Switch Theme:

Can you consolidate after destroying a Walker?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

After destroying a vehicle you can't consolidate.
This is further backed up by an FAQ.

Walkers can make consolidation moves as normal, but I can't find any reference to making one when they themselves are destroyed.

This came up during a recent Escalation game, involving a Warhound and my Stompa.
The Warhound isn't geared for combat and was destroyed in a single round. At the time we played that the Stompa could consolidate, allowing it to turn to face a squadron of Vendettas (I wasn't looking forward to 9 lascannons in the rear armour).

Looking back, I do think this consolidation should have been made. It's seems that it's fine against non-vehicles, but not against a Warhound.

Any thoughts, or have I missed a rule somewhere?
   
Made in us
Abhorrent Grotesque Aberration





There are 3 important governing rules, all on pg 84.

Under Walkers and Assaults:
"Walkers assault, and are assaulted, like Infantry models,..."

"Walkers fight like Infantry models."

"Walkers may make sweeping advances, pile in moves and consolidations"

Essentially, yes a walker is a vehicle unit type but for all intents and purposes it is treated as if it was an infantry unit during the assault phase, with the caveat about hitting front or rear armour depending upon whether it's immobilzed or not.

So, Yes, you can consolidate after killing one and it can consolidate if it won.

As I've never used nor faced a Warhound or Stompa before I'm assuming they are both walkers. If not then there wouldn't be a consolidation step.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/01/19 16:38:57


------------------
"Why me?" Gideon begged, falling to his knees.
"Why not?" - Asdrubael Vect 
   
Made in ca
Lieutenant Colonel






warhounds are just super heavy walkers,

they have a WS, this came up in my last escalation game as well,

they can be locked in combat, and consolodate/pile in/SA as walkers do

 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

Yes they can consolidate like infantry.

Problem being infantry can't consolidate after destroying a vehicle.

What i'm missing is something all allows you to consolidate after destroying a vehicle (walker).
Fighting like infantry isn't the problem, it's the "Assault Results" section where you check for moral etc...

Edit: To simplify the problem:
"Can Infantry consolidate after destroying a vehicle (walker)?"

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/19 18:02:17


 
   
Made in us
Screaming Shining Spear





Insteresting. I cant find anything allowing the above consolidation. HIWP- allow it.

4000 points: Craftworld Mymeara 
   
Made in us
Preacher of the Emperor




Boston, MA

 grendel083 wrote:
Yes they can consolidate like infantry.

Problem being infantry can't consolidate after destroying a vehicle.

What i'm missing is something all allows you to consolidate after destroying a vehicle (walker).
Fighting like infantry isn't the problem, it's the "Assault Results" section where you check for moral etc...

Edit: To simplify the problem:
"Can Infantry consolidate after destroying a vehicle (walker)?"


The rules also say they are assaulted like infantry. You can consolidate after destroying infantry in an assault, ergo you can consolidate after destroying a walker.
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

PanzerLeader wrote:
The rules also say they are assaulted like infantry. You can consolidate after destroying infantry in an assault, ergo you can consolidate after destroying a walker.
Thats only half a quote unfortunately.

"Walkers assault, and are assaulted, like Infantry models, meaning that they make charge moves and can be locked in combat."

What they mean by "are assaulted like infantry" is explained, and that explanation doesn't involve combat results and consolidation.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: