Switch Theme:

X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






South Dakota

Wow... Sept. 29th FAQ date.
That is three FAQ's published in the month of September. GW... please take note!

DS:70+S+G+MB--I+PW40k10-D++A++/sWD391R+T(R)DM+

My Project Blog: Necrons, Orks, Sisters, Blood Angels, and X-Wing
"
"One morning I shot an elephant in my pajamas. How it got into my pajamas, I'll never know." Groucho Marx
~A grammatically correct sentence can have multiple, valid interpretations.
Arguing over the facts is the lowest form of debate. 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka





Bathing in elitist French expats fumes

Why would they? GW are a model company

 GamesWorkshop wrote:
And I would have gotten away with it too, if it weren't for you meddling kids!

 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka





Bathing in elitist French expats fumes

For some reason, the search function doesn't seem to work today.

So, I just want to see if I read this wrong. Stealth Device is deactivated once you are hit. Lt Blount is considered as having hit his opponent even if he doesn't inflict damage... so...

I imagine he'll go down pretty fast once the shenanigan is up, but still, it's 17 points that can also do something else.

 GamesWorkshop wrote:
And I would have gotten away with it too, if it weren't for you meddling kids!

 
   
Made in us
Colonel





This Is Where the Fish Lives

Yes, any attack from Blount will cause Stealth Device to drop. It's also why he is commonly equipped with Ion Pulse Missiles.

 d-usa wrote:
"When the Internet sends its people, they're not sending their best. They're not sending you. They're not sending you. They're sending posters that have lots of problems, and they're bringing those problems with us. They're bringing strawmen. They're bringing spam. They're trolls. And some, I assume, are good people."
 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka





Bathing in elitist French expats fumes

Nice potential double use out of him indeed.

 GamesWorkshop wrote:
And I would have gotten away with it too, if it weren't for you meddling kids!

 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka





Bathing in elitist French expats fumes

I just witnessed a battle report on youtube where the rebel player used 4 TLT y-wings. In it, the Imperial player only rolled once for his evade, not against both attacks, in some instances. The reasoning was never clearly given. For instance, his phantoms rolled twice, but the shuttle only ever rolled once.

Wha.....?

 GamesWorkshop wrote:
And I would have gotten away with it too, if it weren't for you meddling kids!

 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






South Dakota

Someone was messing up. You do get to roll your defense dice against all attacks from a TLT equipped ship.

DS:70+S+G+MB--I+PW40k10-D++A++/sWD391R+T(R)DM+

My Project Blog: Necrons, Orks, Sisters, Blood Angels, and X-Wing
"
"One morning I shot an elephant in my pajamas. How it got into my pajamas, I'll never know." Groucho Marx
~A grammatically correct sentence can have multiple, valid interpretations.
Arguing over the facts is the lowest form of debate. 
   
Made in us
Colonel





This Is Where the Fish Lives

Mathieu Raymond wrote:I just witnessed a battle report on youtube where the rebel player used 4 TLT y-wings. In it, the Imperial player only rolled once for his evade, not against both attacks, in some instances. The reasoning was never clearly given. For instance, his phantoms rolled twice, but the shuttle only ever rolled once.

Wha.....?
Anpu-adom wrote:Someone was messing up. You do get to roll your defense dice against all attacks from a TLT equipped ship.
Indeed. However, I think there was more in play in this instance.

I have not seen the video in question, but I'm willing to bet dollars to donuts that yhey skipped the second roll because the attacker rolled at least two hits, making the one dice agility roll for the shuttle useless (the attack was going to hit no matter what). Now, according the the letter of the rules, both attacker and defender roll their dice no matter what the outcome of the former is. However, in practice often times a defensive roll will be skipped if the outcome of the dice don't matter.

 d-usa wrote:
"When the Internet sends its people, they're not sending their best. They're not sending you. They're not sending you. They're sending posters that have lots of problems, and they're bringing those problems with us. They're bringing strawmen. They're bringing spam. They're trolls. And some, I assume, are good people."
 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






South Dakota

Good point.

DS:70+S+G+MB--I+PW40k10-D++A++/sWD391R+T(R)DM+

My Project Blog: Necrons, Orks, Sisters, Blood Angels, and X-Wing
"
"One morning I shot an elephant in my pajamas. How it got into my pajamas, I'll never know." Groucho Marx
~A grammatically correct sentence can have multiple, valid interpretations.
Arguing over the facts is the lowest form of debate. 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka





Bathing in elitist French expats fumes

So editing rather than bad rules?

They made a second video of X-Wing (it's the all miniatures great and small channel, I think) and they mess up and misuse so many of the rules such as SLAM and Poe with BB-8... it's driving me nuts.

 GamesWorkshop wrote:
And I would have gotten away with it too, if it weren't for you meddling kids!

 
   
Made in ca
Huge Hierodule






Outflanking

 Mathieu Raymond wrote:
So editing rather than bad rules?

They made a second video of X-Wing (it's the all miniatures great and small channel, I think) and they mess up and misuse so many of the rules such as SLAM and Poe with BB-8... it's driving me nuts.


Not even editing. Lots of players don't bother rolling against guaranteed hits from a TLT.

Q: What do you call a Dinosaur Handpuppet?

A: A Maniraptor 
   
Made in us
Gun Mage





Yeah, the TLT is kind of weird since you can easily have situations where the defender's die roll doesn't matter.
   
Made in us
Colonel





This Is Where the Fish Lives

 Mathieu Raymond wrote:
So editing rather than bad rules?
No, I don't think so. If it's this video you're talking about, they say why there is no defensive roll at about the 8:30 mark. With the way TLT works, if a hit goes through, all dice are canceled and the defender receives one damage. Since TLT rolls three attack dice compared to the shuttle's one agility, if two or more attack dice roll hits the shuttle's defensive roll doesn't matter as the attack is guaranteed to hit, triggering the card effect.

By the letter of the rules, all attack and defense dice should be rolled no matter what (even if the attacker rolls all blanks). In practice, most people forgo this because it's useless to roll dice that don't effect the game.
They made a second video of X-Wing (it's the all miniatures great and small channel, I think) and they mess up and misuse so many of the rules such as SLAM and Poe with BB-8... it's driving me nuts.
Yeah, they butchered just about every rule in that game. The shakey cam filming didn't help either.

 d-usa wrote:
"When the Internet sends its people, they're not sending their best. They're not sending you. They're not sending you. They're sending posters that have lots of problems, and they're bringing those problems with us. They're bringing strawmen. They're bringing spam. They're trolls. And some, I assume, are good people."
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Minneapolis, MN

Does Stay On Target play nice with BB-8?

Stay On Target (the corrected FAQ version):
When you reveal a maneuver, you may rotate your dial to another maneuver with the same speed.
Treat your maneuver as a red maneuver.

BB-8:
When you reveal a green maneuver, you may perform a free barrel roll action.

My concern is that SoT makes the maneuver Red, which would preclude me from using BB-8. However, my understanding is that, since the timing of the two cards is exactly the same (when I reveal the maneuver), I can choose which order to invoke the cards, which would make it legal to do:

I reveal a Green Left 1 Bank
Then use BB-8 to barrel roll
Then use SoT to rotate the dial to the Right 1 Bank (which counts as a Red maneuver, granting stress as normal).

Anything I'm overlooking? I'm pretty sure I'm right about being able to choose which order to use card/pilot abilities, as long as I'm the controlling player for all of them.
   
Made in us
Colonel





This Is Where the Fish Lives

 DanielBeaver wrote:
Anything I'm overlooking? I'm pretty sure I'm right about being able to choose which order to use card/pilot abilities, as long as I'm the controlling player for all of them.

Yep, it works for the reason think it does.

 d-usa wrote:
"When the Internet sends its people, they're not sending their best. They're not sending you. They're not sending you. They're sending posters that have lots of problems, and they're bringing those problems with us. They're bringing strawmen. They're bringing spam. They're trolls. And some, I assume, are good people."
 
   
Made in it
Leashed Pupnik




italy

probably is a stupid question: i'm a noob, srry.

when an ability says "while attacking or defending", like Poe, means every time in a turn poe attacks or defends or just one time a turn?

sorry for bad english :-(
   
Made in us
Douglas Bader






 AlienEarth wrote:
probably is a stupid question: i'm a noob, srry.

when an ability says "while attacking or defending", like Poe, means every time in a turn poe attacks or defends or just one time a turn?

sorry for bad english :-(


"When attacking or defending" means just that: any time you are attacking or defending. Poe's ability will trigger once each time this happens. Abilities that are limited to once per turn will always explicitly say so.

There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. 
   
Made in us
Stealthy Grot Snipa






New England

Since the rules state that you can use any paintjob of a model as long as it is the same model no matter the Pilot driving. How does this interact with Tie F/O?

Do Tie F/O count as an alternate paint scheme, thus I could use them as academy pilots if I so desire? The models are not 100% the same in sculpt, the little crosses on their wings being thinner on the old ships, so does that prevent it? If I painted the Tie F/O to fit Imperial colours, does that allow it?

I feel this is not an easy answer because they are so similar unlike the different models of X-Wing.

   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






South Dakota

The TIE/FO doesn't count as an alternate paint scheme... the ship type is different.


Similarly, the TIE Advanced and TIE Advanced Prototype are different ships... you cannot equip Advanced Targeting Computer on the Inquisitor, as a result.

All 4 ships are TIE's however, and can benefit from Twin Ion Engine MkII.

It's all on the ship line...

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2016/01/26 12:51:33


DS:70+S+G+MB--I+PW40k10-D++A++/sWD391R+T(R)DM+

My Project Blog: Necrons, Orks, Sisters, Blood Angels, and X-Wing
"
"One morning I shot an elephant in my pajamas. How it got into my pajamas, I'll never know." Groucho Marx
~A grammatically correct sentence can have multiple, valid interpretations.
Arguing over the facts is the lowest form of debate. 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






 Da Kommizzar wrote:
Since the rules state that you can use any paintjob of a model as long as it is the same model no matter the Pilot driving.

I think that's more to allow Scum pilots to use their Rebel Y-Wings, Z-95s and HWKs with Scum pilots.
   
Made in us
Douglas Bader






 Da Kommizzar wrote:
Do Tie F/O count as an alternate paint scheme, thus I could use them as academy pilots if I so desire? The models are not 100% the same in sculpt, the little crosses on their wings being thinner on the old ships, so does that prevent it?


There are other differences too, if you look carefully. And yes, RAW it prevents you from using TIE/fo models and basic TIE fighters interchangeably. In casual games most people probably won't care, but if you're taking them to a tournament you need the correct model.

If I painted the Tie F/O to fit Imperial colours, does that allow it?


No. You will just have a repainted TIE/fo. It would be no different from painting your TIE/fo bright pink. Like all repainted models it still counts as whatever the model is, regardless of what paint you have put on top of it.

There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Minneapolis, MN

When you're using a two-card Huge ship, can you take two modifications?



Do the modification cards only affect one half? For example, would Ordanance Tubes only convert some of your hardpoints?



Would other upgrade cards benefit the entire ship, or just weapons/abilities that are on that card? For example, does ordnance experts work on any weapon on the ship? Can you trigger Vader on all of the Raider's guns?

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2016/01/28 15:57:04


 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






South Dakota

Modifications affect the ship... not only half of it. No, you can not have two modifications on the same Huge Ship (unless something comes to change that).
So yes, you can have 3 missile or torpedoes on a Raider... and they don't require energy to fire.

Ordnance Experts would modify all secondary missile or torpedo attacks from the Raider that it is on (OMG! How did I miss that the first time through?!?!)
Vader will also work on each attack, provided that you are willing to suffer the damage.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/01/28 16:24:02


DS:70+S+G+MB--I+PW40k10-D++A++/sWD391R+T(R)DM+

My Project Blog: Necrons, Orks, Sisters, Blood Angels, and X-Wing
"
"One morning I shot an elephant in my pajamas. How it got into my pajamas, I'll never know." Groucho Marx
~A grammatically correct sentence can have multiple, valid interpretations.
Arguing over the facts is the lowest form of debate. 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Minneapolis, MN

Yet Another X-Wing Miniatures Squad Builder is doing it per-card, so that you can take two upgrades, but they only work on one side (e..g, for ordnance tubes). That might just be a limitation of their implementation. The huge ship rules don't have a lot to say about it, which makes me think your interpretation (just one mod, applies to whole ship) is the correct one. I'm going to an Epic tournament at the Fantasy Flight Game Center on Sunday, so I just wanted to get everything clarified.

 Anpu-adom wrote:
Ordnance Experts would modify all secondary missile or torpedo attacks from the Raider that it is on (OMG! How did I miss that the first time through?!?!)
Yep, helps mitigate the lack of focus tokens. On a 4 dice attack like a Homing Missile, it's basically equivalent to a persistent focus token.

(Ordnance Experts was bad example to use, since it would clearly affect both halfs. Gunnery Team would have been a better example).

This message was edited 5 times. Last update was at 2016/01/28 17:33:35


 
   
Made in us
Douglas Bader






 Anpu-adom wrote:
Ordnance Experts would modify all secondary missile or torpedo attacks from the Raider that it is on


No. Ordnance experts specifically say "once per round". You have the potential to choose any of the raider's missile or torpedo shots to modify, regardless of which section they come from, but only one of them can use it.

There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






South Dakota

 Peregrine wrote:
 Anpu-adom wrote:
Ordnance Experts would modify all secondary missile or torpedo attacks from the Raider that it is on


No. Ordnance experts specifically say "once per round". You have the potential to choose any of the raider's missile or torpedo shots to modify, regardless of which section they come from, but only one of them can use it.


*tips hat* If you had a pair of Assault Carriers with Ordnance Experts at range 1-3 of your Imperial Raider...
You'd have an overly expensive, crummy list.

DS:70+S+G+MB--I+PW40k10-D++A++/sWD391R+T(R)DM+

My Project Blog: Necrons, Orks, Sisters, Blood Angels, and X-Wing
"
"One morning I shot an elephant in my pajamas. How it got into my pajamas, I'll never know." Groucho Marx
~A grammatically correct sentence can have multiple, valid interpretations.
Arguing over the facts is the lowest form of debate. 
   
Made in us
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot






Does a proton bomb ignore shields?

Victory is not the most important outcome. Enjoyment and excitement is the best outcome, victory is sweeter when it was fun.
 
   
Made in us
Colonel





This Is Where the Fish Lives

 Dave-c wrote:
Does a proton bomb ignore shields?
Yes.

Proton Bombs deal one faceup damage card to each ship at range 1. Being dealt a damage card is not the same as suffering damage.

 d-usa wrote:
"When the Internet sends its people, they're not sending their best. They're not sending you. They're not sending you. They're sending posters that have lots of problems, and they're bringing those problems with us. They're bringing strawmen. They're bringing spam. They're trolls. And some, I assume, are good people."
 
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord





Oklahoma City

Youngster and generic TIE Fighter with Experimental Interface:

Friendly TIE fighters at Range 1-3 may perform the action on your equipped Elite Talent Upgrade card.

Once per round, after you perform an action, you may perform 1 free action from an equipped Upgrade card with the "Action:" header. Then receive 1 stress token

Experimental Interface specifically cites "An equipped Upgrade card" and Youngster says that TIE fighters "may perform the action on your equipped Elite Talent Upgrade Card"

So do TIE fighters treat the upgrade card as having that "action" on their Action bar? Or still as an Upgrade card that is, for all intents and purposes, equipped to them?

Proud supporter of


It is human nature to seek culpability in a time of tragedy. It is a sign of strength to cry out against fate, rather than to bow one's head and succumb.
-Gabriel Angelos 
   
Made in us
Colonel





This Is Where the Fish Lives

 bocatt wrote:
So do TIE fighters treat the upgrade card as having that "action" on their Action bar? Or still as an Upgrade card that is, for all intents and purposes, equipped to them?
I would say no, those upgrade cards are not equipped to the TIE fighter with Experimental Interface; Youngster just allows other TIEs to use his equipped card.

Now, as far as I know there has not been an official ruling on this but I'm sure there will be and the answer will be no.

 d-usa wrote:
"When the Internet sends its people, they're not sending their best. They're not sending you. They're not sending you. They're sending posters that have lots of problems, and they're bringing those problems with us. They're bringing strawmen. They're bringing spam. They're trolls. And some, I assume, are good people."
 
   
 
Forum Index » Atomic Mass Games (Star Wars & Marvel: Crisis Protocol)
Go to: