Switch Theme:

Skyshield Headache  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Raging Ravener





HELP!, I need to know if a Barrage weapon is fired at a unit underneath a Skyshield (whilst still being within LoS and range of weapon) does it also hit the models on top that are still effectively under the template?... As the rules for multiple levels are under 'Ruins' and the Skyshield is not a 'building' or 'ruin' but 'Unique' terrain that is 'Open' terrain on the top would all models under the template be hit and or do the models underneath gain a cover save from the blast... Also what cover save is given from the top furlings (closed), as the Skyshield has neither battlements, is not barricades, building or a defence line and once again is counted as 'Open' terrain on top... If it is obscuring cover could they get a +2 for going to ground...

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/04/21 04:45:09


6500pts
5500pts
5500pts
1500pts
Sons of Orar 2000pts
1850pts
2500pts
Knights 1850pts
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

If a model is under the Blast Marker then it is hit.

The rules for ruins do not come into play at the Skyshield is not a ruin.

You hit the models on top of and underneath the Skyshield.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






RAW, DeathReaper has it.

HIWPI, I'd treat it like a ruin.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





 Cheexsta wrote:
RAW, DeathReaper has it.

HIWPI, I'd treat it like a ruin.


Yes. I would really like to know what was going through their heads when they decided to label it terrain instead of ruins/building/structure.
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Those are all Terrain.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in ca
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta




the cover save is debated, but most seem to settle for a 4+ cover save from the walls. As it's not area terrain, you only get +1 for going to ground on the shield.

just hit the models on top of the shield, don't be that guy.


 
   
Made in au
Raging Ravener





I'm just trying to work it all out fairly, I think it needs to be in a new FAQ... I'm convinced that you would choose either the top or the bottom for things like Battlecannons, some could argue a Mortar for example would not have the angle of fire and hence not be able to target lower models... But as I'm about to enter into a massive tournament, I wanna know if I'm going to be refused the right to shoot at the underneath models, can't just single certain weapons out based on how they could possibly fire...

6500pts
5500pts
5500pts
1500pts
Sons of Orar 2000pts
1850pts
2500pts
Knights 1850pts
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Your best bet then is to check with the TO, as he's the only one who could tell you how he will rule it.

 
   
Made in au
Boom! Leman Russ Commander





Brisbane, Australia

sirlynchmob wrote:
the cover save is debated, but most seem to settle for a 4+ cover save from the walls. As it's not area terrain, you only get +1 for going to ground on the shield.

just hit the models on top of the shield, don't be that guy.



3+ cover save, because it's a fortification? That's how we play it.


 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Lictor





Idaho

HIWPI: you only hit the top lvl with barrage, as otherwise it would rate right up there with other silly things that are RAW but obviously not right.

Though is there an argument to be made that if models under itget hit like ones on it, then they get the 4++ as well?

2200
4500
3500 
   
Made in au
Boom! Leman Russ Commander





Brisbane, Australia

 Steel-W0LF wrote:
HIWPI: you only hit the top lvl with barrage, as otherwise it would rate right up there with other silly things that are RAW but obviously not right.

Though is there an argument to be made that if models under itget hit like ones on it, then they get the 4++ as well?


No, but I don't think there's a RAW argument, only an RAI to be made here. We simply don't have enough rules to understand the skyshield.

 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

 Steel-W0LF wrote:
Though is there an argument to be made that if models under itget hit like ones on it, then they get the 4++ as well?

Cover from barrage is determined from the center of the marker. So yes, if you place the marker over the shyshield, models underneath would receive a cover save as the floor of the pad is between them and the center of the marker.

 
   
Made in us
Killer Klaivex




Oceanside, CA

 insaniak wrote:
 Steel-W0LF wrote:
Though is there an argument to be made that if models under itget hit like ones on it, then they get the 4++ as well?

Cover from barrage is determined from the center of the marker. So yes, if you place the marker over the shyshield, models underneath would receive a cover save as the floor of the pad is between them and the center of the marker.


So the Wyvern unit dropping 12 blasts with re-rolls to wound and ignore cover should clear out that sky shield pretty quick?

-Matt

 thedarkavenger wrote:

So. I got a game with this list in. First game in at least 3-4 months.
 
   
Made in au
Boom! Leman Russ Commander





Brisbane, Australia

 HawaiiMatt wrote:
 insaniak wrote:
 Steel-W0LF wrote:
Though is there an argument to be made that if models under itget hit like ones on it, then they get the 4++ as well?

Cover from barrage is determined from the center of the marker. So yes, if you place the marker over the shyshield, models underneath would receive a cover save as the floor of the pad is between them and the center of the marker.


So the Wyvern unit dropping 12 blasts with re-rolls to wound and ignore cover should clear out that sky shield pretty quick?

-Matt


No, since the sky shield gives a 4++.

 
   
Made in ca
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta




 insaniak wrote:
 Steel-W0LF wrote:
Though is there an argument to be made that if models under itget hit like ones on it, then they get the 4++ as well?

Cover from barrage is determined from the center of the marker. So yes, if you place the marker over the shyshield, models underneath would receive a cover save as the floor of the pad is between them and the center of the marker.


if you place the marker over the skyshield, models under it would not be in LOS so no wounds would be allocated to it.

No matter what else, you either hit the top, or the bottom. wounds will not be allocated to both.

 
   
Made in au
Boom! Leman Russ Commander





Brisbane, Australia

sirlynchmob wrote:
 insaniak wrote:
 Steel-W0LF wrote:
Though is there an argument to be made that if models under itget hit like ones on it, then they get the 4++ as well?

Cover from barrage is determined from the center of the marker. So yes, if you place the marker over the shyshield, models underneath would receive a cover save as the floor of the pad is between them and the center of the marker.


if you place the marker over the skyshield, models under it would not be in LOS so no wounds would be allocated to it.

No matter what else, you either hit the top, or the bottom. wounds will not be allocated to both.


LoS has no impact on determining cover from a barrage.

 
   
Made in ca
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta




 Scipio Africanus wrote:
sirlynchmob wrote:
 insaniak wrote:
 Steel-W0LF wrote:
Though is there an argument to be made that if models under itget hit like ones on it, then they get the 4++ as well?

Cover from barrage is determined from the center of the marker. So yes, if you place the marker over the shyshield, models underneath would receive a cover save as the floor of the pad is between them and the center of the marker.


if you place the marker over the skyshield, models under it would not be in LOS so no wounds would be allocated to it.

No matter what else, you either hit the top, or the bottom. wounds will not be allocated to both.


LoS has no impact on determining cover from a barrage.


Out of site, if you can't draw LOS of site to the marker, you can't allocate wounds to them as the wound pool empties.

there is no way to wound models on the top and bottom of the skyshield with one marker.

 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Lictor





Idaho

sirlynchmob wrote:
 Scipio Africanus wrote:
sirlynchmob wrote:
 insaniak wrote:
 Steel-W0LF wrote:
Though is there an argument to be made that if models under itget hit like ones on it, then they get the 4++ as well?

Cover from barrage is determined from the center of the marker. So yes, if you place the marker over the shyshield, models underneath would receive a cover save as the floor of the pad is between them and the center of the marker.


if you place the marker over the skyshield, models under it would not be in LOS so no wounds would be allocated to it.

No matter what else, you either hit the top, or the bottom. wounds will not be allocated to both.


LoS has no impact on determining cover from a barrage.


Out of site, if you can't draw LOS of site to the marker, you can't allocate wounds to them as the wound pool empties.

there is no way to wound models on the top and bottom of the skyshield with one marker.


I hadn't thought of that. But this is true and might be why they never bothered to flesh out the rule.

In ruins, there are ruins where if the marker hits one level, models on a different level could still be under the marker and in LOS of the center hole. So they add the bit about only hitting the top level under the hole.

In other buildings and terrain. If LOS is blocked from the center hole, no wounds could be allocated. So you could only hit the upper level.

I hadn't thought about having to check LOS from the center hole and that solves the whole issue.

2200
4500
3500 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Except Barrage weapons do not need Line of Sight as they can fire indirectly.

Therefore you can wound models both on top of and under the Skyshield with a barrage weapon.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 DeathReaper wrote:
Except Barrage weapons do not need Line of Sight as they can fire indirectly.

Therefore you can wound models both on top of and under the Skyshield with a barrage weapon.

Permission to fire != permission to allocate wounds.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

rigeld2 wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
Except Barrage weapons do not need Line of Sight as they can fire indirectly.

Therefore you can wound models both on top of and under the Skyshield with a barrage weapon.

Permission to fire != permission to allocate wounds.

So the rule is useless?

No thanks.

I'll take the interpretation that allows a barrage to be fired at and kill guys in the target unit even if the unit is out of Line of Sight.

Otherwise things like Hive guard and the Tau missiles that do not need Line of Sight are useless when firing at targets out of Line of Sight s well, and why give them the ability to fire at a unit out of Line of Sight if you can not wound them, it is just wasted ink if that is the case.

If they can fire at a target unit out of line of sight they will be able to wound and kill models in the target unit that are out of Line of sight. That is the only way that provision is actually not wasted ink.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in ca
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta




 DeathReaper wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
Except Barrage weapons do not need Line of Sight as they can fire indirectly.

Therefore you can wound models both on top of and under the Skyshield with a barrage weapon.

Permission to fire != permission to allocate wounds.

So the rule is useless?

No thanks.

I'll take the interpretation that allows a barrage to be fired at and kill guys in the target unit even if the unit is out of Line of Sight.

Otherwise things like Hive guard and the Tau missiles that do not need Line of Sight are useless when firing at targets out of Line of Sight s well, and why give them the ability to fire at a unit out of Line of Sight if you can not wound them, it is just wasted ink if that is the case.

If they can fire at a target unit out of line of sight they will be able to wound and kill models in the target unit that are out of Line of sight. That is the only way that provision is actually not wasted ink.



Their saying you can be out of LOS from the firing unit, because you use LOS from the center of the marker.

LOS from the marker allows things to be hit and wounded from the marker, not the firing unit which may be totally out of LOS.

barrage weapons don't need LOS to fire, but a blast marker is not a barrage weapon, it uses LOS to hit and wound.

This is what the rule is going for.

 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 DeathReaper wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
Except Barrage weapons do not need Line of Sight as they can fire indirectly.

Therefore you can wound models both on top of and under the Skyshield with a barrage weapon.

Permission to fire != permission to allocate wounds.

So the rule is useless?

No thanks.

I'll take the interpretation that allows a barrage to be fired at and kill guys in the target unit even if the unit is out of Line of Sight.

Otherwise things like Hive guard and the Tau missiles that do not need Line of Sight are useless when firing at targets out of Line of Sight s well, and why give them the ability to fire at a unit out of Line of Sight if you can not wound them, it is just wasted ink if that is the case.

If they can fire at a target unit out of line of sight they will be able to wound and kill models in the target unit that are out of Line of sight. That is the only way that provision is actually not wasted ink.

Not at all true. But we've had this debate before (and I thought you were on the opposite side before) so I'm going to ball this up and throw it into the giant bag of "I'll stop caring." Have a great day!

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Lictor





Idaho

 DeathReaper wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
Except Barrage weapons do not need Line of Sight as they can fire indirectly.

Therefore you can wound models both on top of and under the Skyshield with a barrage weapon.

Permission to fire != permission to allocate wounds.

So the rule is useless?

No thanks.

I'll take the interpretation that allows a barrage to be fired at and kill guys in the target unit even if the unit is out of Line of Sight.

Otherwise things like Hive guard and the Tau missiles that do not need Line of Sight are useless when firing at targets out of Line of Sight s well, and why give them the ability to fire at a unit out of Line of Sight if you can not wound them, it is just wasted ink if that is the case.

If they can fire at a target unit out of line of sight they will be able to wound and kill models in the target unit that are out of Line of sight. That is the only way that provision is actually not wasted ink.


You are confusing LOS required to fire, which barrage do not use, with LOS to wound.

Barrage does use LOS to wound, but with its own special rule.
LOS to wound is drawn from the center of the blast marker. If you can't draw LOS from the center of the marker a wound can't be allocated.

Now please demonstrate how you place the marker on top of the landing pad and draw LOS from the marker to models under the landing pad.

2200
4500
3500 
   
Made in gb
Nimble Mounted Yeoman




UK

 Steel-W0LF wrote:

Now please demonstrate how you place the marker on top of the landing pad and draw LOS from the marker to models under the landing pad.


Well, you can model the hatches in the pad as open with ladders down


But yeah. Rule seems to be as described with no problems- no way to wound models on both top and bottom of the pad.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 Steel-W0LF wrote:
You are confusing LOS required to fire, which barrage do not use, with LOS to wound.

I am not confusing anything.

If you do not need Line of Sight to target a unit with a blast marker with the barrage quality, but you still need Line of Sight to allocate wounds, then the rule that lets you target a unit out of Line of Sight is wasted ink.

All of the rules in the BRB do something. They do not write rules that do nothing.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in ca
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta




 DeathReaper wrote:
 Steel-W0LF wrote:
You are confusing LOS required to fire, which barrage do not use, with LOS to wound.

I am not confusing anything.

If you do not need Line of Sight to target a unit with a blast marker with the barrage quality, but you still need Line of Sight to allocate wounds, then the rule that lets you target a unit out of Line of Sight is wasted ink.

All of the rules in the BRB do something. They do not write rules that do nothing.


and the shot comes from the center of the blast marker, instead of the firing model.

so all the rules for LOS and wound allocation apply.

Plus if you want to be picky, the models under the shield are out of range as well from the small blasts (1.5"). and almost always from even the large blast as it needs more than 2" just to get to the top of most models. so you might get one. but then you can't see it anyways.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/04/21 17:49:29


 
   
Made in gb
Nimble Mounted Yeoman




UK

 DeathReaper wrote:
 Steel-W0LF wrote:
You are confusing LOS required to fire, which barrage do not use, with LOS to wound.

I am not confusing anything.

If you do not need Line of Sight to target a unit with a blast marker with the barrage quality, but you still need Line of Sight to allocate wounds, then the rule that lets you target a unit out of Line of Sight is wasted ink.

All of the rules in the BRB do something. They do not write rules that do nothing.


You're still getting it wrong.

You normally need LoS to target and fire a weapon. Barrage allows you to ignore this.

Wounding with barrage treats the direction of the shot as being from the center of the blast marker- so you measure LoS for wounding from it. If you can't see the model from the centre of the blast marker, you can't wound it.

Two distinct and different cases.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

That interpretation breaks Tau missiles and Hive guard.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in ca
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta




 DeathReaper wrote:
That interpretation breaks Tau missiles and Hive guard.


did they update the wording for the hive guard?

But either way saying barrages breaks them, that's just like saying because ork boys can't shoot models out of LOS, that interpretation breaks Tau missiles and Hive guard.

they are two totally different situations. barrages use the center hole for LOS, just like any other model uses it's "eyes" for LOS.

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: