule does it *specifically* override the 50% rule?
Where in the Daemonic Assault rule does it *specifically* override the 50% rule?
If you can find me those "specific" words or combination of words that say something to effect - "this rule overrides the 50% reserve rule set forth in the BRB" then i will show you where in the DWA rule it *specifically* overrides the 50% rule.
Both written before 6th edition, therefore had to be FAQed to clarify how they work due to a new rules set.
vs.
A book for 6th edition written with all the current rules for 6th edition in place.
But, to play along, on the demons side, they specifically say that you MUST keep the entire army out and use their demon delivery system.
Neither of those rules have in them anything that says that they override the 50% rule now do they? Of course not, they were written prior to the 50% rule even being in effect.
So how can anyone make the claim that these rule do just that?!?
Automatically Appended Next Post: lucasbuffalo wrote:40k-noob wrote:rigeld2 wrote: Akar wrote:So NOW we come to a conflict of special (advanced) rules. Does DWA allow units to go above and beyond the 50% allowance? It's listed in the codex as a Special Rule, so it MUST override one printed 'in this rulebook'. Which includes Mission Special Rules which covers Reserves.
What portion of the DWA overrides the 50% requirement?
There's no conflict (ie - DWA is silent on the matter) therefore there's no overriding.
It doesn't "override" the rule, perhaps that is the wrong term to use.
The Reserves rule itself exempts DS's because they MUST start in Reserve per the DS rules in the BRB.
"Units that must start the game in reserve are ignored for the purposes of working out how many other units may do so"
DWA binds those units that are making a DWA to DS'ing prior to "Deploying your army" and thus are "exempted" from being considered.
If you take a unit that has chosen to DWA and then place it on the table you ARE breaking the rules of the game because that unit "automatically DS" onto the table as per the DWA rule.
What you don't have though is permission to use this rule and break the 50% rule as the DWA rule is a choice, not a must. It would take an FAQ to allow you to do so.
But what you do have, is permission to DS and DS'ers are units that MUST start in Reserve and thus are: "Units that must start the game in reserve are ignored for the purposes of working out how many other units may do so"
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/22 16:40:51
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/22 16:43:11
Subject: Deathwing Assault
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
40k-noob wrote: lucasbuffalo wrote:40k-noob wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote:Again - where, in DWA, does it *specifically* state it overrides the 50% rule?
The 50% RULE has to be overridden. Same as being in an Assault vehicle does not let you assault on the turn you come in from reserves, DWA has no SPECIFIC allowance to *always* place the models in reserve.
This is where your conflict falls over - you have decided that DWA is specific, when it is pretty damn general - iit only mentions Reserves, and not the specific rule within Reserves which prohibits you from placing mroe than 50% o the army into reserve
Find a specific allowance to place more than 50% of DWA models into reserves, and you are golden,
Devian - During "DEPLOYMENT", as the section title tells you. IF you have something new to add, stop trying to be cute and add it. I understand your attempt at a timing argument, but it has been discussed and refuted, and you remain ignorant of this refutation.
This is funny.
You first.
Where in the Drop Pod Assault rule does it *specifically* override the 50% rule?
Where in the Daemonic Assault rule does it *specifically* override the 50% rule?
If you can find me those "specific" words or combination of words that say something to effect - "this rule overrides the 50% reserve rule set forth in the BRB" then i will show you where in the DWA rule it *specifically* overrides the 50% rule.
Both written before 6th edition, therefore had to be FAQed to clarify how they work due to a new rules set.
vs.
A book for 6th edition written with all the current rules for 6th edition in place.
But, to play along, on the demons side, they specifically say that you MUST keep the entire army out and use their demon delivery system.
Neither of those rules have in them anything that says that they override the 50% rule now do they? Of course not, they were written prior to the 50% rule even being in effect.
So how can anyone make the claim that these rule do just that?!?
...Did you not even bother reading my post?
I clearly state that they were written for 5th, whereas Dark Angels were written for 6th. Both your examples were FAQed to clarify how they should function now, whereas Dark Angels have no such FAQ and were written without such a qualifier in spite of being written for 6th edition.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
lucasbuffalo wrote:40k-noob wrote:rigeld2 wrote: Akar wrote:So NOW we come to a conflict of special (advanced) rules. Does DWA allow units to go above and beyond the 50% allowance? It's listed in the codex as a Special Rule, so it MUST override one printed 'in this rulebook'. Which includes Mission Special Rules which covers Reserves.
What portion of the DWA overrides the 50% requirement?
There's no conflict (ie - DWA is silent on the matter) therefore there's no overriding.
It doesn't "override" the rule, perhaps that is the wrong term to use.
The Reserves rule itself exempts DS's because they MUST start in Reserve per the DS rules in the BRB.
"Units that must start the game in reserve are ignored for the purposes of working out how many other units may do so"
DWA binds those units that are making a DWA to DS'ing prior to "Deploying your army" and thus are "exempted" from being considered.
If you take a unit that has chosen to DWA and then place it on the table you ARE breaking the rules of the game because that unit "automatically DS" onto the table as per the DWA rule.
What you don't have though is permission to use this rule and break the 50% rule as the DWA rule is a choice, not a must. It would take an FAQ to allow you to do so.
40k-noob wrote:But what you do have, is permission to DS and DS'ers are units that MUST start in Reserve and thus are: "Units that must start the game in reserve are ignored for the purposes of working out how many other units may do so"
Where does it say that permission to deep strike means you must start in reserve? Does that mean Jump Pack marines have to now? Perhaps I just missed this page?
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2013/01/22 16:47:43
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/22 16:51:09
Subject: Deathwing Assault
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
lucasbuffalo wrote:40k-noob wrote: lucasbuffalo wrote:40k-noob wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote:Again - where, in DWA, does it *specifically* state it overrides the 50% rule?
The 50% RULE has to be overridden. Same as being in an Assault vehicle does not let you assault on the turn you come in from reserves, DWA has no SPECIFIC allowance to *always* place the models in reserve.
This is where your conflict falls over - you have decided that DWA is specific, when it is pretty damn general - iit only mentions Reserves, and not the specific rule within Reserves which prohibits you from placing mroe than 50% o the army into reserve
Find a specific allowance to place more than 50% of DWA models into reserves, and you are golden,
Devian - During "DEPLOYMENT", as the section title tells you. IF you have something new to add, stop trying to be cute and add it. I understand your attempt at a timing argument, but it has been discussed and refuted, and you remain ignorant of this refutation.
This is funny.
You first.
Where in the Drop Pod Assault rule does it *specifically* override the 50% rule?
Where in the Daemonic Assault rule does it *specifically* override the 50% rule?
If you can find me those "specific" words or combination of words that say something to effect - "this rule overrides the 50% reserve rule set forth in the BRB" then i will show you where in the DWA rule it *specifically* overrides the 50% rule.
Both written before 6th edition, therefore had to be FAQed to clarify how they work due to a new rules set.
vs.
A book for 6th edition written with all the current rules for 6th edition in place.
But, to play along, on the demons side, they specifically say that you MUST keep the entire army out and use their demon delivery system.
Neither of those rules have in them anything that says that they override the 50% rule now do they? Of course not, they were written prior to the 50% rule even being in effect.
So how can anyone make the claim that these rule do just that?!?
Automatically Appended Next Post:
lucasbuffalo wrote:40k-noob wrote:rigeld2 wrote: Akar wrote:So NOW we come to a conflict of special (advanced) rules. Does DWA allow units to go above and beyond the 50% allowance? It's listed in the codex as a Special Rule, so it MUST override one printed 'in this rulebook'. Which includes Mission Special Rules which covers Reserves.
What portion of the DWA overrides the 50% requirement?
There's no conflict (ie - DWA is silent on the matter) therefore there's no overriding.
It doesn't "override" the rule, perhaps that is the wrong term to use.
The Reserves rule itself exempts DS's because they MUST start in Reserve per the DS rules in the BRB.
"Units that must start the game in reserve are ignored for the purposes of working out how many other units may do so"
DWA binds those units that are making a DWA to DS'ing prior to "Deploying your army" and thus are "exempted" from being considered.
If you take a unit that has chosen to DWA and then place it on the table you ARE breaking the rules of the game because that unit "automatically DS" onto the table as per the DWA rule.
What you don't have though is permission to use this rule and break the 50% rule as the DWA rule is a choice, not a must. It would take an FAQ to allow you to do so.
But what you do have, is permission to DS and DS'ers are units that MUST start in Reserve and thus are: "Units that must start the game in reserve are ignored for the purposes of working out how many other units may do so"
...Did you not even bother reading my post?
I clearly state that they were written for 5th, whereas Dark Angels were written for 6th. Both your examples were FAQed to clarify how they should function now, whereas Dark Angels have no such FAQ and were written without such a qualifier in spite of being written for 6th edition.
Sorry my comment was directed at those that keep saying " where does DWA say it *specifically* override the 50% rule?"
Truth is most if not all rules will RARELY have explicit text or words overriding other rules. It would just be too tedious and would result in a very large amount of text.
Can you image the size of the rulebook, if every rule, had to also include a list of other rules it overrides? Not to mention it would make it dull read at best.
The rulebook writers have done what can reasonably done by adding those disclaimers on page 7 about advance vs basic and codex vs rulebook.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/22 16:53:23
Subject: Deathwing Assault
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
40k-noob wrote:
Sorry my comment was directed at those that keep saying " where does DWA say it *specifically* override the 50% rule?"
Truth is most if not all rules will RARELY have explicit text or words overriding other rules. It would just be too tedious and would result in a very large amount of text.
Can you image the size of the rulebook, if every rule, had to also include a list of other rules it overrides? Not to mention it would make it dull read at best.
The rulebook writers have done what can reasonably done by adding those disclaimers on page 7 about advance vs basic and codex vs rulebook.
That makes sense, and on the whole I agree with you. In this case though, I think there needs to be more to allow Deathwing to be fully in reserve.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/22 16:54:58
Subject: Deathwing Assault
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
40k-noob wrote:
You first.
Where in the Drop Pod Assault rule does it *specifically* override the 50% rule?
This is trivial. No part of Drop Pod assault overrides 50% rule. There is no need, because anyone who has read Deep Strike rules properly has found the following sentence in it:: Page 36, Deep Strike
When working out how many units can be placed in reserve, units that must be deployed by Deep Strike (along with any models embarked upon them) are ignored. .
So 50% restriction is still very much in place. The amount of units that you count for it might very well be zero though. Or not.
40k-noob wrote:Where in the Daemonic Assault rule does it *specifically* override the 50% rule?
Again, trivial. Deamonic Assault doesn't override 50% rule at all. It just specifies that all units must start in Reserve (paraphrased). Again, there is no need for it if you have read the Reserves rule. Page 124, preparing reserves:
Units that must start the game in reserve are ignored for the purposes of working out how many other units may do so.
Again, 50% Reserve restriction is still in place. The amount of "other" units allowed to be in Reserves is 0 in this case (assuming pure Daemon army).
40k-noob wrote:If you can find me those "specific" words or combination of words that say something to effect - "this rule overrides the 50% reserve rule set forth in the BRB" then i will show you where in the DWA rule it *specifically* overrides the 50% rule.
I showed you the specific rules that state units eligible for Drop Pod assault or Daemonic Assault are not counted for the 50% limit.
So are you now willing to give me where specifically in the DWA rule does it say that they're not counted for the reserve limit?
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/01/22 17:00:56
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/22 16:59:20
Subject: Deathwing Assault
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
lucasbuffalo wrote:
Where does it say that permission to deep strike means you must start in reserve? Does that mean Jump Pack marines have to now? Perhaps I just missed this page?
The DWA rule binds those units to DS'ing prior to the "Deploy Forces" step where you determines which units are in Reserve and which are deployed on the table.
Jump troops are not bound to DS'ing prior to "deploying your army " and so are not ignored.
This is only slightly different from Drop Pods.
DP are bound to DS prior to the "Deploy Forces" by their special rule from inception, where as DWA units are bound to DS at the "space" between Warlord Traits and Deploy Forces.
Automatically Appended Next Post: Luide wrote:
So are you now willing to give me where specifically in the DWA rule does it say that they're not counted for the reserve limit?
See above.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/01/22 17:05:08
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/22 17:17:14
Subject: Deathwing Assault
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
40k-noob wrote: lucasbuffalo wrote:
Where does it say that permission to deep strike means you must start in reserve? Does that mean Jump Pack marines have to now? Perhaps I just missed this page?
The DWA rule binds those units to DS'ing prior to the "Deploy Forces" step where you determines which units are in Reserve and which are deployed on the table.
Jump troops are not bound to DS'ing prior to "deploying your army " and so are not ignored.
This is only slightly different from Drop Pods.
DP are bound to DS prior to the "Deploy Forces" by their special rule from inception, where as DWA units are bound to DS at the "space" between Warlord Traits and Deploy Forces.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
Luide wrote:
So are you now willing to give me where specifically in the DWA rule does it say that they're not counted for the reserve limit?
See above.
And again, you are choosing to use the rule, whereas for other things that ignore this rule there is no choice involved.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/22 18:48:22
Subject: Deathwing Assault
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
40k-noob wrote:
The DWA rule binds those units to DS'ing prior to the "Deploy Forces" step where you determines which units are in Reserve and which are deployed on the table.
Yet still under the heading DEPLOYMENT. You know, where DEPLOYMENT is decided. Or are you still making the same poor timing argument that has been debunked throughout this thread?
Drop pods say MUST start in Reserve. Please show the SPECIFIC rule that states DWA MUST start in reserve. Page and paragraph, as you have consitently ducked this.
40k-noob wrote:DP are bound to DS prior to the "Deploy Forces" by their special rule from inception, where as DWA units are bound to DS at the "space" between Warlord Traits and Deploy Forces.
By the user, making a CHOICE, during DEPLOYMENT, to put them in reserves. So, now Rigeld has had to show you the standard required (the words MUST appearing tends to be a requirement) care to show the SPECIFIC rule in DWA that means they MUST start in reserve?
ANy chance?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/22 19:43:57
Subject: Deathwing Assault
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
All this has been asked and answers have been stated before by me and a couple others.
If you do not agree, then say you disagree.
Just please stop asking the same questions over and over again.
You are just going to get the same answers.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/22 19:53:31
Subject: Deathwing Assault
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
In the future i wouldnt be surprised if GW where to rule that you could do this. (reserve all deathwing assaulters) However since there is no clear intention in the Dark angels codex that would garnt the permission to do it or the guidelines on how it would be done then for now they do not bypass the BRB rules on reserves and reserve numbers, if they where to choose to arrive turn one or two.
Shoot they can't even buy drop pods to bypass this rule.....
The key I think most are sticking on is CHOOSE... You have a choice and quite frankly I think GW dosent want people to be TFG who hides his stuff on turn one. He** they might even change the deamonic assault rule someday.
The only thing in the codex that is required to start in reserves are the fliers...IIRC
|
In a dog eat dog be a cat. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/22 20:05:59
Subject: Deathwing Assault
|
 |
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant
|
40k-noob wrote:
All this has been asked and answers have been stated before by me and a couple others.
If you do not agree, then say you disagree.
Just please stop asking the same questions over and over again.
You are just going to get the same answers.
He's after a valid answer, which you still have not provided. Drop Pods, Daemons and Flyers all MUST start in reserve and do not count for the 50% rule
Drop Pods can never start the game deployed on the table
Daemons can never start the game deployed on the table
Flyers can never start the game deployed on the table
Deathwing can... So deathwing do not have to start in reserve so do not ignore the 50% rule
Reserves page 124 "During deployment, when delcaring which units are kept in reserve..."
as per page 121 and each mission in the rulebook Deployment begins with rolling Warlord traits and ends with the first turn
So DWA is declared during deployment.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/22 20:45:15
Subject: Deathwing Assault
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
40k-noob wrote:
All this has been asked and answers have been stated before by me and a couple others.
If you do not agree, then say you disagree.
Just please stop asking the same questions over and over again.
You are just going to get the same answers.
Ignored the specific again I see. Try actually answering them
I have provided specific refutation to every point you have made, and you so far have NOT proven your case. You lack 100% any rule whatsoever that lets you full reserve a DWA army.
Actually provide a SPECIFIC rule stating you can break the 50% rule, or retract your statements
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/22 21:32:00
Subject: Deathwing Assault
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
40k-noob wrote:Where in the Drop Pod Assault rule does it *specifically* override the 50% rule?
The part that says Drop Pods ALWAYS enter play using the Deep Strike rules.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/22 22:12:34
Subject: Deathwing Assault
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
DeathReaper wrote:40k-noob wrote:Where in the Drop Pod Assault rule does it *specifically* override the 50% rule?
The part that says Drop Pods ALWAYS enter play using the Deep Strike rules.
So how do DW Assaulting units ALWAYS enter play?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/22 22:17:59
Subject: Deathwing Assault
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
40k-noob wrote: DeathReaper wrote:40k-noob wrote:Where in the Drop Pod Assault rule does it *specifically* override the 50% rule?
The part that says Drop Pods ALWAYS enter play using the Deep Strike rules.
So how do DW Assaulting units ALWAYS enter play?
Nice loaded question there...
Terminators in the DA book can utilize the DWA assault rule, or they can be deployed on the battlefield.
They do not have to start in reserves as there is an option to deploy them on the battlefield.
Therefore they are not exempt from the rule that says you can only reserve half of your units.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/22 22:18:01
Subject: Deathwing Assault
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
I agree with 40k noob but not with any of his reasoning. Yes you can put an entire dw army into dw assault. Why ? Because the 50% rule is not active when you dwa. It is not done during deployment and therefore the restriction on how many units you can deploy in reserve is irrelevant.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/22 22:20:25
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/22 22:18:56
Subject: Deathwing Assault
|
 |
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant
|
40k-noob wrote: DeathReaper wrote:40k-noob wrote:Where in the Drop Pod Assault rule does it *specifically* override the 50% rule?
The part that says Drop Pods ALWAYS enter play using the Deep Strike rules.
So how do DW Assaulting units ALWAYS enter play?
The same way Assault Squads with jump packs who have CHOSEN to deep strike ALWAYS enter play. By deep strike, after being declared to be in reserves during deployment, and complying with the 50% rule.
FlingitNow wrote:I agree with 40k noob but mother with any of his reasoning. Yes you can put an entire dw army into dw assault. Why ? Because the 50% rule is not active when you dwa. It is not done during deployment and therefore the restriction on how many units you can deploy in reserve is irrelevant.
as per page 121 and each mission in the rulebook Deployment begins with rolling Warlord traits and ends with the first turn, as declaring which units are carrying out a DW assault is done after rolling for Warlord traits, DWA is declared during deployment.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/22 22:21:28
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/22 22:19:09
Subject: Deathwing Assault
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
FlingitNow wrote:I agree with 40k noob but mother with any of his reasoning. Yes you can put an entire dw army into dw assault. Why ? Because the 50% rule is not active when you dwa. It is not done during deployment and therefore the restriction on how many units you can deploy in reserve is irrelevant.
Re-read Page 121 and then read when choosing to DWA happens.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/22 22:27:42
Subject: Deathwing Assault
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
You dwA after warlord traits before you deploy your force. The restriction only comes into effect when you are deploying your force as per page 124. During preparing reserves which does not apply to dwa as that choice has already occurred. A more interesting and actually debatable question would dwa units count towards your unit allowance for reserves in a mixed army?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/22 22:35:35
Subject: Re:Deathwing Assault
|
 |
Sergeant Major
In the dark recesses of your mind...
|
I think some of the confusion is coming from people assuming that the so called "50% rule" has anything to do with deep striking at all. The "50% rule" refers to the amount of units (rounded up) that can be held in reserve.
W'hen deploying their armies, players can choose not to deploy up to half of their units (rounding up) keeping them as Reserves to arrive later.
Units making a DWA are not held in reserve. Here is the specific quote:
Deathwing Assault: Units entirely composed of models that have both this special rule and Terminator armour can choose to make a Deathwing Assault. Immediately after determining Warlord Traits, tell your opponent which units are making a Deathwing Assault, and make a secret note of whether it takes place during your first or second turn. All units making the Deathwing Assault automatically arrive
via Deep Strike at the start of the chosen turn - there is no
need to roll for reserves.
I think the DWA rule trumps the the big book rule because it creates a different situation for not deploying troops, other than holding them in reserve, and the big book rule deals exclusively with untis being held in reserve.
|
A Town Called Malus wrote:Just because it is called "The Executioners Axe" doesn't mean it is an axe...
azreal13 wrote:Dude, each to their own and all that, but frankly, if Dakka's interplanetary flame cannon of death goes off point blank in your nads you've nobody to blame but yourself!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/22 22:42:48
Subject: Re:Deathwing Assault
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
helium42 wrote:I think some of the confusion is coming from people assuming that the so called "50% rule" has anything to do with deep striking at all. The "50% rule" refers to the amount of units (rounded up) that can be held in reserve.
W'hen deploying their armies, players can choose not to deploy up to half of their units (rounding up) keeping them as Reserves to arrive later.
Units making a DWA are not held in reserve. Here is the specific quote:
Deathwing Assault: Units entirely composed of models that have both this special rule and Terminator armour can choose to make a Deathwing Assault. Immediately after determining Warlord Traits, tell your opponent which units are making a Deathwing Assault, and make a secret note of whether it takes place during your first or second turn. All units making the Deathwing Assault automatically arrive
via Deep Strike at the start of the chosen turn - there is no
need to roll for reserves.
I think the DWA rule trumps the the big book rule because it creates a different situation for not deploying troops, other than holding them in reserve, and the big book rule deals exclusively with untis being held in reserve.
If they aren't held in Reserve they're deployed. Since those are the only two options available for Deploy Forces and DWA doesn't create a new one.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/22 22:43:50
Subject: Deathwing Assault
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Helium - read the actual DS rule, and the first line. The bit where it states you must be in Reserve. Your entire argument has been raised and refuted previously
Fling -youre making the same refuted argument as 40k has had to fall back on. DEPLOYMENT is a clue as to what you are doing in that entire section
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/22 23:19:35
Subject: Deathwing Assault
|
 |
Sergeant Major
In the dark recesses of your mind...
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Helium - read the actual DS rule, and the first line. The bit where it states you must be in Reserve. Your entire argument has been raised and refuted previously
I have read the deep strike rules and I do believe that the DWA rule creates a different situation.
In order for a unit to be able to Deep Strike, all models in the unit must have the Deep strike special rule and the unit must start the game in reserve.
DW units do not have the DS special rule. They have the DWA rule which allows them to arrive in almost the same fashion as DS, but without rolling to scatter, and without rolling for reserves. DWA is clearly different from the more typical form of DS in that your models are not actually held in reserve (they do not roll for reserves and they come in on the turn specified by the player) and they do not ever roll to scatter.
When placing the unit in reserve, you must tell your opponent that it will be arriving by Deep Strike (sometimes called Deep Strike reserve).
Units that DWA are never placed in reserve. They must be set aside before normal reserves are announced, and I feel that this is further evidence that they are not bound to the "50% rule" that units being held in reserve are held too.
|
A Town Called Malus wrote:Just because it is called "The Executioners Axe" doesn't mean it is an axe...
azreal13 wrote:Dude, each to their own and all that, but frankly, if Dakka's interplanetary flame cannon of death goes off point blank in your nads you've nobody to blame but yourself!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/19 22:30:49
Subject: Deathwing Assault
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
Yes we are in the deployment section but rolling warlord traits is not part of deploying forces and neither is deathwing assault. Prove that deathwing assault is part of deploying your forces. Which would have mean that you can't roll off for who deploys first...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/22 23:29:41
Subject: Deathwing Assault
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
helium42 wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote:Helium - read the actual DS rule, and the first line. The bit where it states you must be in Reserve. Your entire argument has been raised and refuted previously
I have read the deep strike rules and I do believe that the DWA rule creates a different situation.
In order for a unit to be able to Deep Strike, all models in the unit must have the Deep strike special rule and the unit must start the game in reserve.
DW units do not have the DS special rule.
Page 65. Have you read the relevant entries in your codex before debating the rules?
helium42 wrote: They have the DWA rule which allows them to arrive in almost the same fashion as DS, but without rolling to scatter, and without rolling for reserves.
Now you are DEFINITELY making things up. They have the DWA rule which states tehy DEEP STRIKE on the nominated turn. They definitely DO scatter, as nothing modifies the DS rules.
helium42 wrote:DWA is clearly different from the more typical form of DS in that your models are not actually held in reserve (they do not roll for reserves and they come in on the turn specified by the player) and they do not ever roll to scatter.
None of the above is actually true. 1) They are definitely in reserve, as the game a) defines only two possible states, and b) the rules for DS require it. This is indisputable. I have covered that they do scatter.
helium42 wrote:When placing the unit in reserve, you must tell your opponent that it will be arriving by Deep Strike (sometimes called Deep Strike reserve).
Units that DWA are never placed in reserve. They must be set aside before normal reserves are announced, and I feel that this is further evidence that they are not bound to the "50% rule" that units being held in reserve are held too.
See above. Nothing you have said correlates with the actual rules.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/22 23:55:01
Subject: Re:Deathwing Assault
|
 |
Sergeant Major
In the dark recesses of your mind...
|
Now you are DEFINITELY making things up. They have the DWA rule which states tehy DEEP STRIKE on the nominated turn. They definitely DO scatter, as nothing modifies the DS rules.
You've got me here. I don't know why I was mentally adding Belial's Tactical Precision rule to all DWAs, other than my brain is fried from a long day at work. That certainly hurts my argument a bit.
|
A Town Called Malus wrote:Just because it is called "The Executioners Axe" doesn't mean it is an axe...
azreal13 wrote:Dude, each to their own and all that, but frankly, if Dakka's interplanetary flame cannon of death goes off point blank in your nads you've nobody to blame but yourself!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 0026/02/18 23:56:22
Subject: Deathwing Assault
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
That and the fact the unit DOES have the DS rule?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/23 01:39:28
Subject: Deathwing Assault
|
 |
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant
|
FlingitNow wrote:Yes we are in the deployment section but rolling warlord traits is not part of deploying forces and neither is deathwing assault. Prove that deathwing assault is part of deploying your forces. Which would have mean that you can't roll off for who deploys first...
Might I suggest you read page 126 to 131, where it lists the missions and the steps for a game?
THE ARMIES - Choose armies as detailed on page 118
THE BAtTLEFIELD - Determin deployment map (see page 118),...
DEPLOYMENT - Before deploying their forces players should roll for their warlord traits (see page 111) and then deploy as on page 121
FIRST TURN - blah blah
Determining units held in reserve is done during deployment, which as per the rulebook consists of everything after rolling for warlord traits right up to the time a player takes the first turn, so if Deathwing assault occurs after warlord traits but before the first turn of the game then it occurs during deployment, which coincidentally is the same time as when you declare normal reserves.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/23 01:39:56
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/23 02:04:38
Subject: Deathwing Assault
|
 |
Twisting Tzeentch Horror
|
When does the game start? does it start when rolling the die to determine mission or does it start at the start of the first players turn?
Yes i am going some where with this but I would like an unbiased answer.
|
Mess with the best, Die like the rest. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/23 03:24:30
Subject: Deathwing Assault
|
 |
Irked Necron Immortal
|
This many pages for something so simple?
You can have 50% in reserve. Doesn't matter what turn they come in on. Units that must start in reserve (flyers) are the only exception with the minor addition of embarked units.
Without having any rules to look at (or the time to read through 6 pages), I would only want to know if Deathwing units, after a Deathwing assault is declared, are allowed to be placed on the table.
If all Deathwing units must enter play via reserves, then it should be fine for more then 50% to go.
If each unit has the option of going into reserves or not, then the 50% rule should be in effect.
I'll have to look at my friend's codex before I can be sure though.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|