Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/01 21:28:02
Subject: Can you turbo-boost with the relic?
|
 |
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver
Some Tomb World in some galaxy by that one thing in that one place (or Minnesota for nosy people)
|
Just make sure you don't play necrons and toss the relic in a NS because it breaks the game
|
"Put your 1st best against you opponents 2nd best, your 2nd best against their 3rd best, and your 3rd best against their 1st best"-Sun Tzu's Art of War
"If your not winning, try a bigger sword! Usually works..."
10k
2k
500 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/01 21:53:57
Subject: Can you turbo-boost with the relic?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
namiel wrote: Quanar wrote: namiel wrote:Can you move to the relic, grab it and continue to move but no more then 6" while the relic is on hand?
The Relic is picked up at the end of the Phase, is that what you're asking?
but then after that it is no more then 6" per phase??? I had a dissagreement with a tournment judge this weekend about moving per phase, he said 6" per turn.
The relic rules clearly state Phase not turn.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/01 21:55:15
Subject: Can you turbo-boost with the relic?
|
 |
Leader of the Sept
|
Thinking about it, if you detach drones from a Fire Warrior Devilfish they become a new unit. As they were part of a troops choice, do they become a troops unit and are therefore eligible to become scoring? The drone rules specifically rule out the new unit from giving up victory points, but don't say anything about scoring.
All drones are non-scoring, non-denial.
Hmm a unit containing only drones is non scoring non denial, so you could try to pull a fast one by dropping an IC into the vehicle drone pair
|
Please excuse any spelling errors. I use a tablet frequently and software keyboards are a pain!
Terranwing - w3;d1;l1
51st Dunedinw2;d0;l0
Cadre Coronal Afterglow w1;d0;l0 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/01 21:59:53
Subject: Can you turbo-boost with the relic?
|
 |
Irked Necron Immortal
|
6" per phase. However, as discussed previously, you cannot run with the relic. You can assault move with the relic with Farsight suits or Eldar jetbikes, and you can boost with it but no more than 6", but jetbikes can't boost then assault move. As this is not legal
|
Strike Force Serpentine: 3000
Kabal of the Annihilated Souls: 3000
Red Corsairs: 2500
Knights of Titan: 2000
Waagh Wazzdakka 2000
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/02 00:50:36
Subject: Can you turbo-boost with the relic?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
A GumyBear wrote:Just make sure you don't play necrons and toss the relic in a NS because it breaks the game
I have no idea what this means. A NS could absolutely host a relic if it changes to skimmer & only moves 6"/turn
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/02 01:00:33
Subject: Can you turbo-boost with the relic?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
If the NS is shot down, weird things happen. The rules don't cover what happens when a transported unit with the relic is shunted off into Reserves.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/10/02 01:00:51
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/02 01:04:51
Subject: Can you turbo-boost with the relic?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
insaniak wrote:If the NS is shot down, weird things happen. The rules don't cover what happens when a transported unit with the relic is shunted off into Reserves.
Actually they do. It was addressed in one of the recent FAQs.
Page 131 – The Relic, Dropping the Relic
Change the second sentence of the first paragraph to “If the
model falls back, the Relic is dropped automatically before
the model performs its Fall Back move. If the model is
removed as a casualty, or is in any other way removed from
the table – whether voluntarily or otherwise – the Relic is
dropped automatically and placed within 1” of the spot
where the model last was before it left the table. Note that
embarking onto a Transport is an exception to this, as
detailed below.” Automatically Appended Next Post: warpspider89 wrote: A GumyBear wrote:Just make sure you don't play necrons and toss the relic in a NS because it breaks the game
I have no idea what this means. A NS could absolutely host a relic if it changes to skimmer & only moves 6"/turn
The NS cannot hover. As such if a model with the Relic embarks, the NS can only move 6" and thus would crash.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/10/02 01:05:33
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/02 01:15:45
Subject: Can you turbo-boost with the relic?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Happyjew wrote: insaniak wrote:If the NS is shot down, weird things happen. The rules don't cover what happens when a transported unit with the relic is shunted off into Reserves.
Actually they do. It was addressed in one of the recent FAQs.
Page 131 – The Relic, Dropping the Relic
Change the second sentence of the first paragraph to “If the
model falls back, the Relic is dropped automatically before
the model performs its Fall Back move. If the model is
removed as a casualty, or is in any other way removed from
the table – whether voluntarily or otherwise – the Relic is
dropped automatically and placed within 1” of the spot
where the model last was before it left the table. Note that
embarking onto a Transport is an exception to this, as
detailed below.”
Automatically Appended Next Post:
warpspider89 wrote: A GumyBear wrote:Just make sure you don't play necrons and toss the relic in a NS because it breaks the game
I have no idea what this means. A NS could absolutely host a relic if it changes to skimmer & only moves 6"/turn
The NS cannot hover. As such if a model with the Relic embarks, the NS can only move 6" and thus would crash.
Thanks for the clarification Happyjew
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/02 01:24:50
Subject: Can you turbo-boost with the relic?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Happyjew wrote:Actually they do. It was addressed in one of the recent FAQs.
Page 131 – The Relic, Dropping the Relic
Change the second sentence of the first paragraph to “If the
model falls back, the Relic is dropped automatically before
the model performs its Fall Back move. If the model is
removed as a casualty, or is in any other way removed from
the table – whether voluntarily or otherwise – the Relic is
dropped automatically and placed within 1” of the spot
where the model last was before it left the table. Note that
embarking onto a Transport is an exception to this, as
detailed below.”
The FAQ gives a good intent argument, but it isn't really as clear as it needs to be. Because the point at which the unit is removed from the table is when they embark into the transport... which is specifically listed as an exception. So they climb aboard, and then the transport is removed from the table. The action that triggers the dropping of the relic therefore never takes place.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/02 01:29:28
Subject: Can you turbo-boost with the relic?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Do the rules actually identify entering a transport as leaving the table? Sry do not have my BRB on me at the moment.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/02 01:30:55
Subject: Can you turbo-boost with the relic?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
warpspider89 wrote:Do the rules actually identify entering a transport as leaving the table? Sry do not have my BRB on me at the moment.
yes, they do
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/02 01:40:44
Subject: Can you turbo-boost with the relic?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Then would it not be the case that the relic would drop?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/02 01:44:18
Subject: Can you turbo-boost with the relic?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
No, because a unit with the relic has permission to bring the relic on board, even though the normal rules would be to drop it.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/02 01:49:43
Subject: Can you turbo-boost with the relic?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
...Note that
embarking onto a Transport is an exception to this, as
detailed below.”
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/02 01:58:29
Subject: Can you turbo-boost with the relic?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
insaniak wrote:
...Note that
embarking onto a Transport is an exception to this, as
detailed below.”
Ooops did not read that right. Thnx Insaniak
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/02 02:45:55
Subject: Can you turbo-boost with the relic?
|
 |
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver
Some Tomb World in some galaxy by that one thing in that one place (or Minnesota for nosy people)
|
Ya like I said embarking the relic into a NS breaks the game
|
"Put your 1st best against you opponents 2nd best, your 2nd best against their 3rd best, and your 3rd best against their 1st best"-Sun Tzu's Art of War
"If your not winning, try a bigger sword! Usually works..."
10k
2k
500 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/02 04:56:54
Subject: Can you turbo-boost with the relic?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
insaniak wrote: Happyjew wrote:Actually they do. It was addressed in one of the recent FAQs.
Page 131 – The Relic, Dropping the Relic
Change the second sentence of the first paragraph to “If the
model falls back, the Relic is dropped automatically before
the model performs its Fall Back move. If the model is
removed as a casualty, or is in any other way removed from
the table – whether voluntarily or otherwise – the Relic is
dropped automatically and placed within 1” of the spot
where the model last was before it left the table. Note that
embarking onto a Transport is an exception to this, as
detailed below.”
The FAQ gives a good intent argument, but it isn't really as clear as it needs to be. Because the point at which the unit is removed from the table is when they embark into the transport... which is specifically listed as an exception. So they climb aboard, and then the transport is removed from the table. The action that triggers the dropping of the relic therefore never takes place.
It really does not have to be made clearer. While the embarking unit is removed from the table, for game purposes it is considered to be where the transport is. Moving a unit to Reserves is a big difference.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/02 08:48:23
Subject: Can you turbo-boost with the relic?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
It really does. Not because we can't tell what they meant, but simply because game rules should be written to clearly cover how things work. Players shouldn't have to extrapolate.
We have to assume that for the purposes of the relic, the transport being removed counts as the unit being removed from the table, even though the unit was already removed from the table previously... And given that they take the time to mention transports in the faq, that assumption shouldn't be necessary. All it would have taken is one extra line to keep things clear.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|