Switch Theme:

Roving Patrol and Tactical Reserves  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Norn Queen






Since Roving Patrol causes us to put 2/3 of our units in Reserves, and it also allows you to use Teleport/Deep Striking abilities for the ones in Reserve, does that mean the Tactical Reserves rule (requiring you to put 50% on the battlefield during deployment) doesn't apply? Otherwise Roving Patrol can't be used for matched play...

For example, if my reserve forces all have a deep strike rule, does that mean I can deep strike 2/3 of my army instead of 50%?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/04/10 18:05:16


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





I would say that it's a case of mission-specific rules overriding general rules.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






As an additional question: How would a Trygon with Genestealers in the accompanying tunnel work? Would you need to roll 3+ on the first turn for both, or just the Trygon?

Man this mission really is poorly thought out...
   
Made in us
Never Forget Isstvan!






I would say you just need to roll for the trygon, as effectively the genestealers are embarked with him (they just cant ride inside him as he's not a transport).


Missions that require models to be off the board at the start of the game and roll randomly to come on are confusing because of the change to this editions rules, but its not like they weren't used in previous editions.

Just follow the missions rules over the BRB rules if there are contradictions.

JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

You’d just roll for the Trygon, as its rules tell you how to deploy the Genestealers.

This mission very obviously overrides the Tactical Reserves 50% Rule. It’s in the Matched Play section so it’s designed for a Matched Play. They could have written that bit in but it doesn’t take a genius to figure it out - hardly problematic.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/04/10 21:09:17


 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Eihnlazer wrote:
I would say you just need to roll for the trygon, as effectively the genestealers are embarked with him (they just cant ride inside him as he's not a transport).


Missions that require models to be off the board at the start of the game and roll randomly to come on are confusing because of the change to this editions rules, but its not like they weren't used in previous editions.

Just follow the missions rules over the BRB rules if there are contradictions.
The trygon isn't a TRANSPORT though, I don't have permission to do so like a normal TRANSPORT would.
   
Made in us
Never Forget Isstvan!






Thus why I said "effectively" and not exactly.



JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
Made in us
Crazed Spirit of the Defiler





Why on earth wouldn’t the genestealers follow the trygon? Did the brood get lost in the 1 way tunnel? How can a hyper intelligent predator fail to follow the massive burrowing worm that was in front of it?

Iron within, Iron without 
   
Made in us
Jovial Plaguebearer of Nurgle





Kansas, United States

 evil_kiwi_60 wrote:
Why on earth wouldn’t the genestealers follow the trygon? Did the brood get lost in the 1 way tunnel? How can a hyper intelligent predator fail to follow the massive burrowing worm that was in front of it?


Using "real world" logic to debate the rules as they are presented? That way lies madness.

Death Guard - "The Rotmongers"
Chaos Space Marines - "The Sin-Eaters"
Dark Angels - "Nemeses Errant"
Deathwatch 
   
Made in us
Clousseau





East Bay, Ca, US

It doesn't matter if it is a TRANSPORT or not.

The unit is set up in the tunnels with the Trygon.

 Galas wrote:
I remember when Marmatag was a nooby, all shiney and full of joy. How playing the unbalanced mess of Warhammer40k in a ultra-competitive meta has changed you

Bharring wrote:
He'll actually *change his mind* in the presence of sufficient/sufficiently defended information. Heretic.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: