Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/09 15:41:01
Subject: Escape hatch and the relic
|
 |
Wicked Canoptek Wraith
|
I'm aware the rules for the relic mission mostly prohibit any "movement" beyond 6" for purposes of balance. But taking the Escape Hatch upgrade for forts into consideration, would this be the exception?
An escape hatch is merely the invisible extension of a building in the form of an access point. Another way to look at it is say, you had a large vehicle like a Thunderhawk. If I had a unit embark the access point on the nose of this flyer, and then disembarked the rear access point which is over 6" on the next turn, would that be legal?
Is going from one access point to another inside a building /vehicle even classified as "movement" in the movement phase? I personally can't see anything to support that it is a movement. You simply just have the choice to start at any access point at the beginning of the movement phase. That doesn't constitute movement for me.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/09 15:59:47
Subject: Escape hatch and the relic
|
 |
Annoyed Blood Angel Devastator
Thornton Colorado
|
A friend of mine and my self had the same question at NOVA last year and not TO was sure how to rule on it. However we found it really doesn't matter becoues you cant embark on a vehicle while holding the relic and buildings follow the same rules as vehicles.
|
10000
1250
Check out my Blog for local events and other 40K things
http://lightofterra.blogspot.com
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/09 16:06:30
Subject: Escape hatch and the relic
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
ChapertMasterRagnaValick wrote:A friend of mine and my self had the same question at NOVA last year and not TO was sure how to rule on it. However we found it really doesn't matter becoues you cant embark on a vehicle while holding the relic and buildings follow the same rules as vehicles.
You can embark on a vehicle with the relic.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/09 16:32:38
Subject: Escape hatch and the relic
|
 |
Slashing Veteran Sword Bretheren
|
You can embark on a vehicle, but I think there is a line about the relic not moving more than 6"
Well I guess we would have to look at the exact wording of the rule. is it that the unit cant make a movement of more than 6" or is it that the relic cant move further than 6" a turn?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/02/09 16:32:58
DR:80+S++G++MB--IPw40k12#+D++++A++/fWD013R++T(T)DM+
"War is the greatest act of worship, and I perform it gladly for my Lord.... Praise Be"
-Invictus Potens, Black Templar Dreadnought |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/09 16:39:00
Subject: Escape hatch and the relic
|
 |
Wicked Canoptek Wraith
|
Well that's the point. Technically, you're just embarking a building. The main issue is does going between the access points internally constitute a true "movement"?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/09 16:54:07
Subject: Escape hatch and the relic
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Minneapolis, MN
|
Nyghoma wrote:Well that's the point. Technically, you're just embarking a building. The main issue is does going between the access points internally constitute a true "movement"?
I would say no. Since you never embark/disembark twice on a turn, the unit is never measurably displaced within the building during a turn. Sure, the access points have a measurable distance between them (an escape hatch will be ~12" away from the other access points on the building), but there's nothing in the rules that implies that the unit starts their turn at the original embarkation point, and then move to the escape hatch to make their disembarkation move. For rules purposes, they're just sort of abstractly "inside the building", which doesn't translate to anything measurable that could invoke the Relic's 6" movement limit.
Relic missions interact poorly with buildings and fortification - there was a thread awhile back asking whether it was legal to carry the relic into an AV15 building (it is). Combine that with an escape hatch, and things get very shenanigany.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/02/09 16:56:16
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/10 01:18:15
Subject: Escape hatch and the relic
|
 |
Never Forget Isstvan!
|
Escape hatch is just an embarkation point on the building and does not constitute movement.
|
JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG |
|
 |
 |
|