Switch Theme:

Suit of hidden knives technicality question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






 Nighttail wrote:
I'd love to see your reasoning behind that, though. My reading of the rule is that you must resolve all shots that a unit fire, whether you roll them one by one or all at once. So any model declared to shoot, must shoot no matter if the target unit has died from earlier shooting. Now, for the vast majority of time this obviously doesn't matter so there's no need to roll, but for overcharged Plasma and certain other things it would matter.


Target is no longer in range(no models on the table) at time of shooting = cannot shoot/no rolls need be made.

This is a fundamental part of Fast-rolling; you want to fast-roll all attacks/ to-hits at rapid fire while 1 model is within range in order to hit as many models as possible with a given weapon's attacks.

This is a tactical feature in the RAW'; a single model in rapid-fire range or CC range of several of the same weapons should be fast-rolled in case the first or second gun/attack kills that model. firing/attacking one at a time can leave you with less attacks for the phase.

Explanation: Let's say you have a unit of 5 Primaris Intercessors(base unit), 3 of those marines are within 15" of 1 model from a Guardian defender unit. If you Fast-roll all Boltrifle attacks, you make 8 attacks. But if you attack 1 at a time, then the sequence you choose wil fully resolve each attack, even if the first is from one of the intersessors outside of 15", killing the Guardian defender within 15" of the 3 forci9ng them to make single attacks as well(Net 5 attacks).

If you Fast-roll attacks against a "Coat of Hidden Knives" Harlie Character, every 1 to-hit will result in the effect, even after the bearer is dead(effect is triggered before destruction of model, and resolved after).

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

Fast rolling is optional. You don’t have to fast roll for your opponent’s potential benefit. You also can’t fast roll overcharged plasma else you don’t know which model dies.

People also forget that whilst you select targets for all models before rolling dice, until you roll dice that gun has not fired. And if there’s no-one left alive to shoot at you simply don’t fire, as Kel says.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/07/05 06:59:20


 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in se
Hungry Little Ripper





 Kommissar Kel wrote:

Target is no longer in range(no models on the table) at time of shooting = cannot shoot/no rolls need be made.

By that definition, if you're rolling attacks one at a time you wouldn't be able to shoot with a weapon that was in range to the enemy unit at the start of the shooting but is out of range when you get to that individual weapon due to casualties.

Either way, in fear of sounding like BCB, I'd like to know your interpretation of
BRB Page 179 wrote:In either case, declare how you will split the shooting unit’s shots before any dice are rolled, and resolve all the shots against one target before moving on to the next.

where it says to resolve all the shots before moving on to the next. Also do note that this part talks about the units shooting and not individual models. As for the "target" part of the ruling keep in mind that you target enemy units and not enemy models, so the ruling regards friendly unit's shots into an enemy unit. Me and my friends have so far been playing it as you must resolve all shots even if the target dies as per the above rule. If we've been playing it wrong I'd like to know (again, within the constraints of the rules) so that we can adapt accordingly.
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






My interpretation?

You Resolve those shots using common sense.

We have 2 options when shots remain but their target is removed:

1) resolve the shots as unable to be fired.

2) still make your to hit rolls and watch the game come to a screeching pedantic halt at the to-wound step.

To-hit rolls are entirely based on your attacking unit; you could make the to-hits and score some hits. But then you are left with comparing your weapon's S to a non-existent T.you cannot make any rolls and therefore you cannot resolve the shots that hit. You now cannot move on to the next target.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: