Switch Theme:

Can you turbo-boost with the relic?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





Some Tomb World in some galaxy by that one thing in that one place (or Minnesota for nosy people)

Just make sure you don't play necrons and toss the relic in a NS because it breaks the game

"Put your 1st best against you opponents 2nd best, your 2nd best against their 3rd best, and your 3rd best against their 1st best"-Sun Tzu's Art of War

"If your not winning, try a bigger sword! Usually works..."

10k
2k
500 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 namiel wrote:
 Quanar wrote:
 namiel wrote:
Can you move to the relic, grab it and continue to move but no more then 6" while the relic is on hand?
The Relic is picked up at the end of the Phase, is that what you're asking?


but then after that it is no more then 6" per phase??? I had a dissagreement with a tournment judge this weekend about moving per phase, he said 6" per turn.

The relic rules clearly state Phase not turn.
   
Made in gb
Leader of the Sept








Thinking about it, if you detach drones from a Fire Warrior Devilfish they become a new unit. As they were part of a troops choice, do they become a troops unit and are therefore eligible to become scoring? The drone rules specifically rule out the new unit from giving up victory points, but don't say anything about scoring.


All drones are non-scoring, non-denial.


Hmm a unit containing only drones is non scoring non denial, so you could try to pull a fast one by dropping an IC into the vehicle drone pair

Please excuse any spelling errors. I use a tablet frequently and software keyboards are a pain!

Terranwing - w3;d1;l1
51st Dunedinw2;d0;l0
Cadre Coronal Afterglow w1;d0;l0 
   
Made in gb
Irked Necron Immortal





The Warp

6" per phase. However, as discussed previously, you cannot run with the relic. You can assault move with the relic with Farsight suits or Eldar jetbikes, and you can boost with it but no more than 6", but jetbikes can't boost then assault move. As this is not legal

Strike Force Serpentine: 3000
Kabal of the Annihilated Souls: 3000
Red Corsairs: 2500
Knights of Titan: 2000
Waagh Wazzdakka 2000
 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





 A GumyBear wrote:
Just make sure you don't play necrons and toss the relic in a NS because it breaks the game


I have no idea what this means. A NS could absolutely host a relic if it changes to skimmer & only moves 6"/turn

"The objective of the game is to win. The purpose of the game is to have fun. The two should not be confused."



 ErikSetzer wrote:

Or you can just claim it's all bad luck and you're really the best player in the world if not for those dice and/or cards.
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

If the NS is shot down, weird things happen. The rules don't cover what happens when a transported unit with the relic is shunted off into Reserves.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/10/02 01:00:51


 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 insaniak wrote:
If the NS is shot down, weird things happen. The rules don't cover what happens when a transported unit with the relic is shunted off into Reserves.


Actually they do. It was addressed in one of the recent FAQs.

Page 131 – The Relic, Dropping the Relic
Change the second sentence of the first paragraph to “If the
model falls back, the Relic is dropped automatically before
the model performs its Fall Back move. If the model is
removed as a casualty, or is in any other way removed from
the table – whether voluntarily or otherwise – the Relic is
dropped automatically and placed within 1” of the spot
where the model last was before it left the table. Note that
embarking onto a Transport is an exception to this, as
detailed below.”


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 warpspider89 wrote:
 A GumyBear wrote:
Just make sure you don't play necrons and toss the relic in a NS because it breaks the game


I have no idea what this means. A NS could absolutely host a relic if it changes to skimmer & only moves 6"/turn


The NS cannot hover. As such if a model with the Relic embarks, the NS can only move 6" and thus would crash.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/10/02 01:05:33


Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in ca
Dakka Veteran





 Happyjew wrote:
 insaniak wrote:
If the NS is shot down, weird things happen. The rules don't cover what happens when a transported unit with the relic is shunted off into Reserves.


Actually they do. It was addressed in one of the recent FAQs.

Page 131 – The Relic, Dropping the Relic
Change the second sentence of the first paragraph to “If the
model falls back, the Relic is dropped automatically before
the model performs its Fall Back move. If the model is
removed as a casualty, or is in any other way removed from
the table – whether voluntarily or otherwise – the Relic is
dropped automatically and placed within 1” of the spot
where the model last was before it left the table. Note that
embarking onto a Transport is an exception to this, as
detailed below.”


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 warpspider89 wrote:
 A GumyBear wrote:
Just make sure you don't play necrons and toss the relic in a NS because it breaks the game


I have no idea what this means. A NS could absolutely host a relic if it changes to skimmer & only moves 6"/turn


The NS cannot hover. As such if a model with the Relic embarks, the NS can only move 6" and thus would crash.


Thanks for the clarification Happyjew

"The objective of the game is to win. The purpose of the game is to have fun. The two should not be confused."



 ErikSetzer wrote:

Or you can just claim it's all bad luck and you're really the best player in the world if not for those dice and/or cards.
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

 Happyjew wrote:
Actually they do. It was addressed in one of the recent FAQs.

Page 131 – The Relic, Dropping the Relic
Change the second sentence of the first paragraph to “If the
model falls back, the Relic is dropped automatically before
the model performs its Fall Back move. If the model is
removed as a casualty, or is in any other way removed from
the table – whether voluntarily or otherwise – the Relic is
dropped automatically and placed within 1” of the spot
where the model last was before it left the table. Note that
embarking onto a Transport is an exception to this, as
detailed below.”

The FAQ gives a good intent argument, but it isn't really as clear as it needs to be. Because the point at which the unit is removed from the table is when they embark into the transport... which is specifically listed as an exception. So they climb aboard, and then the transport is removed from the table. The action that triggers the dropping of the relic therefore never takes place.

 
   
Made in ca
Dakka Veteran





Do the rules actually identify entering a transport as leaving the table? Sry do not have my BRB on me at the moment.

"The objective of the game is to win. The purpose of the game is to have fun. The two should not be confused."



 ErikSetzer wrote:

Or you can just claim it's all bad luck and you're really the best player in the world if not for those dice and/or cards.
 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 warpspider89 wrote:
Do the rules actually identify entering a transport as leaving the table? Sry do not have my BRB on me at the moment.
yes, they do

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in ca
Dakka Veteran





Then would it not be the case that the relic would drop?

"The objective of the game is to win. The purpose of the game is to have fun. The two should not be confused."



 ErikSetzer wrote:

Or you can just claim it's all bad luck and you're really the best player in the world if not for those dice and/or cards.
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 warpspider89 wrote:
Then would it not be the case that the relic would drop?


No, because a unit with the relic has permission to bring the relic on board, even though the normal rules would be to drop it.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

 warpspider89 wrote:
Then would it not be the case that the relic would drop?


...Note that
embarking onto a Transport is an exception to this, as
detailed below.”


 
   
Made in ca
Dakka Veteran





 insaniak wrote:
 warpspider89 wrote:
Then would it not be the case that the relic would drop?


...Note that
embarking onto a Transport is an exception to this, as
detailed below.”



Ooops did not read that right. Thnx Insaniak

"The objective of the game is to win. The purpose of the game is to have fun. The two should not be confused."



 ErikSetzer wrote:

Or you can just claim it's all bad luck and you're really the best player in the world if not for those dice and/or cards.
 
   
Made in us
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





Some Tomb World in some galaxy by that one thing in that one place (or Minnesota for nosy people)

Ya like I said embarking the relic into a NS breaks the game

"Put your 1st best against you opponents 2nd best, your 2nd best against their 3rd best, and your 3rd best against their 1st best"-Sun Tzu's Art of War

"If your not winning, try a bigger sword! Usually works..."

10k
2k
500 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 insaniak wrote:
 Happyjew wrote:
Actually they do. It was addressed in one of the recent FAQs.

Page 131 – The Relic, Dropping the Relic
Change the second sentence of the first paragraph to “If the
model falls back, the Relic is dropped automatically before
the model performs its Fall Back move. If the model is
removed as a casualty, or is in any other way removed from
the table – whether voluntarily or otherwise – the Relic is
dropped automatically and placed within 1” of the spot
where the model last was before it left the table. Note that
embarking onto a Transport is an exception to this, as
detailed below.”

The FAQ gives a good intent argument, but it isn't really as clear as it needs to be. Because the point at which the unit is removed from the table is when they embark into the transport... which is specifically listed as an exception. So they climb aboard, and then the transport is removed from the table. The action that triggers the dropping of the relic therefore never takes place.


It really does not have to be made clearer. While the embarking unit is removed from the table, for game purposes it is considered to be where the transport is. Moving a unit to Reserves is a big difference.
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

It really does. Not because we can't tell what they meant, but simply because game rules should be written to clearly cover how things work. Players shouldn't have to extrapolate.

We have to assume that for the purposes of the relic, the transport being removed counts as the unit being removed from the table, even though the unit was already removed from the table previously... And given that they take the time to mention transports in the faq, that assumption shouldn't be necessary. All it would have taken is one extra line to keep things clear.

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: