Switch Theme:

Coteaz and drop pod units  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Guardsman with Flashlight




I've Been Expecting You states that any unit that arrives from reserves with 12 inches of Coteaz and within line of sight, Coteaz and his unit get to make an out of sequence shooting attack.

This makes sense. My question is about drop pods. A squad must disembark when the drop pod lands. Is the point in which the previous rules discusses (the point that must be within 12 inches and LoS) where the drop pod lands and/or where the unit that disembarked's final location at the end of the movement phase?

If I land the pod outside of the above requirements, but move my tac squad within the 12" and LoS, does he get to shoot at the unit?

They did arrive from reserve, but didn't technically arrive within 12".

Thoughts? I've never played him before but am considering it at times.
   
Made in us
Never Forget Isstvan!






When does coteaz rule allow his unit to fire?

Is the unit he is firing at within 12" when he is allowed to fire?


if you answer these 2 questions (which are clearly written in the pertinent rules) you shall know what must be done.


p.s. not trying to be rude, but this one is pretty clear.

JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
Made in gb
Secret Inquisitorial Eldar Xenexecutor





Leeds, UK

No I'd say it's a valid question, do you fire at the pod or the unit? I'd guess the unit as I imagine Coteaz doesn't have skyfire / interceptor (whatever rule it is).

   
Made in us
Guardsman with Flashlight




Eihnlazer wrote:
When does coteaz rule allow his unit to fire?

Is the unit he is firing at within 12" when he is allowed to fire?


if you answer these 2 questions (which are clearly written in the pertinent rules) you shall know what must be done.


p.s. not trying to be rude, but this one is pretty clear.


Well, the rules says he immediately makes an out of sequence shooting attack against it. So I roll the scatter dice, the pod lands, he makes the shooting attack immediately, then the squad gets out?

If you have answers to your own two questions, please share your ideas.
   
Made in ca
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard






Vancouver, BC

Both units come out of reserve, and both get shot at.

EDIT: If the unit ends it's move outside of 12", it doesn't get shot at.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/09/01 01:08:24


 warboss wrote:
Is there a permanent stickied thread for Chaos players to complain every time someone/anyone gets models or rules besides them? If not, there should be.
 
   
Made in us
Never Forget Isstvan!






Coteaz and his unit make his shot at any unit immediately after it arrives from reserves (after it finish's its move) if they are within 12".

The only confusion here should be whether you have to shoot before the squad disembarks or after (potentially exploding the pod and causing hits to the unit).

Since pod units themselves have to immediately disembark as soon as it finish's scattering, this is a bit of a problem, but whether or not coteaz can shoot the unit is easy.

If they disembark and end their move outside of 12" he cant shoot the unit. If the pod scatters outside of 12" he cant shoot it.

JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
Made in us
Guardsman with Flashlight




Makes sense. Thanks for the insight. I'm not trying to get one over on anyone, just not taken advantage of since I rarely play against Coteaz.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Its easy to determine if the unit disembark first - as two events happen at the same time, the current player dropping the pods can choose which occurs first.
   
Made in de
Storm Trooper with Maglight







But with the unit, there is a difficulty.

Is the disembarking part of the "arriving from reserve"-process? I would say no although it is out of sequence.

For example if I have a deep striking BA-Landraider, the unit inside cannot disembark. Yet they arrived from reserve. So we must assume it arrived when the Land Raider landed. So imho the unit arrived as soon as the drop pod landed (thus giving Caoteaz no opportunity to shoot it) and then just disembarks according to the drop pod rules.

 
   
Made in gb
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Englandia

 -Nazdreg- wrote:
But with the unit, there is a difficulty.

Is the disembarking part of the "arriving from reserve"-process? I would say no although it is out of sequence.

For example if I have a deep striking BA-Landraider, the unit inside cannot disembark. Yet they arrived from reserve. So we must assume it arrived when the Land Raider landed. So imho the unit arrived as soon as the drop pod landed (thus giving Caoteaz no opportunity to shoot it) and then just disembarks according to the drop pod rules.


You might want to re-check that.
You can disembark after Deep Striking. (Unless I'm mis-remembering?)
The Drop Pod rules force you to, it's not an option.

However, on topic, as both are "immediately" (the drop pod disembark and Coteaz's rule), it is (as far as I can tell) down to the player who is podding (multiple simultaneous things are down to the player whose turn it is)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/09/01 15:44:13


If I sound like I'm being a condescending butthole, I'm not. Read my reply as neutrally as possible, please and thank you. 
   
Made in de
Storm Trooper with Maglight







You might want to re-check that.
You can disembark after Deep Striking. (Unless I'm mis-remembering?)


Well there is the cruising speed part and you can only disembark when you moved 6" (combat speed). The drop pod rules are an exception to that.

But even if they were allowed to disembark from a DS-ing Land Raider they would have to do it in the following movement phase (because they can only disembark when they are in a vehice at the start of the movement phase), which wouldn't trigger Coteaz.

 
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






 -Nazdreg- wrote:
Well there is the cruising speed part and you can only disembark when you moved 6" (combat speed). The drop pod rules are an exception to that.
7th Edition changed it so that a Deep Striking vehicle counts as having moved at combat speed. Good news for deep striking transports and Deathwind-launcher drop pods!
   
Made in gb
Death-Dealing Devastator



Essex, UK

Yes you can disembark from the DSing Raider, but remember that even though it is an Assault vehicle the rules for 'arriving from reserves' still preclude you from charging even though it counts as moving at combat speed.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: