Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/04/05 09:03:58
Subject: Re:X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
I'm fairly sure it stays the same difficulty as her ability just changes the number and nothing else
|
"AND YET YOU ACT AS IF THERE IS SOME IDEAL ORDER IN THE WORLD, AS IF THERE IS SOME...SOME RIGHTNESS IN THE UNIVERSE BY WHICH IT MAY BE JUDGED." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/04/05 12:10:39
Subject: Re:X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Yep, the color remains the same. Above right is the most optimized dial for Juno.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/04/05 20:57:27
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/04/05 17:36:18
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Jealous that Horus is Warmaster
Boston
|
Even if the color/difficulty stays the same, that dial is a bit misleading-- for example 1 bank could be either white or green, depending on how you got there: if you had it on the dial, it's green, but it would be white if you dialed a 2 bank and then modified
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/04/22 14:32:50
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Bathing in elitist French expats fumes
|
I want to play this as kosher as possible, so please tell me I am not overly paranoid when I do this:
Let's say I want to modify my bearing or maneuver completely via Hera Syndulla's pilot ability or the Navigator crew card. I have to declare that I will modify my maneuver before actually putting down the original movement template and checking if my maneuver is good or not, eh?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/04/22 14:46:54
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Minneapolis, MN
|
Mathieu Raymond wrote:I want to play this as kosher as possible, so please tell me I am not overly paranoid when I do this:
Let's say I want to modify my bearing or maneuver completely via Hera Syndulla's pilot ability or the Navigator crew card. I have to declare that I will modify my maneuver before actually putting down the original movement template and checking if my maneuver is good or not, eh?
Yes. Reveal dial, then change dial, then place template.
Hera and Navigator happen during the Reveal Dial step, which is the step before you actually place the movement template and physically re-position the ship. When you reveal the dial and then decide to invoke one of these cards, you have to rely on your own dead reckoning when choosing what maneuver to rotate your dial to.
|
This message was edited 6 times. Last update was at 2016/04/22 14:56:02
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/04/22 15:53:36
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Yes, that I how I play it as well. You have to decide what to move it to before placing a template.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/04/24 19:44:30
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Jealous that Horus is Warmaster
Boston
|
Paul Heaver playing wrong?
I saw Mr. H via YouTube playing an Inquisitor with PTL. And on a couple of occasions it seemed like he took one action then used PTL for the target lock/evade combination provided by the v1 title.
I thought, though, that my reading of rules/FAQ indicated that the stress of PTL kicked in before the free evade ACTION ( rather than just getting an evade token a la Soontir Fel )
Was he flying a bit too casual? Or am I reading it wrong?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/04/24 19:54:16
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
The Daemon Possessing Fulgrim's Body
|
It is my understanding that actions stack, much like in M:TG, so if you do something that generates a free action, that action is then suspended, the free action resolved and then the trigger action resolved. In the case of any timing clashes the player with initiative gets to choose resolution order, or if they're both generated by the same player then that player is free to choose which order they resolve.
So, by my understanding, he's free to act as you said.
|
We find comfort among those who agree with us - growth among those who don't. - Frank Howard Clark
The wise man doubts often, and changes his mind; the fool is obstinate, and doubts not; he knows all things but his own ignorance.
The correct statement of individual rights is that everyone has the right to an opinion, but crucially, that opinion can be roundly ignored and even made fun of, particularly if it is demonstrably nonsense!” Professor Brian Cox
Ask me about
Barnstaple Slayers Club |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/04/25 04:45:22
Subject: Re:X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Douglas Bader
|
The answer is that effects in X-Wing can interrupt the resolution of card abilities. In the case of PTL and the V1 title it works because PTL has two separate effects as part of its resolution: taking a free action and then receiving a stress token. The V1 title triggers immediately after the free action is used to acquire a target lock, before the stress is applied. Then, once the V1 title has been resolved, PTL resumes resolving and gives the ship a stress token.
Note that this would NOT work if PTL (or a hypothetical future card) combined the two effects into a single step, because then you would receive the stress token immediately and there would not be a stress-free window where you could successfully trigger the V1 title.
|
There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/04/28 06:57:48
Subject: Re:X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Question: if you declare that you are going to perform an action, such as a barrel roll, but then it turns out the roll would be illegal (for example, leave you overlapping something). In strict play, are you allowed to withdraw the barrel roll and perform a different action instead?
The reason I ask is because I've been playing a few games in the benchmark application, and if you aren't able to roll or boost in one direction, it will automatically move you in the other direction. This has really screwed my position up a few times (one time forcing me off the table edge), so I was curious if it is official rules, or just a quirk of the program?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/04/28 07:05:43
Subject: Re:X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Colonel
This Is Where the Fish Lives
|
Smacks wrote:Question: if you declare that you are going to perform an action, such as a barrel roll, but then it turns out the roll would be illegal (for example, leave you overlapping something). In strict play, are you allowed to withdraw the barrel roll and perform a different action instead? The reason I ask is because I've been playing a few games in the benchmark application, and if you aren't able to roll or boost in one direction, it will automatically move you in the other direction. This has really screwed my position up a few times (one time forcing me off the table edge), so I was curious if it is official rules, or just a quirk of the program?
Absolutely. If you cannot complete your declared boost or barrel roll, you may choose a different direction or a different action altogether. It's addressed in the rules reference under the Barrel Roll and Boost sections.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2016/04/28 07:07:04
d-usa wrote:"When the Internet sends its people, they're not sending their best. They're not sending you. They're not sending you. They're sending posters that have lots of problems, and they're bringing those problems with us. They're bringing strawmen. They're bringing spam. They're trolls. And some, I assume, are good people." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/04/28 07:25:36
Subject: Re:X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Thank you for the prompt reply.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/04/28 07:39:41
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Gun Mage
|
About the v1 / PTL thing: you can also do it this way:
1: Do a target lock
2: Perform free evade action from title
3: Trigger PTL off the evade action, do your free action, take the stress
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/04/28 07:49:17
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Colonel
This Is Where the Fish Lives
|
TheWaspinator wrote:About the v1 / PTL thing: you can also do it this way:
1: Do a target lock
2: Perform free evade action from title
3: Trigger PTL off the evade action, do your free action, take the stress
You don't need to do it that way at all because using Push the Limit to take a target lock action as your second action and then using the v1 title for the evade action is perfectly legal.
|
d-usa wrote:"When the Internet sends its people, they're not sending their best. They're not sending you. They're not sending you. They're sending posters that have lots of problems, and they're bringing those problems with us. They're bringing strawmen. They're bringing spam. They're trolls. And some, I assume, are good people." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/04/28 08:50:09
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Gun Mage
|
I know. The Push the Limit / Experimental Interface ruling makes it clear. Just pointing out that you have flexibility in the order of this stuff, which could matter if you're doing boosts or barrel rolls near the edge of range 3.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/18 21:51:34
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Jealous that Horus is Warmaster
Boston
|
Epsilon Ace question:
Does the ps boost to 12 count for deployment or does the special ability not kick in until the ship hits the table? I didn't see anything in the FAQ about this...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/18 22:34:18
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
The Daemon Possessing Fulgrim's Body
|
In the absence of any other ruling, I'd say as it is impossible to have any damage cards at deployment, that you'd count the PS12.
|
We find comfort among those who agree with us - growth among those who don't. - Frank Howard Clark
The wise man doubts often, and changes his mind; the fool is obstinate, and doubts not; he knows all things but his own ignorance.
The correct statement of individual rights is that everyone has the right to an opinion, but crucially, that opinion can be roundly ignored and even made fun of, particularly if it is demonstrably nonsense!” Professor Brian Cox
Ask me about
Barnstaple Slayers Club |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/19 02:33:32
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Colonel
This Is Where the Fish Lives
|
Azreal13 wrote:In the absence of any other ruling, I'd say as it is impossible to have any damage cards at deployment, that you'd count the PS12.
Yep, I'm inclined to agree.
|
d-usa wrote:"When the Internet sends its people, they're not sending their best. They're not sending you. They're not sending you. They're sending posters that have lots of problems, and they're bringing those problems with us. They're bringing strawmen. They're bringing spam. They're trolls. And some, I assume, are good people." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/19 02:51:01
Subject: Re:X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Douglas Bader
|
And I'll note that ships with veteran instincts deploy at their modified PS, so there's precedent for counting modified PS after special rules are applied instead of whatever number is printed on the card.
|
There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/27 01:45:25
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Jealous that Horus is Warmaster
Boston
|
Sorry if this is a basic question, but can a ship with experimental interface use that ability to trigger the same action a second time in a round?
I'mean guessing no, because when it comes to actions on the ship (boost/barrel roll) you can't
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/27 02:15:07
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Douglas Bader
|
Apostasus wrote:Sorry if this is a basic question, but can a ship with experimental interface use that ability to trigger the same action a second time in a round?
I'mean guessing no, because when it comes to actions on the ship (boost/barrel roll) you can't
No. EI does not grant an exception to the "you may not perform the same action twice in one turn" rule.
|
There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/07/30 20:37:39
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Bathing in elitist French expats fumes
|
So this idea has been kicked around, I want to run by you guys. I don't think it'd pass muster on the competitive side, and you get no advantage of higher PS until the shooting phase, but... eh?
Roark Garnet gives PS12 to a Green A-Wing, who in turn passes it to someone else, who passes it to someone else, on down the chain, via Swarm Tactics. Feasible?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/07/05 13:09:39
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Douglas Bader
|
Mathieu Raymond wrote:Roark Garnet gives PS12 to a Green A-Wing, who in turn passes it to someone else, who passes it to someone else, on down the chain, via Swarm Tactics. Feasible?
It works. Roark can set PS 12 on the first ship before swarm tactics is resolved, and then the swarm tactics chain will pass it along. Whether it's a good strategy or not, probably not, but that's outside the scope of the YMDC thread.
|
There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/08/10 21:13:26
Subject: Re:X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Jealous that Horus is Warmaster
Boston
|
In the squadron builder program I use, Comm Relay is listed as unique.
I've checked the FAQ several times but I don't see it in the errata and my copy of the card doesn't have the indicator for a unique upgrade.
I ask because I'm contemplating a TIE/fo mini swarm with comm relays...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/08/10 21:33:04
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
The Daemon Possessing Fulgrim's Body
|
It's an error, I agree there is no such limitation in the latest FAQ or on the card itself.
|
We find comfort among those who agree with us - growth among those who don't. - Frank Howard Clark
The wise man doubts often, and changes his mind; the fool is obstinate, and doubts not; he knows all things but his own ignorance.
The correct statement of individual rights is that everyone has the right to an opinion, but crucially, that opinion can be roundly ignored and even made fun of, particularly if it is demonstrably nonsense!” Professor Brian Cox
Ask me about
Barnstaple Slayers Club |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/08/10 21:43:09
Subject: Re:X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Jealous that Horus is Warmaster
Boston
|
Right, thanks
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/08/10 21:44:07
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/27 14:13:33
Subject: Re:X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
Couple of quick rules brush up queries if I may
1) Weapons Engineer - "You may maintain 2 target locks (only 1 per enemy ship). When you acquire a target lock, you may lock onto 2 enemy ships.", could someone clarify if I declare a TL action with the Weapons Engineer I get two Blue and two Red tokens, the self confusing part of my brain is suggesting it's one Blue and two Red
2) C3PO, I guess zero evades, then roll focus, can I stack the triggers so that I add an Evade from 3PO and then use a focus token to change the focus to an evade.
Cheers
|
"AND YET YOU ACT AS IF THERE IS SOME IDEAL ORDER IN THE WORLD, AS IF THERE IS SOME...SOME RIGHTNESS IN THE UNIVERSE BY WHICH IT MAY BE JUDGED." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/27 15:06:24
Subject: Re:X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Turnip Jedi wrote:Couple of quick rules brush up queries if I may
1) Weapons Engineer - "You may maintain 2 target locks (only 1 per enemy ship). When you acquire a target lock, you may lock onto 2 enemy ships.", could someone clarify if I declare a TL action with the Weapons Engineer I get two Blue and two Red tokens, the self confusing part of my brain is suggesting it's one Blue and two Red
Yes, you get 2 Reds and 2 Blues (as a red and a blue constitute a target lock... when one is removed, so is the other). Part of me wants to confuse the issue by throwing in a discussion of Fire-control System... but no.
Turnip Jedi wrote:2) C3PO, I guess zero evades, then roll focus, can I stack the triggers so that I add an Evade from 3PO and then use a focus token to change the focus to an evade.
Cheers
Yes. Thus is the power of the fussy butler droid.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/09/27 15:08:37
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/27 16:03:44
Subject: Re:X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
Cheers
|
"AND YET YOU ACT AS IF THERE IS SOME IDEAL ORDER IN THE WORLD, AS IF THERE IS SOME...SOME RIGHTNESS IN THE UNIVERSE BY WHICH IT MAY BE JUDGED." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/10/04 09:40:36
Subject: Re:X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Douglas Bader
|
Anpu-adom wrote: Turnip Jedi wrote:2) C3PO, I guess zero evades, then roll focus, can I stack the triggers so that I add an Evade from 3PO and then use a focus token to change the focus to an evade.
Cheers
Yes. Thus is the power of the fussy butler droid.
Also, note that C-3PO happens before any dice modification occurs, including your opponent's dice modification. For example, they can turn the evade into an eye with juke, force you to re-roll the evade like any other die, etc.
|
There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. |
|
 |
 |
|