Switch Theme:

Kustom Forcefield & Models in a transport  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in nz
Disguised Speculo





Straightforward question here, does the KFF cover boys in a transport if they're hit (due to being open topped) or if the vehicle explodes?

My understanding is that it does, but wondering if theres something I haven't noticed that makes that not the case?

Cheers
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

Other than the vehicle exploding how would they be hit? Open Topped doesn't change anything, they still don't get hit by anything.

But yes, they would be covered from the tank exploding. KFF grants a blanket cover save and exploding doesn't Ignore Cover, so no problems there.
   
Made in us
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord





Oregon, USA

If you're in a ride, open topped or not, you can't be shot.

Pretty sure you can't take cover saves vs vehicle explosions that you were inside though, but i'm away from my BRB

The Viletide: Daemons of Nurgle/Deathguard: 7400 pts
Disclples of the Dragon - Ad Mech - about 2000 pts
GSC - about 2000 Pts
Rhulic Mercs - um...many...
Circle Oroboros - 300 Pts or so
Menoth - 300+ pts
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






I would say the kff only benefits orks in the same vehicle, not orks in nearby vehicles. I'm sure there are some other ways to hurt models in a transport, maybe gets hot followed by a kff save?
   
Made in us
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin




Johnson City, NewYork

Based on the wording of both transports and KFF the unit in the transport that explodes. The wounds caused by the explosion are treated as if they are from a shooting attack and therefor can have the cover save.

ADD causes my posts to ramble from time to time. Please bear with me.

You're not a Time Lord stick with linear time.
Specific Vs General 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

DevianID wrote:
I would say the kff only benefits orks in the same vehicle, not orks in nearby vehicles.

The KFF works for any unit within 6". When a unit is in a transport, that distance is measured from the vehicle's hull.

So it would absolutely work for a unit in a nearby transport that explodes.

 
   
Made in nz
Disguised Speculo





Chrysis wrote:
Other than the vehicle exploding how would they be hit? Open Topped doesn't change anything, they still don't get hit by anything.

But yes, they would be covered from the tank exploding. KFF grants a blanket cover save and exploding doesn't Ignore Cover, so no problems there.

Really? Last game I played my dudes in the transport were hit by 1d3 hits every time a Space Marine flamered them. Need to look into that.

Cheers for the answers, even if they seem a bit mixed. Gonna go with "hell yes my Burna boys have a 5+ cover when their wagon explodes" unless I hear conclusively to the contrary

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/01 03:40:55


 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

 Dakkamite wrote:

Really? Last game I played my dudes in the transport were hit by 1d3 hits every time a Space Marine flamered them. Need to look into that.



Definitely not. ^^

   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

 Dakkamite wrote:
Really? Last game I played my dudes in the transport were hit by 1d3 hits every time a Space Marine flamered them. Need to look into that.

That's a made up rule.


 
   
Made in nz
Disguised Speculo





Well at least I can conclusively say I'm not the only player around here who has no idea wtf the rules are.

Cheers
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 insaniak wrote:
 Dakkamite wrote:
Really? Last game I played my dudes in the transport were hit by 1d3 hits every time a Space Marine flamered them. Need to look into that.

That's a made up rule.


Probably people confusing the building rules, whcih DO let you hurt embarked units, and the transport rules, which DO NOT let you
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: