| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/05 14:17:10
Subject: Re:40k New Edition Summary - 4th June 17: Frontline Gaming Q&A Summary (all info in OP)
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
casvalremdeikun wrote:Razorbacks with the Lascannon and Twin Plasmagun can blow themselves up as well.
The real question is, when you overheat a plasma weapon on a transport, do they still Explode?
I'd say no, because they aren't "reduced to 0 wounds." No wounds are even dealt.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/05 14:21:40
Subject: Re:40k New Edition Summary - 4th June 17: Frontline Gaming Q&A Summary (all info in OP)
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
casvalremdeikun wrote:Razorbacks with the Lascannon and Twin Plasmagun can blow themselves up as well.
The real question is, when you overheat a plasma weapon on a transport, do they still Explode?
If they roll the 6, they do.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/05 14:22:07
Subject: Re:40k New Edition Summary - 4th June 17: Frontline Gaming Q&A Summary (all info in OP)
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Should be starting in about ten minutes...
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/05 14:22:08
Subject: Re:40k New Edition Summary - 4th June 17: Frontline Gaming Q&A Summary (all info in OP)
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
skarsol wrote: casvalremdeikun wrote:Razorbacks with the Lascannon and Twin Plasmagun can blow themselves up as well.
The real question is, when you overheat a plasma weapon on a transport, do they still Explode?
I'd say no, because they aren't "reduced to 0 wounds." No wounds are even dealt.
Reduce to zero wounds = slain.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/05 14:22:24
Subject: 40k New Edition Summary - 4th June 17: Frontline Gaming Q&A Summary (all info in OP)
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Is it me or is Astra militarum one of the most awesome armies this edition not just the fact imperial soup gives you so many options or the scions are borderline overpowered But I can take my DKOK add some spawn and play a chaos renegade and heretic list or add some genesteakers and a primus and play a genestealer list. They seem to be the most flexible army this edition.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/05 14:22:54
Subject: 40k New Edition Summary - 4th June 17: Frontline Gaming Q&A Summary (all info in OP)
|
 |
Pestilent Plague Marine with Blight Grenade
|
SilverAlien wrote:
Yeah, I assume they are either unaware of the new vehicle stats or just being hyperbolic. Unless they got a hold of the dreadclaw rules early and those are made of tissue paper or something.
Or you could assume I'd actually read the rules and applied them as written
CSM Transports can have Combi-weapons
Combi-Plasmas are Combiweapons
Combi-Plasmas can Overheat
When CSM Combi-Plasmas overheat, "the model is slain"
No CSM Transport rules override this
The Transport rules for embarked models kick in when the transport is "destroyed"
Assuming Slain = Destroyed, an overheat will both remove the transport and potentially kill one of the embarked models
Also, as the transport will NOT be "reduced to 0 wounds" the transport does not explode
So an unlucky CSM transport gunner has the potential to implode his own transport and one of his friends, leaving enemies completely unharmed and the unit sitting in the middle of nowhere wondering where their metal box went.
But thanks for assuming I'm either illiterate or stupid, that's always a fun thing to read
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/05 14:27:03
Subject: Re:40k New Edition Summary - 4th June 17: Frontline Gaming Q&A Summary (all info in OP)
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Fragile wrote:skarsol wrote: casvalremdeikun wrote:Razorbacks with the Lascannon and Twin Plasmagun can blow themselves up as well.
The real question is, when you overheat a plasma weapon on a transport, do they still Explode?
I'd say no, because they aren't "reduced to 0 wounds." No wounds are even dealt.
Reduce to zero wounds = slain.
Ah, you're more likely correct. I had the old style wording of "model is removed" in my head for some reason. That will teach me to look up the rule before commenting. :(
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/05 14:34:13
Subject: 40k New Edition Summary - 4th June 17: Starter Pre-orders/FW Index Contents (all info in OP)
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
judgedoug wrote: nintura wrote: Megaknob wrote:tneva82 wrote: H.B.M.C. wrote:Another alternate to the Gravraider. This one goes for a "more is more" approach.
That HAS to be joke right? Compared to that first is downright sensible and beautifull.
How same company can produce death guard and that...thing...
Is this real?
Yep. Totally 100% legit.
You guys are tremendously bad at spotting gakky photoshopping.
What do you mean "you guys..."
You are tremendously bad at spotting sarcasm Automatically Appended Next Post: Charax wrote:SilverAlien wrote:
Yeah, I assume they are either unaware of the new vehicle stats or just being hyperbolic. Unless they got a hold of the dreadclaw rules early and those are made of tissue paper or something.
Or you could assume I'd actually read the rules and applied them as written
CSM Transports can have Combi-weapons
Combi-Plasmas are Combiweapons
Combi-Plasmas can Overheat
When CSM Combi-Plasmas overheat, "the model is slain"
No CSM Transport rules override this
The Transport rules for embarked models kick in when the transport is "destroyed"
Assuming Slain = Destroyed, an overheat will both remove the transport and potentially kill one of the embarked models
Also, as the transport will NOT be "reduced to 0 wounds" the transport does not explode
So an unlucky CSM transport gunner has the potential to implode his own transport and one of his friends, leaving enemies completely unharmed and the unit sitting in the middle of nowhere wondering where their metal box went.
But thanks for assuming I'm either illiterate or stupid, that's always a fun thing to read
So plasma weapons are not worth taking on multi wound units correct?
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/06/05 14:36:02
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/05 14:38:40
Subject: 40k New Edition Summary - 4th June 17: Frontline Gaming Q&A Summary (all info in OP)
|
 |
Mutated Chosen Chaos Marine
|
Just don't overcharge them, they will be fine. The Greater Brass Scorpion is beastly! https://www.warhammer-community.com/2017/06/05/forge-world-preview-indexes/
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/06/05 14:39:43
Help me, Rhonda. HA! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/05 14:42:01
Subject: 40k New Edition Summary - 4th June 17: Frontline Gaming Q&A Summary (all info in OP)
|
 |
Infiltrating Prowler
|
Asmodai wrote:skarsol wrote: Alpharius wrote:Wait - vehicles don't ignore the 'gets hot' part of plasma in 8th edition?
They do not. Plasma weapons that are intended to go on vehicles all do 1 mortal wound on a to hit of 1 (as far as I've seen). EG: Helbrute Plasma Cannon does 1 mortal wound on a 1.
The Leman Russ Demolisher's Plasma Cannon sponsons flat out destroy the tank if any of the to hit rolls are ones.
Not entirely true.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/05 14:44:12
Subject: 40k New Edition Summary - 4th June 17: Frontline Gaming Q&A Summary (all info in OP)
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Indiana
|
Yep, so hey dont overcharge your weapons on your expensive units!! plasma even not overcharged is still pretty good for its points. "Hey this incredibly dangerous thing that we now have a choice to do can have bad repercussions. We better factor that into our game plan". I find it hard to be upset about something when you have complete control over the chance of it happening or not.
Also holy gak those laser destroyers!!! Might actually be worth considering compared to a quad lascannon depending on points.
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/06/05 14:49:38
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/05 14:52:09
Subject: 40k New Edition Summary - 4th June 17: Frontline Gaming Q&A Summary (all info in OP)
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
I'm surprised the Scorpion has the same wounds as the Spartan Relic Tank, which is far cheaper (power level wise) and has a 2+ save.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/06/05 14:52:51
Cratfworld Alaitoc (Gallery)
Order of the Red Mantle (Gallery)
Grand (little) Army of Chaos, now painting! (Blog) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/05 14:55:03
Subject: Re:40k New Edition Summary - 4th June 17: Frontline Gaming Q&A Summary (all info in OP)
|
 |
Brutal Black Orc
|
Huh.... does anyone have an inkling of an idea who they will interview on the 15th?? It says "redacted" so maybe something traitor related?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/05 14:56:02
Subject: 40k New Edition Summary - 4th June 17: Frontline Gaming Q&A Summary (all info in OP)
|
 |
Stubborn Dark Angels Veteran Sergeant
|
Leth wrote:Yep, so hey dont overcharge your weapons on your expensive units!! plasma even not overcharged is still pretty good for its points. "Hey this incredibly dangerous thing that we now have a choice to do can have bad repercussions. We better factor that into our game plan". I find it hard to be upset about something when you have complete control over the chance of it happening or not.
Also holy gak those laser destroyers!!! Might actually be worth considering compared to a quad lascannon depending on points.
Though it's rules don't make sense to me.
You have to successfully inflict damage to roll the 2D6... So as rules like nurgles whatever is taken once the damage is caused, if that fails you then roll the 2D6 for damage. What happens if you first rolled a 6 on the 1D6, then do you roll an additional D6 (and another if you roll another 6), or do you discard the first 6 damage and then roll the 2D6?
Obviously it's meant to add a further dice role for damage (and another if you roll a 6), but it's wording doesn't make sense and can be argued the other way.
|
My hobby instagram account: @the_shroud_of_vigilance
My Shroud of Vigilance Hobby update blog for me detailed updates and lore on the faction:
Blog |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/05 14:58:08
Subject: 40k New Edition Summary - 4th June 17: Frontline Gaming Q&A Summary (all info in OP)
|
 |
Did Fulgrim Just Behead Ferrus?
|
Shandara wrote:
I'm surprised the Scorpion has the same wounds as the Spartan Relic Tank, which is far cheaper (power level wise) and has a 2+ save.
The Scorpion also has a 5++ and regenerates a wound every turn.
|
"Through the darkness of future past, the magician longs to see.
One chants out between two worlds: Fire, walk with me." - Twin Peaks
"You listen to me. While I will admit to a certain cynicism, the fact is that I am a naysayer and hatchetman in the fight against violence. I pride myself in taking a punch and I'll gladly take another because I choose to live my life in the company of Gandhi and King. My concerns are global. I reject absolutely revenge, aggression, and retaliation. The foundation of such a method... is love. I love you Sheriff Truman." - Twin Peaks |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/05 14:59:13
Subject: Re:40k New Edition Summary - 4th June 17: Frontline Gaming Q&A Summary (all info in OP)
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Charax wrote:
Or you could assume I'd actually read the rules and applied them as written
CSM Transports can have Combi-weapons
Combi-Plasmas are Combiweapons
Combi-Plasmas can Overheat
When CSM Combi-Plasmas overheat, "the model is slain"
No CSM Transport rules override this
The Transport rules for embarked models kick in when the transport is "destroyed"
Assuming Slain = Destroyed, an overheat will both remove the transport and potentially kill one of the embarked models
Also, as the transport will NOT be "reduced to 0 wounds" the transport does not explode
So an unlucky CSM transport gunner has the potential to implode his own transport and one of his friends, leaving enemies completely unharmed and the unit sitting in the middle of nowhere wondering where their metal box went.
But thanks for assuming I'm either illiterate or stupid, that's always a fun thing to read
I assumed you were talking about the transport being killed by enemy plasma, as choosing to take and overload plasma are things that are entirely within your control. Overcharged plasma is never worth that risk unless the rhino is already on its last wound or something, just fire the normal version and everything is fine.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/05 15:00:39
Subject: 40k New Edition Summary - 4th June 17: Frontline Gaming Q&A Summary (all info in OP)
|
 |
Inspiring SDF-1 Bridge Officer
|
Okay, something I just noticed - I think it may already have been mentioned, but I want to get clarification.
Shooting rules imply you can attack with all weapons you are equipped with. Tac marines are equipped with Bolt pistol, Boltgun, Frag grenades and Krak grenades.
Am I missing something or could the above marines attack with each and every weapon listed above if they were in range? I.E., shoot the bolt pistol, boltgun, throw a Frag grenade and toss a Krak grenade?
|
It never ends well |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/05 15:02:03
Subject: 40k New Edition Summary - 4th June 17: Frontline Gaming Q&A Summary (all info in OP)
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Stormonu wrote:Okay, something I just noticed - I think it may already have been mentioned, but I want to get clarification.
Shooting rules imply you can attack with all weapons you are equipped with. Tac marines are equipped with Bolt pistol, Boltgun, Frag grenades and Krak grenades.
Am I missing something or could the above marines attack with each and every weapon listed above if they were in range? I.E., shoot the bolt pistol, boltgun, throw a Frag grenade and toss a Krak grenade?
The rules for Pistols and Grenades prevent this.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/05 15:02:55
Subject: 40k New Edition Summary - 4th June 17: Frontline Gaming Q&A Summary (all info in OP)
|
 |
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps
|
No. The rules don't allow that.
Only one model in a unit can throw a grenade, and it forfeits all of it's other shooting.
Pistols can only be fired on their own, no other weapons can.
|
Prestor Jon wrote:Because children don't have any legal rights until they're adults. A minor is the responsiblity of the parent and has no legal rights except through his/her legal guardian or parent. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/05 15:02:57
Subject: 40k New Edition Summary - 4th June 17: Frontline Gaming Q&A Summary (all info in OP)
|
 |
Skillful Swordmaster
The Shadowlands of Nagarythe
|
Stormonu wrote:Okay, something I just noticed - I think it may already have been mentioned, but I want to get clarification.
Shooting rules imply you can attack with all weapons you are equipped with. Tac marines are equipped with Bolt pistol, Boltgun, Frag grenades and Krak grenades.
Am I missing something or could the above marines attack with each and every weapon listed above if they were in range? I.E., shoot the bolt pistol, boltgun, throw a Frag grenade and toss a Krak grenade?
There are some restrictions on the weapon types themselves. In this case the pistols and grenades says that you either use that weapon or the rest.
Additionally only 1 model in the unit can toss a grenade.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/05 15:04:05
Subject: 40k New Edition Summary - 4th June 17: Frontline Gaming Q&A Summary (all info in OP)
|
 |
Locked in the Tower of Amareo
|
Asmodai wrote:skarsol wrote: Alpharius wrote:Wait - vehicles don't ignore the 'gets hot' part of plasma in 8th edition?
They do not. Plasma weapons that are intended to go on vehicles all do 1 mortal wound on a to hit of 1 (as far as I've seen). EG: Helbrute Plasma Cannon does 1 mortal wound on a 1.
The Leman Russ Demolisher's Plasma Cannon sponsons flat out destroy the tank if any of the to hit rolls are ones.
Check russ bespoken rules. Overrides it
|
2024 painted/bought: 109/109 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/05 15:04:56
Subject: 40k New Edition Summary - 4th June 17: Frontline Gaming Q&A Summary (all info in OP)
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Indiana
|
endlesswaltz123 wrote: Leth wrote:Yep, so hey dont overcharge your weapons on your expensive units!! plasma even not overcharged is still pretty good for its points. "Hey this incredibly dangerous thing that we now have a choice to do can have bad repercussions. We better factor that into our game plan". I find it hard to be upset about something when you have complete control over the chance of it happening or not.
Also holy gak those laser destroyers!!! Might actually be worth considering compared to a quad lascannon depending on points.
Though it's rules don't make sense to me.
You have to successfully inflict damage to roll the 2D6... So as rules like nurgles whatever is taken once the damage is caused, if that fails you then roll the 2D6 for damage. What happens if you first rolled a 6 on the 1D6, then do you roll an additional D6 (and another if you roll another 6), or do you discard the first 6 damage and then roll the 2D6?
Obviously it's meant to add a further dice role for damage (and another if you roll a 6), but it's wording doesn't make sense and can be argued the other way.
When it is in response to damage, you roll the total amount of damage they take and then they try and save afterwards. So for example I get 1d6 damage on a nurgle dude. I roll a 4. He now has to save against each hit separately.
So in this case what you would do is "I have succesfully damaged you, I now roll a d6 to see if it becomes 2d6 or 3d6 damage" then you roll the amount of damage they take.
Tannhauser42 wrote: Shandara wrote:
I'm surprised the Scorpion has the same wounds as the Spartan Relic Tank, which is far cheaper (power level wise) and has a 2+ save.
The Scorpion also has a 5++ and regenerates a wound every turn.
Also power is based on the most expensive loadout. Because the spartan has a lot of options in how it can be equipped it will probably be more expensive powerwise. Also its a trade off of damage versus transport capacity. We dont really know what the power represents until we see the cost sheet.
Stormonu wrote:Okay, something I just noticed - I think it may already have been mentioned, but I want to get clarification.
Shooting rules imply you can attack with all weapons you are equipped with. Tac marines are equipped with Bolt pistol, Boltgun, Frag grenades and Krak grenades.
Am I missing something or could the above marines attack with each and every weapon listed above if they were in range? I.E., shoot the bolt pistol, boltgun, throw a Frag grenade and toss a Krak grenade?
