Switch Theme:

Psychic Shriek, Witchfires and Precision Shots  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Strangely Beautiful Daemonette of Slaanesh





It depends on how you read it. Is targeting (RAW) enough for the effect to occur in terms of witchfires? It depends on whether or not rolling to hit refer to its shooting ability or further requirements for its effects. This part is purely RAI

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2013/10/15 18:28:38


"Oh hello there Eldar and fellow brethren Space Marines, take a seat and let me play you the music of my people"- Band Slaanesh, the Rock and Roll of 40k

 
   
Made in us
Haemonculi Flesh Apprentice






 Unforgiven656 wrote:


With regards to the first point, I'm not sure we can separate the shooting ability from the effect can we?


Well we can, the power requires we only have a valid target in order for the 3D6-LD to happen. Which is why I and others have stated it is irrelevant even if we decide how to determine a hit (which would require too many assumptions). Murderous hurricane, JoTWW and blood lance all set a precedent in their FAQ's which I believe helps determine RAI to not require a to hit roll for the secondary effect to happen. This really comes down to a RAI HYWP scenario.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 chillis wrote:
It depends on how you read it. Is targeting (RAW) enough for the effect to occur in terms of witchfires? It depends on whether or not rolling to hit refer to its shooting ability or further requirements for its effects. This part is purely RAI


This^

But we do have other FAQ rulings on similar powers. Specifically MH.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/10/15 18:30:20


   
Made in us
Strangely Beautiful Daemonette of Slaanesh





Although lets not be biased in terms of RAI, there is plenty of RAI going with the side that it is further requirements.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/10/15 19:40:25


"Oh hello there Eldar and fellow brethren Space Marines, take a seat and let me play you the music of my people"- Band Slaanesh, the Rock and Roll of 40k

 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







Well we can, the power requires we only have a valid target in order for the 3D6-LD to happen. Which is why I and others have stated it is irrelevant even if we decide how to determine a hit (which would require too many assumptions). Murderous hurricane, JoTWW and blood lance all set a precedent in their FAQ's which I believe helps determine RAI to not require a to hit roll for the secondary effect to happen. This really comes down to a RAI HYWP scenario.


False.

Nowhere does it state you simply target the power then the effect happens.




But we do have other FAQ rulings on similar powers. Specifically MH.


MH is not a similar power, and has a specific FAQ just for it. The fact it is faqed means that without the faq the effect would not occur without rolling to hit. as there is no faq for psychic shriek there is nothing RAW or RAI supporting the hit roll not mattering, as it is plainly RAW require to roll to hit.

The blast, template, beam, and nova subtypes are given their own rules. Psychic shriek is not one of those. These rules are all contained within the same book, and if psychic shriek was intended to be one of those subtypes it would have been listed so. it is not one of those subtypes, it is a standard witchfire power. It is required to roll to hit.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

blaktoof wrote:
as there is no faq for psychic shriek there is nothing RAW or RAI supporting the hit roll not mattering, as it is plainly RAW require to roll to hit.

Except for what we have proven in this very thread!

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 DeathReaper wrote:
blaktoof wrote:
as there is no faq for psychic shriek there is nothing RAW or RAI supporting the hit roll not mattering, as it is plainly RAW require to roll to hit.

Except for what we have proven in this very thread!


that was never proven, simply stated in its own void by certain people without any support.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




[quote=DeathReaper 555787 6149088 4c88678b47c696ff320c311a3a04b86c.jpg
yes, profile included which will tell you how many shots you get.

Like Lifeleach page 419, or Inferno P.421, or Vortex of doom P. 422...

P.S. why do they list Assault 1, if one shot is the default? (Hint: it is because 1 shot is not the default and the profile contains the information for how many shots any given weapon will fire).


Yes, you will note it clearly states "a witchfire with the following profile." which is giving you clear instructions to use that power with that profile.



Most models. Not all models. And we're talking weapons not models. And it doesn't say "by default, all models fire one shot".
"Some weapons are capable of firing more that once" - which weapons? How can you tell? The only way is looking at there profile.
Psychic Shriek doesn't say, so is it 1 shot or 3? This rule doesn't set a default, just talks about a common number.


Grendel, its a permissive ruleset. Most models only fire one shot, however some weapons are capable of firing more than once. Most is the default and would require explicit permission to fire more than once.

   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

blaktoof wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
blaktoof wrote:
as there is no faq for psychic shriek there is nothing RAW or RAI supporting the hit roll not mattering, as it is plainly RAW require to roll to hit.

Except for what we have proven in this very thread!


that was never proven, simply stated in its own void by certain people without any support.

It has been proven, with quotes, however some people are ignoring it, so there can be no further discussion.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 DeathReaper wrote:
blaktoof wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
blaktoof wrote:
as there is no faq for psychic shriek there is nothing RAW or RAI supporting the hit roll not mattering, as it is plainly RAW require to roll to hit.

Except for what we have proven in this very thread!


that was never proven, simply stated in its own void by certain people without any support.

It has been proven, with quotes, however some people are ignoring it, so there can be no further discussion.


Sorry I missed this also.

Where's the quote that a witchfire power can be resolved after it missed its roll to hit?

My blog - Battle Reports, Lists, Theory, and Hobby:
http://synaps3.blogspot.com/
 
   
Made in us
Strangely Beautiful Daemonette of Slaanesh





 hyv3mynd wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
blaktoof wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
blaktoof wrote:
as there is no faq for psychic shriek there is nothing RAW or RAI supporting the hit roll not mattering, as it is plainly RAW require to roll to hit.

Except for what we have proven in this very thread!


that was never proven, simply stated in its own void by certain people without any support.

It has been proven, with quotes, however some people are ignoring it, so there can be no further discussion.


Sorry I missed this also.

Where's the quote that a witchfire power can be resolved after it missed its roll to hit?


Page 67 Declare a target. -This is basic ruleset though and is over-ridden by the more specific witchfire rules
Page 69- roll to hit, does it say that a hit is required for an effect to happen? This is up to RAI and is not RAW because it can be referring to the powers shooting ability.

These interpretations can be debated (don't argue) on which has a stronger foundation and why.

"Oh hello there Eldar and fellow brethren Space Marines, take a seat and let me play you the music of my people"- Band Slaanesh, the Rock and Roll of 40k

 
   
Made in gb
Tunneling Trygon





Nottinghamshire- England

So this seems to be no clearer, and I really don't want to wade through 16 pages of back and forth tosh...

Could Markerlights be something to refer to? They aren't weapons either.

Grimtuff wrote: GW want the full wrath of their Gestapo to come down on this new fangled Internet and it's free speech.


A Town Called Malus wrote: Draigo is a Mat Ward creation. They don't follow the same rules as everyone else.
 
   
Made in us
Strangely Beautiful Daemonette of Slaanesh





 Bloodhorror wrote:
So this seems to be no clearer, and I really don't want to wade through 16 pages of back and forth tosh...

Could Markerlights be something to refer to? They aren't weapons either.


Markerlights are weapons, Pg. 68 "Markerlights are ranged weapons"


Automatically Appended Next Post:
But I see where you are coming from where the special rule is a result of getting a hit

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2013/10/15 23:05:34


"Oh hello there Eldar and fellow brethren Space Marines, take a seat and let me play you the music of my people"- Band Slaanesh, the Rock and Roll of 40k

 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 hyv3mynd wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
blaktoof wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
blaktoof wrote:
as there is no faq for psychic shriek there is nothing RAW or RAI supporting the hit roll not mattering, as it is plainly RAW require to roll to hit.

Except for what we have proven in this very thread!


that was never proven, simply stated in its own void by certain people without any support.

It has been proven, with quotes, however some people are ignoring it, so there can be no further discussion.


Sorry I missed this also.

Where's the quote that a witchfire power can be resolved after it missed its roll to hit?

Psychic Shriek, re-read it and not that rolling to hit does not matter, as the #d6 effect has nothing to do with a to hit roll.

It is as chillis said above.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/10/15 23:31:01


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Strangely Beautiful Daemonette of Slaanesh





^as based on justified interpretation

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/10/15 23:55:16


"Oh hello there Eldar and fellow brethren Space Marines, take a seat and let me play you the music of my people"- Band Slaanesh, the Rock and Roll of 40k

 
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

 DeathReaper wrote:
 hyv3mynd wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
blaktoof wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
blaktoof wrote:
as there is no faq for psychic shriek there is nothing RAW or RAI supporting the hit roll not mattering, as it is plainly RAW require to roll to hit.

Except for what we have proven in this very thread!


that was never proven, simply stated in its own void by certain people without any support.

It has been proven, with quotes, however some people are ignoring it, so there can be no further discussion.


Sorry I missed this also.

Where's the quote that a witchfire power can be resolved after it missed its roll to hit?

Psychic Shriek, re-read it and not that rolling to hit does not matter, as the #d6 effect has nothing to do with a to hit roll.

It is as chillis said above.


Read any PSA's entry and it doesn't talk about rolling to hit unless it breaks from the norm. This is a false burden you've inserted here.

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 liturgies of blood wrote:
Read any PSA's entry and it doesn't talk about rolling to hit unless it breaks from the norm. This is a false burden you've inserted here.

Like Smite, wait, that is Assault 4. Lifeleech, wait, that is Assault 2. Inferno, wait that is Assault 1. Flame Breath wait, that is Assault 1. Assail, wait, that is Assault 1. Vortex of Doom, wait, that is Heavy 1.

Literally all of the other Witchfire powers have a profile so they do actually talke about rolling to hit by virtue of Assault X or Heavy X is the respective power. Something that Psychic Shriek lacks.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

And for all of the focussed witchfire powers? All of the unusual and odd powers in the codices?
I didn't know that the number was all that mattered when it came to rolls to hit, does that mean that I have to just look at the profile for a pistol when I go to roll to hit? Or do I look at more than one place in the rule book? Cos if you look at the pistol rules then you're argument here is also false, as you can look at the witchfire powers to see that you need to roll to hit.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/10/16 03:32:42


It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

The number explicitly tells you how many shots you get with an assault weapon, something that Whichfires are equated to in the BRB...

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Blaktoof - sigh, again you misrepresent the argument

I will I imagine shock you now: I agree that you have to roll to-hit with witchfires, in general

Shock!

However, what you missed is that there is nothing in the rules that requires a successful hit for you to proceed with non to-wound effects

We know this to be true, despite liturgies claims otherwise, because the written rules only require a successful to hit when rolling to-wound

If you are NOT rolling to wound, there is nothing requiring a successful roll to-hit before you can resolve the power

Now, plenty of people have assumedt there is such a thing - Liturgies, yourself, etc. However no actual written rule states any such thing - if there was, someone would surely have found it by now.

So, RAW, you have to roll to hit. You cannot roll ANY dice, as you have no written profile as required by page 51, but you are still compelled to do so. Assume, for a minute, that you actually make up this number, and arbitrarily decide on one D6 as the number - pretendingit is assault 1. Now, without a rule equating successful to-hit with resolving non to-wound effects - and remember, we know there is no such rule in the rulebook - the result of this to-hit - pass or fail - is irrelevant - the rest of the power WILL resolve regardless, because you have NO RULE stating it does not, and a rule stating it does resolve

Can you now see the issue? to repeat - I freely admit I am not following RAW when I state I do not require people to roll to hit with those powers, but that is because RAW is broken - instead I skip the roll to hit because the roll to hit is irrelevant to resolving the actual powers efffects

Now, hopefully the bolding will mean you cannot any longer misrepresent my argument through misunderstanding it, as I have explicitly stated - for about the 5th time - the exact problems with it.

Liturgies - given you still cannot find a link between non-towound resolution and to-hit being successful, your concession is accepted that no such requirement in the rules exists.
   
Made in gb
Space Marine Scout with Sniper Rifle




Braintree, Essex - Init bruv

Nos - what do you mean by non to-wound effects. PS's effect is a to wound effect. Or am I mis-understanding?

I guess my question is, is the roll of 3D6 - leadership an effect or a just a mechanic to determine number of wounds.

I have to say I'm being swayed by chilli's argument regarding templates. Also is it possible that PS was intended to be a focussed witchfire? The wording of the power certainly matches the wording for other focussed witchfires such as Spontaneous Combustion.

 
   
Made in us
Strangely Beautiful Daemonette of Slaanesh





When you're firing a gun you roll to hit and then in accordance to those hits you roll to wound. These to wound rolls are a result, whereas PS has an effect (in some instances the effect follows the result)and doesn't have the 1:1 traditional to roll for wound ritual (3D6 effect is not dependent on to hit roll then even though it allocates wounds) and is only completely known to require targeting. That is my interpretation though of what nos was saying

RAW targeting is required to manifest a power
RAW to hit roll is required for a witchfire power
RAI does to hit roll refer to the manifestation (effect) or the shooting ability (result) of said power?


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 liturgies of blood wrote:
Cos if you look at the pistol rules then you're argument here is also false, as you can look at the witchfire powers to see that you need to roll to hit.


All pistols are effectively Assault 1, I feel like you probably had a good argument but I was probably too slow to comprehend.

This message was edited 5 times. Last update was at 2013/10/16 14:53:44


"Oh hello there Eldar and fellow brethren Space Marines, take a seat and let me play you the music of my people"- Band Slaanesh, the Rock and Roll of 40k

 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 Unforgiven656 wrote:
Nos - what do you mean by non to-wound effects. PS's effect is a to wound effect. Or am I mis-understanding?

I guess my question is, is the roll of 3D6 - leadership an effect or a just a mechanic to determine number of wounds.

I have to say I'm being swayed by chilli's argument regarding templates. Also is it possible that PS was intended to be a focussed witchfire? The wording of the power certainly matches the wording for other focussed witchfires such as Spontaneous Combustion.


to-wound is a defined mechanic within 40k - you compare S vs T, check chart, etc. This has a specific link to how many hits you managed to get, as per page 14.

These other effects - which CAN generate wounds, but dont have to - are NOT to-wound; they do not follow this process

As such there is no RULES lnk to say that you can only perform these effects - such as the 3D6 - if you first manage to "hit" successfully. There just isnt anything stating this - hence me saying it is irrelevant whether you hit or not, and why those saying you have to hit BEFORE you can roll these effects, are making a rule up that does not exist.

It is a good assumption, sort of, but there is no consistency on this from GW - PSAs have sometimes rolled to hit and sometimes havent, seemingly art random. Hell, Lash of Despair both didnt roll to hit, rolled to hit, then didnt roll to hit all during 5th edition!
   
Made in us
Strangely Beautiful Daemonette of Slaanesh





Food for thought
Using the nos and unforgiven's last statements, but keeping PS as a normal witchfire as it is labeled, would PS have the ability to get precision shots since it is not following the normal mechanic?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/10/16 19:01:37


"Oh hello there Eldar and fellow brethren Space Marines, take a seat and let me play you the music of my people"- Band Slaanesh, the Rock and Roll of 40k

 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 chillis wrote:
Food for thought
Using the nos and unforgiven's last statements, but keeping PS as a normal witchfire as it is labeled, would PS have the ability to get precision shots since it is not following the normal mechanic?

No precision shots. Would be tought to get a 6 when we do not know how many dice to roll to hit for Psychic Shriek. Not that the roll to hit matters with PS anyway.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Strangely Beautiful Daemonette of Slaanesh





 DeathReaper wrote:
 chillis wrote:
Food for thought
Using the nos and unforgiven's last statements, but keeping PS as a normal witchfire as it is labeled, would PS have the ability to get precision shots since it is not following the normal mechanic?

No precision shots. Would be tought to get a 6 when we do not know how many dice to roll to hit for Psychic Shriek. Not that the roll to hit matters with PS anyway.


I was using the scenario ignoring the whole missing profile sense situation. But yea, that would keep PS different from a focused witchfire in the case stated

"Oh hello there Eldar and fellow brethren Space Marines, take a seat and let me play you the music of my people"- Band Slaanesh, the Rock and Roll of 40k

 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




You would get precision shots on any wounds you allocate, that come from the roll to hit of a 6. Except no wounds result from the hit - there is no link between the two parts.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: