Switch Theme:

Necron phaseshifter and CCB  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gr
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin




Huh, sweep attacks do actually say "Roll to Hit"! This is actually good news for me I will edit my previous posts to avoid any confusion.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/10/26 22:20:16


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





in regards to

Btw I have another question. I saw the necron player moving his CCB's forward passing 0,5" from a model then going backwards as part of his rest move only to make his 3 attacks. Can he do that forward/backward? Does he need to pass his whole base from a unit? I know also that due to skimmer he can pass a flyer and a swooping FMC and still hit it on 3s due to codex silly wording. Are all these things correct?


normally movement is measured from starting to point to finish point so if a player moves forward .5" then back 5" they only moved 5" backwards and never moved forward to make a sweep attack.


this is how it is ruled for vector strike, and all other move by attacks like old reaver bladevanes, tank shocking, screamers thingy.

necrons do not have a written exception to this in sweep attack, as such the necron player was not allowed to do what they were doing. In order to make a sweep attack you move the model, and a unit that is along the path of start to finish of move, ie starting point and final point, is the target. The distance between starting point and final point is the only distance a vehicle moves.
   
Made in us
Freaky Flayed One





blaktoof wrote:
in regards to

Btw I have another question. I saw the necron player moving his CCB's forward passing 0,5" from a model then going backwards as part of his rest move only to make his 3 attacks. Can he do that forward/backward? Does he need to pass his whole base from a unit? I know also that due to skimmer he can pass a flyer and a swooping FMC and still hit it on 3s due to codex silly wording. Are all these things correct?


normally movement is measured from starting to point to finish point so if a player moves forward .5" then back 5" they only moved 5" backwards and never moved forward to make a sweep attack.


this is how it is ruled for vector strike, and all other move by attacks like old reaver bladevanes, tank shocking, screamers thingy.

necrons do not have a written exception to this in sweep attack, as such the necron player was not allowed to do what they were doing. In order to make a sweep attack you move the model, and a unit that is along the path of start to finish of move, ie starting point and final point, is the target. The distance between starting point and final point is the only distance a vehicle moves.
something something skimmers can move any direction and can end up at their original starting position
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





normally movement is measured from starting to point to finish point so if a player moves forward .5" then back 5" they only moved 5" backwards and never moved forward to make a sweep attack. 


What is this based on?

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Killer Klaivex




Oceanside, CA

This thread should be locked, based on it's an argument over intent, where RAW is clear and agreed on by both parties involved.

 thedarkavenger wrote:

So. I got a game with this list in. First game in at least 3-4 months.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 FlingitNow wrote:
normally movement is measured from starting to point to finish point so if a player moves forward .5" then back 5" they only moved 5" backwards and never moved forward to make a sweep attack. 


What is this based on?


that movement is not incrimental and is measured from start to finish.

The rules for other move by attacks which state the same thing.

That there is no RAW that sweep attacks get to do otherwise.

those kinds of things.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Whacked wrote:
blaktoof wrote:
in regards to

Btw I have another question. I saw the necron player moving his CCB's forward passing 0,5" from a model then going backwards as part of his rest move only to make his 3 attacks. Can he do that forward/backward? Does he need to pass his whole base from a unit? I know also that due to skimmer he can pass a flyer and a swooping FMC and still hit it on 3s due to codex silly wording. Are all these things correct?


normally movement is measured from starting to point to finish point so if a player moves forward .5" then back 5" they only moved 5" backwards and never moved forward to make a sweep attack.


this is how it is ruled for vector strike, and all other move by attacks like old reaver bladevanes, tank shocking, screamers thingy.

necrons do not have a written exception to this in sweep attack, as such the necron player was not allowed to do what they were doing. In order to make a sweep attack you move the model, and a unit that is along the path of start to finish of move, ie starting point and final point, is the target. The distance between starting point and final point is the only distance a vehicle moves.
something something skimmers can move any direction and can end up at their original starting position


thats not actually a rule anymore.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/10/27 14:23:09


 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare







that movement is not incrimental and is measured from start to finish. 


I get that is what you're saying. I was just wondering what rules that statement is based on?

The rules for other move by attacks which state the same thing.


Irrelevant, but could you name any examples?

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





screamers slashing attack

bladevanes (old)- of course it could be stated that this rule no longer exists but how it used to work as an attack which required you to move over the target was faqed that you measure the start point and the end point and the target had to be between the two. This rule no longer exists for that attack as that attack is now just rending hits from HoW but it shows how the attack was ruled when it was a move by attack, and sweep is currently a move by attack still.
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





So one current example and no actual rules support? Do you have rules support that it even works that way for the slash attack?

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





It uses the same wording as that ruling "moves over"

one can argue that if the CCB did not end its move beyond the unit that it did not move over it, since its starting point, and final point does not leave a path that is 'over the unit' during movement which is required by moves over.

can you show any RAW support that you can move over something without the 'over' being between the start and end of a units move?
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Movement phase rules state I can move in any direction. Your interpretation leads to a model needing 2 turns at least to walk around an impassable object. As you are claiming all movement is straight line from start point to end point thus the line can not go over impassable terrain as you claim this is how movement works correct?

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





You can move in any direction.

however you need to move over the unit, not to the side of it, not almost over it, but over it as per the RAW of sweep attack.

Moving .5" will not even move over a models base, so the CCB did not move over the unit.
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





So you are claiming an infantry model can't go round terrain in 1 phase correct?

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: