Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/05 23:31:07
Subject: Tyranids + Multiple Sets of Monstrous Scything Talons (8th)
|
 |
Tunneling Trygon
|
Do multiple sets of monstrous scything talons confer multiple bonus attacks?
The wording in question:
"You can re-roll hit rolls of 1 when attacking with this weapon. If the bearer has more than one pair of scything talons, it can make 1 additional attack with this weapon each time it fights"
My first reading of this rule made me think that 2 or 3 sets of scything talons granted a single extra attack.
However, upon reading the section for attacking, it's clear that I can allocate attacks to different close combat weapons, meaning that if I have two sets of scything talons, I can allocate some attacks to each of them. It sounds like if I attack with both of these weapons, the bonuses might be cumulative (meaning a Trygon with 3 sets of scything talons might give +3 attacks, and a hive tyrant with 2 sets would get +2 attacks)
It does seem a little like rules-lawyering, but if both 2 and 3 sets grant the same amount of attacks, why does the Trygon's version cost more on a less reliable platform?
Hope this gets FAQ'd one way or the other
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/06/05 23:33:53
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/06 09:39:56
Subject: Tyranids + Multiple Sets of Monstrous Scything Talons (8th)
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Yes, as long as you divide up your attacks among the different weapons.
So lets use a Hive Tyrant.5 Attacks base. 1 has to be used with the tail.
If you swing all 4 attacks with 1 pair of ScyTal you get 5 ScyTal attacks.
But if you swing 2 using one pair and 2 using the other you get 2+1 and 2+1 for 6 total attacks.
The only place where this becomes really important is dividing your attacks between different units. Even if you want to allocate only 1 attack to a particular unit that unit will suffer 1+1 attacks from one pair and the other target will take 3+1 attacks with the other.
|
These are my opinions. This is how I feel. Others may feel differently. This needs to be stated for some reason.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/06 10:07:50
Subject: Tyranids + Multiple Sets of Monstrous Scything Talons (8th)
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
|
I don't think you need to split your attacks at all. You just get the +1 attack from each set when you fight. So make all your attacks with one set (on a hive tyrant) and still get the +2 attacks. It doesn't say attacks with this weapon, just fights. This makes very little difference except attacking multiple units, in which case I would say that you can have 5 attacks vs 1 unit and 1 against another.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/06 11:25:25
Subject: Re:Tyranids + Multiple Sets of Monstrous Scything Talons (8th)
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Let's use the Helbrute as an example:
A Helbrute can be equipped with a Helbrute fist and a power scourge.
The power scourge states that when you attack, you can make three extra attacks with this weapon. I read this as you can dedicate all of your base attacks to the Helbrute fist, and you still get three extra power scourge attacks.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/06/06 11:27:39
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/06 13:18:53
Subject: Tyranids + Multiple Sets of Monstrous Scything Talons (8th)
|
 |
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity
|
Yeah... in 7th, you had to be using a weapon to benefit from its abilities. That doesn't seem to be the case in 8th. The Helbrute is a good example.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/06 15:35:15
Subject: Tyranids + Multiple Sets of Monstrous Scything Talons (8th)
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
Kriswall wrote:Yeah... in 7th, you had to be using a weapon to benefit from its abilities. That doesn't seem to be the case in 8th. The Helbrute is a good example.
Not with the latest FAQ rounds. A Weapon that had an ability that only required the model be "equipped with" would allow it to function, even if it was part of the Weapon's Type.
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
|