Grenades say they are once per unit per turn and I beleive it says instead of other things. Pistols say you can fire all your pistols or all your other weapons. You cant fire pistols and something else in the same turn.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/06/05 15:06:11
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/05 15:05:38
Subject: 40k New Edition Summary - 4th June 17: Frontline Gaming Q&A Summary (all info in OP)
|
 |
Jinking Ravenwing Land Speeder Pilot
Wrexham, North Wales
|
Stormonu wrote:Okay, something I just noticed - I think it may already have been mentioned, but I want to get clarification.
Shooting rules imply you can attack with all weapons you are equipped with. Tac marines are equipped with Bolt pistol, Boltgun, Frag grenades and Krak grenades.
Am I missing something or could the above marines attack with each and every weapon listed above if they were in range? I.E., shoot the bolt pistol, boltgun, throw a Frag grenade and toss a Krak grenade?
The rules pretty much spell out that you can attack with every weapon, but
1 - if you shoot with a pistol it's the only thing you can fire
2 - if a squad has grenades, in the Shooting phase only one model can choose to throw a grenade
Cheers
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/05 15:10:40
Subject: 40k New Edition Summary - 4th June 17: Frontline Gaming Q&A Summary (all info in OP)
|
 |
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps
|
Glad to see Bespoke rules is paying off again with the way Plasma works on different vehicles.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/05 15:13:31
Subject: 40k New Edition Summary - 4th June 17: Frontline Gaming Q&A Summary (all info in OP)
|
 |
Inspiring SDF-1 Bridge Officer
|
MarkNorfolk wrote: Stormonu wrote:Okay, something I just noticed - I think it may already have been mentioned, but I want to get clarification.
Shooting rules imply you can attack with all weapons you are equipped with. Tac marines are equipped with Bolt pistol, Boltgun, Frag grenades and Krak grenades.
Am I missing something or could the above marines attack with each and every weapon listed above if they were in range? I.E., shoot the bolt pistol, boltgun, throw a Frag grenade and toss a Krak grenade?
The rules pretty much spell out that you can attack with every weapon, but
1 - if you shoot with a pistol it's the only thing you can fire
2 - if a squad has grenades, in the Shooting phase only one model can choose to throw a grenade
Cheers
Thanks, I just hit the next section and found those rules. Bad GW, that's poor rules writing to imply one thing, and then almost immediatley counter it under bespoke rules.
However - and again, I think someone mentioned it earlier - if you had a heavy weapon (such as missile launcher) and a basic weapon (such as a boltgun), by the rules you could shoot both?
|
It never ends well |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/05 15:15:16
Subject: 40k New Edition Summary - 4th June 17: Frontline Gaming Q&A Summary (all info in OP)
|
 |
Towering Hierophant Bio-Titan
Mexico
|
Stormonu wrote:
However - and again, I think someone mentioned it earlier - if you had a heavy weapon (such as missile launcher) and a basic weapon (such as a boltgun), by the rules you could shoot both?
Yes.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/05 15:15:48
Subject: 40k New Edition Summary - 4th June 17: Frontline Gaming Q&A Summary (all info in OP)
|
 |
Gargantuan Gargant
|
Why do people think Scions are almost broken good ?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/05 15:16:45
Subject: 40k New Edition Summary - 4th June 17: Frontline Gaming Q&A Summary (all info in OP)
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I'm surprised that it's a bit weaker (Knights have more wounds for example) and it lost its psychic rape but then, that works some wonders... Brass Scorpion + Warp time is now a thing. First turn charge with 8 strength 14 attacks hitting on 3+ at -4 ap doing 6 damage a pop. G'won then you crazy mofo. Ahriman on disc in support you say? Prescience as well? Why not...
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/06/05 15:18:28
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/05 15:19:26
Subject: 40k New Edition Summary - 4th June 17: Frontline Gaming Q&A Summary (all info in OP)
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
I'd guess deepstriking plasma for relatively cheap?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/05 15:20:41
Subject: 40k New Edition Summary - 4th June 17: Frontline Gaming Q&A Summary (all info in OP)
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
they have access to the cheaper Astra Millitarum plasma guns even though they hit on 3+, new deep strike rules, and orders combine to make them very reliable and efficient.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|