Switch Theme:

Deathwing Assault  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





nosferatu1001 wrote:
It isnt deflection, just sheer boredom at repeating the same rules arguments when you decide to circle round to them again.

There is no conflict, so you dont apply page 7. You contend there is, but havent actually bothered to prove it.

Edit: not worth it. Provide an actual rules argument, or concede.


As I said, I can play this game too:

Define conflict in 40k terms or concede.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

40k-noob wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
It isnt deflection, just sheer boredom at repeating the same rules arguments when you decide to circle round to them again.

There is no conflict, so you dont apply page 7. You contend there is, but havent actually bothered to prove it.

Edit: not worth it. Provide an actual rules argument, or concede.


As I said, I can play this game too:

Define conflict in 40k terms or concede.


I wanna play, too. Define "the", "table", "Warp" and "test" in 40K terms or eat cake.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 Happyjew wrote:
40k-noob wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
It isnt deflection, just sheer boredom at repeating the same rules arguments when you decide to circle round to them again.

There is no conflict, so you dont apply page 7. You contend there is, but havent actually bothered to prove it.

Edit: not worth it. Provide an actual rules argument, or concede.


As I said, I can play this game too:

Define conflict in 40k terms or concede.


I wanna play, too. Define "the", "table", "Warp" and "test" in 40K terms or eat cake.


I would rather eat cake and am doing so right now :-P
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





AndrewC wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
If they aren't held in Reserve they're deployed. Since those are the only two options available for Deploy Forces and DWA doesn't create a new one.


So you never stated the DWA isn't deployed? And how do you get to reserve? oh that will be deployment.

Cute. Now lets look at what I said I didn't say:
rigeld2 wrote:
 AndrewC wrote:
DWA is certainly deploying your forces, your own earlier posts have repeatedly pointed that out.

No, it's not. No, I haven't said that.

DWA isn't part of the "Deploy Forces" stage. That's demonstrable fact.
DWA allows some units to be deployed before the Deploy Forces step but it does not move the step.
The first player to deploy his army gets the first turn. You may not deploy your entire army during DWA therefore the DA player did not "deploy their army" meaning - wait for it - you're still wrong.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in fk
Longtime Dakkanaut





Wishing I was back at the South Atlantic, closer to ice than the sun

Right so now you're saying that it refers to the entire army as to who goes first?

So a SM player with a scout army, and decided to infiltrate, even though he won the roll doesn't get to go first because the player to go second 'deployed his army first'.

Hmmm

Andrew

I don't care what the flag says, I'm SCOTTISH!!!

Best definition of the word Battleship?
Mr Nobody wrote:
Does a canoe with a machine gun count?
 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 AndrewC wrote:
Right so now you're saying that it refers to the entire army as to who goes first?

So a SM player with a scout army, and decided to infiltrate, even though he won the roll doesn't get to go first because the player to go second 'deployed his army first'.

Cute. No.
He makes the deployment decision for his entire army first - so he's deployed his army first.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in fk
Longtime Dakkanaut





Wishing I was back at the South Atlantic, closer to ice than the sun

And the DWA has made a deployment decision for his army.

Cheers

Andrew

I don't care what the flag says, I'm SCOTTISH!!!

Best definition of the word Battleship?
Mr Nobody wrote:
Does a canoe with a machine gun count?
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Rigeld, your argument that a whole army needs to deploy is obviously false, as you don't deploy units in reserve, yet still go first despite your whole army not deploying.

As I have said before, Reserves is a mission specific allowance to choose not to deploy half your army. It is not a restriction, it is an allowance. Normally you must deploy your entire army. Dwa is another allowance to not deploy your army. It does not use the mission special rule, and you are not making a deep strike you are making a dwa.

You can be in reserve without being placed there via Reserve the mission special rule. This is obvious. The argument that dwa uses the mission special rule without mentioning it, and also only modifies the timing part, flies in the face of other abilities like skyleap or drop pods in missions that do not use the Reserve special rule.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 AndrewC wrote:
And the DWA has made a deployment decision for his army. units with DWA, not his army

Fixed that for you with the underscore.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





DevianID wrote:
Rigeld, your argument that a whole army needs to deploy is obviously false, as you don't deploy units in reserve, yet still go first despite your whole army not deploying.

You've made a deployment decision for those units in reserve. Which is actually what I said and not what you think I said. Argue against what I actually said please.

As I have said before, Reserves is a mission specific allowance to choose not to deploy half your army. It is not a restriction, it is an allowance. Normally you must deploy your entire army. Dwa is another allowance to not deploy your army. It does not use the mission special rule, and you are not making a deep strike you are making a dwa.

Demonstrably false.
Where are the rules for making a DWA? How do you place the models on the table?

You can be in reserve without being placed there via Reserve the mission special rule. This is obvious. The argument that dwa uses the mission special rule without mentioning it, and also only modifies the timing part, flies in the face of other abilities like skyleap or drop pods in missions that do not use the Reserve special rule.

No, this is also incorrect. Perhaps reading the thread where this was debunked would be a good start.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 AndrewC wrote:
And the DWA has made a deployment decision for his army.

No, he's made a deployment decision for part of his army. He can't make it for his entire army or he'd be breaking the rule that only allows half of his army to be in Reserves.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/01/29 22:53:46


My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in fk
Longtime Dakkanaut





Wishing I was back at the South Atlantic, closer to ice than the sun

I have spent the last 17 pages convinced that P122 said forces. And it doesn't, it says army. Blast.

Please accept my apologies everyone, I have been arguing here from a misconception and major reading failure.

It does leave my with one question though, if it's armies that require to be deployed in completion, P121 notes under Infiltrators/scouts, that a unit is not deployed until it appears to be placed on the board (or withheld via reserves) so does that mean the person who placed infiltrators last goes second?

Cheers (and very embarrassed)

Andrew

I don't care what the flag says, I'm SCOTTISH!!!

Best definition of the word Battleship?
Mr Nobody wrote:
Does a canoe with a machine gun count?
 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 AndrewC wrote:
It does leave my with one question though, if it's armies that require to be deployed in completion, P121 notes under Infiltrators/scouts, that a unit is not deployed until it appears to be placed on the board (or withheld via reserves) so does that mean the person who placed infiltrators last goes second?

No - a deployment decision has been made. They aren't on the board but they're "deployed" into the Infiltrators or Reserves area.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in fk
Longtime Dakkanaut





Wishing I was back at the South Atlantic, closer to ice than the sun

Please see second sentence under Deploying infiltrators. Infiltrators are not deployed until all other relevant units have been deployed.

Cheers

Andrew

PS since this is completely OT I think thats the last I will be on this particular thread.

I don't care what the flag says, I'm SCOTTISH!!!

Best definition of the word Battleship?
Mr Nobody wrote:
Does a canoe with a machine gun count?
 
   
Made in us
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin





Out of my Mind

Can they DWA in special missions where the Reserves rule is not in use?

Current Armies
40k: 15k of Unplayable Necrons
(I miss 7th!)
30k: Imperial Fists
(project for 2025)

 
   
Made in pl
Fresh-Faced New User




 Akar wrote:
Can they DWA in special missions where the Reserves rule is not in use?


Yes. Rule clearly states they may always choose to DWA.

-2300pts
-1750pts
-1350pts
-600pts
- 200pts 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Anacortes

The reason you write it down and make your determination of what is deploying when and how so you can't change your mind. Once you see your opponents moves. You still count for the 50% reserve rule. It's really simple.

In a dog eat dog be a cat. 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





So rigeld DWA is deploying units in reserve by your interpretation. So we check reserves and are allowed to put up to half our units into DWA. However we have not made a choice for deploying our army (this part of your argument is frankly bizarre). Then we roll off when deploying it comes to my turn to deploy I can put another half of my units in reserve correct?

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Sorry, that crazy run on sentence makes everything a bit lost.

You see that part about only half of your forces being able to be in reserve? Unless the DWA models arent part of your forces any longer, which you will need a rules quote for, then "NO" is the really obvious answer
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Say my army is Belial and 4 DW squads:

After warlord traits I declare DWA. This is deployment and requires putting units in reserve. Therefore I can put 3 units into DWA. This is also not deployment so I don't auto go first.

Roll off for deployment.

I deploy my army and am allowed to put upto 3 units in reserve. Those units may deepstrike.

This is your reading of the rules. Is that correct?


Automatically Appended Next Post:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
Sorry, that crazy run on sentence makes everything a bit lost.

You see that part about only half of your forces being able to be in reserve?


Nobody sees that part because it doesn't exist! It is a rule that allows you to put up to half your units in reserve. If we check it at DWA then it restricts DWA to half. This has no impact on any other occasion we check that rule as each time we are allowed to put half our units in reserve. Because that is what the rule says.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/04 22:28:42


Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 FlingitNow wrote:
Say my army is Belial and 4 DW squads:

After warlord traits I declare DWA. This is deployment and requires putting units in reserve. Therefore I can put 3 units into DWA. This is also not deployment so I don't auto go first.

That's an amusing and incorrect summation of the argument.
DWA is an out-of-order deployment, and therefore follows the rules for deployment.
It is not deploying your army (ie the entirety of your army) and therefore you don't "auto go first".
This has been explained multiple times in the thread.

I deploy my army and am allowed to put upto 3 units in reserve. Those units may deepstrike.

No. You've already placed 3 units in Reserves from DWA. Any more would be over half of your units.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Fling - you see that part where you can put up to half the units in your force in reserve? You didnt address that part - you know, the actual part that matters.
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





The rule says that i can put upto half my units in reserve yes? Therefore if DWA to is using this rule to put units in reserve I can put upto half my units in DWA?

I am also allowed to put upto half my units in reserve when deploying my army correct?

Or are you back to the DWA is part of deploying your army argument in which case we are back to that list of questions you guys refused to answer.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin





Out of my Mind

nosferatu1001 wrote:
Fling - you see that part where you can put up to half the units in your force in reserve? You didnt address that part - you know, the actual part that matters.

K, so lets address this, and talk about permissions.

Non-Existent Rule
Something that I have read throughout this thread that the Anti-DWA camp has referred to is the 50% rule. Nothing in the DWA grants permission to override this rule, to which there is no argument. Something they are deliberately avoiding discussing or refuse to address is this 'rule'? Please give me a page number or reference where there rule is supposed to exist? Every time it is brought up, and I've gone to look for it, I simply cannot find it. So it either exists or there really are that many people who think that there is a rule in place without looking for it themselves.

Reserves 'Permission'
Now there is the Reserves Special rule, which has a restriction limiting players to keeping half of their units as reserves... when deploying their armies... when using the reserves rule... in missions that have the reserves rule...

Before we get to the Reserves rule, just a quick look at the Mission Special rules. Right at the top of p.124, we learn that Eternal War missions use unique rules that 'confer extra abilities, restrictions or effects onto your games.' These rules are Night Fighting, Reserves, and Mysterious Objectives. A quick glance at all 6 of the Eternal War missions reveals that they all use the Night Fighting, and Reserves rule. 2 of them don't use the Mysterious Objectives, so naturally we don't apply those rules, to those missions. No permission is given by the Mission Special rules to apply them to all games. So the RAW remains, only missions that have the Reserves rule are when we are granted permission to use them as Reserves. (More on this later)

Now, the Reserves rule is broken down into 2 sub-categories. Preparing Reserves, and Arriving by Reserve (which we'll come back to later). The part relevant to the DWA debate is part of the preparing Reserves, which is the only place in the BRB where the 50% restriction is defined. It is a restriction, but it is a restriction that has a condition attached to it. The condition is 'when deploying their armies'. This is the extent of the application of the 50% restriction. The RAW clearly states when deploying their army, not during deployment. There is no permission given by the Reserves rule, to have this restriction extend to anything beyond when you are actually at the deploying models on the table. In order for the 50% restriction to apply outside of this step, the Reserves rule would have to permit the restriction to apply outside of deploying forces. If such a thing exists, then it would become a rule and would then also apply regardless of whether the Reserves rule is in use.

Deployment vs. Deploying Forces
Now it appears that the Anti-DWA camp is treating these as one and the same. Anything that happens during 'Deployment' is also 'Deploying Forces'. Anything that happens during 'Deployment' as defined on page p.121. This includes the 'Determine Warlord Traits'. Since we are in 'Deployment' the Reserves rule must also be in effect. Even though the DWA rule states that the units must declare they are taking advantage of this after determining Warlord Traits, it has already passed into 'Deployment', so the Reserves restriction applies to DWA. This would be a possible interpretation, if there wasn't any other RAW to directly contradict this. For starters, 'Deploy Forces' happens after determining Warlord traits. So the RAW now confirms that Deployment, and Deploying Forces are different. Deploying Forces is a sub-step of 'Deployment'.

Reserves and Timing
So now we jump back to Reserves and to when the Reserves rule is actually in effect. Since it is a Mission Special rule, it applies to the Mission but we have no clear indication of WHEN it is applied. Night Fighting is pretty clear, check before deployment, and if that doesn't trigger it, start on the appropriate turns. Mysterious Objectives is also very explicit when it is applied. Both of these rules also state that they apply when they are being used. This specific permission is absent from the Reserves rule. There are two possible outcomes, the first is the obviously absurd conclusion that it never gets used because it has no timing listed, and no permission clarifying 'In missions using...' or 'When using reserves...'. The second is that it applies in missions that use it, but we're still unclear as to when it actually starts in effect. All we have to go on per the rules on p.124, are the words 'when deploying forces'.

Speculation starts, and it becomes pretty universally accepted that it is in effect during Deployment. There hasn't been any rule or unit that would challenge the timing of reserves until DWA came along. So we need to actually take a look at when the Reserves restriction applies. What we DO have, is a guide on p148 of the Mini RB. (Just realized this might be a different page in the full BRB since it is in the back.) This is the only place I've been able to find in print, any resolution of when the Reserves rule applies, and as a result the 50% restriction. It happens during the deploy forces step, after rolling to see who deploys first. Players deploy their entire forces excluding Infiltrating units and units being kept as reserve.

Like it or not it's written, and whether or not you agree that it is a summary and does not apply because it's not listed under the rule, it's still written and removes any speculation. So following the Reserves rule, the 50% restriction applies during this sub-step, and not before, and not after. There is no permission for that restriction to apply to any point beyond this.

So what about Deep Strike?
Next up is whether the Deep Strike rule falls under the Reserves coverage, including the 50% restriction. This is the 'fall back' point that the Anti-DWA camp is trying to use since Deep Strike states that the units must start in Reserve.

The Deep Strike rule is no longer a part of the Reserves rule as it was in previous editions. The Reserves rule does grant permission to the Deep Strike rule under 'Arriving from Reserve'. So the Anti-DWA camp thinks that since no permission is given by the Reserves rule to allow units arriving by Deep Strike, they are subject to the Reserves rule, along with the 50% restriction. Reading the Deep Strike rule, however reveals that units arriving by Deep Strike must start the game in Reserve. This grants permission for Deep Striking units to use the Reserves rule regardless of deployment and unrestricted to the Reserves rule being used in the mission. This appears to be an odd approach to looking at it, but only because it hasn't been an issue until the Dark Angel Codex arrived. As written, units using Deep Strike, start the game in reserve. Nothing is addressed about HOW they get into reserve using the Deep Strike rule.

Reserves AND Deep Strike
Since the Deep Strike rule doesn't state how units are placed in Reserve, we have to take a quick look at how units get to Deep Strike under the rules, and Reserves. No one has any problems with this, but in short, unless a Codex grants a unit a different method of entering reserve/Deep Strike, they will have to wait till deploying forces, then choose to Deep Strike at this time.

Terminators vs. Dark Angel Terminators
'Normal' Terminators are the most common unit that will be able to use Deep Strike outside of the 50% restriction. With the exception of Space Wolves and Dark Angels, Terminators may always enter play from reserves, even when the Reserves rule is not being used, and must usually enter play using Deep Strike. The wording in the separate Codexes may vary slightly, but the path that they arrive follows the normal pattern. When deploying terminators, you always use the Reserves rule, then you have to declare that they are entering play by Deep Strike. The individual Codex grants permission to override the 50% restriction, but still uses the reserves rule to get there. Which they had to do under the edition rules they were designed for.

Under the 6th edition Codexes written so far, Chaos Terminators did not gain this ability, and Dark Angels lost this ability. There is no doubt about Dark Angel Terminators not being able to always use the reserves rule to Deep Strike. This does not prevent them from using another method to enter play, that would be another restriction.

Deathwing Assault and Permission
Now lets address what Permission Deathwing Assault IS granting to players. Units of Terminators in a Dark Angel army ALL have the option to use this. DWA tells us first that units 'may' use this ability. It's a choice to use DWA or not. It's not a choice to enter via Deep Strike, or enter via Reserves, so can we stop pretending that since it's a choice, it somehow links them to the 50% restriction? There is no rule in either the BRB, or the DA Codex that makes that connection. Just like normal terminators 'may' always use the reserves rule. It's an option to use the the rule. If the word 'may' is removed, then Terminators with that rule, would always have to Deep Strike, and not be able to even start on the board.

Back to the debate about DWA not giving permission to ALWAYS do this? It doesn't need to as it already grants all the permission it needs to be used against any rules that it comes into conflict with. I will concede that it would've been simpler to add the word 'always' to DWA, but it's not necessary. DWA happens at a time that could be anything since it doesn't fall under any step, and gives the impression that it creates it's own step. The anti-DWA camp thinks that since this falls under deployment, the Reserves restriction is in place. We already showed that deployment isn't the same thing as deploying forces. Since DWA specifically mentions a time that is NOT deploying forces, there is no 50% restriction in place for them to need permission to override it, and we already showed that there is no 50% deployment rule (independent from Reserves).

Next, the DWA specifically states that the chosen units will enter play via Deep Strike. It's the first case of using the Deep Strike rule to be placed in reserve. Since there is no mention made of the Reserves rule until you get to the actual application of Deep Strike, the 50% restriction never got a chance to even be brought into the picture. The DWA rule grants permission to put units into reserve using the Deep Strike rule, and not using the Reserves rules to Deep Strike like the other Terminators can.

The final reference to reserves in the DWA is arriving from reserve. At this point they are already in reserve, before deploying forces. When the game starts they are still subject to all the rules for 'Arriving from Reserves'. It's not until this time that the DWA gives us our final two permissions. The first being the arrival on Turn 1 or Turn 2. We don't check for the second permission till we get to the chosen turn, and that is they automatically come in. The time to apply the 50% restriction has already passed, and without this reference, they would have to roll being subject to the Reserves rule. There is no link between this permission and somehow implying that they can only be here so long as there is not more than 50% in reserve.

Final Conclusion
DWA has all the permissions that it needs as written. If a Dark Angel player chooses to apply the 50% restriction, he is not prevented from doing so because DWA is an option, not a requirement. An individual's choice to do so doesn't mean that all Dark Angel players have to play the same way when the RAW grants permission to do so. It feels like the Anti-DWA camp has attempted to make it appear like a case of 'Well the DWA rule doesn't say I can't do it", when in actuality it's a rare case of 'Where is the permission allowing the 50% restriction to apply to everything outside of deploying forces, to anything attempting to use any reference to the Reserves rule'? There is no 50% deployment rule, if there is please give a page reference. Anything that happens outside of deploying forces, cannot be subject to the restriction, because permission has to first be given to happen outside of deploying forces in the first place. Something that, convieniently, DWA specifically addresses.

This debate will not end until GW FaQ's that DWA does allow more than the 50% restriction, or errata's the rule to be affected by the 50% restriction. Until then, by RAW, they should be allowed to do so. Event Organizers are always free to dictate which way the game is played, and they always have the final word in their events so I have no doubts there will be disappointment regardless of the RAW.

-Akar

Edit: Clarifacation

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/05 11:09:45


Current Armies
40k: 15k of Unplayable Necrons
(I miss 7th!)
30k: Imperial Fists
(project for 2025)

 
   
Made in gb
Elite Tyranid Warrior




We're not still on this, are we?

It's ambiguous at best and the issue cannot and will not be settled without an FAQ.

Ask your opponent how he feels about it before you play and he'll either be on one side of the fence or the other - neither of which are right or wrong based on the circular argument from the previous 17 pages. If he agrees then you're golden, keep your entire army off the table to your heart's content. You can't really moan if he won't allow it though, you'll just have to either adjust your tactics or find someone else to play. If you refuse to adjust your tactics and throw your toys out of the pram because of your win at all costs attitude, he probably wouldn't have enjoyed playing against you anyway.
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Enceladus wrote:
We're not still on this, are we?

It's ambiguous at best and the issue cannot and will not be settled without an FAQ.

Ask your opponent how he feels about it before you play and he'll either be on one side of the fence or the other - neither of which are right or wrong based on the circular argument from the previous 17 pages. If he agrees then you're golden, keep your entire army off the table to your heart's content. You can't really moan if he won't allow it though, you'll just have to either adjust your tactics or find someone else to play. If you refuse to adjust your tactics and throw your toys out of the pram because of your win at all costs attitude, he probably wouldn't have enjoyed playing against you anyway.


so if I choose to interpret that all your models are T1 S1 and all your guns are S1 AP- you are having a win at all costs attitude by refusing to adjust your tactics to my rules and throwing your toys out of the pram.

Granted RaI could go either way. RaW you do not have to deploy anything. The only argument is whether you can DWA it all or whether half has to go into normal reserves.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in gb
Tough Tyrant Guard





SHE-FI-ELD

I agree with Enceladus, Akar, i'm reading over some of your points but where you reference Pg148 with reserves restriction - I can't find any mention of the restriction on that page. All this states is you don't deploy your reserves with the rest of the army, which in regards to this argument is neither here nor there,
IMO, the wording against 'Deployment' 'Deploying forces' and 'Deploying armies' is far too ambiguous, and quite simply you can only interpret when the restrictions apply, there quite simply is no one RAW answer to that.
As for intent, well I don't have the DA codex but letting 100% of an army arrive from reserves on which ever turn they choose rings some alarm bells for an army which doesn't need to utilise that at all

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/05 11:04:48


It's my codex and I'll cry If I want to.

Tactical objectives are fantastic 
   
Made in gb
Elite Tyranid Warrior




I'm not getting embroiled in this argument again. We can sit and argue back and forth about it until we're blue in the face but RAW for DWA specifies you have to use Deep Strike to do so. The BRB specifies that in order to Deep Strike you have to first be in Reserves. Reserve rules specify that you can only put half your units into Reserve. So anyone arguing the point that your entire army can't be off the table in turn 1 has a case, which is why the DWA rule is so ambiguous and why there's been a 17 page thread with a circular argument that has reached absolutely no solid conclusion.

People just need to stop being so anal about the whole thing, agree that neither party is 100% right or wrong until GW themselves clarify the situation and until it's FAQ'd, simply ask your opponent before the game. It really is that easy.

This thread needs closing...
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 Akar wrote:
Something that I have read throughout this thread that the Anti-DWA camp has referred to is the 50% rule. Nothing in the DWA grants permission to override this rule, to which there is no argument. Something they are deliberately avoiding discussing or refuse to address is this 'rule'? Please give me a page number or reference where there rule is supposed to exist? Every time it is brought up, and I've gone to look for it, I simply cannot find it. So it either exists or there really are that many people who think that there is a rule in place without looking for it themselves.


The "50% rule" that keeps getting referenced is the one that states up half your army, rounded up can be placed in reserves. People started referring to it as the 50% rule as it is much quicker to say that then "half your army rounded up may start in reserve rule".

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/05 20:18:41


Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin





Out of my Mind

Nem wrote:
I'm reading over some of your points but where you reference Pg148 with reserves restriction - I can't find any mention of the restriction on that page. All this states is you don't deploy your reserves with the rest of the army, which in regards to this argument is neither here nor there.

Ahh, thank you first for taking the time to read it. My intent was not to use p148 to reference the 50% restriction, but the timing of when the Reserves rule is applied, since it's not listed with any specifics under the Reserves rule, like the other two Mission Special rules. Pg. 148 just shows when the deploy forces step happens, with reference to Reserves. Which would include the 50% restriction following the deploy forces condition on the 50% restriction found in the Reserves rule.

Nem wrote:
IMO, the wording against 'Deployment' 'Deploying forces' and 'Deploying armies' is far too ambiguous, and quite simply you can only interpret when the restrictions apply, there quite simply is no one RAW answer to that.

I don't feel the wording is, but I can see how others think it is, so I don't have an issue with people thinking it is ambiguous. Not much of an issue with me personally, but there is no grounds to use the Deployment/Deploying wording to force the restriction to apply as some people have done implying that the 50% restriction is an absolute to everything.

Nem wrote:
As for intent, well I don't have the DA codex but letting 100% of an army arrive from reserves on which ever turn they choose rings some alarm bells for an army which doesn't need to utilise that at all

It's the alarm bells that I feel is a source of much of the drive to disallow it more than the drive to look at what the rule actually is. I completely agree that the army doesn't need to utilize 100% of the force to arrive from Reserve on Turn 1. What we feel though doesn't prevent them from doing so. It's not overpowered, It's not game breaking by any means. Will I enjoy playing against it, 'HELL NO' is the answer to that without thinking about it. Im not going to attempt to defeat their ability to do it to avoid playing against it. Im debating building a combined wing list (which I have posted in the other forum), and I am starting with units on the board, just not the 50% that people would prefer to see. Im leaning toward a more standard list now, but it has nothing to do with this debate.


Current Armies
40k: 15k of Unplayable Necrons
(I miss 7th!)
30k: Imperial Fists
(project for 2025)

 
   
Made in us
Death-Dealing Dark Angels Devastator



California

 FlingitNow wrote:
The rule says that i can put upto half my units in reserve yes? Therefore if DWA to is using this rule to put units in reserve I can put upto half my units in DWA?

I am also allowed to put upto half my units in reserve when deploying my army correct?

Or are you back to the DWA is part of deploying your army argument in which case we are back to that list of questions you guys refused to answer.


You mean the list of questions I did answer and you chose to ignore because you didn't like my answers? That list of questions?

I guess debating is easy when you don't read what the other side says
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: