Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/31 06:55:03
Subject: Cassian Draco HH Dread
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
hello all
The dread from HH has a rule that stops you rolling more than 1 dice for armour pen, now my question is, does this stop ord weapons, i simply ask as it is similar to the old monlith and that allowed you to use ord to roll the 2 dice, any help would be appreciated
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/31 08:42:12
Subject: Cassian Draco HH Dread
|
 |
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot
|
Formosa wrote:hello all
The dread from HH has a rule that stops you rolling more than 1 dice for armour pen, now my question is, does this stop ord weapons, i simply ask as it is similar to the old monlith and that allowed you to use ord to roll the 2 dice, any help would be appreciated
Would need to see the rule in it's entirety to make a call. If it says no more than 1 die then it means no more than 1. So no melta, armourbane, ordnance.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/31 08:47:02
Subject: Cassian Draco HH Dread
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
It says no more than 1 die for pen rolls, Ord doesn't roll more than 1 die for pen rolls it's 2 seperate rolls that you choose the highest, this is why I ask
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/31 08:58:38
Subject: Cassian Draco HH Dread
|
 |
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot
|
Ord says roll two dice and choose the highest. No more than one die means no more than one. So ord would be roll 1 and take it
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/31 09:02:14
Subject: Cassian Draco HH Dread
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
Your missing the point, Ord is not rolling 2 dice for pen it's rolling 1x2 for pen picking the.highest Automatically Appended Next Post: We also have precedent for Ord working this way in the past, hence why I asked
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/31 09:03:08
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/31 10:29:16
Subject: Cassian Draco HH Dread
|
 |
Douglas Bader
|
Formosa wrote:Your missing the point, Ord is not rolling 2 dice for pen it's rolling 1x2 for pen picking the.highest
How exactly is rolling two dice and taking the highest one not rolling more than one die?
|
There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/31 10:37:11
Subject: Cassian Draco HH Dread
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
You know, I think this is one of the few times when GW wrote clearer rules than FW. Per the 4th ed Eldar codex, ordnance weapons were mentioned by name as not getting the extra dice when rolling against WS front or side armour. Where as the 3rd ed Necron codex, did specifically allow it against Monoliths.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/31 19:46:11
Subject: Cassian Draco HH Dread
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
No it was an faq that clarified it worked on moniliths if I remember correctly, baring any consensus I will treat it the same as the old monoliths rules and apply the same faq for precedent and simplicity sake, at least untill it's faq'd
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/31 21:02:00
Subject: Cassian Draco HH Dread
|
 |
Preacher of the Emperor
|
Peregrine wrote: Formosa wrote:Your missing the point, Ord is not rolling 2 dice for pen it's rolling 1x2 for pen picking the.highest
How exactly is rolling two dice and taking the highest one not rolling more than one die?
Because the OP is saying the armor pen roll for ordance is Strength + 1d6 (so one dice for the pen roll). You simply get to roll two seperate penetration results and choose the best one. Therefore, you are not actually rolling multiple dice on the armor pen roll. For the other examples, the armor pen roll is Strength + 2d6 (melta, armorbane, etc) and so would be reduced to Strength + d6.
I'll look at my HH books when I get home to grab the exact wording of the rule in question.
|
|
 |
 |
|