Switch Theme:

SM chapter master - orbital bombardment from reserves  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Boosting Black Templar Biker





Forest of Dean

I'm at uni writing a list and don't have my codex, I've searched the forums but can only find stuff that is like 5 years old, in the new codex can the cm call in an orbital bombardment from reserves e.g if he's in a storm raven

Tris

10000+pts
2000pts
No pity! No remorse! No fear
 
   
Made in be
Kelne





That way,then left

Can you shoot from reserves?
I don't think you can, so the bombardment working "like shooting a shooting weapon with this profile ... " might disallow you to do this.
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






How are you going to measure the range/LOS? No OB unless you are on table.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in gb
Boosting Black Templar Biker





Forest of Dean

I though it was unlimited range and didn't need Los, it does make sense though.

I'm a Templars player we've not had such fancy weaponry before lol need to go an read my codex

10000+pts
2000pts
No pity! No remorse! No fear
 
   
Made in us
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets






Unlimited range doean't trump LOS. And no model can fire a weapon when off-the-field.
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User



Spartanburg, SC

its an ordinance weapon, and those do not need LOS to be fired or range limitations
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

sever14 wrote:
its an ordinance weapon, and those do not need LOS to be fired or range limitations


No, it is a barrage weapon and those do not need LOS. Ordnance (not ordinance) still require LOS.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




It is a barrage weapon and does not need line of sight.
   
Made in gb
Boosting Black Templar Biker





Forest of Dean

so for instance if my CM arrived by storm raven, on the turn he arrives on the board, is he able to call an orbital bombardment then??

10000+pts
2000pts
No pity! No remorse! No fear
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

The OB uses all of the rules for firing weapons, so if your CM can fire his Bolt Pistol, he can fire off the OB (assuming he follows all rules associated with firing a weapon with that profile).

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

If you want to pull in the unlimited range and barrage not needing line of sight, then sure, I guess you *could* technically fire it - there are no other rules than range and sight stopping you from firing off table.

If you want to allocate any Wounds from that shot, however...

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in fi
Courageous Space Marine Captain






 Happyjew wrote:
The OB uses all of the rules for firing weapons, so if your CM can fire his Bolt Pistol, he can fire off the OB (assuming he follows all rules associated with firing a weapon with that profile).


Meaning he cannot move and fire it. Which is massively annoying.

   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 optometris wrote:
so for instance if my CM arrived by storm raven, on the turn he arrives on the board, is he able to call an orbital bombardment then??

See the rules for fire points, which is your allowance for firing while inside a vehicle. If your vehcile has no fire points.....
   
Made in us
Preacher of the Emperor




Boston, MA

 Crimson wrote:
 Happyjew wrote:
The OB uses all of the rules for firing weapons, so if your CM can fire his Bolt Pistol, he can fire off the OB (assuming he follows all rules associated with firing a weapon with that profile).


Meaning he cannot move and fire it. Which is massively annoying.


Unless he is on a bike or in terminator armor and benefits from being Relentless...
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

nosferatu1001 wrote:
See the rules for fire points, which is your allowance for firing while inside a vehicle. If your vehcile has no fire points.....


While valid, this doesn't help if the CM is a normal reserve and not embarked on anything...

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in gb
Slippery Scout Biker



Aylesbury, UK

The CM has to be on the table in order to fire.

5000 pts  
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 Super Ready wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
See the rules for fire points, which is your allowance for firing while inside a vehicle. If your vehcile has no fire points.....


While valid, this doesn't help if the CM is a normal reserve and not embarked on anything...

A model in reserves doesnt have permission to make a shooting attack, as you have no way to measure between them. Even with an unlimited range, "check range" still applies - you measure then compare to the range of the weapon. So you measure, realise you cant, and therefore you dont fire.

I was answering what happens if they come on inside a vehicle.
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

nosferatu1001 wrote:
A model in reserves doesnt have permission to make a shooting attack, as you have no way to measure between them. Even with an unlimited range, "check range" still applies - you measure then compare to the range of the weapon. So you measure, realise you cant, and therefore you dont fire.


I see... I hadn't looked at it this way.

silvu wrote:The CM has to be on the table in order to fire.


While this is how it works in practice, this in and of itself isn't actually a rule. It's important to note that there's no blanket statement stopping models from taking actions off the board, otherwise special rules affecting deployment and reserves couldn't actually be used.

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




nosferatu1001 wrote:
So you measure, realise you cant, and therefore you dont fire.
Citation needed. As the Check itself does not fail, the measurement being irrelevant, I see nothing in this rule preventing the firing sequence.
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

When a rule provides a sequence of events, you have to fill each rule in sequence before you can complete the event. If any one of those steps can not be completed for any reason, either because you fail to meet the restriction in place or you simply can not complete the step due to some external situation, then the whole sequence fails. If one is not able to complete the sequence of events, then they can no longer evoke any effect that would have occurred if the sequence was successful. Even in situations where it would otherwise seem logical that the step shouldn't be applied, you still have to do so because the rules demand you to. Short of having a rule clearly stating that you have permission to ignore a specific step, you do not have the choice to skip that step.

In this case: You are told to measure between the unit and the target and see if it is in range, so you do have to measure. Logically it will be in range, as the range is unlimited, but that doesn't stop you needing to take the measurement and find out how far the distance is, so you can compare it to see if it falls within 'unlimited.' Should you not be able to measure from base to base, on grounds you do not know where the second base is, then you do not have permission to complete the sequence of events because you can not complete the requirement to measure that distance.

This is important because if it worked any other way, then you would be able to use the Orbital Bombardment after you remove the model as a casualty....

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/10/03 19:43:14


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Pyrian wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
So you measure, realise you cant, and therefore you dont fire.
Citation needed. As the Check itself does not fail, the measurement being irrelevant, I see nothing in this rule preventing the firing sequence.


The measurement is not irrelevant, just insignificant. You still need to be in infinite range. The only way to not be infinite range, as nosferatu1001 pointed out, is to not exist and therefor not be in any range.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Pyrian wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
So you measure, realise you cant, and therefore you dont fire.
Citation needed. As the Check itself does not fail, the measurement being irrelevant, I see nothing in this rule preventing the firing sequence.

Undefined != unlimited

You MUST determine your range at the Check Range step. To perform this you MUST find a value for the distance between the two units, following the rules for measuring between units

YOu CANNOT complete this measurement, meaning you have NO PERMISSION to carry on firing.

While the actual value does not matter, you have to actually find a value, as per the actual rules

that is your citation. If you disagree, please find a rule allowing you to fire despite being unable to complete "check range"
   
Made in dk
Fresh-Faced New User




Denmark

1. You cannot use OB when he is in reserve. Since it is treated as a normal weapon and you cannot shoot from reserve.
2. If he arrives in a stormraven, he can still not shoot for 2 reasons:
1) The ship does not have any fire points.
2) If he is embarked on a vehicle with fire points that comes from reserve, he cannot fire because he have moved (ordnance rule) (since the vehicle moved, the models inside counts as have moved as well).

 
   
Made in au
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon




Armageddon, Pry System, Armageddon Sector, Armageddon Sub-sector, Segmentum Solar.

 Crimson wrote:
 Happyjew wrote:
The OB uses all of the rules for firing weapons, so if your CM can fire his Bolt Pistol, he can fire off the OB (assuming he follows all rules associated with firing a weapon with that profile).


Meaning he cannot move and fire it. Which is massively annoying.


Sometimes its good to be an insane guardsman throwing what is essentially a Battle Cannon shell at the enemy. None of this fancy unlimited rage barrage stuff. just a 6" chuck of high explosives.
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

 Dragten wrote:
1. You cannot use OB when he is in reserve. Since it is treated as a normal weapon and you cannot shoot from reserve.


Again, this is not a rule. In practice you're prevented from shooting from reserve but this part alone is not a rule.

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 Super Ready wrote:
 Dragten wrote:
1. You cannot use OB when he is in reserve. Since it is treated as a normal weapon and you cannot shoot from reserve.


Again, this is not a rule. In practice you're prevented from shooting from reserve but this part alone is not a rule.

It really is, but only because you have to measure range, and can't the models are not on the table.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

That's my point. That's what stops it - but there is no blanket rule stopping models from taking actions while off table. This is important because if you can't apply any special rules then other things break, like Deep Strike, Outflank and Infiltrate.

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: