Switch Theme:

Can a Land Raider fire both LasCannons at a vehcle it is wider then?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Brainless Servitor





Delaware

The way I play my land raiders is that they can't fire both lascannons at a model that it is wider than. So it could probably fire both of them at a side of a Leman Russ, but not at a Leman Russ that is facing it head on.

Is this the right way to play it?
   
Made in gb
Nimble Mounted Yeoman




UK

Depends how far away the target is.

AKAIK, the pivot on the sponsons allows it to point both just past the corner of each track, and those firing lines will cross eventually.
   
Made in ca
Furious Fire Dragon




True line of sight, if you are far enough away you could angle your weapons in slightly to be able to fire on the vehicle.
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Anacortes

Danny1995. Kind of nailed it. See the lascannon with a small angle in from both sides will converge on each other depending on where you mounted them front or back is around 11 to 12 inches for the front. Not sure about the rear mounting you can just measure it out. Most definitely if it's more than say 16 inches away.

In a dog eat dog be a cat. 
   
Made in us
Screaming Shining Spear





Central Pennsylvania

All comes down to TLoS. If the weapon can be directed at the model and 'see' it...it can fire.

Farseer Faenyin
7,100 pts Yme-Loc Eldar(Apoc Included) / 5,700 pts (Non-Apoc)
Record for 6th Edition- Eldar: 25-4-2
Record for 7th Edition -
Eldar: 0-0-0 (Yes, I feel it is that bad)

Battlefleet Gothic: 2,750 pts of Craftworld Eldar
X-wing(Focusing on Imperials): CR90, 6 TIE Fighters, 4 TIE Interceptors, TIE Bomber, TIE Advanced, 4 X-wings, 3 A-wings, 3 B-wings, Y-wing, Z-95
Battletech: Battlion and Command Lance of 3025 Mechs(painted as 21st Rim Worlds) 
   
Made in us
Abhorrent Grotesque Aberration





You might want to just go ahead and measure where that point crosses ahead of time...

------------------
"Why me?" Gideon begged, falling to his knees.
"Why not?" - Asdrubael Vect 
   
Made in gb
Highlord with a Blackstone Fortress






Adrift within the vortex of my imagination.

That will only tell you how to converge fire to a point. When firing at a vehicle you get a lot of leeway due to its width.

n'oublie jamais - It appears I now have to highlight this again.

It is by tea alone I set my mind in motion. By the juice of the brew my thoughts aquire speed, my mind becomes strained, the strain becomes a warning. It is by tea alone I set my mind in motion. 
   
Made in us
Hellish Haemonculus






Boskydell, IL

Of course units of infantry, like vehicles, will have a wider footprint than a single model. In practice, I've found that my LR sponsons can both hit the same target more often than not. In almost every situation where they CAN'T, it's because I had the LR pivoted to embark/disembark troops.

Welcome to the Freakshow!

(Leadership-shenanigans for Eldar of all types.) 
   
Made in us
The Marine Standing Behind Marneus Calgar





Upstate, New York

On the topic of TLOS and TL guns, do we check from either one? Or do both barrels have to have LOS to the target?

HIWPI has always been you just need one, but thought I’d ask.

   
Made in us
Hellish Haemonculus






Boskydell, IL

 Nevelon wrote:
On the topic of TLOS and TL guns, do we check from either one? Or do both barrels have to have LOS to the target?

HIWPI has always been you just need one, but thought I’d ask.


In the case of side-by-side TL weapons, I'd check from the midpoint between the two. If there are any where the weapon is TL but separated across the vehicle (by an entire wingspan or somesuch) then I would say both have to have TLOS.

Welcome to the Freakshow!

(Leadership-shenanigans for Eldar of all types.) 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

If a model was positioned at the corner of the building, so it was peeking out with only half of it's head visible, would you claim that the model does not have Line of Sight simply because only one 'eye' is visible.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/05/08 01:02:04


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

 Jimsolo wrote:
 Nevelon wrote:
On the topic of TLOS and TL guns, do we check from either one? Or do both barrels have to have LOS to the target?

HIWPI has always been you just need one, but thought I’d ask.


In the case of side-by-side TL weapons, I'd check from the midpoint between the two. If there are any where the weapon is TL but separated across the vehicle (by an entire wingspan or somesuch) then I would say both have to have TLOS.

The Gauss Flayer Array on the Necron Ghost Ark only needs to draw line of sight from one of the barrels per the FAQ.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut





Ottawa, Canada

It also depends on whether the lascannons are built on the front or rear doors. On the front doors I think the blind spot is only 7" in front of the Land Raider if I'm remember correctly (haven't used one in years). Past that both lascannons can see.

If the lascannons are modelled on the rear doors then the blind spot would be larger.
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Ghaz,
Thanks, I knew I saw it in a Frequently Asked Question but couldn't find the right one!

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

I think if the LR is facing directly at the vehicle in question it will always be able to draw LoS with both lascannons no matter the distance. I don't think any current vehicle has the required dimensions to make it impossible. If the LR isn't directly facing the vehicle, it is very likely one of the sponsons won't have the LoS.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






JinxDragon wrote:
Ghaz,
Thanks, I knew I saw it in a Frequently Asked Question but couldn't find the right one!


Also the taurox prime would be unable to hit anything that was not directly in front of it with its t-l Hotshot volley gun/Autocannons.

Between the flayer array FAQ and models like the Prime and a one or 2 others(a common form of vendetta sees the lascannons one to a side in the nose, I just adjusted the single lascannon that camme with the model and added a sentinel lascannon barrel so have a blind spot to the left) we are reasonably sure any barrel in a single weapon system can be "the barrel" you sight along; if you have LOS with 1 barrel, you can shoot with the weapon.

 Grey Templar wrote:
I think if the LR is facing directly at the vehicle in question it will always be able to draw LoS with both lascannons no matter the distance. I don't think any current vehicle has the required dimensions to make it impossible. If the LR isn't directly facing the vehicle, it is very likely one of the sponsons won't have the LoS.


Don't have the models directly in front of me to check but an Ork warbuggy and/or wartrakk might have just such dimensions while just over an inch away from the front of the Landraider, being super thin and short(not too much bigger than a Bike)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/05/08 02:57:38


This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

Possibly, although I think you'll still have at least the tiniest sliver of the back of the buggy in LoS.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Hellish Haemonculus






Boskydell, IL

Vehicles that seemed like they might be small enough to fit in a Land Raider's forward blind spot:

IG Sentinel, Rogue Trader Dreadnought, (Isn't there a Sisters of Battle walker? That's pretty small, isn't it...), Forgeworld Grot Tank (?), Eldar war walker.

I don't know the dimensions of all these for sure, but they seem like they might be small enough to pull it off.

Welcome to the Freakshow!

(Leadership-shenanigans for Eldar of all types.) 
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

Depending on if the Land Raider sponsons are fore or aft I imagine a Rhino could pull it off parked nose to tail with the Land Raider.
   
Made in us
Sword-Wielding Bloodletter of Khorne





Killeen

Page 72 of the BRB, arc of sight 1 is for LR, answers this exact question.

“Idleness is the enemy of the soul; and therefore the brethren ought to be employed in manual labor at certain times, at others, in devout reading.”
― St. Benedict of Nursia, The Rule of Saint Benedict

The Mendicants Polaris, Chaos Warband, Deviant Sect of Word Bearers  
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




So if a rhino were positioned such that the front arc of the vehicle wasn't in LoS of either Las, but the back of the rhino is... would it then get a cover save because you can't draw line of sight to the Arc of the vehicle the weapons are in?
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






chanceafs wrote:
So if a rhino were positioned such that the front arc of the vehicle wasn't in LoS of either Las, but the back of the rhino is... would it then get a cover save because you can't draw line of sight to the Arc of the vehicle the weapons are in?


Yes, in fact if just the front itself is out of view you get the save.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Hellish Haemonculus






Boskydell, IL

chanceafs wrote:
So if a rhino were positioned such that the front arc of the vehicle wasn't in LoS of either Las, but the back of the rhino is... would it then get a cover save because you can't draw line of sight to the Arc of the vehicle the weapons are in?


What kind of hideous Lovecraftian board do you play on where your Land Raider is IN the vehicle's front arc, but your weapons can hit it's REAR arc?

Welcome to the Freakshow!

(Leadership-shenanigans for Eldar of all types.) 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





That's trivial.

Rhino at a slight angle with the front near the front of the Land Raider.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




I'd just like to mention that if you do fire both las cannons from a land raider's sponsons at a target that the angles can sometimes cause you to strike the side armor as opposed to the front armor of the vehicle (if it was facing you head on).

This confers a +1 cover save to the target vehicle as you are striking a side of the vehicle that is not facing you.
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Yes, that was mentioned earlier.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Daemonic Dreadnought





Eye of Terror

This is why, when you model land raiders, you put the guns on the front.


   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: