Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/20 01:46:48
Subject: Troops in Formations
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
|
Abandon, if a unit resides in part of the foc how does it not come from there when we're discussing the foc? Please explain the distinction between being in the slots and being from the troops selection?
You are trying to conflate the FOC with the army list section of the codex but they are not the same thing.
Abandon wrote:
Citation required here. I only see that you can use them for a formation. Every other rule regarding acquiring them just refers you the the codex. I've made up no rules. I in fact quoted the rule allowing you to use them in a formation. The rule makes no exception for how the unit is obtained. It says a unit of 5 genestealers can be used in a formation. No rule bars you from using units selected for your primary detachment in this fashion. This also happens to be the only rules supported way of doing it unless you can prove your statement that you can buy units specifically for a formation.
A Formation presents a collection of two or more units that fight alongside one another in a particular way. When you choose an army, you can take a Formation as a special form of Detachment. Unless otherwise stated, you can take any number of Formations in your army, and each is considered to be a completely separate Detachment, regardless of how many units make it up.
Each Formation will tell you what units you need to take and what, if any, options or restrictions apply to the units that make up that Formation. The army list entries for
each unit in the Formation (the units’ profiles, points values, unit types, unit composition, special rules, battlefield role etc.) can either be found in the codex corresponding to the Faction on the datasheet, or elsewhere in the dataslate itself.
Formation Points Values
Formations do not usually include a points value; just add up the points value of the individual units and options to find out the total points value of the Formation. Occasionally a Formation will require that you pay extra points in order to use it. In this case, the cost of the Formation is the total cost of the units plus any extra points the datasheet specifies you have to pay.
So a unit can be purchased for a primary and allied detachment from a codex as per the brb and codices and the units go in their respective detachments only but with formations they have to be purchased by way of individual slots in the other detachments?
You wouldn't accept that the formation doesn't require the individual unit selection as it specifies what units are in there?
Why do we ignore the rules on page 108 and 109 and make up rules about purchases going through primary detachments?
|
This message was edited 7 times. Last update was at 2014/04/20 02:15:30
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/20 03:17:57
Subject: Troops in Formations
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
First off, just so you know, I'm not just being obstinate for no reason nor am I filibustering or trolling and am in fact seriously discussing the issue. I know my line of thinking on this is far off from yours and I'm happy you've taken the time to try and understand my point of view even if in the end either of us is shown to be incorrect or we simply agree to disagree or however it goes I'm taking this moment to express my gratitude for your contributions to the discussion.
liturgies of blood wrote:Abandon, if a unit resides in part of the foc how does it not come from there when we're discussing the foc?
You are trying to conflate the FOC with the army list section of the codex but they are not the same thing. If where they are from on the foc is not the part of the foc they are from then what the hell does that line mean?
By the broadest sense of the words, in order to 'come from' the troops selection of the FOC a unit must originate there in some sense. That the unit comes to you army via the troops selection of the FOC is quite enough to define it as coming from the the troops selection of the FOC.
The army list in the codex and the FOC are not the same thing. Agreed.
liturgies of blood wrote:
Abandon wrote:
Citation required here. I only see that you can use them for a formation. Every other rule regarding acquiring them just refers you the the codex. I've made up no rules. I in fact quoted the rule allowing you to use them in a formation. The rule makes no exception for how the unit is obtained. It says a unit of 5 genestealers can be used in a formation. No rule bars you from using units selected for your primary detachment in this fashion. This also happens to be the only rules supported way of doing it unless you can prove your statement that you can buy units specifically for a formation.
A Formation presents a collection of two or more units that fight alongside one another in a particular way. When you choose an army, you can take a Formation as a special form of Detachment. Unless otherwise stated, you can take any number of Formations in your army, and each is considered to be a completely separate Detachment, regardless of how many units make it up.
Each Formation will tell you what units you need to take and what, if any, options or restrictions apply to the units that make up that Formation. The army list entries for
each unit in the Formation (the units’ profiles, points values, unit types, unit composition, special rules, battlefield role etc.) can either be found in the codex corresponding to the Faction on the datasheet, or elsewhere in the dataslate itself.
So a unit can be purchased for a primary and allied detachment from a codex as per the brb and codices and the units go in their respective detachments only but with formations they have to be purchased by way of individual slots in the other detachments?
You wouldn't accept that the formation doesn't require the individual unit selection as it specifies what units are in there?
-This still does not cover the purchasing of units that you intend to fill the formation(special detachment) with.
-The BRB in union with the codex has you select units using the FOC but this is not a function given to formations nor is any function detailed to replace it.
-No, I would not accept that from an RAW standpoint without a rule stating as much. It details what units it consists of but lists no function that would allow me to obtain those units in and of itself. The dataslate itself even tells us to see the army list entry for how to field the unit as I have quoted so it is entirely logical to determine that you must purchase the unit through the codex. The codex of course refers us to the BRB which then leads us then to the FOC.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
liturgies of blood wrote:
Formation Points Values
Formations do not usually include a points value; just add up the points value of the individual units and options to find out the total points value of the Formation. Occasionally a Formation will require that you pay extra points in order to use it. In this case, the cost of the Formation is the total cost of the units plus any extra points the datasheet specifies you have to pay.
Yes, the total points value of a formation can be determined... That is still not a means of obtaining those units. You decide to include an Endless Swarm Formation in your army. What's it's points value? You don't know until you purchase the units...
Automatically Appended Next Post:
liturgies of blood wrote:
Why do we ignore the rules on page 108 and 109 and make up rules about purchases going through primary detachments?
What rules on these pages do you believe I'm ignoring?
I'm permitted to purchase a unit of genestealers using a primary troops slot. I'm permitted to use a unit of genstealers in a formation.
"The unit can be used as part of any Detachment that corresponds to the Faction listed on the datasheet." -Tyranid Vanguard Rising Leviatan I, Army List entries
So I use the unit I selected using the FOC for the formation.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2014/04/20 04:08:18
-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/20 08:37:40
Subject: Troops in Formations
|
 |
Hacking Interventor
|
Have you got even the slightest shred of evidence that says you purchase units for a formation through a primary detachment slot?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/20 14:37:01
Subject: Troops in Formations
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
|
Formations are a detachment with a set list of units. You even admit the brb and codices tell us how to fill a detachment and we don't need any more "modified" permission to fill the formation beside that. The brb tells you how to purchase units and the formation rules clearly describe the only changes that we need.
As Uptopdownunder has asked where is the evidence for this by way of primary detachment purchases?
I don't know about you Abanbdon but that is a very narrow view IMHO. That the units are from the FOC that makes up your army list cannot be questioned. That they can be shown to come from the troops selection is similarly demonstrable.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/20 14:52:30
Subject: Troops in Formations
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Uptopdownunder wrote:Have you got even the slightest shred of evidence that says you purchase units for a formation through a primary detachment slot?
Have you got the slightest shred of evidence that IF YOU DO purchase them that way, they suddenly lose the status they gained from being purchased that way?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/20 15:33:25
Subject: Troops in Formations
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Unit1126PLL wrote:Uptopdownunder wrote:Have you got even the slightest shred of evidence that says you purchase units for a formation through a primary detachment slot?
Have you got the slightest shred of evidence that IF YOU DO purchase them that way, they suddenly lose the status they gained from being purchased that way?
That's such a hilarious question I'm not sure where to begin.
If the rules were different, it would be a different argument.
How about you prove a point using rules and then discuss the consequences of that, instead of jumping to a conclusion that you're right. You know, the actual productive way to have a discussion.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/20 15:35:03
Subject: Troops in Formations
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
rigeld2 wrote: Unit1126PLL wrote:Uptopdownunder wrote:Have you got even the slightest shred of evidence that says you purchase units for a formation through a primary detachment slot?
Have you got the slightest shred of evidence that IF YOU DO purchase them that way, they suddenly lose the status they gained from being purchased that way?
That's such a hilarious question I'm not sure where to begin.
If the rules were different, it would be a different argument.
How about you prove a point using rules and then discuss the consequences of that, instead of jumping to a conclusion that you're right. You know, the actual productive way to have a discussion.
I have shown how I can buy a formation using the Force Organization Chart for a primary detachment, making the troops selections for the Formation identical to the troops selection boxes on the Force Organization Chart for a primary detachment.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/20 15:40:58
Subject: Troops in Formations
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Unit1126PLL wrote:rigeld2 wrote: Unit1126PLL wrote:Uptopdownunder wrote:Have you got even the slightest shred of evidence that says you purchase units for a formation through a primary detachment slot?
Have you got the slightest shred of evidence that IF YOU DO purchase them that way, they suddenly lose the status they gained from being purchased that way?
That's such a hilarious question I'm not sure where to begin.
If the rules were different, it would be a different argument.
How about you prove a point using rules and then discuss the consequences of that, instead of jumping to a conclusion that you're right. You know, the actual productive way to have a discussion.
I have shown how I can buy a formation using the Force Organization Chart for a primary detachment, making the troops selections for the Formation identical to the troops selection boxes on the Force Organization Chart for a primary detachment.
No, you are demonstrably not filling the Formation Detachment slot on the FOC using slots on your primary detachment. It's almost like selections refers to - using actual rules - the boxes on the FOC.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/20 15:47:02
Subject: Troops in Formations
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
rigeld2 wrote:Unit1126PLL wrote:rigeld2 wrote: Unit1126PLL wrote:Uptopdownunder wrote:Have you got even the slightest shred of evidence that says you purchase units for a formation through a primary detachment slot?
Have you got the slightest shred of evidence that IF YOU DO purchase them that way, they suddenly lose the status they gained from being purchased that way?
That's such a hilarious question I'm not sure where to begin.
If the rules were different, it would be a different argument.
How about you prove a point using rules and then discuss the consequences of that, instead of jumping to a conclusion that you're right. You know, the actual productive way to have a discussion.
I have shown how I can buy a formation using the Force Organization Chart for a primary detachment, making the troops selections for the Formation identical to the troops selection boxes on the Force Organization Chart for a primary detachment.
No, you are demonstrably not filling the Formation Detachment slot on the FOC using slots on your primary detachment. It's almost like selections refers to - using actual rules - the boxes on the FOC.
What do you mean? Here, I will go through it again:
I have decided to make a Militarum Tempestus supplement army, because I like the models and having them as troops is cool.
1) I take a Tempestor Command Squad, because it's awesome to have orders. I also take a commissar to ensure that the orders are followed and to bolster the troops. This fills 2 HQ slots on the FOC, so I just need troops to have a primary detachment. Yay!
2) I'll go ahead and take 3 Scions squads - more than the mandatory, but having more scoring units. That doesn't hurt anything. I've got my troops now, and have a legal army! YAY!
3) To improve the mobility of all my units, I'll take a squadron of Vendettas for the squads, and a solo vendetta for the Command Squad, taking up 2 fast attack choices from my primary detachment. Now I'm pretty well-rounded, as far as the options in the codex go.
I realize now that I fulfill the requirements to field the Airborne Assault Formation, so I instead take 2 more scion squads and one more tempestor squad to fill out a primary detachment (buying one more squadron of valkyries to carry them as well, perhaps). I then make everything I just bought into a formation.
Although it is no longer the primary detachment, the force was selected from the Troops boxes in a primary detachment, and are therefore troops selections.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/20 15:53:55
Subject: Troops in Formations
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Unit1126PLL wrote:Although it is no longer the primary detachment, the force was selected from the Troops boxes in a primary detachment, and are therefore troops selections.
So you're saying the Formation can be fielded by itself? After all, if you can just purchase for one area and then "move" them over to bother detachment - a move which of course has no effect on the rules (according to you), Formations can be fielded by themselves!
No. To be part of the Formation it must be selected as part of the Formation detachment.
The Formation detachment demonstrably has no troop selections available.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/20 16:04:21
Subject: Troops in Formations
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
rigeld2 wrote: Unit1126PLL wrote:Although it is no longer the primary detachment, the force was selected from the Troops boxes in a primary detachment, and are therefore troops selections.
So you're saying the Formation can be fielded by itself? After all, if you can just purchase for one area and then "move" them over to bother detachment - a move which of course has no effect on the rules (according to you), Formations can be fielded by themselves!
No. To be part of the Formation it must be selected as part of the Formation detachment.
The Formation detachment demonstrably has no troop selections available.
Right, but if you notice I said I took another command squad and two scion squads as my primary.
And the troops were still taken as Troops Selections when they were initially inducted into the list. What their current status is, is irrelevant. Just like how units such as Deathwing units may be selected as troops do not suddenly go back to Elites just because Belial was killed.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/20 16:10:49
Subject: Troops in Formations
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Unit1126PLL wrote:What their current status is, is irrelevant. Just like how units such as Deathwing units may be selected as troops do not suddenly go back to Elites just because Belial was killed.
Okay, so I take Belial and 3 squads of terminators, then decide to go with just a Libby HQ and a bunch of tac squads in addition. To the Termies.
According to your argument, the Termies are still troops.
Wat. Please, for the love of god, show some rules support. If the units are in a Formation detachment, they are demonstrably not Troop selections. Using your argument, since you purchased everything as part of a Primary detachment originally, please explain why you need a Primary detachment and why a Formation alone does not make a legal list.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/20 16:14:48
Subject: Troops in Formations
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
rigeld2 wrote: Unit1126PLL wrote:What their current status is, is irrelevant. Just like how units such as Deathwing units may be selected as troops do not suddenly go back to Elites just because Belial was killed.
Okay, so I take Belial and 3 squads of terminators, then decide to go with just a Libby HQ and a bunch of tac squads in addition. To the Termies.
According to your argument, the Termies are still troops.
Wat. Please, for the love of god, show some rules support. If the units are in a Formation detachment, they are demonstrably not Troop selections. Using your argument, since you purchased everything as part of a Primary detachment originally, please explain why you need a Primary detachment and why a Formation alone does not make a legal list.
Honestly I've been wondering that question myself. Why precisely a formation cannot also be a primary detachment, or rather why you must take a primary detachment if you instead can take a formation detachment.
I don't have the BRB on me ATM, but I suppose it says something in there like "Every army is made up of a primary detachment" or something that makes a primary detachment mandatory to have an army. Automatically Appended Next Post: Having a quick look, I see nowhere that states an army must have a Primary Detachment.
Although I do see that, prior to formations, it would be impossible to have an army without one.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/04/20 16:21:34
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/20 16:45:24
Subject: Troops in Formations
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Now, cite permission to move units around on the FOC while building your army, or that order of purchase matters.
Because, using your argument and nothing but the BRB and DA codex, you've created an 18 scoring unit army (6 Tacs, 3 Termies all combat squadded). Or a GK army without the Draigo/Crowe/Coteaz "tax". Or a Nid army with 5 Troop Tervigons. Automatically Appended Next Post: Aside from a meaningless example of what you're saying (please don't bother repeating it) show some actual rules allowing it.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/04/20 16:46:39
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/20 16:46:49
Subject: Troops in Formations
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
rigeld2 wrote:Now, cite permission to move units around on the FOC while building your army, or that order of purchase matters.
Because, using your argument and nothing but the BRB and DA codex, you've created an 18 scoring unit army (6 Tacs, 3 Termies all combat squadded). Or a GK army without the Draigo/Crowe/Coteaz "tax". Or a Nid army with 5 Troop Tervigons.
I'll go ahead and concede that troops in formations are not scoring. I don't really care at this point...
I'm much more excited about the ability to field only storm ravens and storm talons as an army, with nothing else XD
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/20 16:51:40
Subject: Troops in Formations
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Which you can't do as there's no Warlord.
And even if you find a formation with HQ units in there, they're not an HQ choice from your Primary detachment.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/20 18:29:22
Subject: Troops in Formations
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
rigeld2 wrote:Which you can't do as there's no Warlord.
And even if you find a formation with HQ units in there, they're not an HQ choice from your Primary detachment.
Fine. Add one inquisitor in a Valkyrie and then field a crapton of storm ravens and storm talons.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/20 22:53:28
Subject: Troops in Formations
|
 |
Hacking Interventor
|
The structure of your army is linked to the mission being played.
The rulebook contains the standard FOC for the Eternal War missions, so if you are playing any of those missions you must have a primary detachment.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/20 23:34:12
Subject: Troops in Formations
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
liturgies of blood wrote:Formations are a detachment with a set list of units. You even admit the brb and codices tell us how to fill a detachment and we don't need any more "modified" permission to fill the formation beside that. The brb tells you how to purchase units and the formation rules clearly describe the only changes that we need.
As Uptopdownunder has asked where is the evidence for this by way of primary detachment purchases?
I don't know about you Abanbdon but that is a very narrow view IMHO. That the units are from the FOC that makes up your army list cannot be questioned. That they can be shown to come from the troops selection is similarly demonstrable.
The BRB and codex only tell you how to purchase units for a primary, secondary, allied and fortification detachment. No way to purchase units for a 'special form of detachment' that has no slots and no function provided in the dataslate means the only way to get them is to use the slots that are already available and then the dataslates permission use those units in a formation. A conclusion I reached one day more through process of elimination then direct statement of the rules when I was trying to find the actual process of getting formations together and finding a noted lack of information about the process. They tell you what formations are composed of and that you can take formations and that had me thinking just as you do, that the units come with the formation when you take it. Its a bit of an assumption but seemed pretty safe. Then I read lines like "The unit can be used as part of any Detachment that corresponds to the Faction listed on the dataslate" which would be rendered meaningless if the units simply came with formations and eventually the process I've explained was the only way I could find that observed all the rules and allowed them all to serve a purpose at the same time. Yeah it looks pretty narrow and counter-intuitive but that is often the case with strict RAW and if it's to convoluted to be worth considering for most I perfectly understand. Not everyone likes exploring rabbit holes
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/04/20 23:36:30
-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/20 23:56:50
Subject: Troops in Formations
|
 |
Hacking Interventor
|
How can you have a case of strict RAW when what you're talking about isn't written anywhere?
Provide a rule that says units for formations are purchased by passing through via a primary detachment slot.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/21 00:44:53
Subject: Troops in Formations
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
Uptopdownunder wrote:How can you have a case of strict RAW when what you're talking about isn't written anywhere?
Provide a rule that says units for formations are purchased by passing through via a primary detachment slot.
You can use primary detachment slots to select units for you army? Yes.
"One box on the chart allows you to make one selection from that part of your army list in the relevant codex." BRB, page 109
You are permitted to use units from the codex in formations? Yes.
"An army list entry provides all of the relevant information to field a single unit in games of Warhammer 40,000 ... The unit can be used as part of any Detachment that corresponds to the Faction listed on the dataslate" Tyranid Vanguard Rising Leviathan I
Looks like you permitted to use the unit in this way, I see no limitation concerning where you got the unit...
Now if you care to quote your own rules support that actually tells you how you obtain these formation units as I've been asking for...
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/04/21 00:46:37
-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/21 00:50:50
Subject: Troops in Formations
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
|
The formation rules show it Abandon....
You are still not obeying how to fill the formation. You fill it as a detachment on it's own as per page 108's rules on filling detachments along with the formation rules.
You have NO permission to play a shell game of units between detachments as you are describes. Automatically Appended Next Post: That the unit could be used by any other detachment is not a relevant concern. It has nothing to do with the purchasing of the unit only that in other cases it could be used in different detachments.
Tyranid 3 where a formation consists of all of the other formations put together is a good example as those units are in a formation within a formation or as you like to put it being " used as part of any Detachment that corresponds to the Faction listed on the dataslate""
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/04/21 00:59:37
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/21 01:04:45
Subject: Troops in Formations
|
 |
Hacking Interventor
|
Abandon wrote:
You can use primary detachment slots to select units for you army? Yes.
"One box on the chart allows you to make one selection from that part of your army list in the relevant codex." BRB, page 109
No. You can use primary detachment Force Organisation Chart slots to purchase units for your primary detachment, nothing else.
I've posted how the units of formations are purchased at least twice.
There is a simple list for each formation and your weird fantasy of the formation taking up slots in the primary FOC just simply doesn't exist anywhere.
|
This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2014/04/21 01:08:35
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/21 01:11:55
Subject: Troops in Formations
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
liturgies of blood wrote:The formation rules show it Abandon....
You are still not obeying how to fill the formation. You fill it as a detachment on it's own as per page 108's rules on filling detachments along with the formation rules.
You have NO permission to play a shell game of units between detachments as you are describes.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
That the unit could be used by any other detachment is not a relevant concern. It has nothing to do with the purchasing of the unit only that in other cases it could be used in different detachments.
Tyranid 3 where a formation consists of all of the other formations put together is a good example as those units are in a formation within a formation or as you like to put it being " used as part of any Detachment that corresponds to the Faction listed on the dataslate""
There's no rules for filling a detachment with no slots.
|
-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/21 01:14:37
Subject: Troops in Formations
|
 |
Hacking Interventor
|
Abandon wrote:
There's no rules for filling a detachment with no slots.
Yes there are, they are called formations, which is a special type of detachment.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/21 02:13:09
Subject: Troops in Formations
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
wait a sec... Liturgies and Uptop
I've been going off of rigelds 'their not on the FOC' argument and I'm suddenly not sure I know where you stand on this point. Do you believe formation units are represented on the FOC?
|
-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/21 02:16:47
Subject: Troops in Formations
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Abandon wrote:wait a sec... Liturgies and Uptop
I've been going off of rigelds ' their not on the FOC' argument and I'm suddenly not sure I know where you stand on this point. Do you believe formation units are represented on the FOC?
Randomly clicked view post - so you're literally going off of an argument that I corrected myself on after the first page?
Wow dude. I'm not sure what to say. I'm flattered? Formations are on the FOC. They are not, however, filled from selections in the FOC.
It'd behoove you to read the entire thread and all the posts instead of just the first couple.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/21 02:16:59
Subject: Troops in Formations
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
|
Nobody is arguing that formations are not part of the FOC. The rules even disagree with that stance.
The issue is that there are no slots in the formation detachments.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/21 02:19:34
Subject: Troops in Formations
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
rigeld2 wrote: Abandon wrote:wait a sec... Liturgies and Uptop
I've been going off of rigelds ' their not on the FOC' argument and I'm suddenly not sure I know where you stand on this point. Do you believe formation units are represented on the FOC?
Randomly clicked view post - so you're literally going off of an argument that I corrected myself on after the first page?
Wow dude. I'm not sure what to say. I'm flattered? Formations are on the FOC. They are not, however, filled from selections in the FOC.
It'd behoove you to read the entire thread and all the posts instead of just the first couple.
Units rigeld. I was refering to the untis which we have been discussing if you would read the posts. Automatically Appended Next Post: liturgies of blood wrote:Nobody is arguing that formations are not part of the FOC. The rules even disagree with that stance.
The issue is that there are no slots in the formation detachments.
Just want to be clear on that. No Formation units on the FOC then.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/04/21 02:21:23
-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/21 02:30:18
Subject: Troops in Formations
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Abandon wrote:
Just want to be clear on that. No Formation units on the FOC then.
Not a belief. Absolute rules based fact.
I'll go back to not clicking view post. Sorry I misread you.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
|