THE_GODLYNESS wrote:If my daemon prince has the impossible robe artifact (4++) and then I use the warp surge stratagem would I have a 2++ save.
Ephemeral form adds +1 to the save
Warp surge adds +1 but its capped at 3++
Could I apply the surge first to get to a 3++. Then use Form for a 2++
Side note is it possible to role a 1 with the robe? I don't think I die since it is always becomes a 2 ?
Ephemeral Form and Warp Surge don't interact. Warp Surge improves the actual save characteristic. Ephemeral Form adds one to your invulnerable save rolls. This is a subtle but extremely important difference. You get a 3++, rolled on a
D6+1, although a physical roll of 1 still fail as per the
BRB. People sometimes shortcut it and say you have a "2++" save, since any result of 2 or more on the dice will pass the save, but that is actually incorrect, you have a 3++ on
D6+1, giving a result of 2 to 7, with the physical result of 1 failing because the
BRB says so.
And no, if you have a +1 to your save rolls, you can't ever roll a 1 to trigger the Impossible Robe, although a physical roll of 1 still fails. Like the example above, a
D6+1 has a result range of 2 to 7, you can't ever have a
result of 1 on
D6+1, but the
BRB has a special rule saying "A roll of 1 always fails, irrespective of any modifiers that may apply."