Switch Theme:

Piling in after base contact  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Been Around the Block




So i'm pretty sure this is already answered in the RB and i'm just not putting the pieces together but lets say there was an objective about 5 inches away from a unit of 3 necron warriors left, and the only thing between me was a enemy marine model that I was already locked into base contact with. Its my turn, and both side have already fought and now its the consolidate part of my fight phase. Can I simply rotate all three models around the enemy model to have more models closer to the objective than him? Technically they are still ending their 3" move closer to the nearest enemy model. Just wanted to make sure.
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

From the Designer's Commentary:

Note that if a model is in base-to-base contact, it cannot possibly end a move closer to the enemy, and so cannot move when its unit piles in or consolidates.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




Ok so what if they were half an inch away and not in base contact? Could you then pile in 3" to get around and be closer to the objective, thus changing the control of the objective to you? According to Designers Commentary a model only has to move closer to the nearest enemy model, not as close as possible.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Nixalys wrote:
Ok so what if they were half an inch away and not in base contact? Could you then pile in 3" to get around and be closer to the objective, thus changing the control of the objective to you? According to Designers Commentary a model only has to move closer to the nearest enemy model, not as close as possible.
Then yes, you could do that. It's why you should always aim to charge and end up not in BTB so you can reposition and end up in BTB if you need to.
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




Got it, thank you!
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





After a charge, doesn't at least one model have to end in base-to-base?
   
Made in us
Jovial Plaguebearer of Nurgle





Kansas, United States

Dactylartha wrote:
After a charge, doesn't at least one model have to end in base-to-base?


As I understand it, at least one model must be within 1" of the target unit or the charge fails.

Death Guard - "The Rotmongers"
Chaos Space Marines - "The Sin-Eaters"
Dark Angels - "Nemeses Errant"
Deathwatch 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Dactylartha wrote:
After a charge, doesn't at least one model have to end in base-to-base?
No, the rules for charging are very clear on what constitutes a successful charge. Being in Base to Base is not needed.
   
Made in us
Deathwing Terminator with Assault Cannon






Dactylartha wrote:
After a charge, doesn't at least one model have to end in base-to-base?
As the above two posts state, being within 1" suffices the requirement of successful charge. BtB is not required.
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





 BaconCatBug wrote:
Nixalys wrote:
Ok so what if they were half an inch away and not in base contact? Could you then pile in 3" to get around and be closer to the objective, thus changing the control of the objective to you? According to Designers Commentary a model only has to move closer to the nearest enemy model, not as close as possible.
Then yes, you could do that. It's why you should always aim to charge and end up not in BTB so you can reposition and end up in BTB if you need to.


But with both piling in and consolidating. IIRC you have to move towards the closest enemy unit.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





mhalko1 wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
Nixalys wrote:
Ok so what if they were half an inch away and not in base contact? Could you then pile in 3" to get around and be closer to the objective, thus changing the control of the objective to you? According to Designers Commentary a model only has to move closer to the nearest enemy model, not as close as possible.
Then yes, you could do that. It's why you should always aim to charge and end up not in BTB so you can reposition and end up in BTB if you need to.


But with both piling in and consolidating. IIRC you have to move towards the closest enemy unit.


According to the Battle Primer you have to end up closer to the nearest enemy model, not unit. If you were 1" away from the closest enemy model, if the enemy has 2 units situated properly, as long as you end up closer to that enemy model (say, you end up 3/4" away) you could pile in 3" and be only 1/2" away from another enemy model in that other unit.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: