Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/07/02 21:32:59
Subject: TYRANIDS - Massive Scything Talons
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
JohnnyHell wrote:It really doesn't. Intent is clear at +1 regardless of number of pairs of Scything Talons beyond the first.
Well, it is clear NOW. It wasn't clear before. If anything, it was clearly dependent on the number of Weapons that were being used with the phrase "this weapon".
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/07/02 21:43:12
Subject: Re:TYRANIDS - Massive Scything Talons
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I already addressed the Leman Russ example as it was presented by a different poster with a different example. See https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/240/729357.page#9462392
The weapon profile is for 'heavy flamer' so without a doubt the Leman Russ is equipped with two heavy flamers. So your argument is simply not relevant at all to the case at hand and you are trying to misrepresent and strawman my argument.
In the case of the Trygon he is equipped with 'massive scything talons' and it is recognized as a single weapon. As I have been saying all along, the use of the plural in the weapon profile is significant and how the rule is written. Automatically Appended Next Post: Charistoph wrote: JohnnyHell wrote:It really doesn't. Intent is clear at +1 regardless of number of pairs of Scything Talons beyond the first.
Well, it is clear NOW. It wasn't clear before. If anything, it was clearly dependent on the number of Weapons that were being used with the phrase "this weapon".
Considering that 'this weapon' referred to 'massive scything talons' in the plural and there was no profile for 'pair of massive scything talons' or 'massive scything talon', it was more a case of you getting confused by the use of the plural. The rule as written clearly indicated +1A as long as you didn't overlook the use of the plural.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/07/02 21:46:56
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/07/02 21:50:05
Subject: TYRANIDS - Massive Scything Talons
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
Anyone else notice in the rulebook FAQ the Chainsword is allowed to make additional attacks with two Chainswords?
Aren't the rules that do this written the same way (I don't have either index)?
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/07/02 21:57:25
Subject: TYRANIDS - Massive Scything Talons
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Charistoph wrote:Anyone else notice in the rulebook FAQ the Chainsword is allowed to make additional attacks with two Chainswords?
Aren't the rules that do this written the same way (I don't have either index)?
Chainsword:
Massive scything talons:
The difference between the two is the use of the plural in the latter weapon profile. "This weapon" refers to 'massive scything talons' and you only have permission to attack with that weapon. You got confused by the plural.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/07/02 21:59:18
Subject: TYRANIDS - Massive Scything Talons
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
Charistoph wrote: JohnnyHell wrote:It really doesn't. Intent is clear at +1 regardless of number of pairs of Scything Talons beyond the first.
Well, it is clear NOW. It wasn't clear before. If anything, it was clearly dependent on the number of Weapons that were being used with the phrase "this weapon".
I was referring to now. I felt it was before, YMMV. My point replying to BaconCatBug was that his gripe wasn't valid. They may have tangentially answered the question but they've answered it.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/07/02 22:00:54
Stormonu wrote:For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/07/02 22:03:15
Subject: TYRANIDS - Massive Scything Talons
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
JohnnyHell wrote: Charistoph wrote: JohnnyHell wrote:It really doesn't. Intent is clear at +1 regardless of number of pairs of Scything Talons beyond the first.
Well, it is clear NOW. It wasn't clear before. If anything, it was clearly dependent on the number of Weapons that were being used with the phrase "this weapon".
I was referring to now. I felt it was before, YMMV. My point replying to BaconCatBug was that his gripe wasn't valid. They may have tangentially answered the question but they've answered it.
Fair enough. Lack of quoting or addressing the person in question made it seem a general comment rather than a specific response.
------
Could someone who is reliable and I don't have on ignore answer the questions regarding the Scything Talons and Chainsword question?
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/07/02 22:08:09
Subject: TYRANIDS - Massive Scything Talons
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
They're worded and now both FAQ clarified differently.
Two chainswords gives +2 Chainsword Attacks.
Two extra pairs of Scything talons only gives +1 attack, not +2.
|
Stormonu wrote:For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/07/02 22:11:24
Subject: TYRANIDS - Massive Scything Talons
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
I read the FAQs, which is why I was asking the question. Out of curiosity, how are they worded differently?
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/07/02 22:13:07
Subject: TYRANIDS - Massive Scything Talons
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
col_impact wrote: Charistoph wrote:Anyone else notice in the rulebook FAQ the Chainsword is allowed to make additional attacks with two Chainswords?
Aren't the rules that do this written the same way (I don't have either index)?
Chainsword:
Massive scything talons:
The difference between the two is the use of the plural in the latter weapon profile. "This weapon" refers to 'massive scything talons' and you only have permission to attack with that weapon. You got confused by the plural.
Like so.
|
Stormonu wrote:For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/07/03 00:35:50
Subject: TYRANIDS - Massive Scything Talons
|
 |
[DCM]
Sentient OverBear
|
In-thread warnings have been applied as warranted.
The question has been answered officially, so I'm locking this thread.
|
DQ:70S++G+++M+B++I+Pw40k94+ID+++A++/sWD178R+++T(I)DM+++
Trust me, no matter what damage they have the potential to do, single-shot weapons always flatter to deceive in 40k. Rule #1 - BBAP
|
|
 |
 |
|