Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/12 14:37:07
Subject: 'The Red Hunters Chapter Tactics
|
 |
Crushing Black Templar Crusader Pilot
|
Hey guys,
In the Chapter Tactics for The Red Hunters it says the following:
Mnemonic Redaction Protocols: All models with Chapter Tactics (Red Hunters) have the Adamantium Will special rule. In addition, once per game at the beginning of any one player turn, the controlling player may declare that a number of their units with Chapter Tactics (Red Hunters), including Dreadnoughts, equal to the number of the turn being played will have one of the following special rules, chosen by the controlling player, until the beginning of their next turn. For example, if the protocols are activated in Turn 3, then three units may choose a single special rule from the following to apply:
• Counter-attack
• Monster Hunter
• Tank Hunters
• Hatred
• Skyfire
• Interceptor
Now, the way I see it, there are two ways of interpreting what is written here:
(1) The selected units (e.g. the three units on Turn 3) all get the same chosen Special Rule (e.g. all three get Counter-Attack, or all three get Skyfire);
-- or --
(2) One Special Rule is chosen for each unit. For example, on Turn 3: One unit can choose to take Counter-Attack, one unit can choose to take Hatred, and one unit can choose to take Skyfire.
How would you interpret this? (1), (2), or other?
Cheers guys
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/12 15:03:14
Subject: Re:'The Red Hunters Chapter Tactics
|
 |
Boosting Black Templar Biker
|
I would say 1, they all get the same special rule.
There is precedent in stuff like combat drugs, where the entire affected part of the army gets the same effect from a single die roll as opposed to rolling for each affected unit separately.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/13 04:46:57
Subject: 'The Red Hunters Chapter Tactics
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
I believe the clue is in the last sentence of the rule:
"For example, if the protocols are activated in Turn 3, then three units may choose a single special rule from the following to apply."
Three units choose a single special rule, rather than three units each choosing a single special rule.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/13 05:26:02
Subject: 'The Red Hunters Chapter Tactics
|
 |
Crushing Black Templar Crusader Pilot
|
Mr. Shine wrote:I believe the clue is in the last sentence of the rule:
"For example, if the protocols are activated in Turn 3, then three units may choose a single special rule from the following to apply."
Three units choose a single special rule, rather than three units each choosing a single special rule.
I thought it might be the case. You're definitely right in that the wording here does strongly suggest that, so I think we may be in agreement in terms of your assessment.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/13 11:52:24
Subject: 'The Red Hunters Chapter Tactics
|
 |
Stealthy Kroot Stalker
|
There is no other way that you could possibly think it is any other way. the example is pretty well worded.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/13 12:03:18
Subject: 'The Red Hunters Chapter Tactics
|
 |
Crushing Black Templar Crusader Pilot
|
rawne2510 wrote:There is no other way that you could possibly think it is any other way. the example is pretty well worded.
I think the implication is clear, but not so clear as to rule out any other interpretation. If it were as concrete as you say it is, then I would argue that the example in the rule should saw something akin to the following:
'For example, if the protocols are activated in Turn 3, then three units may choose a single special rule from the following to apply. Note that only one rule is picked and applied to all three units.'
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/13 17:21:16
Subject: 'The Red Hunters Chapter Tactics
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
|
If Unit A chooses Tank Hunter, Unit B chooses Skyfire, and Unit C chooses Interceptor, have three units chosen one special rule? No, three units have chosen THREE special rules.
There is a difference between three and one.
|
LVO 2017 - Best GK Player
The Grimdark Future 8500 1500  6000 2000 5000
"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/13 23:29:21
Subject: 'The Red Hunters Chapter Tactics
|
 |
Crushing Black Templar Crusader Pilot
|
Elric Greywolf wrote:If Unit A chooses Tank Hunter, Unit B chooses Skyfire, and Unit C chooses Interceptor, have three units chosen one special rule? No, three units have chosen THREE special rules.
There is a difference between three and one.
My counter argument could be that the letter of the rule was followed because each unit only picked one rule. But as an earlier post of mine says, I suspect that your interpretation (shared by all other posters) is correct.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/14 05:30:21
Subject: 'The Red Hunters Chapter Tactics
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
|
That's not much of a counter, though, because of how you'd answer this question: "Have three units chosen a single special rule from the list?" You'd either have to add a word to that sentence (perhaps "each"), thus changing the question, or you'd have to say "No."
Therefore you'd be going against the Chapter Tactics.
|
LVO 2017 - Best GK Player
The Grimdark Future 8500 1500  6000 2000 5000
"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/14 07:44:37
Subject: 'The Red Hunters Chapter Tactics
|
 |
Ragin' Ork Dreadnought
|
I don't agree.
With the wording "For example, if the protocols are activated in Turn 3, then three units may choose a single special rule from the following to apply", it would need to include either another explanatory sentence or at least a couple more words to be certain. The "Each" isn't explicitly said, but neither is the "Only one rule for all three units".
If I have three children, and I tell a babysitter that "My children can have a single piece of candy after dinner", then it's obvious that each child will get their own piece of candy - I didn't say "My children can each have a single piece of candy", I just said "My children can have a single piece of candy".
The unit gets to pick a special rule. It says that the units pick a special rule, not that you pick a special rule for the unit. If they wanted every unit to get the same Special Rule, all they would have to do is write the "Pick a special rule" explanation first, and then tell the player to pick a number of units equal to the turn number. The fact that they conspicuously choose to change the order of operations, so that units picks their own rules, convinces me that they intended for each unit to get their own rule.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/14 23:46:01
Subject: 'The Red Hunters Chapter Tactics
|
 |
Speed Drybrushing
|
I've played Red Hunters Chapter Tactics since they first appeared and this was cleared up by FW back then, it's one rule for all the units, not one rule for each unit.
|
Not a GW apologist |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/15 00:07:04
Subject: 'The Red Hunters Chapter Tactics
|
 |
Crushing Black Templar Crusader Pilot
|
Rolsheen wrote:I've played Red Hunters Chapter Tactics since they first appeared and this was cleared up by FW back then, it's one rule for all the units, not one rule for each unit.
Do you have a link the where they clear this up?
|
|
 |
 |
|