Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/24 18:25:05
Subject: Twin-linked weapons and BS6 +
|
 |
Warning From Magnus? Not Listening!
|
I can't think of a specific example but if I had a BS6 (or higher) model with a twin-linked weapon do I effectively get a 2+ to hit, 6+ reroll (for BS6) and then another reroll for the TL?
I guess my question is does the BS6 give a reroll or is it something else? I don't have my BRB with me so I can't check the wording. If I do get both is the TL reroll a 2+ or a 6+ (in the case of BS6)?
Also along those lines... If I have a character w a TL weapon and I roll a hit - that isn't a 6 - can I choose to reroll it (due to TL) and aim for a precision shot? For example if I've got a BS5 crisis commander w TL fusion and roll a 4 (a hit but not a precision shot), can I choose to reroll the dice aiming for a precision shot on 6 (or a 5 if I've got advanced targeting systems) with the knowledge that it's unlikely I'm going to fail?
Let me now what you think and thanks in advance,
BP
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/24 18:25:25
My P&M blog
DC:90S++G+++M+B+IPw40k04#+D+A+++/cWD241R++T(T)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/24 18:27:12
Subject: Twin-linked weapons and BS6 +
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
The rulebook is extremely clear. You can not reroll a dice more than once.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/24 18:30:27
Subject: Twin-linked weapons and BS6 +
|
 |
Preacher of the Emperor
|
Ghaz wrote:The rulebook is extremely clear. You can not reroll a dice more than once.
This. However, you would get to choose which source to use (the TL or the BS6) so you could reroll it needing a 2+ to hit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/24 18:34:24
Subject: Twin-linked weapons and BS6 +
|
 |
Warning From Magnus? Not Listening!
|
PanzerLeader wrote: Ghaz wrote:The rulebook is extremely clear. You can not reroll a dice more than once.
This. However, you would get to choose which source to use (the TL or the BS6) so you could reroll it needing a 2+ to hit.
That's what I figured, just wasn't sure whether the BS6 gave a reroll or if it was worded differently to similar effect.
Cheers guys, any idea about the other question?
|
My P&M blog
DC:90S++G+++M+B+IPw40k04#+D+A+++/cWD241R++T(T)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/24 18:38:57
Subject: Twin-linked weapons and BS6 +
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Its also extremely clear in the wording of twin-linking. For rules like that, forum policy dictates we just point you in the right direction. Dakka can not be a substitute for the rulebook.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/24 18:49:53
Subject: Twin-linked weapons and BS6 +
|
 |
Warning From Magnus? Not Listening!
|
Ghaz wrote:Its also extremely clear in the wording of twin-linking. For rules like that, forum policy dictates we just point you in the right direction. Dakka can not be a substitute for the rulebook.
Well that kinda sucks coz I'm in France and my BRB's in Australia...
Edit: and let's just say I have no idea what the French BRB's on about
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/24 18:50:35
My P&M blog
DC:90S++G+++M+B+IPw40k04#+D+A+++/cWD241R++T(T)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/24 18:50:30
Subject: Twin-linked weapons and BS6 +
|
 |
Highlord with a Blackstone Fortress
Adrift within the vortex of my imagination.
|
A fluff explanation is possible.
Twin linked weapons are inherently wasteful as the parallel fire, a weaponsmaster wont need a twin linked weapon and wont get any real use from one they cant with a normal weapon.
However, on the odd occasion they do miss, the wide splatter of shot means that some bullets will hit, but overall its a diminshing return. Twin linkage are for people who havent completely mastered the art of gun combat, those two do take a gun in each hand instead.
|
n'oublie jamais - It appears I now have to highlight this again.
It is by tea alone I set my mind in motion. By the juice of the brew my thoughts aquire speed, my mind becomes strained, the strain becomes a warning. It is by tea alone I set my mind in motion. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/24 19:59:57
Subject: Twin-linked weapons and BS6 +
|
 |
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot
|
worth pointing out that you cannot re-roll in your example where rolling a 4 would hit, you do not satisfy the criteria for the re-roll of either twin linked or BS6 (the trigger being a miss)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/24 21:26:42
Subject: Twin-linked weapons and BS6 +
|
 |
Warning From Magnus? Not Listening!
|
nutty_nutter wrote:worth pointing out that you cannot re-roll in your example where rolling a 4 would hit, you do not satisfy the criteria for the re-roll of either twin linked or BS6 (the trigger being a miss)
Awesome, thank (just wishful thinking in the first place  )
|
My P&M blog
DC:90S++G+++M+B+IPw40k04#+D+A+++/cWD241R++T(T)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/27 15:13:21
Subject: Twin-linked weapons and BS6 +
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Minneapolis, MN
|
PanzerLeader wrote:This. However, you would get to choose which source to use (the TL or the BS6) so you could reroll it needing a 2+ to hit.
Yep, anytime you shoot a TL weapon with BS5 or above, it's basically equivalent to BS10.
|
|
 |
 |
|