Switch Theme:

Disembarking from a Flyer before it moves  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Preacher of the Emperor




Boston, MA

Here is the situation: A Stormraven entered play on Turn 2 in Zoom mode. At the top of turn three, the embarked squad disembarks before the stormraven moves. The Stormraven then wants to move in Zoom mode again. Can it do so?

Here are the relevant quotes:

"A flyer with the Hover type must declare whether it is going to Zoom or Hover before it moves each Movement phase." (pg 81)

"If the vehicle had not moved before the unit disembarked, the vehicle can then move normally." (pg 79)

What do you think?
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

PanzerLeader wrote:
Here is the situation: A Stormraven entered play on Turn 2 in Zoom mode. At the top of turn three, the embarked squad disembarks before the stormraven moves. The Stormraven then wants to move in Zoom mode again. Can it do so?

Here are the relevant quotes:

"A flyer with the Hover type must declare whether it is going to Zoom or Hover before it moves each Movement phase." (pg 81)

"If the vehicle had not moved before the unit disembarked, the vehicle can then move normally." (pg 79)

What do you think?

No. In the scenario you mentioned the SR is in zoom mode until you choose its next mode of flight.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






BRB FAQ:
Page 81 – Hover ‘Type’
Change the first sentence of the second paragraph to “A Flyer with the Hover type must declare whether it is going to Zoom or Hover before it moves, and before any embarked models disembark, each Movement phase.”

   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 Quanar wrote:
BRB FAQ:
Page 81 – Hover ‘Type’
Change the first sentence of the second paragraph to “A Flyer with the Hover type must declare whether it is going to Zoom or Hover before it moves, and before any embarked models disembark, each Movement phase.”



Hey thanks. Took both of us and 2 judges and we still missed the FAQ.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 hyv3mynd wrote:
 Quanar wrote:
BRB FAQ:
Page 81 – Hover ‘Type’
Change the first sentence of the second paragraph to “A Flyer with the Hover type must declare whether it is going to Zoom or Hover before it moves, and before any embarked models disembark, each Movement phase.”



Hey thanks. Took both of us and 2 judges and we still missed the FAQ.

Of course the FaQ was not needed as the Flyer is in zoom or hover mode until you choose zoom or hover again on your next turn.

But C'est la vie
   
Made in us
Preacher of the Emperor




Boston, MA

Thanks Quanar! The use of Skies of Fury made our game more dramatic anyhow hyv3mynd.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





PanzerLeader wrote:
Thanks Quanar! The use of Skies of Fury made our game more dramatic anyhow hyv3mynd.


Yes very cinematic! But I also use a 'raven in my GK collection and wanted to know where to find the rule as well.

My blog - Battle Reports, Lists, Theory, and Hobby:
http://synaps3.blogspot.com/
 
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






 DeathReaper wrote:
Of course the FaQ was not needed as the Flyer is in zoom or hover mode until you choose zoom or hover again on your next turn.

But C'est la vie
I'll take a clarification that doesn't change anything over an argument any day of the week.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 Quanar wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
Of course the FaQ was not needed as the Flyer is in zoom or hover mode until you choose zoom or hover again on your next turn.

But C'est la vie
I'll take a clarification that doesn't change anything over an argument any day of the week.

Except that FaQ does change something.

Pre FAQ you could go into hover mode on one turn. Then on the next turn disembark the passengers then Move the SR in Zooming mode.

This is no longer possible.

It was fine before, there really was no need for an FAQ changing the rules.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/11/29 21:20:18


 
   
Made in im
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot





actually there was, this way they stop you from basically castling your unit in the storm raven while then on the following turn, getting out to assault one unit while your SR blasts across the board in full flight and nukes some armour or another squad, with the change its a more accurate representation of gradual lift back to flight mode on the not so nimble craft
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 nutty_nutter wrote:
with the change its a more accurate representation of gradual lift back to flight mode on the not so nimble craft

You realize the SR is a VTOL craft right, that would make it quite nimble...

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Tough Tyrant Guard





SHE-FI-ELD

Suppose they didn't realize the implications of that section and didn't like the fallout. IDK Much about vehicle flyers.. Dosent that parachute dive bomb people down rule bypass this or do they still need to be hovering/still counted disembarking? I can imagine guys jumping out of a zooming helicopter, it amuses me.

It's my codex and I'll cry If I want to.

Tactical objectives are fantastic 
   
Made in gb
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

 DeathReaper wrote:
 nutty_nutter wrote:
with the change its a more accurate representation of gradual lift back to flight mode on the not so nimble craft
You realize the SR is a VTOL craft right, that would make it quite nimble...
VTOL or not, the Storm Raven is about as aerodynamically designed as a bus. With a shed stuck on it.
   
Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User




Sorry if this is a stupid question, but where does it say that a flyer has to be hovering to disembark?

Now I use Tyranids so it is swooping and gliding but is it the same?
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Odd_Socks wrote:
Sorry if this is a stupid question, but where does it say that a flyer has to be hovering to disembark?

Now I use Tyranids so it is swooping and gliding but is it the same?

Check the section on Flyers (Page number in the index) it tells you this information.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User




Sorry, missed that last line

No such line in the FMC rules, so they can disembark and carry on swooping
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Well FMC's can not transport units so I am not sure what you are getting at.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User




The Harridan counts as an open-topped transport for Gargoyles.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Odd_Socks wrote:
The Harridan counts as an open-topped transport for Gargoyles.

What page is that on, I can't find it in the Tyranid codex.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User




It is in the Apocalypse book, as it is an Apocalypse unit ( page 162 )
   
Made in gb
Tough Tyrant Guard





SHE-FI-ELD

Yeah. There were rumors of a new MC transport in the next codex as well... but with their own rules to balance not being a vehicle.

It's my codex and I'll cry If I want to.

Tactical objectives are fantastic 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Odd_Socks wrote:
It is in the Apocalypse book, as it is an Apocalypse unit ( page 162 )

Ahh so it is apoc, you are going to have to add a lot of rules as Apoc does not cover every situation.

I would play it just like zooming flyers.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/12/02 19:28:34


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: