Switch Theme:

New Space Wolves Codex - how many relics can a HQ take?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
The Hive Mind





 karlosovic wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
You may do A and B.

This is permitted by:
You may do A, B, and/or C

Agreed?
Absolutely not!!!!!

Then you have failed to understand how and/or works and you can't debate this in good faith. Have a good day.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity





East Coast, USA

Disagree.

You may swap (something) for one of the following.

What is something? It is bolt pistol and/or chainsword.

I'm only given permission to perform the swap action once. I'm then told what I can give as a part of the swap. I'm then told what I receive as a part of the swap (one of the following).

Where is your permission to perform the swap action twice? It's not in the and/or wording. That tells me what I can swap as the and/or items are the direct objects of the swap action.

Check out my website. Editorials! Tutorials! Fun Times To Be Had! - kriswallminis.com


https://www.thingiverse.com/KrisWall/about


Completed Trades With: ultraatma 
   
Made in au
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout





Sydney

We may as well give up on them, Kriswall, as they seem resolutely determined to misunderstand plain English

- 10,000+ (since 1994)
- 5000 (since 1996)
Harlequins/Ynnari -2500
Empire - 3000 (Current build)
Dwarves - Old and desperately in need of updating 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Kriswall wrote:
Disagree.

Another fundamental failure to understand and/or.

The example I gave had nothing to do with the "one of the following". At all. It's the first part in a multi part question to discover where our understandings differ.
If you disagree with the scenario I proposed you have failed to understand how and/or works and therefore can't continue the discussion in good faith. Have a nice day.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User




My question is is there a rule that prevents multiple selection? I've always thought that each selection from the units wargear/equipment choice was an independent selection dependent on meeting the criteria and paying the points
Just wondering if is a specific rule regarding this? I can find sod all in this 7th rulebook rules appear to be all over the place
Cheers
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

 karlosovic wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
You may do A and B.

This is permitted by:
You may do A, B, and/or C

Agreed?
Absolutely not!!!!!

You may "swap" A or B, in either case for "one"

you may also swap A AND B (call it "c" if you want), but still for only "ONE"

i.e.

You may swap A "and" B
or
you may swap A "or" B

in any case, whatever you swap is only ever for "one"

"One", not the "same one". You can swap A for one item on the list or you can swap B for one item on the list or you can swap A and B for one item on the list each. It never says it has to be the same item.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Kaliban101 wrote:
My question is is there a rule that prevents multiple selection? I've always thought that each selection from the units wargear/equipment choice was an independent selection dependent on meeting the criteria and paying the points
Just wondering if is a specific rule regarding this? I can find sod all in this 7th rulebook rules appear to be all over the place
Cheers

It's inherent in the rule allowing the swap. You're allowed to swap one item for one item.
Just like Tactical Squad special weapons - you're allowed to have one marine swap his boltgun for one weapon.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Ferocious Blood Claw






Dear god this post is still going..I said I was going to stay away but now that I have received my codex and gone over this section here are my thoughts and how I'll play it.

The line that states "items". I interpret this as plural because they are talking about multiple different items, just not Relics, with that being said I feel like "items" is NOT being directed at the multiple use of relics. Again, I agree that it is plural in the way that's its worded but only because it's talking about multiple items and I believe it's not to be directed towards the use of relics.

For me this is clear enough, I'll be playing my HQs with one relic until a FAQ comes out clearly stating the use of multiple relics..

For what it's worth, the guys at BattleScribe coded their program to let you know your unit has too many relics when you try to equip them with two. Seems like the wording in the codex was clear enough for them as well.
   
Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User




rigeld2 wrote:
Kaliban101 wrote:
My question is is there a rule that prevents multiple selection? I've always thought that each selection from the units wargear/equipment choice was an independent selection dependent on meeting the criteria and paying the points
Just wondering if is a specific rule regarding this? I can find sod all in this 7th rulebook rules appear to be all over the place
Cheers

It's inherent in the rule allowing the swap. You're allowed to swap one item for one item.
Just like Tactical Squad special weapons - you're allowed to have one marine swap his boltgun for one weapon.


Thanks rigeldt, yeah that's what I meant by criteria, for grey hunters for example you need 5 models to get a special and then pay the points for that weapon I can't select this option again until I have a further 5 models to meet the criteria
But I can't see any restriction on a wolf lords unit entry that would prevent me taking multiple relics, the only restriction I can see are one unique relic per army and replacement of one weapon
Sorry I'm probably not being very clear, what I'm trying to get at is there anything preventing me from selecting a relic as an individual choice then selecting another relic as a second individual choice?
Just to be clear, I'm returning to the game after a long break of 3 editions and am struggling to try to make sense of a lot of these rather ambitious rules they have written
Cheers
   
Made in ca
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta




Kaliban101 wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
Kaliban101 wrote:
My question is is there a rule that prevents multiple selection? I've always thought that each selection from the units wargear/equipment choice was an independent selection dependent on meeting the criteria and paying the points
Just wondering if is a specific rule regarding this? I can find sod all in this 7th rulebook rules appear to be all over the place
Cheers

It's inherent in the rule allowing the swap. You're allowed to swap one item for one item.
Just like Tactical Squad special weapons - you're allowed to have one marine swap his boltgun for one weapon.


Thanks rigeldt, yeah that's what I meant by criteria, for grey hunters for example you need 5 models to get a special and then pay the points for that weapon I can't select this option again until I have a further 5 models to meet the criteria
But I can't see any restriction on a wolf lords unit entry that would prevent me taking multiple relics, the only restriction I can see are one unique relic per army and replacement of one weapon
Sorry I'm probably not being very clear, what I'm trying to get at is there anything preventing me from selecting a relic as an individual choice then selecting another relic as a second individual choice?
Just to be clear, I'm returning to the game after a long break of 3 editions and am struggling to try to make sense of a lot of these rather ambitious rules they have written
Cheers


If you look at the ork relics we're told "a model can take one of the following" for relics. If you do not have such a rule there is no limit, the only limit is the number of weapons you have *cough*grenades*cough*

 
   
Made in us
Noise Marine Terminator with Sonic Blaster





Moon Township, PA

sirlynchmob wrote:

If you look at the ork relics we're told "a model can take one of the following" for relics. If you do not have such a rule there is no limit, the only limit is the number of weapons you have *cough*grenades*cough*


I thought grenades were wargear, not weapons.

 
   
Made in ca
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta




 Green is Best! wrote:
sirlynchmob wrote:

If you look at the ork relics we're told "a model can take one of the following" for relics. If you do not have such a rule there is no limit, the only limit is the number of weapons you have *cough*grenades*cough*


I thought grenades were wargear, not weapons.


pg 180, Weapons
Grenades of the 41st millennium

discuss it with your group before doing it though. it's is a debated topic.

 
   
Made in fi
Longtime Dakkanaut




 Kriswall wrote:
"A model can swap bolt pistol and/or chainsword for one of the following" can be rewritten three ways:

1. A model can swap (bolt pistol) for ONE of the following.

2. A model can swap (chainsword) for ONE of the following.

3. A model can swap (bolt pistol and chainsword) for ONE of the following.


Exactly. There is no "4. A model can swap bolt pistol for one of the following and chainsword for one of the following."
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Kaliban101 wrote:
Sorry I'm probably not being very clear, what I'm trying to get at is there anything preventing me from selecting a relic as an individual choice then selecting another relic as a second individual choice?

If you do so, have you swapped one weapon for one relic?


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Naw wrote:
Exactly. There is no "4. A model can swap bolt pistol for one of the following and chainsword for one of the following."

There is if you understand English. Because that's a perfectly valid rewrite of the sentence.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/08/18 17:40:38


My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity





East Coast, USA

Actually, the and/or thing is notorious for being ambiguous. There are numerous instances of judges asking lawyers not to use it because it adds confusion to what could be an otherwise straightforward scenario.

In this instance we have a sentence telling us we can swap [something] for one of the following. The and/or tells us the something can be either bolt pistol, chainsword or bolt pistol and chainsword. This is using the most common interpretation of "inclusive or". Using the bolt pistol and chainsword option, we're given "A model may swap his [bolt pistol and chainsword] for one of the following." You still only get one of the following.

I think you guys are putting the and in a different place to support your argument.

Incorrect:
A model may swap his bolt pistol with one of the following and may swap his chainsword with one of the following.

Correct:
A model may swap his bolt pistol and chainsword with one of the following.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
On a side note, I obviously don't think this is the intention. But you can't have it both ways. You can't point at the word ONE in the Relics list and say you can only pick once while overlooking the word ONE in the other list and say you can pick twice. You can't have it both ways.

Pick one and run with it.

Explain to me how you can swap bolt pistol and chainsword for TWO of the following when the wording clearly states bolt pistol and/or chainsword for ONE of the following. To use your own argument...

ONE means ONE. ONE doesn't mean TWO. ONE means ONE. PROVEN. PROVEN. PROVEN.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/08/18 18:17:12


Check out my website. Editorials! Tutorials! Fun Times To Be Had! - kriswallminis.com


https://www.thingiverse.com/KrisWall/about


Completed Trades With: ultraatma 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Kriswall wrote:
Incorrect:
A model may swap his bolt pistol with one of the following and may swap his chainsword with one of the following.

This is not incorrect.

You may send an email or make a phone call to contact him.
Same as
You may send an email to contact him or make a phone call to contact him.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in fi
Courageous Space Marine Captain






Rigeld, I'm afraid that if we are being anally-literal on this (as is the honoured, age old custom on this forum), then you're wrong.

You may exchange your hat or your sunglasses for one monkey. -> lose one item, gain one monkey.
You may exchange your hat and your sunglasses for one monkey. -> lose both items, gain one monkey.

In neither case is gaining two monkeys an option (but then again, one monkey is quite a handful already.)


This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/08/18 18:39:54


   
Made in us
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity





East Coast, USA

So, If I'm incorrect, then you are getting two items when the wording specifically states ONE? That means you are violating the permission and can't take two items. ONE means ONE. You'd know that if you'd read the thread! Proven! Proven!

This is fun. One just has to keep repeating the same position and saying proven. I can't wait to practice these new debate skills when I go home and talk to my wife.

In all seriousness, GW is consistently using vague and ambiguous terms within their rules. This is a prime example. We are both correct. I'm willing to admit the ambiguity whereas others aren't. This will probably never be addressed in an FAQ until the Wolf Time when Russ comes back and hires a copy editor or community manager.

In the interval, house rule it.

Check out my website. Editorials! Tutorials! Fun Times To Be Had! - kriswallminis.com


https://www.thingiverse.com/KrisWall/about


Completed Trades With: ultraatma 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Crimson wrote:Rigeld, I'm afraid that if we are being anally-literal on this (as is the honoured, age old custom on this forum), then you're wrong.

You may exchange your hat or your sunglasses for one monkey. -> lose one item, gain one monkey.
You may exchange your hat and your sunglasses for one monkey. -> lose both items, gain one monkey.

In neither case is gaining two monkeys an option (but then again, one monkey is quite a handful already.)

Except, as my example shows, you can rewrite the sentence as
You may exchange your hat for one monkey or your sunglasses for one monkey.
And with an and/or in there, the following is perfectly valid as well
You may exchange your hat for one monkey and your sunglasses for one monkey.


Kriswall wrote:So, If I'm incorrect, then you are getting two items when the wording specifically states ONE? That means you are violating the permission and can't take two items. ONE means ONE. You'd know that if you'd read the thread! Proven! Proven!

Um. No. I'm getting one item from one item swap. The and/or gives permission to make multiple swaps.
You have failed to show how the two rules are similar where it matters.

This is fun. One just has to keep repeating the same position and saying proven. I can't wait to practice these new debate skills when I go home and talk to my wife.

Well, don't blame me when your wife decides to hit you with a frying pan for ignoring half of what she says (as you're doing here).

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

So just out of curiosity, what does GW mean by this:

Space Wolves Codex wrote:Where an option states that you may exchange one weapon ‘and/or’ another, you may replace either or both, provided you pay the points cost for each.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Rampaging Carnifex





Fredericksburg, Virginia

 Crimson wrote:
Rigeld, I'm afraid that if we are being anally-literal on this (as is the honoured, age old custom on this forum), then you're wrong.

You may exchange your hat or your sunglasses for one monkey. -> lose one item, gain one monkey.
You may exchange your hat and your sunglasses for one monkey. -> lose both items, gain one monkey.

In neither case is gaining two monkeys an option (but then again, one monkey is quite a handful already.)




That could also mean...

You may exchange your hat and your sunglasses for one monkey. -> exchange each item (hat and sunglasses) for a monkey, thus getting 2 monkeys.

6000+
2500
2000
2000
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Indiana

 Happyjew wrote:
So just out of curiosity, what does GW mean by this:

Space Wolves Codex wrote:Where an option states that you may exchange one weapon ‘and/or’ another, you may replace either or both, provided you pay the points cost for each.


Where is that in the codex?

People who stopped buying GW but wont stop bitching about it are the vegans of warhammer

My Deathwatch army project thread  
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Not sure on the exact page number (digi-dex doesn't have them), but it's right before the wargear lists (the ones with point values), in the "Forces of the Space Wolves" section. Specifically number 11 (Options) when describing the stuff on a datasheet.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Indiana

Good catch!! I wouldnt think to look there.

People who stopped buying GW but wont stop bitching about it are the vegans of warhammer

My Deathwatch army project thread  
   
Made in us
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity





East Coast, USA

Unfortunately, that doesn't really help. We all agree that you can replace either or both. It doesn't tell us how many things we get in return. Depending on your interpretation, it could be one or two.

GW needs to be more explicit. Their rules are just awful and full of ambiguous wording.

Check out my website. Editorials! Tutorials! Fun Times To Be Had! - kriswallminis.com


https://www.thingiverse.com/KrisWall/about


Completed Trades With: ultraatma 
   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

 Kriswall wrote:
"A model can swap bolt pistol and/or chainsword for one of the following" can be rewritten three ways:

1. A model can swap (bolt pistol) for ONE of the following.

2. A model can swap (chainsword) for ONE of the following.

3. A model can swap (bolt pistol and chainsword) for ONE of the following.

I believe you are misunderstanding how and/or works. In all three instances, only one swap is occurring and only one of the following is received. You are wanting to activate the selection process twice, and per your own arguments throughout the thread, this isn't allowed.

To allow a bolt pistol to be swapped for one item and then subsequently allow a chainsword to be swapped for one item creates a situation where two items have been swapped. Why can I do this on one list, but not the second list?


3. is wrong. The And/Or clause combines actions 1. and 2. - it does not create a third one.

You can do 1. or 2. or both, 3. does not exist.

If i do 1. or 2., i have performed 1 swap.
If i do 1. and 2., i have performed 2 swaps.

Notice how i exchanged the word "or", with "and", but did not create an imaginary "3rd" option....

DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage.
Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. 
   
Made in us
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity





East Coast, USA

Remove the /or.

A model may swap bolt pictol and chainsword for one of the following.

The and/or specifically refers to the collection of bolt pistol, chainsword or both.

A model / may swap / his bolt pistol and/or chainsword / for / one of the following.

Who is performing the action? - A model
What action is he performing? - swap
What is he swapping? - one of these three (his bolt pistol, his chainsword, or both)
But wait, there's more. When he swaps, is there a result? - yes, whatever he swapped, in return he gets one of the following.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
At the end of the day, if I agree that I can replace bolt pistol with an item and chainsword with an item, why won't you agree that I can replace one weapon with an item and one weapon with an item? I'm told I can take items from the Relics list, and I'm told how that occurs. It occurs by swapping one weapon for one item. I still don't see any restriction keeping me at one item. You have argued that the word ONE doesn't matter as you're fervently trying to demonstrate that one only means one in the context of a single swap.

I agree. One means one in the context of a single swap. I am performing multiple swaps... at a result of one per swap.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/08/18 19:44:01


Check out my website. Editorials! Tutorials! Fun Times To Be Had! - kriswallminis.com


https://www.thingiverse.com/KrisWall/about


Completed Trades With: ultraatma 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Kriswall wrote:
Unfortunately, that doesn't really help. We all agree that you can replace either or both. It doesn't tell us how many things we get in return. Depending on your interpretation, it could be one or two.


"provided you pay the points cost for each" doesn't mean you can get 2 things?
In what universe? Why are you still only looking at half of the rule? Or are you saying you pay for 2 but only get one? That'd be an interesting argument...


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 Kriswall wrote:
At the end of the day, if I agree that I can replace bolt pistol with an item and chainsword with an item, why won't you agree that I can replace one weapon with an item and one weapon with an item?

Because you continue to compare two rules that aren't comparable. Seriously.
The and/or and GWs explicit statement that it means more than one thing shows that it's a different situation.

How many Flamers can a 10 man Tac Squad have, according to you? I've asked before but you've avoided it and I really want an answer.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/08/18 20:54:00


My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

This thread would have been far more constructive without all the snark and snide remarks about understanding English from both 'sides' of the discussion.

For future reference, your 'opponent' will be far more inclined to actually listen to the point you are making if you say it in a way that promotes discussion rather than insulting their intelligence.

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: