Switch Theme:

BT Drop Pods - They don't have to disembark  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Poll
Do you think all Drop Pods work the same and must disembark the turn they come out of reserves?
Yes. All Drop Pods work the same regardless of army.
No. Black Templars have a unique drop pod and can remain inside the drop pods the turn they land.
This is ridiculous. I would never let a BT player use RAW to stay in the pod!

View results
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Ultramarine Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control




Southampton, New Jersey

I read a post earlier about BT's and someone mentioned a "BT trick". They stated that the BT drop pods don't have to disembark because it is not mentioned in the BT's most updated FAQ. All other drop pods mention in their description that the units inside must immediately disembark, and in the BT there is no mention of this particular rule.

Is this a huge oversight? Is this a BT unique special rule? Or are they looking way into RAW?

Would any tournament or friendly game allow this? I'm a huge advocate for BT and their special rules but this blew my mind when I read about it this morning. Considering I run a duo LRC and triple DP list, this open many, many doors.

Edit:
I thought the OP was pretty clear, as well as the voting criteria. As someone pointed out, there are three ways to answer. The first is the BT codex/faq is mistyped and should follow the same rules as the "drop pod assault" rule in the 6th BRB. The second is the BT codex/faq is written as intended and the BTs have an extremely unique set of rules and circumstances that allow the unit to remain embarked in a drop pod for as long as the want (similar to a Rhino, etc). The last is in fact a hybrid of the two: you understand that BT have a unique ruling (per RAW) and can see the evidence to back it up, however, you (personally) would never allow it. It goes against logic, regardless of what the rules read.

I hope that clears things up. Some people understood what I meant while others sat in utter bewilderment. I can only assume, for those that think I was treading in murky waters, I wanted RAW or HYWPI debate. It is in fact both. The evidence is 100% clear (in my opinion). It is clear in the FAQ that the BT pod (whether on purpose on not) is different than any other drop pod and doesn't have to disembark.

I started the poll to see how people have played it or would play it in the future. Hence the three options I presented. They have to disembark, they don't have to disembark, and they don't have to, but they should.

Cheers.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/08/06 14:27:06


 
   
Made in gb
Rough Rider with Boomstick



Wiltshire

If we're talking RAW here, they may stay inside.

Note to the reader: my username is not arrogance. No, my name is taken from the most excellent of commanders: Lord Castellan Creed, of the Imperial Guar- I mean Astra Militarum - who has a special rule known only as "Tactical Genius"... Although nowhere near as awesome as before, it now allows some cool stuff for the Guar- Astra Militarum - player. FEAR ME AND MY TWO WARLORD TRAITS. 
   
Made in us
Slashing Veteran Sword Bretheren






Read the FAQ. It's plain as day. I don't understand why this is hard to comprehend.

Black Templar don't have to disembark from their drop pods.

DR:80+S++G++MB--IPw40k12#+D++++A++/fWD013R++T(T)DM+

"War is the greatest act of worship, and I perform it gladly for my Lord.... Praise Be"
-Invictus Potens, Black Templar Dreadnought 
   
Made in us
Homicidal Veteran Blood Angel Assault Marine






It has not been FAQed, so I'm not sure what you are alluding to Icculus?

4500
 
   
Made in us
Slashing Veteran Sword Bretheren






 troa wrote:
It has not been FAQed, so I'm not sure what you are alluding to Icculus?


This is my point. They released a FAQ that updated the drop pod entry in the BT codex. They updated the inertial guidance system and the drop pod assault. They did not make the change to include the immediate disembarking. Which means it doesn't have it.

It is plain as day that the rule stays as written in the book. That section did not need to be changed.

You could go through and argue they misprinted point costs between marine codices because they are the same marines but cost different points, but its written in the codex so it stands.

Also the BT drop pod can only carry 10 marines, the vanilla can carry 12. Im not arguing we should be able to carry 12 because they didnt update that rule.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/08/05 18:40:17


DR:80+S++G++MB--IPw40k12#+D++++A++/fWD013R++T(T)DM+

"War is the greatest act of worship, and I perform it gladly for my Lord.... Praise Be"
-Invictus Potens, Black Templar Dreadnought 
   
Made in us
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets






Dark Angels and Space Wolves have 10 capacity drop pods, too.
   
Made in us
Slashing Veteran Sword Bretheren






 SoloFalcon1138 wrote:
Dark Angels and Space Wolves have 10 capacity drop pods, too.


I don't see what those books have to do with the situation.

DR:80+S++G++MB--IPw40k12#+D++++A++/fWD013R++T(T)DM+

"War is the greatest act of worship, and I perform it gladly for my Lord.... Praise Be"
-Invictus Potens, Black Templar Dreadnought 
   
Made in us
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets






you brought up the capacity situation.
   
Made in us
Slashing Veteran Sword Bretheren






Well either way, lets get back on topic.

If my codex says that I MUST disembark, then I'll do it. They released a FAQ and didn't include that as an update, which means I wouldn't have to.

The only reason people are saying you must disembark is because it's in the other books. but each codex is a standalone.
So it's useless to compare one codex to another.

DR:80+S++G++MB--IPw40k12#+D++++A++/fWD013R++T(T)DM+

"War is the greatest act of worship, and I perform it gladly for my Lord.... Praise Be"
-Invictus Potens, Black Templar Dreadnought 
   
Made in us
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets






So I assume you don't assault from a BT Land Raider as the rule is not the same as the BRB?
   
Made in us
Slashing Veteran Sword Bretheren






I've never used a LR, let me check the differences.
While I'm looking it up. which differences are you referring to?

EDIT:

If you are talking about them being assault vehicles, that is covered in the errata.
www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m2940040a_Black_Templars_v1.2_JANUARY13.pdf
check out where it says page 42

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2013/08/05 19:12:27


DR:80+S++G++MB--IPw40k12#+D++++A++/fWD013R++T(T)DM+

"War is the greatest act of worship, and I perform it gladly for my Lord.... Praise Be"
-Invictus Potens, Black Templar Dreadnought 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

BT are not required to disembark from their DP upon landing.

Furthermore, other units then the one that bought the Drop Pod can embark into it later.

If I was a TO (and HIWPI) standard DP rules - must disembark, nobody can embark.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Slashing Veteran Sword Bretheren






The BT codex does state that nobody can embark on it later. it just doesnt say that the units must disembark on the first turn.


DR:80+S++G++MB--IPw40k12#+D++++A++/fWD013R++T(T)DM+

"War is the greatest act of worship, and I perform it gladly for my Lord.... Praise Be"
-Invictus Potens, Black Templar Dreadnought 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 Icculus wrote:
The BT codex does state that nobody can embark on it later. it just doesnt say that the units must disembark on the first turn.



Page? I know on page 38, it says that once the passengers disembark they may not re-embark. But that has nothing to do with other units embarking.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Slashing Veteran Sword Bretheren






"Once passengers have disembarked they may no re-embark"

Hmmm, this is a bit of an issue the way the wording is set up. But because it just says passengers, and not THE passengers, i think it means that no passengers may re-embark.

So you can not have any passengers re-embark. the first embarking would have been the initial passengers, but nobody my embark after that.

so if the wording was:

"Once THE passengers have disembarked they may no re-embark"

then I think it would be different. Because we go from talking about general passengers, of any nature, to the very specific passengers that came in with the pod.

DR:80+S++G++MB--IPw40k12#+D++++A++/fWD013R++T(T)DM+

"War is the greatest act of worship, and I perform it gladly for my Lord.... Praise Be"
-Invictus Potens, Black Templar Dreadnought 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

You're stretching there.

As worded, it simply means that any passengers who leave the pod can't get back in. It doesn't stop another unit from climbing aboard, although when that new unit gets out, they would also be unable to re-embark.

Simply put, the BT pod rules are currently a mess, but it's yet another on the list of widely known rules issues that GW, for some inexplicable reason, hadn't bothered to fix.

 
   
Made in gb
Rough Rider with Boomstick



Wiltshire

^^^^ 46% of people didn't read the thread and don't own the Black Templars codex / couldn't be bothered to look at the FAQ.

Note to the reader: my username is not arrogance. No, my name is taken from the most excellent of commanders: Lord Castellan Creed, of the Imperial Guar- I mean Astra Militarum - who has a special rule known only as "Tactical Genius"... Although nowhere near as awesome as before, it now allows some cool stuff for the Guar- Astra Militarum - player. FEAR ME AND MY TWO WARLORD TRAITS. 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Tactical_Genius wrote:
^^^^ 46% of people didn't read the thread and don't own the Black Templars codex / couldn't be bothered to look at the FAQ.
...or simply assume that the obvious oversight is, you know, an obvious oversight.

 
   
Made in us
Perfect Shot Black Templar Predator Pilot






Newport News, VA

 Icculus wrote:
Read the FAQ. It's plain as day. I don't understand why this is hard to comprehend.

Black Templar don't have to disembark from their drop pods.


This. If it's not in their rules, you can't assume they have it. Call it cheese or whatever you want, you can't assume it was suppose to written in. Though I am sure it was a mistake in the first place...

 
   
Made in us
Slashing Veteran Sword Bretheren






Well if it is the case that drop pods can be embarked by other units you can lay down mid-field fortification for your footslogging units in mid-game.

Kind of funny actually. You could start the game with a dread in the backfield. drop-pod a crusader squad mid field. they stay for a turn, shoot. charge out next turn. Then you can have you dread move up and get in to the drop pod and stay put as a well-fortified turret.

DR:80+S++G++MB--IPw40k12#+D++++A++/fWD013R++T(T)DM+

"War is the greatest act of worship, and I perform it gladly for my Lord.... Praise Be"
-Invictus Potens, Black Templar Dreadnought 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Icculus wrote:Well if it is the case that drop pods can be embarked by other units you can lay down mid-field fortification for your footslogging units in mid-game.


Or you could... right up until you actually try it against a living opponent.


Regardless of what the rules currently say, this one just isn't going to fly in most games.

 
   
Made in gb
Rough Rider with Boomstick



Wiltshire

 insaniak wrote:
Tactical_Genius wrote:
^^^^ 46% of people didn't read the thread and don't own the Black Templars codex / couldn't be bothered to look at the FAQ.
...or simply assume that the obvious oversight is, you know, an obvious oversight.

The poll didn't say it was HYWPI though, so you should assume it is a RAW poll. So you should not "assume" anything. As much as I agree with you, people should only choose the option they think is correct. If they think it shouldn't be allowed, but acknowledge the RAW, they should choose option 3. Choosing option 1 shows a misunderstanding of the RAW.

Note to the reader: my username is not arrogance. No, my name is taken from the most excellent of commanders: Lord Castellan Creed, of the Imperial Guar- I mean Astra Militarum - who has a special rule known only as "Tactical Genius"... Although nowhere near as awesome as before, it now allows some cool stuff for the Guar- Astra Militarum - player. FEAR ME AND MY TWO WARLORD TRAITS. 
   
Made in us
Slashing Veteran Sword Bretheren






Yeah that's true because actually option 1 would affect the capacity wouldnt it? If all pods played the same they would all have the same carrying capacity.

So the 14 people that voted "Yes. All drop pods work the same regardless of army" must not have realized the implications of what it means for different armies to have different rulebooks.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/08/05 21:36:35


DR:80+S++G++MB--IPw40k12#+D++++A++/fWD013R++T(T)DM+

"War is the greatest act of worship, and I perform it gladly for my Lord.... Praise Be"
-Invictus Potens, Black Templar Dreadnought 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Tactical_Genius wrote:
The poll didn't say it was HYWPI though, so you should assume it is a RAW poll.

The third option on the poll suggests otherwise... it makes option 1 and option 3 essentially the same.


So you should not "assume" anything. As much as I agree with you, people should only choose the option they think is correct.

If you believe that the FAQ entry is in error, then option 1 is 'correct'.

It's not strictly RAW right now, but ultimately the 'correct' interpretation of the rules of a game isn't RAW. It's how people choose to play the game... because the whole purpose of the rules is to play a game.

Based on previous discussions on this topic, the vast majority of players accept that the errata for the BT pod is just sloppily written, and wasn't actually meant to remove the requirement to disembark on landing. Pick whichever poll response you feel adequately sums that up, it ultimately makes no difference to whether or not people will allow it on the table.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 Icculus wrote:
Yeah that's true because actually option 1 would affect the capacity wouldnt it? If all pods played the same they would all have the same carrying capacity.

If they had the same carrying capacity, sure.

The problem here is that the poll is badly worded. It's not terribly clear if the OP is asking for RAW or HIWPI, and the issue isn't really whether all pods should have identical rules (because they don't, hence the different carrying capacity and weapon options) but whether or not BT pods should still have the requirement to disembark on landing, or if it was just removed accidentally.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/08/05 21:50:44


 
   
Made in us
Slashing Veteran Sword Bretheren






 insaniak wrote:
Tactical_Genius wrote:
The poll didn't say it was HYWPI though, so you should assume it is a RAW poll.

The third option on the poll suggests otherwise... it makes option 1 and option 3 essentially the same.


So you should not "assume" anything. As much as I agree with you, people should only choose the option they think is correct.

If you believe that the FAQ entry is in error, then option 1 is 'correct'.

It's not strictly RAW right now, but ultimately the 'correct' interpretation of the rules of a game isn't RAW. It's how people choose to play the game... because the whole purpose of the rules is to play a game.

Based on previous discussions on this topic, the vast majority of players accept that the errata for the BT pod is just sloppily written, and wasn't actually meant to remove the requirement to disembark on landing. Pick whichever poll response you feel adequately sums that up, it ultimately makes no difference to whether or not people will allow it on the table.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 Icculus wrote:
Yeah that's true because actually option 1 would affect the capacity wouldnt it? If all pods played the same they would all have the same carrying capacity.

If they had the same carrying capacity, sure.

The problem here is that the poll is badly worded. It's not terribly clear if the OP is asking for RAW or HIWPI, and the issue isn't really whether all pods should have identical rules (because they don't, hence the different carrying capacity and weapon options) but whether or not BT pods should still have the requirement to disembark on landing, or if it was just removed accidentally.


Well what these discussions do is give me some information to work with when I go to present my case in my local game. Don't argue a point unless you know all of the counters to it. Also I love these sort of discussions and I liked that everyone seemed very civil about this whole thing. So many times can internet discussions turn ugly.

I suppose I will talk with my gaming group and see what comes of it.

Thanks for the fun discussions!

DR:80+S++G++MB--IPw40k12#+D++++A++/fWD013R++T(T)DM+

"War is the greatest act of worship, and I perform it gladly for my Lord.... Praise Be"
-Invictus Potens, Black Templar Dreadnought 
   
Made in us
Jovial Plaguebearer of Nurgle






I hope they add this for blood angels, might help a assault based army get a leg up in a shooty edition. I see no reason why someone would have to immediately get out of a drop pod, i could imagine space marines only opening some doors to get out providing them more cover, or waiting inside for other back up, or transport elsewhere.
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

It won't be 'added' to anyone else. BT needed to be updated because their codex is from 4th edition. It's the oldest current marine codex, and was a little behind on some rules.

 
   
Made in us
Locked in the Tower of Amareo




And BA aren't a little behind? They got kicked in the nuts even harder than BT.
   
Made in us
Thinking of Joining a Davinite Loge





Fort Hood (Tx)

Well drop pods don't have firing ports..so they sit in the pod for a turn and can't shoot.

That seems like a worthless idea.


Check out my slow progressing work blog Vlka Fenryka 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Martel732 wrote:
And BA aren't a little behind? They got kicked in the nuts even harder than BT.
They're at least a 5th edition codex...


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 kinratha wrote:
Well drop pods don't have firing ports..so they sit in the pod for a turn and can't shoot. .

Open-topped...

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/08/05 23:37:11


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: