Switch Theme:

Dark Angel - Banner of Devastation  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Poll
What is the intention of the Banner of Devastation.
Anything listed under boltguns on p56.
Boltguns only.. OMG you are fishing for cheese!!!

View results
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut



Beaver Dam, WI

What do you think the RAI for the Banner of Devastation is intended to be?

Is it limited to bolteguns or the greater boltguns definition (p56) including bolt pistols, stormbolters, and heavy bolters?

Until it is defined, I am limiting it to boltguns, hurricane bolters and combi-bolters...

So no one cries cheese, I am limiting it. However I think the more inclusive definition would be fine... It would definitely make some more builds liveable...

Mobile Devastators... Pain Ravenwing Support Squadrons of dual Heavy Bolter squadrons... plain Landraider TL Heavy Bolters and TL heavybolter razorbacks..
twin-linked deathwing stormbolters of doom...

The one thing that makes me wonder is no definition including 24" range in the description of the Banner.


2000
2000
WIP
3000
8000 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





I voted boltguns only, but it's not that people are "OMG you are fishing for cheese!!!" - rather it's that GW has poorly defined it.

I think it's intended to be limited to hand held bolters and combi's only - not Hurricane bolters.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in ca
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar





Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

As with Rigeld2 .. it's not about cheese. Boltguns are Boltguns (not bolt pistols, heavy bolters, etc)

But of course, GW had to put Boltguns AND the other "bolt weapons" under the heading "Boltguns". To say the others are a "boltgun" would mean they have a different weapon profile than otherwise listed, as boltguns have a specific weapon profile that differs from Bolt Pistols, Heavy Bolters, etc (imo).

I'm undecided on the combi-bolter being included however. ** Edit : Combi-bolter is a twin linked boltgun .. I would read the banner to apply to them as well (and combi-weapons)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/20 16:23:05


 
   
Made in gb
Cowboy Wannabe



London

I would say boltguns, combi-bolters. possibly hurricane too, as they are used as 3 set of TL boltguns.

Combi-bolters definitely as they are a boltgun and an one shot weapon.

But yes, bad specifying from GW.
   
Made in ca
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar





Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

Jangustus wrote:
I would say boltguns, combi-bolters. possibly hurricane too, as they are used as 3 set of TL boltguns.

Combi-bolters definitely as they are a boltgun and an one shot weapon.

But yes, bad specifying from GW.


I was under the impression a combi-bolter was a TL bolter. Combi-weapons are boltgun + another one shot special weapon.
Subtle difference, but a difference nonetheless.
   
Made in us
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine






Boltguns only!

GW Apologist-in-Chief 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Boltguns. Which would include Twin-linked Bolters, Hurricane Bolters, and the Bolter portion of a Combi-weapon.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Cowboy Wannabe



London

Rorschach9 wrote:
Jangustus wrote:
I would say boltguns, combi-bolters. possibly hurricane too, as they are used as 3 set of TL boltguns.

Combi-bolters definitely as they are a boltgun and an one shot weapon.

But yes, bad specifying from GW.


I was under the impression a combi-bolter was a TL bolter. Combi-weapons are boltgun + another one shot special weapon.
Subtle difference, but a difference nonetheless.


Quite correct, I was thinking combi-weapons.

Nevertheless, combi-bolters still count as they are bolters, albeit twin-linked ones.
   
Made in dk
Stormin' Stompa





Where is the ""Other" option?

I say the banner affects any weapon that requires you to look at the Boltgun profile, ie. boltguns, combi-weapons and hurricane bolters (including twinlinked and mastercrafted versions of the mentioned weapons),

-------------------------------------------------------
"He died because he had no honor. He had no honor and the Emperor was watching."

18.000 3.500 8.200 3.300 2.400 3.100 5.500 2.500 3.200 3.000


 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




I'd love it if they FAQ'd it to all things that fire bolts, but until that mythical day arrives I'm firmly in the Bolter, Combi-weapon, and Hurricane and I only include Hurricanes because they specify that they are three sets of boltguns.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

The Standard of Devastation says that all boltguns within 6" will be salvo 2/4 or something to that effect.

Under the header "BOLTGUNS" in the BGB (p.56), all bolter weapons are included, including storm bolters and heavy bolters.

So either they meant boltguns as:

1) All weapons under the BOLTGUNS header of the BGB.

2) "Lowercase" boltguns, hurricane bolters, and combi-weapons

To me it seems like the RAW could be either 1 or 2.

The RAI is probably 2 though.

In the interest of sportsmanship we should probably play it as number two.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 DeathReaper wrote:
The Standard of Devastation says that all boltguns within 6" will be salvo 2/4 or something to that effect.

Under the header "BOLTGUNS" in the BGB (p.56), all bolter weapons are included, including storm bolters and heavy bolters.

So either they meant boltguns as:

1) All weapons under the BOLTGUNS header of the BGB.

2) "Lowercase" boltguns, hurricane bolters, and combi-weapons

To me it seems like the RAW could be either 1 or 2.

The RAI is probably 2 though.

In the interest of sportsmanship we should probably play it as number two.


Space Marine bikes come with a "twin-linked boltgun". Does that mean I could model my bikes with a Vulcan Megabolter?

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut



Beaver Dam, WI

 Happyjew wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
The Standard of Devastation says that all boltguns within 6" will be salvo 2/4 or something to that effect.

Under the header "BOLTGUNS" in the BGB (p.56), all bolter weapons are included, including storm bolters and heavy bolters.

So either they meant boltguns as:

1) All weapons under the BOLTGUNS header of the BGB.

2) "Lowercase" boltguns, hurricane bolters, and combi-weapons

To me it seems like the RAW could be either 1 or 2.

The RAI is probably 2 though.

In the interest of sportsmanship we should probably play it as number two.


Space Marine bikes come with a "twin-linked boltgun". Does that mean I could model my bikes with a Vulcan Megabolter?


LOL, no. The point is what the banner will effect not what it allows you to model (e.g. Space Marines toting Megabolters)... BTW good catch a minus to the Banner - if it affects all on the bolter table - would be a hefty minus on any Vulcan Megabolter within 6".... That would lead me to believe it is the narrow definition intended.

2000
2000
WIP
3000
8000 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Bolt guns only, in the DA codex there is no mention of these other boltgun/weapons as being boltguns, the only boltgun entry is the normal boltgun. Codex trumps BRB no?, codex says boltgun is boltgun.


40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
Made in ca
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar





Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

 DeathReaper wrote:
The Standard of Devastation says that all boltguns within 6" will be salvo 2/4 or something to that effect.

Under the header "BOLTGUNS" in the BGB (p.56), all bolter weapons are included, including storm bolters and heavy bolters.

So either they meant boltguns as:

1) All weapons under the BOLTGUNS header of the BGB.

2) "Lowercase" boltguns, hurricane bolters, and combi-weapons

To me it seems like the RAW could be either 1 or 2.

The RAI is probably 2 though.

In the interest of sportsmanship we should probably play it as number two.


Since RAW could be All weapons under the "BOLTGUNS" heading of the BRB, then that means my Space Marines will now carry a Bolt Pistol and a Vulkan Mega-Bolter (or Heavy Bolter, or Storm Bolter) as their wargear simply states "Bolt Pistol + Boltgun". RAI is obvious however (in that case) that Boltgun = the profile boltgun and not the other weapons mentioned under the "Boltguns" heading. It's unfortunate that GW wrote it that way as it CAN cause confusion by not being clear what they mean by "boltgun" as a result of the BRB heading.

RAI, most clearly 2.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 Happyjew wrote:
Space Marine bikes come with a "twin-linked boltgun". Does that mean I could model my bikes with a Vulcan Megabolter?

That would then depend on what the stock model was supplied with.

Since they are supplied with a boltgun (Range 24 S4 AP5 Rapid Fire) Weapon, we should use that profile.

If we are sporting and not MFA.

Remember If there is equal weight, choosing the option that gives the action taker less advantage is the more ethical choice.


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut



Beaver Dam, WI

Don't get silly people... The banner AFFECTS what models already have. It does not suddenly allow you to switch for a weapon not even mentioned as an option for a character. It is accepted - since it is the only option that a marine is provided with - that he ill have a bolt pistol, boltgun, stormbolter, combi-bolter or heavy bolter. Likewise with terminators, bikes etc. I think it would be safe to say, that these were the only "boltgun" options provided for SM since 2nd edition. (Can't speak for Rogue Trader...)

The issue is the ambiguity that the use of boltgun as a term causes when a new item - the Banner of Devastation - was introduced in the latest codex.

However, since a Vulcan Megabolter is under the listing of boltguns in the core book. And since being in the area of the banner would be a total screw of a Vulcan Megabolter, I think we can infer that the intention of the banner is the narrow definition of boltgun.

Too bad ambiguous rules force us to wait for a FAQ or a lot of inferencing logic through the rules.

Thanks to all who helped so when someone tries to push for the cheesy option, I have a solid argument for the narrow definition.

2000
2000
WIP
3000
8000 
   
Made in us
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker




South Chicago burbs

If "boltgun" is just a generic term for all bolt weapons including heavy bolters and vulcans, then in every codex entry that lists "boltguns" is allowed to pick from the list.


That's the only way you can interpret the banner effecting things like storm bolters. Either a "boltgun" is a rapid fire S4 AP5 weapon with a 24" range, or it's any of the options listed.

You can't have it 1 way with the banner, and different with with everything else.

Consistency is key here, and if you want your banner to affect stormbolters, then my marines come standard with heavy bolters.

insaniak wrote:
YMDC has plenty of room for discussion veering away from the RAW, particularly in cases like this where what is being put forward as the RAW is absurd.

11k
4K
4k
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut



Beaver Dam, WI

The point is ambiguous language in a NEW item. The NEW item is not defined as to what it affects. However it is well accepted what options a marine can carry - not Vulcan Megabolters for sure...

Don't beat a dead horse. I have said through inference, if an item is intended to be a bonus for an army but if it affected the greater definition of it, Megabolters would be reduced to a ROF of 4. It is therefore safe to assume that it would mean that the RAI is boltguns only.... That limits it to boltguns along with hurricane bolters and combi-bolters that are defined as being in part boltguns or multiple boltguns.

2000
2000
WIP
3000
8000 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 BarBoBot wrote:
Consistency is key here, and if you want your banner to affect stormbolters, then my marines come standard with heavy bolters.


Only if they come with "boltguns". Most marines come with Bolters.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Really, quick check in my BA codex and the tac squad entry says in regards to swapping out weapons, boltgun is the term used, not bolters.

40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

MarkyMark wrote:
Really, quick check in my BA codex and the tac squad entry says in regards to swapping out weapons, boltgun is the term used, not bolters.


Well crap. I remember looking this up before and seeing a lot of "Bolters'. Still my point stands. If "Boltgun" means anything listed under boltguns in the BRB then any model equipped with a boltgun can have any of the listed weapons. If Boltgun refers only to the weapon with the S4, AP5 Rapid Fire (base) profile (which is at least the intent) then that is the only weapon that is affected by the Banner.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in ca
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar





Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

 Happyjew wrote:
MarkyMark wrote:
Really, quick check in my BA codex and the tac squad entry says in regards to swapping out weapons, boltgun is the term used, not bolters.


Well crap. I remember looking this up before and seeing a lot of "Bolters'. Still my point stands. If "Boltgun" means anything listed under boltguns in the BRB then any model equipped with a boltgun can have any of the listed weapons. If Boltgun refers only to the weapon with the S4, AP5 Rapid Fire (base) profile (which is at least the intent) then that is the only weapon that is affected by the Banner.


Agreed. Boltgun is entirely accepted to mean S4 AP5 RF boltgun, not anything else. As such, the banner affects only boltguns with that profile (which includes combi-weapons of course)

And yes, the Marine codex does state "boltgun" in wargear. Clearly RAI is the 24" S4 AP5 Rapid Fire boltgun and not the others, but obviously, with this information someone *could* argue, RAW, to equip any of the other "boltgun"s on their marine. Of course, nobody would play against that person, but that's another issue.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
DAaddict wrote:
Don't get silly people... The banner AFFECTS what models already have. It does not suddenly allow you to switch for a weapon not even mentioned as an option for a character. It is accepted - since it is the only option that a marine is provided with - that he ill have a bolt pistol, boltgun, stormbolter, combi-bolter or heavy bolter. Likewise with terminators, bikes etc. I think it would be safe to say, that these were the only "boltgun" options provided for SM since 2nd edition. (Can't speak for Rogue Trader...)
.


I don't think anyone is truely trying to say that you can switch your standard boltguns for something else. This was simply a ridiculous argument used to support the accepted term of "boltgun" to mean S4 AP5 RF profile boltguns and not the general "boltgun" heading in the BRB which includes other profile weapons. Using RAW and taking the generic term "boltgun" under the heading for it in the BRB leads to the ability to model your Marines with any of those weapons. Obviously not intended.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/21 21:19:00


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: